gno.law

PWPG v. Primerica Life Ins. CA4/1

California Court of Appeal · D065467 · 2014-07-24 · Unpublished

Proceeding
appeal from a judgment
Trial court
Superior Court of San Bernardino · No. CIV-DS-1015088
Trial judge
Brian S. McCarville
Outcome
affirmed — Affirmed.
Area
dependency
Panel
Gilbert Nares (author), Judith D. McConnell, Cynthia Aaron

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T06:36Z · confidence high

The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Primerica, finding that the insured's failure to disclose his cocaine use and treatment constituted a material misrepresentation that justified rescission of the life insurance policy. The Court of Appeal affirmed the judgment, rejecting the appellant's arguments regarding ambiguity, materiality, timeliness, and evidentiary rulings.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Granting of summary judgment based on material misrepresentation
“The court granted the motion, finding that Primerica was entitled to summary judgment based on undisputed evidence that White misrepresented his prior drug use and that the misrepresentation was material.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The appellate court correctly applied the de novo standard of review for summary judgment. It properly relied on Thompson v. Occidental Life Ins. Co. and Telford v. New York Life Ins. Co. to establish that material misrepresentation or concealment, regardless of intent to deceive, is grounds for rescission. The court correctly determined that materiality is a question of law when facts are undisputed, citing Sogomonian, and found that Primerica's underwriting guidelines established that the misrepresentation was material as a matter of law.
Rejection of ambiguity argument regarding application question 2.d.
“Question 2.d. clearly asks about illegal drug use, irrespective of professional counseling or treatment for such use. Moreover, even if the question could be interpreted as requiring only the disclosure of drug use that resulted in counseling or treatment, as opposed to mere drug use, it is undisputed that White did seek and receive professional counseling and treatment for his cocaine use.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The court correctly reviewed the interpretation of the insurance application de novo. It properly distinguished the case from O'Riordan v. Federal Kemper Life Assurance Co., noting that O'Riordan involved a triable issue of fact regarding habitual use, whereas here the evidence of habitual cocaine use was undisputed. The court correctly noted that compound questions in insurance applications are not inherently ambiguous, citing Thompson and Cohen v. Penn Mutual Life Ins. Co.
Rejection of untimeliness argument regarding the two-year contestability period
“Based upon that date of issue, Primerica's March 20, 2009 rescission falls well within the two-year limitation period prescribed by Insurance Code section 10113.5, subdivision (a).”
de novocorrectagree with court
The court correctly applied Insurance Code section 10113.5, which defines the incontestability period as running from the 'date of issue.' The policy explicitly defined the date of issue as September 20, 2007. The rescission occurred on March 20, 2009, which is within two years of the issue date. The court correctly rejected the argument that the period should run from the application date or temporary coverage date, citing the plain language of the statute and the policy.
Admission of White's statements to medical providers as evidence
“White's statements to his medical providers about his cocaine use are admissible both as nonhearsay admissions under Evidence Code section 1224 and as declarations against interest under Evidence Code section 1230.”
abuse of discretioncorrectagree with court
The court correctly applied the abuse of discretion standard to the trial court's evidentiary rulings. It properly analyzed the admissibility of the statements under Evidence Code section 1224, citing Atlas Assurance Co. v. McCombs Corp. to support the proposition that statements of a non-party declarant are admissible if they would be admissible against the declarant in an action involving the liability in question. It also correctly found the statements admissible as declarations against interest under Evidence Code section 1230, as they were contrary to White's pecuniary and proprietary interests.

Authorities

  • relied: Thompson v. Occidental Life Ins. Co. (1973) 9 Cal.3d 904 — Material misrepresentation or concealment of health facts is grounds for rescission; materiality is determined by the probable and reasonable effect on the insurer; insurer is entitled to rely on answers negating treatment.
  • relied: Telford v. New York Life Ins. Co. (1937) 9 Cal.2d 103 — False representation or concealment of material fact vitiates the policy; intent to deceive is not essential; insured has a duty to report misrepresentations or omissions.
  • relied: Kurtz, Richards, Wilson & Co. v. Insurance Communicators Marketing Corp. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 1249 — Under the Insurance Code, a false representation of material fact is a basis for rescission.
  • relied: Old Line Life Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1991) 229 Cal.App.3d 1600 — If an insured misrepresents or omits even one material fact, the insurer is entitled to rescind the entire contract; materiality is established if the insurer would not have issued the policy or would have charged a higher premium.
  • relied: Torbensen v. Family Life Ins. Co. (1958) 163 Cal.App.2d 401 — Rescission is appropriate regardless of whether there is any relation between the misrepresentation and the ultimate loss.
  • relied: Imperial Casualty & Indem. Co. v. Sogomonian (1988) 198 Cal.App.3d 169 — The test for materiality is subjective, based on the effect on the insurer in question; where facts are undisputed, materiality is a question of law.
  • relied: Cohen v. Penn Mutual Life Ins. Co. (1957) 48 Cal.2d 720 — Insurance applications routinely ask about multiple different medical conditions within the same question.
  • relied: People ex rel. Dept. of Public Works v. Leadership Housing Sys., Inc. (1972) 24 Cal.App.3d 164 — Distinguished as inapposite; the case involved interpreting a witness's answer to a compound question in a trial context, not the inherent ambiguity of an insurance application question.
  • relied: O'Riordan v. Federal Kemper Life Assurance Co. (2005) 36 Cal.4th 281 — Distinguished; O'Riordan involved a triable issue of fact regarding whether the applicant concealed material information about smoking, whereas here the evidence of habitual cocaine use was undisputed.
  • relied: Farmers Auto. Inter-Ins. Exchange v. Calkins (1940) 39 Cal.App.2d 390 — Distinguished as inapposite; the case involved the definition of 'occupation,' whereas here the application asked directly about illegal drug use.
  • relied: Waller v. Truck Ins. Exchange (1995) 11 Cal.4th 1 — Cited for the proposition that post-litigation evidence does not preclude reliance on it to support rescission.
  • relied: Earl v. Saks & Co. (1951) 36 Cal.2d 602 — One may justify an asserted rescission by proving that at the time there was an adequate cause although it did not become known to the rescinding party until later.
  • relied: Security Life Ins. Co. v. Booms (1916) 31 Cal.App. 119 — Interpreting the predecessor to Insurance Code section 356 to permit rescission where the insured was diagnosed with an illness between the application and policy issuance.
  • relied: Casey v. Old Line Life Ins. Co. of Am. (1998) 996 F.Supp. 939 — Interpreting Insurance Code section 356 to impose a duty on the applicant to disclose material changes in health after signing the application and before policy issuance; also cited for the proposition that Thompson's 'post mortem' testimony language applies to jury trials, not summary judgment with uncontroverted evidence.
  • relied: Holz Rubber Co., Inc. v. American Star Ins. Co. (1975) 14 Cal.3d 45 — A misrepresentation is material if it would have resulted in higher premiums.
  • relied: Bennett v. Northwestern Nat'l Ins. Co. (1927) 84 Cal.App. 130 — A misrepresentation is material which would affect the rate of premium.
  • relied: Wilson v. Western National Life Ins. Co (1991) 235 Cal.App.3d 981 — The language in Thompson regarding 'post mortem' testimony applies to jury trials where contradictory evidence is presented, not to summary judgment motions where evidence is uncontradicted.
  • relied: Smith v. Westland Life Ins. Co. (1975) 15 Cal.3d 111 — A conditional receipt is a binder providing for temporary or preliminary insurance until the company's investigation is completed.
  • relied: Atlas Assurance Co. v. McCombs Corp. (1983) 146 Cal.App.3d 135 — Statements of a non-party declarant are admissible under Evidence Code section 1224 if they would be admissible against the declarant in an action involving the liability in question.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly applies the established legal standards for rescission based on material misrepresentation, distinguishing relevant case law such as O'Riordan and Thompson appropriately. It thoroughly addresses each of the appellant's arguments with specific citations to the record and controlling authorities, leaving no significant gaps in the reasoning.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

unusual disposition

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:31Z · confidence medium

The San Bernardino Superior Court granted summary judgment to Primerica Life Insurance Company on PWPG's breach of contract and bad faith claims, holding that Primerica properly rescinded a $2 million life insurance policy because the insured, Herschel White, falsely answered 'no' to an application question about illegal drug use and drug counseling, and the misrepresentation was material under Primerica's underwriting guidelines. The Court of Appeal affirmed, rejecting arguments that the application question was ambiguous, that materiality was triable, that Insurance Code section 356 changed the underwriting lookback, that the rescission was untimely under Insurance Code section 10113.5, and that White's statements to Kaiser providers were inadmissible hearsay.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Grant of summary judgment to Primerica on the ground that it properly rescinded the policy for material misrepresentation in the application
“The court granted the motion, finding that Primerica was entitled to summary judgment based on undisputed evidence that White misrepresented his prior drug use and that the misrepresentation was material.”
unclearcorrectagree with court
The opinion never states a standard of review for the summary judgment ruling, though it functionally reviews the undisputed record independently as de novo review of summary judgment requires. The result follows Thompson and Telford: a false answer to a specific health-history question that would have affected the insurer's decision supports rescission without proof of intent to deceive, and the record showed undisputed cocaine use and counseling within two years before the application.
Determination that application question 2.d. was unambiguous and White's 'no' answer was false
“Question 2.d. clearly asks about illegal drug use, irrespective of professional counseling or treatment for such use.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The court treated interpretation of the written application as a question of law. The question is disjunctive, lists illegal drug use as a separate item, and was read to White in four parts in the recorded interview with a separate 'no' to the drug-use part; even on PWPG's narrower reading White had received counseling and treatment. O'Riordan and Calkins were properly distinguished because those cases involved genuinely arguable question wording or a disclosure to the agent, neither present here.
Determination that the misrepresentation was material as a matter of law based on Primerica's underwriting guidelines and the director of underwriting's declaration
“If the insurer would not have issued the policy if it had known the true facts, or if it would have charged a higher premium for the policy, materiality is established.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The court applied the settled subjective test from Thompson, Sogomonian and Old Line Life, under which materiality is a question of law where the facts are undisputed. Uncontradicted evidence that Primerica declines applicants with cocaine use within two years of the application, and charges a flat extra for use within two to five years, satisfies either prong. PWPG offered no admissible contrary evidence because its expert's opinions were excluded on unchallenged rulings.
Rejection of PWPG's argument under Thompson that a trier of fact could disbelieve the insurer's post-mortem materiality testimony
“That language in the Thompson case has been explained by subsequent California courts as applicable only to situations in which contradictory evidence regarding materiality has been presented to a jury, not on a motion for summary judgment where the evidence is uncontroverted.”
de novocorrectagree with court
Wilson v. Western National Life Ins. Co. directly addresses this argument and holds the Thompson language reflects a jury's freedom to disbelieve witnesses after trial, not a rule that uncontradicted summary judgment evidence creates a triable issue. The opinion correctly applies that distinction.
Rejection of argument that Insurance Code section 356 required the two-year cocaine lookback to run from the policy's issue date rather than the application date
“Thus, Insurance Code section 356 does not support PWPG's position.”
de novocorrectagree with court
Section 356 is a disclosure rule presuming representations speak as of contract completion, which Booms construed as imposing a duty to update health information before issuance; it does not dictate how an insurer's internal underwriting guidelines measure time. The court correctly held the statute irrelevant to the materiality inquiry, which depends on the insurer's actual practices.
Determination that the March 20, 2009 rescission was timely within the two-year contestability period measured from the September 20, 2007 date of issue
“Based upon that date of issue, Primerica's March 20, 2009 rescission falls well within the two-year limitation period prescribed by Insurance Code section 10113.5, subdivision (a).”
de novocorrectagree with court
Section 10113.5 ties incontestability to the date of issue, and the policy expressly defined that date as September 20, 2007 and stated it controls the incontestability provision. PWPG's theory that temporary coverage under a conditional receipt started the clock cited no California authority, and Smith v. Westland Life confirms a conditional receipt is a separate interim binder, not the issued policy.
Admission of White's statements to Kaiser providers about his cocaine use over hearsay objection, under Evidence Code sections 1224 and 1230
“Thus, the court did not abuse its discretion by admitting White's statements under Evidence Code section 1224.”
abuse of discretioncorrectagree with court
Section 1224 fits: PWPG's claim is barred by White's breach of his duty, as applicant and insured who signed the application, to answer truthfully, so his admissions are admissible against PWPG as they would be against him, exactly as in Atlas Assurance. The alternative section 1230 ground is also sound because White was deceased and thus unavailable and the statements admitted habitual illegal drug use, though the court's focus on pecuniary interest rather than the more obvious risk of criminal liability and social disgrace prongs is a weaker path, and the opinion did not note the Reid v. Google question whether evidentiary rulings on summary judgment are reviewed de novo.
Sustaining of Primerica's objections to the opinions of PWPG's expert Leitner, including his opinion that Primerica made an exception for White's cocaine use
“On appeal, PWPG does not challenge the court's ruling on those objections. Thus, PWPG may not rely on Leitner's opinions on this appeal.”
unclearcorrectagree with court
PWPG forfeited any challenge by not attacking the evidentiary rulings on appeal, so the excluded opinions could not create a triable issue. Independently, the court noted the opinion assumed Primerica knew of the June 2005 cocaine abuse diagnosis when it issued the policy, which the undisputed record contradicted because Kaiser did not produce that record until the 2008 claim investigation.

Authorities

  • relied: Thompson v. Occidental Life Ins. Co. (1973) 9 Cal.3d 904 — Material misrepresentation or concealment of health history is ground for rescission without intent to deceive; materiality is measured by the probable effect of truthful answers on the insurer, and specific application questions usually establish materiality as a matter of law.
  • relied: Telford v. New York Life Ins. Co. (1937) 9 Cal.2d 103 — A false representation material to the risk, intentional or not, vitiates the policy; the insured's duty of fair dealing makes her responsible for misstatements in the application.
  • relied: Old Line Life Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1991) 229 Cal.App.3d 1600 — Misrepresentation of even one material fact permits rescission; materiality turns on whether the fact would have affected the insurer's decision to issue, the risk assessment, or the premium.
  • relied: Imperial Casualty & Indem. Co. v. Sogomonian (1988) 198 Cal.App.3d 169 — The materiality test is subjective to the particular insurer, and where the facts are undisputed materiality is a question of law.
  • relied: Wilson v. Western National Life Ins. Co. (1991) 235 Cal.App.3d 981 — Thompson's statement that a trier of fact need not believe post-mortem underwriting testimony applies to jury trials, not to summary judgment where the materiality evidence is uncontradicted.
  • relied: O'Riordan v. Federal Kemper Life Assurance Co. (2005) 36 Cal.4th 281 — A triable issue on concealment existed where the applicant smoked only a cigarette or two, the question arguably asked about habitual use, and she disclosed the facts to the insurer's agent; distinguished here.
  • relied: Atlas Assurance Co. v. McCombs Corp. (1983) 146 Cal.App.3d 135 — Under Evidence Code section 1224, a nonparty declarant's admissions are admissible against a party whose claim is barred by the declarant's breach of duty, as they would be against the declarant.
  • relied: Holz Rubber Co., Inc. v. American Star Ins. Co. (1975) 14 Cal.3d 45 — A misrepresentation that would have affected the premium rate is material.
  • relied: Smith v. Westland Life Ins. Co. (1975) 15 Cal.3d 111 — A conditional receipt provides temporary insurance pending the insurer's investigation of insurability and is distinct from the issued policy.
  • relied: Waller v. Truck Ins. Exchange (1995) 11 Cal.4th 1 — A rescinding party may justify rescission by cause existing at the time even if discovered later.
  • relied: Earl v. Saks & Co. (1951) 36 Cal.2d 602 — One may justify an asserted rescission by proving an adequate cause existed at the time although it did not become known until later.
  • relied: Torbensen v. Family Life Ins. Co. (1958) 163 Cal.App.2d 401 — Rescission is available regardless of any causal relation between the misrepresentation and the loss.
  • relied: Cohen v. Penn Mutual Life Ins. Co. (1957) 48 Cal.2d 720 — Insurance applications routinely group multiple medical conditions in a single question.
  • relied: Security Life Ins. Co. v. Booms (1916) 31 Cal.App. 119 — The predecessor to Insurance Code section 356 requires an applicant to disclose material health changes occurring between application and issuance.
  • relied: Kurtz, Richards, Wilson & Co. v. Insurance Communicators Marketing Corp. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 1249 — Under the Insurance Code a false representation of material fact is a basis for rescission.
  • relied: Bennett v. Northwestern Nat'l Ins. Co. (1927) 84 Cal.App. 130 — A misrepresentation that would affect the rate of premium is material.
  • relied: Farmers Auto. Inter-Ins. Exchange v. Calkins (1940) 39 Cal.App.2d 390 — An applicant's answer that he was a rancher was truthful under the ordinary meaning of occupation despite volunteer firefighting; distinguished because here the question directly asked about illegal drug use.
  • relied: People ex rel. Dept. of Public Works v. Leadership Housing Sys., Inc. (1972) 24 Cal.App.3d 164 — A witness's answer to a compound trial question is construed in light of other testimony; it does not hold compound questions inherently ambiguous.
  • missed: Aguilar v. Atlantic Richfield Co. (2001) 25 Cal.4th 826 — Sets the burdens on summary judgment and the de novo standard of appellate review; the opinion never articulated the standard of review for the summary judgment ruling.
  • missed: Reid v. Google, Inc. (2010) 50 Cal.4th 512 — Left open whether evidentiary rulings made on summary judgment are reviewed de novo or for abuse of discretion; the opinion applied abuse of discretion to the hearsay ruling without acknowledging the question.

The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court answered each of PWPG's arguments with controlling Supreme Court and Court of Appeal authority on rescission, materiality, the contestability period, and Evidence Code section 1224, and the undisputed record of habitual cocaine use within two years of the application made the result secure. Gaps are that the opinion never states the standard of review for summary judgment, does not cite Insurance Code sections 331 and 359 directly, does not expressly address White's unavailability under section 1230, and rests the declaration-against-interest holding on pecuniary interest rather than the clearer criminal-liability and social-disgrace prongs.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

Opinion

Filed 7/24/14 PWPG v. Primerica Life Ins. CA4/1 NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS California Rules of Court, rule 8.1115(a), prohibits courts and parties from citing or relying on opinions not certified for publication or ordered published, except as specified by rule 8.1115(b). This opinion has not been certified for publication or ordered published for purposes of rule 8.1115.

COURT OF APPEAL, FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

PWPG, LLC, D065467

Plaintiff and Appellant, v. (Super. Ct. No. CIV-DS-1015088)

PRIMERICA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant and Respondent.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of San Bernardino, Brian S.

McCarville, Judge. Affirmed.

David W. Allor for Plaintiff and Appellant.

Barger & Wolen and Gail E. Cohen for Defendant and Respondent.

This action arises out of defendant and respondent Primerica Life Insurance Company's (Primerica's) rescission of a life insurance policy issued on the life of Herschel White, D.C. (White), one of the principals of plaintiff and appellant PWPG, LLC (PWPG), in whose favor the policy was written. When White applied for the policy, he denied having ever used or been treated for use of illegal drugs. After he passed away from cancer, Primerica discovered he had a history of cocaine use. On that basis, Primerica rescinded the policy.

PWPG sued, alleging breach of contract and bad faith on the part of Primerica.

The court granted summary judgment in favor of Primerica, concluding that Primerica had properly rescinded White's policy because: (1) Primerica's policy application inquired about White's history of illegal drug use and counseling and/or treatment for that use, (2) White had a history of cocaine abuse and drug/alcohol counseling during the two years preceding his completion of the application, (3) White misrepresented and concealed his cocaine use and counseling on his application, and (4) White's history of cocaine abuse and counseling was material to the issuance of the Primerica policy.

PWPG appeals, asserting (1) the question on the application concerning prior drug use was ambiguous, (2) there was no admissible evidence establishing a misrepresentation, (3) there was a triable issue of fact concerning the materiality of the alleged misrepresentation, and (4) Primerica's notice of rescission was untimely. We affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND.

A. White's Application for Life Insurance White, in addition to working as a chiropractor, was also a principal of PWPG, which owned property next to his chiropractic practice. On March 16, 2007, White met with a Primerica insurance agent and completed an application for a $2 million life insurance policy (the Policy). Question 2.d. in the application asked: "In the past 10 2 years, has any person named in this application: . . . [¶] Received professional counseling or medical treatment due to the use of; alcohol or drugs; used illegal or illegally obtained drugs; been convicted of drug or alcohol related charges; been convicted of a felony; or been incarcerated for any felony?" (Italics added.) White answered "no" to question 2.d.

White thereafter signed the application, verifying that all information provided was true and complete and agreed that Primerica could void and rescind the Policy within two years after its date of issuance if any information was determined to be false or incomplete. The application was also signed by PWPG as the Policy's owner.

After receiving the application, Primerica conducted its underwriting process. As part of that process Primerica arranged to have an outside vendor interview White by telephone to confirm his answers to the questions on the Primerica policy application. Of relevance to this appeal, a transcript of the portion of the recorded interview pertaining to White's history of alcohol and drug use states:

"Interviewer: In the past 10 years have you received professional counseling or medical treatment due to the use of alcohol or drugs?

"Dr. White: No.

"Interviewer: Or used illegal or illegally obtained drugs?

"Dr. White: No."

Additionally, Primerica requested copies of all medical records pertaining to White from his health insurer, Kaiser Permanente (Kaiser), and reviewed those records before deciding to issue the Policy. The records produced by Kaiser to Primerica 3 contained no mention of illegal drug use or drug counseling. Primerica also conducted a medical examination of White, but his urinalysis was negative at that point for cocaine use.

B. Primerica Issues the Policy Primerica thereafter issued the Policy with a September 20, 2007 "date of issue."

The Policy contains an incontestability clause which permits Primerica to contest the Policy's validity by rescission for material misrepresentation or concealment within two years after its date of issue. The Policy defines "date of issue" as "[t]he date shown on Page 3 on which We issue the Policy to You. This date controls the Incontestability and Suicide Exclusion provisions . . . ." The date shown on page 3 was September 20, 2007.

C. PWPG Submits a Claim Under the Policy In 2008 PPWG learned that White was terminally ill from lung cancer. In November 2008 PWPG, as the Policy's owner and beneficiary, submitted a claim for benefits under the Policy's "Terminal Illness Accelerated Benefit" rider. That rider provides for an advance payment of benefits when the insured is diagnosed with a terminal illness. Since the Policy was within two years of its issuance, and thus within the two-year contestability period, Primerica conducted a routine investigation of White's medical history. Primerica again requested all medical records pertaining to White from Kaiser.

This time, Kaiser produced a behavioral health record dated June 30, 2005, which had not been produced in response to Primerica's initial records request during the underwriting process. This record showed that on June 30, 2005, White underwent an 4 assessment and was diagnosed by Carole Oliver (C. Oliver), a licensed clinical social worker, with: "Cocaine Abuse . . . R/O Alcohol Abuse. . . Partner Relational Problem."

This record also indicated outpatient treatment by a Dr. Hacar.

D. Primerica Attempts To Contact White As part of its contestability investigation, Primerica attempted to contact White, directly and through a third-party vendor, Broyles Claims Decision Support, Inc.

(Broyles). Broyles placed several phone calls to White at his office, but was unable to reach him. Broyles also sent a letter dated November 24, 2008, to White's residence via Federal Express, requesting that White contact Broyles for a recorded statement. Dr.

White received and signed for the letter on November 26, 2008, but never responded to any of Primerica's or Broyles's communications.

E. Primerica Rescinds the Policy Primerica determined that, pursuant to its underwriting guidelines and practice, it would not have issued the Policy if it had known about White's history of cocaine abuse.

Primerica sent letters on March 20, 2009 to White and PWPG, notifying them that it had rescinded the Policy. In its letter to White, Primerica advised him of the basis for its decision: White's history of cocaine use and professional counseling for that use. That letter also asked him to contact Primerica if he had any additional information that he would like Primerica to consider. White never contacted Primerica in response to that letter, either to challenge the rescission or to provide any additional information regarding the basis of the rescission, nor did he ever suggest that he was at all confused by the application.

5 After receipt of Primerica's rescission letter White wrote to Kaiser to request a copy of his records pertaining to "treatment at the mental health center . . . in San Bernardino and also at the chemical dependency treatment center on Marygold in Fontana, both sometime in 2005."

F. Primerica Discovers Additional Evidence of White's Cocaine Use 1. White's Drug and Alcohol Counseling at Kaiser's Behavioral Health Department During this litigation, Primerica served subpoenas on Kaiser. In response to those subpoenas Primerica received more records further confirming that White had used cocaine extensively and as recently as June 2005. The records produced by Kaiser Behavioral Health in San Bernardino show that White received counseling there on June 30, 2005 from C. Oliver. Oliver's June 30, 2005 treatment records stated that White argued with his girlfriend over his "using cocaine," that he liked to use cocaine, that he had been using cocaine for at least two years, and that he feared he would lose his girlfriend over his habits.

C. Oliver noted diagnoses of "Cocaine Abuse," "R/O Alcohol Abuse," and "Partner Relational Problem." Under "[t]reatment plans and recommendations," she stated, in part: "Client's goals: Unclear. Ambivalent whether he wants help because he knows he will be told he needs to quit substances, and he does not want to;" "CDRP [Chemical Dependency Recovery Program] referral. Given recommendation to go and discuss this with counselor there and make his decision."

6 2. White's Drug and Alcohol Counseling at Kaiser's Chemical Dependency Recovery Program On July 5, 2005, White went to Kaiser's Chemical Dependency Recovery Program (CDRP) in Fontana, California. The "Addiction Medicine Nursing Initial Assessment"

form completed at that time indicated a diagnosis of "cocaine and etoh [alcohol]

dependency." White reported that he had "six drinks or two drinks three times per week"

for 12 years, and White also reported that he snorted "several lines" of cocaine once or twice per week. He stated that he had been using cocaine for 11 years, his most recent use being the previous Friday, and that he had "cravings" for alcohol and cocaine.

On July 7, 2005, White returned to CDRP for a counseling session with Brenda Oliver (B. Oliver),1 a chemical dependency recovery program counselor. After that counseling session, B. Oliver created a "problem list" which documented "cocaine and alcohol dependence" as a problem and noted White's perception of this problem as follows: "I'm here because of cocaine and my [girlfriend's] ultimatum." B. Oliver also noted that White's problem "[m]ust be addressed by CDRP Outpatient Care Provider."

B. Oliver's treatment notes from White's counseling session contain several statements by White regarding his cocaine and alcohol abuse: "Drug(s) of Choice:

Cocaine;" "Relationship(s): Shaky due to drug use;" "Unsafe Environment: Easy access to cocaine;" "Initial Treatment Plan: [Education] series? Reluctant to attend 12 step;"

"Chief Complaint: Girlfriend found out I was using cocaine and not acceptable;"

"[Patient] not very motivated to quit alcohol use but wants to stop using cocaine for his 1 Brenda Oliver is not related to C. Oliver. 7 [girlfriend];" "Problems Identified: Cocaine and alcohol dependent." White also informed B. Oliver during that counseling session that he had started using cocaine socially but now used cocaine "once or twice per week."

B. Oliver diagnosed White with cocaine and alcohol abuse and referred him for further treatment, including an educational series (classroom lectures regarding the impact of substance abuse), a 12-step program, and case management (individual counseling sessions). She also gave White Alcoholics Anonymous and Cocaine Anonymous booklets detailing various locations where he could attend meetings.

G. Primerica's Underwriting Guidelines Regarding Cocaine Use Primerica's written underwriting guidelines and underwriting practices provide that cocaine use by an applicant within two years prior to the application, regardless of amount or frequency, results in the declination of coverage. Therefore, had Primerica known about White's cocaine use, it would not have issued the Policy.

Moreover, under Primerica's written guidelines, even if White's cocaine use were more remote (between two and five years prior to the date of the application) Primerica would not have issued the Policy at the same premium rate. Primerica would have charged a significantly higher premium rate for the Policy, amounting to an additional $10,000 in premiums per year.

H. The Instant Action In November 2010 PWPG filed this action. On November 24, 2010, PWPG filed a first amended complaint, asserting causes of action for breach of contract and bad faith 8 against Primerica and a cause of action for negligence/breach of fiduciary duty against David Calzaretta, the insurance agent who sold the Policy.2 In January 2012 Primerica filed its motion for summary judgment, seeking dismissal of the action on the grounds that it properly rescinded the Policy due to White's material misrepresentation. The court granted the motion, finding that Primerica was entitled to summary judgment based on undisputed evidence that White misrepresented his prior drug use and that the misrepresentation was material.

In this regard, the court found:

"Primerica properly rescinded the subject Primerica life insurance policy based upon [White's] material misrepresentation and concealment on the insurance application. It is undisputed that Question 2.d. on the application inquired whether [White] had used any illegal drugs in the previous 10 years, that [White] responded 'no' to that question, and that he signed the application attesting to the purported truthfulness of his response. It is further undisputed that [White] used cocaine on multiple occasions within five years prior to the insurance application, including during the two years preceding the application. As such, [White's] response to Question 2.d. was false. [¶] Moreover, it is undisputed that [White's] misrepresentation and concealment were material to Primerica's decision to issue the policy. The undisputed evidence shows that Primerica would not have issued the policy if it had known that [White] had used cocaine within the two years preceding the application. The undisputed evidence also shows that, even if [White] had not used cocaine within the two years preceding the application, Primerica would have charged significantly higher premiums for the policy due to his cocaine use within the years preceding the application."

This timely appeal follows.

2 Calzaretta was later dismissed from the action. 9 DISCUSSION

I. PRIMERICA'S RESCISSION WAS PROPER

A. Rescission Is Proper if the Application Contains a Material Misrepresentation or Omission "It is generally held that an insurer has a right to know all that the applicant for insurance knows regarding the state of his health and medical history. [Citations.]

Material misrepresentation or concealment of such facts are grounds for rescission of the policy, and an actual intent to deceive need not be shown. [Citations.] Materiality is determined solely by the probable and reasonable effect which truthful answers would have had upon the insurer. [Citations.] The fact that the insurer has demanded answers to specific questions in an application for insurance is in itself usually sufficient to establish materiality as a matter of law." (Thompson v. Occidental Life Ins. Co. (1973) 9 Cal.3d 904, 915-916 (Thompson); Telford v. New York Life Ins. Co. (1937) 9 Cal.2d 103, 105 (Telford) ["A false representation or a concealment of fact whether intentional or unintentional, which is material to the risk vitiates the policy. The presence of an intent to deceive is not essential."]; Kurtz, Richards, Wilson & Co. v. Insurance Communicators Marketing Corp. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 1249, 1258 ["Under the Insurance Code, a false representation of material fact is a basis for rescission, and insurers are known to avail themselves of that remedy."].)

In Telford, supra, 9 Cal.2d 103, in reversing a judgment after trial favoring the insured plaintiff, the California Supreme Court rejected a contention that because of knowledge imputed from its agent, the defendant insurer was not actually deceived by its 10 insured's incomplete answer on the application for the policy. (Id. at p. 107.) Noting case law recognizing that "the requirement of fair dealing is laid on both parties to the contract," the Supreme Court observed: "This requirement entails a duty on the part of the insured to read the contract and the application in accordance with her representations and to report to the company any misrepresentations or omissions. There is no showing in the present case that the failure to read the application was due to any act of the defendant and under the decisions the facts herein do not make an exception so as to excuse the insured's failure to read it. By neglecting to inform the company of the material omissions, the insured became responsible for such misrepresentations or omissions." (Ibid.) Our high court concluded: "There are no circumstances in the present case which could be said to indicate that the defendant has waived the false answer of the insured by knowledge of its falsity, except the inference afforded by the [knowledge imputed from its agent]. Under the decisions the effect of this imputation of knowledge is overcome by the failure of the insured to conform to the requirement of fair dealing as a result of which she must be deemed to have adopted and approved as her own act the [agent's] omission to convey the knowledge to the defendant." (Id. at p. 108.)

Here, it is clear that in his application submitted to Primerica, White gave false answers to questions about medical history/treatment that were material to the risk to be insured. (Thompson, supra, 9 Cal.3d at pp. 915-916; Telford, supra, 9 Cal.2d at p. 105.)

In issuing PWPG the policy Primerica was "entitled to rely on answers which negatived any such treatment." (Telford, supra, at p. 106.) By submitting indisputably false 11 answers to Primerica, White (and PWPF) became responsible for such misrepresentations. (Ibid.)

Moreover, if an insured misrepresents or omits even one material fact in his or her application, the insurer is entitled to rescind the entire contract. (Thompson, supra, 9 Cal.3d at p. 911; Old Line Life Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1991) 229 Cal.App.3d 1600, 1604 (Old Line).)

Further, it is of no moment that White's cause of death was unrelated to his cocaine use. Rescission is appropriate regardless of whether there is any relation between the misrepresentation and the ultimate loss. (Torbensen v. Family Life Ins. Co. (1958)

163 Cal.App.2d 401, 405.)

As PWPG concedes, the test for whether a misrepresentation or omission is material, so as to provide a basis for rescission, is subjective. It is determined based on the effect of the misrepresentation or omission on the insurer in question. (Thompson, supra, 9 Cal.3d at p. 916; Imperial Casualty & Indem. Co. v. Sogomonian (1988) 198 Cal.App.3d 169, 181 (Sogomonian).) The only question is whether the misrepresented or omitted fact would have affected the insurer's decision to underwrite the contract. (Old Line, supra, 229 Cal.App.3d at p. 1604.) If the insurer would not have issued the policy if it had known the true facts, or if it would have charged a higher premium for the policy, materiality is established. (Id. at pp. 1605-1606.) Where the facts are undisputed, materiality is a question of law. (Sogomonian, supra, 198 Cal.App.3d at p. 181.)

12 B. The Application Was Not Ambiguous PWPG asserts that Primerica may not rescind the Policy because question 2.d. on the Policy application was ambiguous as to whether White was required to disclose his cocaine use history. Specifically, PWPG contends that question 2.d is so ambiguous that an applicant could have interpreted it as only asking about prior drug use that resulted in criminal consequences or drug counseling or treatment. This contention is unavailing.

Question 2.d. clearly asks about illegal drug use, irrespective of professional counseling or treatment for such use. Moreover, even if the question could be interpreted as requiring only the disclosure of drug use that resulted in counseling or treatment, as opposed to mere drug use, it is undisputed that White did seek and receive professional counseling and treatment for his cocaine use.

PWPG asserts question 2.d. is ambiguous because it inquires about more than one aspect of White's history: drug use, alcohol counseling, alcohol treatment, drug counseling, drug treatment, and provides for a single "yes" or "no" response. We reject this contention.

Insurance applications routinely ask about multiple different medical conditions within the same question. (Thompson, supra, 9 Cal.3d at pp. 914-915; Cohen v. Penn Mutual Life Ins. Co. (1957) 48 Cal.2d 720, 723.) Moreover, question 2.d. is phrased in the disjunctive, meaning that it requires a "yes" response if any of the items listed in the question occurred. White answered "no" to the entire question, indicating that none of the activities relating to drug use or counseling or treatment occurred.

13 PWPG asserts that "a compound application question which allows only for a single yes or no response must be considered ambiguous on its face." However, PWPG does not cite any legal authority for this proposition.

Moreover, the only case authority cited by PWPG in its opening brief on the subject of compound questions, People ex rel. Dept. of Public Works v. Leadership Housing Sys., Inc. (1972) 24 Cal.App.3d 164, 170 (Leadership Housing), is inapposite.

In that case, the court analyzed a response by a witness to a compound question asked during a trial to determine which part of the question the witness was responding to. The issue on appeal was whether an expert appraiser had failed to consider the appellant's out- of-pocket, indirect, overhead costs in his analysis. The appellant argued that he did, pointing to the following testimony from the appraiser: "'Q Mr. Cotton, we have now heard the testimony in this case that the actual indirect cost—one method of allocation shows $91,000 to this particular project. Did you include any of those, or have you seen those sheets? A I don't think I have.'" (Ibid.)

The Court of Appeal concluded that counsel's question did not establish that the appraiser failed to include the costs in his calculation. Instead, the court held that "[i]n light of other testimony it is obvious the answer of the witness is he did not think he had 'seen those sheets.'" (Leadership Housing, supra, 24 Cal.App.3d at p. 170.) Thus, the court did not find the question inherently ambiguous, but rather found that other evidence presented at trial demonstrated that the witness's answer meant something other than what the appellant asserted it meant.

14 PWPG also asserts the use of semicolons in question 2.d. created an ambiguity.

Specifically, PWPG claims that Primerica's use of semicolons to separate the various items enumerated in the question suggests that all six of the clauses were intended to ask a single question. PWPG bases this argument on the assertion that "[s]emicolons are generally used to connect two closely related ideas and they are not used to connect multiple clauses (unless they are separating complex lists with internal punctuation)."

However, PWPG again cites no authority for this proposition.

The use of a semicolon to separate multiple alternative clauses within one sentence, as it is used in question 2.d., is proper. Question 2.d. unambiguously uses semicolons to separate a list of items, each of which is a potential alternative answer to the phrase "[i]n the past 10 years, has any person named in this application . . . ." It is clear that question 2.d. calls for a "yes" response if the applicant used illegal or illegally obtained drugs or received professional counseling or medical treatment due to the use of drugs.

PWPG proposes what it considers to be more effective ways of inquiring into illegal drug use in the application by redrafting question 2.d. in various ways. However, these proposals are of no moment. The only relevant inquiry is whether question 2.d., as drafted, is unambiguous, which we conclude it is.

PWPG cites two insurance cases in an attempt to support its position that the application is ambiguous. However, neither of these cases supports its position.

For example, in O'Riordan v. Federal Kemper Life Assurance Co. (2005) 36 Cal.4th 281 (O'Riordan), the court did not determine that the application question at issue 15 in that case was ambiguous as a matter of law. In that case, the applicant failed to disclose that she smoked a "cigarette or two" during a 36-month period, and the application question arguably could be construed to inquire only about habitual use. The court found that there was "a triable issue of fact whether [the applicant] concealed or failed to communicate material information to [the insurer] regarding her use of cigarettes in the 36 months preceding her application for life insurance at a nonsmoker rate." (Id. at p. 287.)

Here, by contrast, the evidence shows that White was a habitual user of cocaine, and that he snorted "several lines" of cocaine "once or twice per week" for years.

Further, in O'Riordan the Court of Appeal found that the applicant "did not conceal [her smoking history] from [the insurer]" because she in fact disclosed it to the insurer's agent at the time of the application and the agent told her, "That's not really what they're looking for. They're looking for smokers." (O'Riordan, supra, 36 Cal.4th at p.

284.) Thus, the O'Riordan case is inapposite.

Farmers Auto. Inter-Ins. Exchange v. Calkins (1940) 39 Cal.App.2d 390 also does not support PWPG's position. In that case, the Court of Appeal examined the definition of the term "occupation" and concluded that the application answers provided by the insured, that he was a rancher, were truthful given that definition. (Id. at p. 395.) The Court of Appeal found it irrelevant that he did not disclose that he also volunteered as a firefighter because that was not considered an "occupation." (Id. at pp. 394, 396.) The Farmers case is inapposite because, here, the application asked directly whether White had used illegal drugs.

16 Further, the undisputed facts show White actually understood the question.

Question 2.d. was orally read to White by the insurance agent, Calzaretta, and White responded orally. Following the submission of the application, question 2.d. again was orally read to White, in a recorded telephone interview, in four separate parts. White gave four separate "no" responses, including a "no" response immediately following the question "or used illegal or illegally obtained drugs?"

Even after Primerica notified White that it was rescinding the Policy due to his undisclosed cocaine use, White never claimed that he was confused by the application question or that he did not know that it required him to disclose his cocaine use.

Primerica even attempted to contact White prior to the rescission. However, White did not respond to Primerica's communications.

As we have discussed in the factual background, ante, the undisputed evidence demonstrates that White's answer to question 2.d. was false. And the fact that some of the evidence of White's cocaine use was uncovered postlitigation does not preclude Primerica from relying on that evidence to support the rescission. (Waller v. Truck Ins.

Exchange (1995) 11 Cal.4th 1, 31; Earl v. Saks & Co. (1951) 36 Cal.2d 602, 609 ["One may justify an asserted rescission by proving that at the time there was an adequate cause although it did not become known to [the rescinding party] until later."].)

C. White's Misrepresentation Was Material It is clear that White's undisclosed cocaine use was material. In her declaration in support of Primerica's motion for summary judgment, Debra Walker, a 25-year employee 17 of Primerica and its director of underwriting, stated that Primerica would not have issued the Policy at all if it had known about White's cocaine use history.

Moreover, Walker's testimony is supported by Primerica's written underwriting guidelines and practices. Those guidelines provide that cocaine use by an applicant within two years prior to the application, regardless of amount or frequency, automatically results in the "postponement" of any application for coverage. As Walker explained, under these guidelines, Primerica would not literally "hold" an application for life insurance; it would decline the application and consider a future application from the applicant only if and when he or she reapplies for coverage and is insurable. This testimony is not challenged by PWPG.

Accordingly, White's misrepresentation was material.

PWPG asserts that, rather than decline to issue the Policy, Primerica would have merely delayed (or "postponed") its issuance until the expiration of two years from White's last-known use of cocaine, at which time Primerica would have automatically issued the Policy.

As discussed, ante, however, the materiality inquiry must be determined based on Primerica's actual underwriting practices, not PWPG's speculation as to what those practices might or should be. (Sogomonian, supra, 198 Cal.App.3d at p. 181.) The undisputed evidence establishes that if Primerica had known the truth about White's cocaine use history, it would have declined to issue any coverage to him.

18 It is undisputed that White used cocaine as recently as July 1, 2005, and that he signed the application for his Primerica policy less than two years later, on March 16, 2007.

PWPG asserts that White's July 1, 2005 cocaine use falls outside of the two-year period referenced in Primerica's underwriting guidelines because it occurred more than two years prior to the Policy's issuance date. This contention is unavailing.

As Primerica's underwriters stated in support of the motion for summary judgment, the two-year period referenced in Primerica's underwriting guidelines for cocaine use history is calculated by Primerica to run back from the date of the insurance application, not the Policy's date of issuance. Again, PWPG does not point to any evidence in the record to the contrary.

D. Insurance Code Section 356 PWPG asserts that Insurance Code section 356 mandates that when Primerica underwrote White's coverage, Primerica was required to calculate the two-year timeframe for cocaine use considered by the underwriters from the date of the Policy's issuance, rather than from the application date. We reject this contention.

Insurance Code section 356 provides: "The completion of the contract of insurance is the time to which a representation must be presumed to refer." Courts have interpreted this statute to impose a duty upon an applicant to disclose to the insurer any material changes in his or her health that occur after he or she signs the application and before the policy is issued. (Security Life Ins. Co. v. Booms (1916) 31 Cal.App. 119, 120-122 [interpreting Ins. Code section 356's predecessor (Civ. Code, § 2577) to permit 19 rescission where the insured truthfully denied any history of illness on the application but was diagnosed with typhoid fever between the time of the application and the time of the policy's issuance]; Casey v. Old Line Life Ins. Co. of Am. (N.D.Cal. 1998) 996 F.Supp.

939, 945 (Casey).)

Thus, Insurance Code section 356 does not support PWPG's position.

E. Even if Primerica Had Accepted Coverage of White It Would Have Charged a Higher Premium Even if PWPG would not have declined to issue the Policy based upon White's cocaine use, it is clear that, at a minimum, Primerica would have charged significantly higher premiums based on White's cocaine use history. This fact by itself suffices to render White's misrepresentation material for purposes of Primerica's rescission. (Holz Rubber Co., Inc. v. American Star Ins. Co. (1975) 14 Cal.3d 45, 61; Old Line, supra, 229 Cal.App.3d at p. 1604 ["'The most generally accepted test of materiality is whether or not the matter misstated could reasonably be considered material in affecting the insurer's decision as to whether or not to enter into the contract, in estimating the degree or character of the risk, or in fixing the premium rate thereon.'"]; Bennett v. Northwestern Nat'l Ins. Co. (1927) 84 Cal.App. 130, 136 ["a misrepresentation is material which would affect the rate of premium"].)

PWPG asserts that rescission should be precluded where the misrepresented facts would have resulted in higher premiums because the remedy of reformation is available to insurers in cases of mutual mistake. This contention is unavailing.

20 This is not a case of mutual mistake. White knew about his cocaine use history, and Primerica did not.

PWPG asserts that Primerica would not have charged a higher premium if it had known about White's cocaine use history. We reject this contention.

PWPG's argument is directly contradicted by the undisputed evidence presented on PWPG's motion for summary judgment. Pursuant to Primerica's underwriting guidelines, even if White's cocaine use were more remote (between two and five years prior to the date of the application), Primerica would have charged a higher premium rate for the Policy. Specifically, Primerica's written underwriting guidelines show that an applicant with a history of cocaine use between two and five years prior to the application is charged a "flat extra" premium, in addition to the premium rate otherwise applicable to that applicant, in the amount of $5 per each $1,000 of coverage. In White's case, if he had stopped using cocaine more than two but less than five years prior to the date of his application (March 16, 2007), his cocaine use history would have increased his premiums by an additional $10,000 per year for the $2 million policy.

PWPG also contends that because White initially was approved for coverage at a higher "tobacco" rate, his cocaine use history would not have resulted in higher premiums. This contention is unavailing.

In making this assertion, PWPG does not cite to the record or any authority.

Moreover, the deposition testimony of Walker, Primerica's director of underwriting, establishes the opposite:

21 "Q. All right. So an applicant that uses tobacco or has used tobacco is put into a smoker category, correct?

"A. Tobacco category.

"Q. A tobacco category. Under what circumstances would they have to pay an even higher premium than another tobacco user?

"A. If there was additional medical history or occupation or hazardous. If they were rated for something else in addition.

"Q. Are these considered extras?

"A. Well, it could either be a table rating or an additional flat extra or one or the other." (Italics added.)

Based upon this testimony it is clear that "flat extras" based upon "additional medical history," i.e., cocaine abuse, are added to tobacco and non-tobacco rating tables alike. The tables provide the starting point in determining the rate (e.g., based on age, coverage amount, tobacco/non-tobacco), and the "flat extras" (additional charges) are added on top of the table rating as appropriate based on the applicant's medical and personal history (i.e., cocaine use, heart disease, cancer, occupational hazards, etc.).

F. PWPG's Contention That Primerica Would Have Made an "Exception" for White's Cocaine Use PWPG asserts that summary judgment should be reversed because there is a triable issue of fact as to whether Primerica would have made an "exception" by issuing coverage to a cocaine user at no additional premium. This contention is also unavailing.

PWPG's contention is based on the opinion of its expert, Elliot Leitner. However, Primerica asserted objections to 23 of Leitner's opinions, including his opinion that Primerica granted an exception to White with respect to his cocaine use, and the trial 22 court sustained each of those objections. On appeal, PWPG does not challenge the court's ruling on those objections. Thus, PWPG may not rely on Leitner's opinions on this appeal.

Moreover, PWPG asserts that Leitner "offered the opinion that Primerica would have granted PWPG an exception for White's cocaine use." Leitner did not render such an opinion in his declaration. What Leitner did say is that, in his opinion, Primerica in fact made an "exception" for White's cocaine use in deciding to issue the Policy in 2007 at no additional premium despite its knowledge of White's June 30, 2005 diagnosis of "cocaine abuse." Leitner's opinion is contrary to the undisputed evidence. Primerica had no knowledge of any cocaine use or cocaine abuse diagnosis until after PWPG made a claim for benefits, long after the Policy was issued, and thus, the trial court properly excluded that opinion.

G. PWPG's Reliance on Thompson Decision Citing Thompson, supra, 9 Cal.3d 904, PWPG asserts that courts may choose to disregard the evidence submitted by Primerica on materiality because "the trier of fact is not required to believe the 'post mortem' testimony of an insurer's agents that insurance would have been refused had the true facts been disclosed." (Id. at p. 916.) We reject this contention.

That language in the Thompson case has been explained by subsequent California courts as applicable only to situations in which contradictory evidence regarding materiality has been presented to a jury, not on a motion for summary judgment where the evidence is uncontroverted. (Wilson v. Western National Life Ins. Co (1991) 235 23 Cal.App.3d 981, 995-996; Casey, supra, 996 F.Supp. at p. 948.) As the court in Wilson, supra, explained:

"Plaintiff argues the trier of fact might not have believed Western's evidence that it would not have issued the policy had it known of the misrepresentation. She relies on the language we have quoted from Thompson . . . . [¶] The Thompson judgment resulted from a verdict following a jury trial, and the court was simply following the well- settled principle that a jury need not accept the testimony of any particular witness. Here, however, the evidence in support of the motion for summary judgment was uncontradicted." (Wilson, supra, 235 Cal.App.3d at pp. 995-996.)

H. Primerica Timely Rescinded the Policy Within the Two-Year Contestability Period PWPG asserts that the two-year contestability period commenced when Dr.

White's "temporary coverage" began upon his application on March 16, 2007, making Primerica's notice of rescission on March 20, 2009, untimely. This contention is unavailing.

Insurance Code section 10113.5, subdivision (a) makes clear a policy "is incontestable after it has been in force, during the lifetime of the insured, for a period of not more than two years after its date of issue." (Italics added.)

As we have discussed, ante, the Policy defines the "date of issue" as "[t]he date shown on Page 3 on which we issue the Policy to you. This date controls the Incontestability and Suicide provisions on Part 2." On page 3 of the Policy, the date following the phrase "DATE OF ISSUE" states "September 20, 2007." Based upon that date of issue, Primerica's March 20, 2009 rescission falls well within the two-year limitation period prescribed by Insurance Code section 10113.5, subdivision (a).

24 Moreover, PWPG again does not cite any California case authority in support of its position. The conditional receipt referenced by PWPG is simply a binder that provides for temporary or preliminary insurance covering the applicant until the insurance company's investigation of insurability is completed. (1A Couch on Insurance (3d ed. 1997) § 13:1; Smith v. Westland Life Ins. Co. (1975) 15 Cal.3d 111, 122.)

I. The Court's Evidentiary Rulings PWPG asserts the court erred in admitting White's statements to his treatment advisers concerning his cocaine use because they were hearsay. We reject this contention.

White's statements to his medical providers about his cocaine use are admissible both as nonhearsay admissions under Evidence Code section 1224 and as declarations against interest under Evidence Code section 1230.

Evidence Code section 1224 provides:

"When the liability, obligation, or duty of a party to a civil action is based in whole or in part upon the liability, obligation, or duty of the declarant, or when the claim or right asserted by a party to a civil action is barred or diminished by a breach of duty by the declarant, evidence of a statement made by the declarant is as admissible against the party as it would be if offered against the declarant in an action involving that liability, obligation, duty, or breach of duty." (Italics added.)

As we have discussed, ante, PWPG's claim for insurance benefits as the beneficiary of the Policy is barred by White's breach of his duty to provide truthful and accurate responses on the insurance application. White's breach, by misrepresenting his cocaine use history on the application, voids the Policy and thus bars PWPG's entitlement 25 to benefits. White's statements about his cocaine use would be admissible in any action against him involving his liability for the misrepresentations. As such, White's statements fall within the hearsay exception provided in Evidence Code section 1224.

Atlas Assurance Co. v. McCombs Corp. (1983) 146 Cal.App.3d 135 (Atlas), is instructive. In Atlas, an employee of a storage business stole items from the storage locker of a tenant, and the tenant sued the storage business. The storage business tendered its defense and indemnity in the lawsuit brought by the tenant to its insurer, under a policy which provided that the insurer would defend the storage business in all suits for damages except if liability arises from the criminal acts of the storage business's employees.

The insurer brought a declaratory relief action against the storage business, asserting that it was not obligated to defend the business because the underlying theft was committed by the storage business's employee. In support of its position, the insurer introduced an out-of-court statement by the employee in which he admitted that he was the thief. (Atlas, supra, 146 Cal.App.3d at pp. 143-144.) The trial court admitted the statement under Evidence Code section 1224, and the storage business appealed. (Id. at p. 146.)

The Court of Appeal affirmed, holding that the statements were admissible under Evidence Code section 1224. In doing so, the court stated:

"[The insurer's] obligation to defend and indemnify [the storage business] depended on [the employee's] criminal liability or lack thereof. Conversely, [the storage business's] right to such indemnity and defense would be barred by [the employee's] criminal conduct. Accordingly, [the employee's] admissions were admissible against 26 [the storage business] if they would have been admissible against [the employee] in an action involving his liability for the theft. In the latter case they would be admissible as admissions of a party. [Citation.] They were therefore admissible against [the storage business]." (Atlas, supra, 146 Cal.App.3d at p. 146.)

Primerica's obligation to pay benefits to PWPG under the Policy depends on whether White provided truthful responses to the application's questions, including question 2.d. Conversely, PWPG's right to such benefits as the beneficiary is barred by White's admissions of cocaine use, which substantiate that he misrepresented information on the application. Thus, White's statements would be admissible in an action against him arising out of his misrepresentations.

PWPG asserts that White, the person whose life was insured and the person responsible for answering the health questionnaire on the application, and the person who offered the "no" response to question 2.d., owed no duty to truthfully represent his history to Primerica. Rather, PWPG contends that only PWPG owed the duty to fully disclose the truth about White's medical history. This contention is unavailing.

White, as the insured, was the one who completed the application concerning his personal and health history and responded "no" to question 2.d. of the application about his drug use history. Further, White signed the application as the primary insured, certifying the veracity of those responses.

Language in the Policy itself makes clear that it was White who had a duty of full and accurate disclosure to Primerica. The Policy states that the application constitutes part of the Policy: "A copy of the application . . . is attached and is part of the Policy.

Together, they are the entire contract." The application further provides: "By signing 27 this application . . . [w]e (Applicant and/all insured(s)) represent that all of the information in this Application . . . [is] true; complete; and are part of the Application. . . . We acknowledge that Primerica Life Insurance Company relies on this information to determine whether, and on what terms, to issue a policy. . . . [If] any information is determined to be false; incomplete; or incorrect, our [the applicant/insured's] policy may be rendered void."

Thus, the Policy's express language placed the duty of disclosure on White, as both the "applicant" and the "insured."

Evidence Code section 1224 permits the introduction of an out-of-court statement if, among other things, that statement would be admissible "if offered against the declarant in an action involving" the liability, obligation, duty, or breach of duty in question. PWPG asserts that this requirement is not satisfied in this case because Primerica would not have a cause of action against White in connection with his misrepresentation. We reject this contention.

Evidence Code section 1224 does not require that an action ever could or would be filed against the declarant. It merely requires that it would be admissible, i.e., that no other evidentiary issues preclude the introduction of the statement other than the fact it was made by a nonparty declarant.

Thus, the court did not abuse its discretion by admitting White's statements under Evidence Code section 1224.

Alternatively, White's statements are admissible as declarations against interest under Evidence Code section 1230, which provides:

28 "Evidence of a statement by a declarant having sufficient knowledge of the subject is not made inadmissible by the hearsay rule if the declarant is unavailable as a witness and the statement, when made, was so far contrary to the declarant's pecuniary or proprietary interest, or so far subjected him to the risk of civil or criminal liability, or so far tended to render invalid a claim by him against another, or created such a risk of making him an object of hatred, ridicule, or social disgrace in the community, that a reasonable man in his position would not have made the statement unless he believed it to be true."

White's statements that he habitually had used cocaine, an illegal drug, for years, and continued to do so on a regular basis, were contrary to his "pecuniary or proprietary interest" such "that a reasonable man in his position would not have made the statement unless he believed it to be true." (Evid. Code, § 1230.) White's medical records could be requested and obtained by an insurance company in connection with any application by White for life, health, or disability insurance, and the admissions could impact his ability to obtain coverage. This could further impact the premium amount he would be required to pay for such coverage.

White would not have made those statements to multiple Kaiser employees detailing his extensive cocaine use unless those statements were true. Those statements were against his pecuniary and proprietary interests, and he had no motive to make them if they were not true. White's statements thus are also admissible as declarations against interest under Evidence Code section 1230.

29 DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed. Primerica shall recover its costs on appeal.

NARES, J.

WE CONCUR:

McCONNELL, P. J.

AARON, J.

Cites, in this corpus