gno.law

Hanson v. Gram

California Court of Appeal · No. D016979 · 1994-06-07 · Published · 25 Cal. App. 4th 859 · 94 Daily Journal DAR 7868 · 30 Cal. Rptr. 2d 792 · 18 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 1532 · 94 Cal. Daily Op. Serv. 4284 · 1994 Cal. App. LEXIS 573

In re the Marriage of MARILYN J. and ALLEN E. GRAM. MARILYN J. GRAM HANSON v. ALLEN E. GRAM

Area
family
Panel
Patricia D. Benke (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T03:01Z · confidence high

The trial court ruled that the enhanced early retirement benefits received by the husband were his separate property. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding that the benefits constituted community property as deferred compensation, but remanded for a recalculation that accounts for the added service years in the community property formula.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Characterization of enhanced early retirement benefits as separate property
“After review of the cited authorities we conclude the trial court erred in finding the enhanced early retirement benefit selected by Allen to be separate property.”
de novoerroragree with court
The appellate court applied a de novo standard of review to the legal question of characterizing the retirement benefit. It concluded the trial court erred because the benefit was a form of deferred compensation for services rendered, not present compensation for loss of earnings, distinguishing it from severance cases like *Lawson* and *Wright* by noting the benefit was tied to the retirement plan structure and credited service years rather than being a non-contractual transition aid.

Authorities

  • relied: In re Marriage of Skaden (1977) 19 Cal.3d 679 — Termination payments that are akin to pension benefits and constitute compensation for services rendered are community property.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Horn (1986) 181 Cal.App.3d 540 — Contract-based severance pay determined by years of service is a form of deferred compensation and thus community property.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Flockhart (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 240 — Benefits designed to replace lost income or compensate for loss of earning capacity are separate property, analogous to disability or workers' compensation.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Wright (1983) 140 Cal.App.3d 342 — Non-contract-based lump-sum termination payments intended to compensate for loss of future earnings are separate property.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Kuzmiak (1986) 176 Cal.App.3d 1152 — Military separation pay intended to ease adjustment to civilian life, even if based on years of service, is separate property if not compensation for past service.
  • relied: In re Marriage of DeShurley (1989) 207 Cal.App.3d 992 — Severance pay arising from a court order or option to return to work, rather than a contractual right, is present payment for loss of future earnings and separate property.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Lawson (1989) 208 Cal.App.3d 446 — Voluntary severance allowances that are not part of the regular benefit program and are intended to ease transition to new jobs are separate property.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly distinguishes between severance pay (present compensation for lost future earnings) and enhanced retirement benefits (deferred compensation for past service) based on the specific mechanics of the plan, which credited additional service years toward the retirement formula. It provides a logical framework for remand that ensures the community property share is calculated consistently with the characterization of the benefit as deferred compensation.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:32Z · confidence medium

The trial court, on the former wife's order to show cause, characterized the enhanced portion of the former husband's merger-driven early retirement benefit as his separate property and excluded it from the agreed time-rule formula for dividing his pension. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding the enhanced early retirement benefit was deferred compensation for services and thus a community asset, and remanded for recomputation with the five added years of service credit included in the husband's total years of employment in the formula.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Characterization of the enhanced early retirement benefit (five years added to age and service credit) as husband's separate property rather than community property
“After review of the cited authorities we conclude the trial court erred in finding the enhanced early retirement benefit selected by Allen to be separate property.”
unclearerror (law misapplied)agree with court
The opinion does not state a standard of review, but the facts were undisputed and the court treated characterization as a legal question. Its distinction is persuasive: Skaden and Horn treat benefits tied to years of service and realization of retirement expectations as deferred compensation, while Flockhart, Wright, Kuzmiak, DeShurley and Lawson treat payments replacing lost future earnings during a job transition as separate. The enhanced benefit here was paid through the existing retirement plan, computed by augmenting age and service credit, and functioned as an accelerated pension rather than a transition allowance; the absence of a preexisting contractual right (Lawson) was reasonably held not determinative. The reasoning is consistent with the authorities cited, though the court inferred the design of the other two incentive plans from their names alone.
Computation of the community share under the parties' agreed time-rule formula once the enhanced benefit is included
“Thus, to apply our reasoning consistently, the computation of the community interest in the enhanced payment should take those additional years into account by adding them to Allen’s total years of employment in the benefit share formula.”
unclearnot reachedagree with court
The trial court never reached apportionment because it excluded the enhancement entirely; the Court of Appeal fashioned the remedy itself, directing that the five imputed service years be added to the denominator so the community does not receive credit for post-separation service it did not contribute. This follows logically from treating the enhancement as a proxy for five additional years of actual post-dissolution employment, and no cited authority forbids it. The opinion does not, however, discuss whether this modifies the parties' 1983 agreement, which defined the denominator as days actually employed at retirement, so the issue is defensible but not fully analyzed.

Authorities

  • relied: In re Marriage of Skaden (1977) 19 Cal.3d 679 — Contract-based termination payments measured by the employee's accrued business are akin to pension benefits and constitute community property as deferred compensation for services rendered.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Horn (1986) 181 Cal.App.3d 540 — A severance payment that is an absolute contractual right determined by years of service is deferred compensation and community property, regardless of its stated transitional purpose.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Flockhart (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 240 — Noncontractual layoff benefits designed to replace lost income after separation are analogous to disability pay and are the recipient's separate property.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Wright (1983) 140 Cal.App.3d 342 — A noncontractual lump-sum termination payment compensating for anticipated loss of future earnings is separate property.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Kuzmiak (1986) 176 Cal.App.3d 1152 — Military separation pay intended to ease adjustment to civilian life is separate property even though years of service enter the formula.
  • relied: In re Marriage of DeShurley (1989) 207 Cal.App.3d 992 — Character of a termination benefit depends on all relevant factors; a court-ordered severance option in lieu of returning to work is present compensation for lost future earnings and separate property.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Lawson (1989) 208 Cal.App.3d 446 — A voluntary, noncontractual merger-related severance allowance intended to replace future compensation is separate property; use of years of service in the formula is not determinative.
  • missed: In re Marriage of Brown (1976) 15 Cal.3d 838 — Pension rights, vested or not, earned during marriage are community property as a form of deferred compensation; the foundational authority for treating retirement benefits as community assets, not cited though the holding rests on that premise.
  • missed: In re Marriage of Stenquist (1978) 21 Cal.3d 779 — The employee spouse may not, by a unilateral election among benefit options after separation, defeat or diminish the community's interest in retirement benefits; relevant because Allen's post-separation election triggered the enhancement.

The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court carefully canvassed the severance-versus-pension line of cases and drew a defensible distinction between transition allowances and enhancements paid through the retirement plan itself, and its remedy of adding the imputed years to the time-rule denominator is logically consistent with that characterization. It omitted any stated standard of review, did not cite Brown or Stenquist on the community's protection against unilateral post-separation elections, relied on inference from plan names for the design of the other incentive options, and contains a citation slip attributing Wright's pages to 119 Cal.App.3d.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

record incomplete

Opinion — Benke

Opinion

BENKE, Acting P. J.

Marilyn J. Gram Hanson appeals from an order characterizing her former husband’s enhanced early retirement benefits as separate property.

*861Background

Marilyn J. and Allen E. Gram were married on May 28, 1960. Allen started work for the San Diego Union-Tribune Newspapers (Union-Tribune) on October 14, 1968, and began accumulating retirement credit in the Copley Press, Inc., retirement plan on November 1, 1969.

The couple separated on September 15, 1981. On April 19, 1983, the parties entered into a marital termination agreement giving the superior court continuing jurisdiction over the community interest in Allen’s Union-Tribune employment benefits and defining a formula for their division. The formula required the total number of days employed during marriage be divided by the total number of days employed on the date of retirement. This figure was multiplied by the monthly retirement benefit to compute the community share of the payment. Marilyn’s share of the benefit was one-half that amount.

In August 1991, the San Diego Union and San Diego Tribune newspapers announced plans to merge. The merged operation would not employ all workers from the two newspapers. In an attempt to avoid involuntary dismissals, the newspapers offered three voluntary termination incentive plans: an enhanced retirement option, an early retirement-option and a voluntary separation option.

The early retirement option was available to those in departments where a need for staff reduction had been identified, who were 55 years of age as of January 31, 1992, and who had at least 10 years of service as of that date. A limit was placed on the total number of employees who would be accepted under the program and employees were given 45 days to decided if they wished to apply. The company would determine the actual date of retirement of those accepted based on its business needs.

The early retirement option added five years of service towards total credited service up to a maximum of thirty years, and added five years to the retiree’s age up to a maximum age of sixty-five years, the latter to eliminate or reduce the reduction in benefits caused by early retirement. The age and service year modifications were used only to determine the early retirement benefit, and actual age and service years were used to determine all other benefits. The early retirement program also gave the employee the option of receiving an enhanced monthly payment or an enhanced lump-sum payment of the entire early retirement benefit. The lump-sum payment of retirement benefits was not a normal provision of the Copley Press retirement plan.

Each employee eligible for the enhanced early retirement plan received an individualized statement of benefits. Allen’s statement indicated if he retired *862at actual age 65, his monthly retirement benefit would be $1,063.77; if he retired under the unenhanced early retirement scheme, his monthly payment would be $688.47; and if he retired under the enhanced early retirement plan, his monthly payment would be $1,252.14. Allen’s individualized statement of benefits estimated the lump-sum value of the unenhanced retirement benefit as $82,137 and the lump-sum value of his enhanced early retirement as $149,384.

Under the plan Allen was credited with 27 years of service and his age was deemed to be 64 years. Allen elected to retire under the enhanced early retirement plan and receive a monthly benefit.

In January 1992, Marilyn sought an order to show cause why Allen’s enhanced benefits for early retirement should not be treated as community property. After a hearing the trial court determined the enhanced portion of the retirement benefits was Allen’s separate property.

Discussion

The sole issue in this case is the characterization of the enhanced early retirement benefit accepted by Allen. If the benefit is a form of deferred compensation for services rendered, then it is a community asset and must be included in the calculation of Marilyn’s share of the monthly retirement benefit. (See In re Marriage of Skaden (1977) 19 Cal.3d 679, 686 [139 Cal.Rptr. 615, 566 P.2d 249]; In re Marriage of Horn (1986) 181 Cal.App.3d 540, 544-547 [226 Cal.Rptr. 666].) If, on the other hand, the enhanced retirement benefit is present compensation for Allen’s loss of earnings, then it is separate property to which Marilyn has no right. (See In re Marriage of Flockhart (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 240, 242-243 [173 Cal.Rptr. 818]; In re Marriage of Wright (1983) 140 Cal.App.3d 342, 344-345 [189 Cal.Rptr. 336]; In re Marriage of Kuzmiak (1986) 176 Cal.App.3d 1152, 1157-1159 [222 Cal.Rptr. 644]; In re Marriage of DeShurley (1989) 207 Cal.App.3d 992, 994-996 [255 Cal.Rptr. 150]; In re Marriage of Lawson (1989) 208 Cal.App.3d 446, 450-451 [256 Cal.Rptr. 283].)

To place a compensation scheme into, a category is not always easy. The schemes are designed for business purposes and may not have as their main concern community property issues. Characterization is, nonetheless, necessary and in a series of cases the courts of this state have defined the general considerations applicable to that process.

1. Law

In two cases courts have concluded the proceeds of severance plans to be community property.

*863In re Marriage of Skaden, supra, 19 Cal.3d 679, involved the characterization of termination pay payable to an insurance agent under an employment contract entered into during the marriage. The agreement provided that after two years of employment a terminated or voluntarily departing agent received installment payments based on the percentage of net premiums collected within a five-year period after termination on policies credited to the agent. Such payments were subject to conditions tied to the agent’s competitive activities. (Id. at pp. 683-685.)

The court found the termination payments in Skaden to be community property. The court rejected the contention the payments were “consideration for termination” because they were not so characterized in the contract and because the termination of employment could be involuntary. The court also rejected the argument the payments were consideration for noncompetition since the amount of compensation related not to the degree of compliance with the noncompetition condition but rather to the policies credited to the agent. The court concluded the termination payments were akin to pension benefits, were a form of compensation for services rendered and, thus, were community property. (19 Cal.3d 679 at pp. 685-688.)

In In re Marriage of Horn, supra, 181 Cal.App.3d 540, this court concluded proceeds of a contract-based termination payment scheme were community property. The collective bargaining agreement between the National Football League and the National Football League Players Association contained a lump-sum severance pay provision. The amount of the payment was determined by the player’s years of service, the payment had to be returned if the player reentered football within 12 months of retirement and if the player died, his beneficiary or estate received the severance pay. (Id. at pp. 542-543.)

We concluded that because the severance pay in Horn was an absolute contractual right determined by years of service, it was a form of deferred compensation and, thus, community property. We found it irrelevant, given the structure of the scheme, that the payments were intended to aid the player in his transition from professional athletics to more prosaic employment. (181 Cal.App.3d at pp. 547-550.)

Several other cases have found the proceeds of termination plans to be separate property.

In In re Marriage of Flockhart, supra, 119 Cal.App.3d 240, the issue was the characterization of a “weekly layoff benefit.” In adding extensive property to a national park, the federal government adversely impacted a regional *864economy and caused a loss of jobs. As compensation to affected workers, the government provided a wide range of benefits, including contributions to retirement plans and relocation compensation. Eligibility for the various benefits varied. The act creating the benefit plan stated it did so to provide for the maintenance of income for a limited time. The only benefit at issue in the case was the weekly layoff benefit. The benefit was designed to replace lost income and the payment amount was reduced by present earnings. (Id. at pp. 242-243.)

The court noted the weekly layoff benefit was not contractually based but arose as a compensation for a loss of capacity to earn based on the disability of an industry. In this respect the benefits were analogous to disability payments and workers’ compensation awards made after separation which were both treated by the law as present compensation, not deferred compensation for past service. The court concluded the weekly layoff benefit was separate property.

In In re Marriage of Wright, supra, 140 Cal.App.3d 342, the contested benefit was a non-contract-based lump-sum termination payment given a hospital administrator on his termination from employment. The payment was made because of the anticipated difficulty the employee would have in finding new employment. (Id. at pp. 343-344.)

The court, looking to Flockhart, noted the similarity between the facts before it and the disability and workers’ compensation cases and determined the termination payment to be separate property. The court noted the key factor was that in both situations the payment was designed to compensate for the loss of future earnings and not as payment for services previously performed. (119 Cal.App.3d at pp. 344-345.)

In In re Marriage of Kuzmiak, supra, 176 Cal.App.3d 1152, the court dealt with the characterization of military separation pay. A lump-sum separation payment is given to officers who do not qualify for promotion and who are forced to leave the military. The payment is based on a formula using years of service as one factor. The court noted while years of service is used to compute the payment, the legislative history of the act indicates the payments were intended not as compensation for past service but to ease the officer’s adjustment to civilian life. The court concluded if the officer was unmarried at the time of termination, the adjustment was the officer’s alone and the severance pay separate property. (Id. at pp. 1157-1158.)

This court again had occasion to consider the proper characterization of a termination benefit in In re Marriage of DeShurley, supra, 207 Cal.App.3d *865992. In that case a bankruptcy court ordered pilots striking Continental Airlines be given the option of returning to work or receiving severance pay. The severance pay was computed by multiplying the pilot’s years of service by $4,000. Husband, after separation from wife, opted for severance pay. Payment was made over a period of time using a set schedule. (Id. at pp. 993-994.)

We reviewed the existing authority on the issue and noted the character of a termination benefit is determined by considering all relevant factors. We noted the airline severance payment did not arise from a contract but from a court order, the payment represented an option between returning to work or receiving the termination benefit and that the amount of payment was based on years of service. We concluded the severance payment was not intended as a form of deferred compensation but rather was present payment for loss of future earnings. We concluded there was no absolute right to the payment since a return to work would foreclose receipt of the benefit and the use of years of service was not determinative of the character of the payment. We held the termination benefit in that case to be separate property. (207 Cal.App.3d at pp. 995-996.)

Finally, in In re Marriage of Lawson, supra, 208 Cal.App.3d 446, the court dealt with yet another variation of the termination benefit characterization issue. In that case Shell Oil Company planned a merger of divisions. Husband was offered the option of participating in a severance program specifically designed for those affected by the consolidation or continuing in a job that would likely exist for only two or three more years. Husband opted for the severance program. (Id. at p. 448.)

The purpose of the severance plan was to provide a severance allowance. The severance plan agreement signed by husband indicated the separation allowance was not part of the employee’s regular benefit program and did not affect his pension. The severance allowance was computed as two weeks of salary for each year of service not to exceed one year’s base pay. Voluntary termination, death, disability or discharge before the termination date set by Shell disqualified the employee from participation in the plan. However, if death occurred after termination but before the entire amount of the allowance was paid, the remainder would be paid to the employee’s beneficiaries or estate. (208 Cal.App.3d at pp. 448-449.)

After reviewing the pertinent authority and the factors there considered, the court found husband’s termination allowance to be his separate property. The court noted there was no contractual right to the allowance, and while qualification for the plan did not require the occurrence of some involuntary *866circumstance, the features of the plan made it very similar to a true severance benefit for employer-determined termination program. (208 Cal.App.3d at pp. 450-453.)

The indefinite and qualified nature of the plan convinced the court it was like the termination benefit given in the Wright case, a voluntarily granted noncontractual payment intended as future replacement compensation for employees pursuing new jobs and to ease transition. The court concluded the use of years of service was not determinative since fair play might dictate longevity of employment be a factor in determining the amount of payment while not a condition for participation. (208 Cal.App.3d at pp. 453-454.)

2. Characterization

After review of the cited authorities we conclude the trial court erred in finding the enhanced early retirement benefit selected by Allen to be separate property. While it is true no preexisting contractual obligation required the giving of the early retirement benefit, we do not find this determinative. The Union-Tribune offered several voluntary termination incentive plans. The record on appeal reveals the particulars only of the enhanced early retirement option but the names of the others suggest their makeup: the newspapers established enhanced retirement, enhanced early retirement and voluntary separation options.

Each of these plans was clearly designed to deal with the needs of employees of differing ages, years of service and life expectations. A relatively young employee with the company for a short time would be best served by a true severance plan making possible transition to a new company or new profession. Older employees, with lengthy service and eligible for retirement or nearly eligible for retirement would find more useful an enhanced retirement or early retirement plan.

The enhanced early retirement option accepted by Allen reasonably reflected the most likely life plan of an employee of his age and years of service, i.e., continued employment, accumulation of credit towards retirement and retirement. The enhanced early retirement plan merely compressed this process by immediately granting the employee additional age and service credit.

The plan essentially gave the employee a reasonable version of the retirement benefit expected had the merger not threatened employment and the continued accumulation of retirement credit. The enhanced early retirement plan was, therefore, fundamentally not a present payment for a loss of earnings; it was a part of, and intended to be, the realization of Allen’s retirement expectation and thus a form of deferred compensation for services *867rendered. As such the enhanced retirement benefit should have been included in the computation of Marilyn’s community interest in the retirement payment.

3. Computation of Benefit

As noted a formula was agreed on by the parties for the computation of the community share of Allen’s retirement benefit. An important part of the formula is the division of the total number of days Allen was employed during marriage by the total number of days he was employed at the time of retirement. The figure rendered is then multiplied by the monthly retirement benefit to determine what portion of the benefit is attributable to the time of employment which occurred during marriage, i.e., the part of the payment that is community property.

We have concluded Allen was given an enhanced early retirement benefit to essentially compensate him for not being able to continue work and continue to accumulate retirement credit. While this may be a retirement benefit in which the community should share, we conclude it also should add to Allen’s total years of service, i.e., the enhanced benefit is computed by adding five years to service, thus resulting in a higher percentage of the monthly retirement benefit being attributable to Allen’s years of service after the dissolution of the marriage. If the theory of the early retirement plan was to give Allen close to the retirement benefit that would have followed five additional years of actual employment, those years would have increased the amount of the retirement benefit attributed to his nonmarried years and, thus, would have reduced the community property part of the retirement payment. Thus, to apply our reasoning consistently, the computation of the community interest in the enhanced payment should take those additional years into account by adding them to Allen’s total years of employment in the benefit share formula.

The judgment is reversed and the matter is remanded to the trial court for a computation of the community interest in Allen’s retirement benefits consistent with this opinion.

Huffman, J., and Nares, J., concurred.

Cites, in this corpus