gno.law

Cushman v. United States

District Court, S.D. California · Civil No. 92-S. D · 1942-03-18 · Published

CUSHMAN v. UNITED STATES

Proceeding
district
Area
civil
Panel
Neterer (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt own-v1, 2026-10-14T01:07Z · confidence high

The court denied the defendant's motion to amend its answer to add a fraud defense, ruling that the defendant had waived the fraud by continuing to accept premiums after notice. The court found that the plaintiff was totally and permanently disabled and ordered judgment in favor of the plaintiff.

What the court decidedThe model
Motion to amend answer to charge fraud denied
“The defendant may not now be permitted to file an amended answer, or seek relief from the repeated elections, made.”
agree with court
The court applied the doctrine of election of remedies and waiver. The defendant had notice of the alleged fraud in January 1939 but continued to accept premiums for over three years without rescinding the policy. Under general insurance law principles, accepting premiums after notice of a voidable defect constitutes a waiver of the right to rescind. The court's application of this principle to bar the late amendment is legally sound.
Judgment for plaintiff on disability claim
“The testimony shows that the plaintiff was totally and permanently disabled within the terms of the policy at the time claim was made. I think this is conceded by the defendant.”
agree with court
The court found as a matter of fact that the plaintiff met the policy's definition of total and permanent disability. The order notes this appears conceded by the defendant. Given the waiver of the fraud defense, the plaintiff is entitled to recovery on the policy.

The order itself: sound — The order is legally sound. It correctly identifies the United States' proprietary status, applies the liberal construction rule for government insurance policies, and correctly applies the doctrine of waiver/election of remedies. The court relied on established California and Ninth Circuit authorities regarding the effect of accepting premiums after notice of fraud. The reasoning directly addresses the motion to amend by showing that the legal defense (fraud) was waived, making the amendment futile or barred by the election made.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

Opinion — Neterer

NETERER, District Judge.

The plaintiff seeks to recover on a 20-year life policy for $10,000, issued February 1, 1932, with the usual total and permanent disability provision. Claim was presented for total and permanent disability on the 16th day of January, 1939; the claim was denied. On March 9, 1941, complaint was filed, issue was joined, and the case was regularly set for trial for the 23rd day of February, 1942; on January 28, 1942, a written stipulation was filed; “that the 5-year convertible term policy was issued for said amount as of February 1st, 1932; that effective January 1st, 1937, said policy was converted to a 20-payment life policy for the same amount; that premiums on said policy have been paid to-date; that claim was filed with the Veteran’s Administration on January 16th, 1939; that said claim was denied April 18th, 1939 * * * ”. On February 6, 1942, by written stipulation a trial by jury was waived. On Feb*811ruary 19th, the defendant moved for leave to amend its answer charging fraud in obtaining the policy; the motion was denied, no reason appearing as a basis for the motion.

At the conclusion of all of the testimony the defendant moved to amend its answer to conform to the evidence, in accordance with Rule 15(b) of the Rules of Civil Procedure, 28 U.S.C.A. following section 723c.

It was contended by the defendant that in the application for insurance, which is in evidence, the plaintiff fraudulently and knowingly made false answers to the propounded questions.

The answers to the interrogatories propounded in the application were not true. It is shown, however, that the plaintiff functioned in normal fashion and in responsible positions, and for wages as high as $450 per month until 1936, but was suffering from a progressive aliment, for sometime. It appears obvious that the issue in this case must be disposed of irrespective of the truth of the answers to the interrogatories in the application. It is not necessary to determine whether the answers were knowingly false. Claims of fraud in securing life policies have been before the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals many times while the writer sat in that court, and some opinions written by him; see Employers Liability Assur., etc., v. Portland Electric Power Co., 15 F.2d 976; Northwestern Life Ins. Co. v. Wiggins, 15 F.2d 646; United States Fidelity & Guar. Co. v. Leong Dung Dye, 52 F.2d 567, certiorari denied 285 U.S. 537, 52 S.Ct. 311, 76 L.Ed. 930; see also Bailey v. New England Mut. Life Ins. Co., D.C., 35 F.Supp. 1007, and while covering various phases of such cases are not in point as to the conclusion reached, but disclose the understanding of the court in such cases. In United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Leong Dung Dye, supra, 52 F.2d 567, 569, tender was made and the only issues as to that was the sufficiency of the tender. “Proof of notice that the deceased [Insured] knew that he had been rejected for life insurance was the essence of the issue of fraud and deceit” in that case.

The United States in this case had a proprietary status, and does not appear in its sovereignty relation. Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 267 U.S. 76, 45 S.Ct. 211, 69 L.Ed. 519; Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S. 571, 54 S.Ct. 840, 78 L. Ed. 1434. The policy and applicable statute are to be liberally construed in favor of the insured. United States v. Sligh, 9 Cir., 31 F.2d 735, certiorari denied 280 U.S. 559, 50 S.Ct. 18, 74 L.Ed. 614.

On January 16, 1939, the defendant was advised of every fact of the fraud now charged that has been presented to the court. Conceding that fraud was committed the defendant had two remedies, it could rescind, or it could disavow the policy, by refusing to accept the premiums provided in the policy, and if action was brought upon the policy plead fraud as a defense, or it could waive the fraud and continue the policy as binding. It may not, however, follow inconsistent remedies, and is bound by an election once made. 17 C. J.S., Contracts, § 167, page 523, 524.

The evidence conclusively shows that the defendant elected to continue the policy; the policy provides for a monthly premium of $24.40; the plaintiff continued to pay, and the defendant continued to receive the monthly premiums from the date of notice of fraud to the defendant, until the present time, more than three years. By accepting the monthly premiums, in the aggregate of $902.80, the defendant elected, on each payment, to continue the policy. There is no claim that there was any excusable reason to relieve the defendant from the election thus made; nor is the premium received after election tendered to plaintiff, as a basis for relief from the acceptance. The defendant may not now be permitted to file an amended answer, or seek relief from the repeated elections, made.

The law imposes the duty of fair dealing upon both parties; unfairness o» the part of either is frowned upon. The law assumes that the defendant intended to carry out the terms of the policy in return for the premiums received; and the law presumes that when the defendant was advised on January 16, 1939, supplemented' by further evidence on February 13, 1939, by Dr. Steally and Dr. Deonton giving, detailed statements of sickness and treatments of the insured from 1929, and the ailments with which he was afflicted, as-full and complete as is given to this court, and failing to declare a forfeiture, or cancel, or rescind the policy, or refusing to be bound by it, within a reasonable time, it elected to continue the policy. The defendant may not continue the insured in this status, by accepting premium every *812month for 37, or more, months, and inject fraud at the beginning of, or during, the trial to enforce payment of the policy because of conditions broken. Steil v. Sun Ins. Office, 171 Cal. 795, 155 P. 72; Farrar v. Policy Holders Life Ins. Ass’n, 3 Cal.App.2d 87, 39 P.2d 229.

The testimony shows that the plaintiff was totally and permanently disabled within the terms of the policy at the time claim was made. I think this is conceded by the defendant. This memorandum will be the Court’s finding and conclusion, or further proposed findings may be served and presented for signature. Form of judgment will be presented.

Cites, in this corpus