McCormick v. Foremost Ins. Co CA4/1
- Proceeding
- appeal from a judgment
- Trial court
- Superior Court of San Diego County · No. 37-2011-00098920-CU-IC-CTL
- Trial judge
- Joan M. Lewis
- Outcome
- affirmed — Affirmed.
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- Patricia D. Benke (author), Alex C. McDonald, Richard D. Huffman, Sr.
Analysis
The trial court sustained a demurrer to the negligence and tortious breach of contract claims and granted summary judgment on the breach of contract claim, finding the actions were time-barred and the loss excluded by the policy. The Court of Appeal affirmed, holding the record demonstrated the plaintiffs knew the insurer's identity prior to filing and that the loss was caused by a landslide, which was expressly excluded.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Sustaining demurrer to negligence and tortious breach of contract claims without leave to amend“In sum, the record does not permit us to disturb the trial court's ruling on Foremost's demurrer.” | de novo | correct | agree with court agree with court |
Granting summary judgment on the breach of contract claim based on statute of limitations“In sum, the record shows the McCormicks' breach of contract claim was made more than four years after Foremost's alleged breach and was therefore untimely.” | de novo | correct | agree with court agree with court |
Granting summary judgment on the breach of contract claim based on the earth movement exclusion“Thus, the trial court properly found that, as a matter of law, the McCormicks' losses were subject to the earth movement exclusion.” | de novo | correct | agree with court agree with court |
Authorities
- relied: Blank v. Kirwan (1985) 39 Cal.3d 311 — Standard of review for demurrers and the requirement to show a reasonable possibility of cure when leave to amend is denied.
- relied: Guz v. Bechtel National, Inc. (2000) 24 Cal.4th 317 — Standard of review for summary judgment is de novo.
- relied: Iverson v. Muroc Unified School Dist. (1995) 32 Cal.App.4th 218 — Appellate court makes an independent assessment of the correctness of the trial court's summary judgment ruling.
- relied: In re Valerie A. (2007) 152 Cal.App.4th 987 — Arguments are treated as abandoned if the record on appeal is incomplete.
- relied: Butcher v. Truck Ins. Exchange (2000) 77 Cal.App.4th 1442 — Statutes of limitations for negligence (2 years) and fraud (3 years) and the discovery rule for fraud.
- relied: Kline v. Turner (2001) 87 Cal.App.4th 1369 — Constructive notice and the point at which the statute of limitations begins to run for fraud claims.
- relied: Woo v. Superior Court (1999) 75 Cal.App.4th 169 — Code of Civil Procedure section 474 relation back requires genuine ignorance of the defendant's identity and proof of diligence to refresh memory.
- relied: Balon v. Drost (1993) 20 Cal.App.4th 483 — A more liberal standard for section 474 relation back that was criticized in Woo.
- relied: Roberts v. Assurance Co. of America (2008) 163 Cal.App.4th 1398 — Burden on the insurer to prove a claim falls within an exclusion and the shift of burden to the insured to show a triable issue of material fact.
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion correctly applies the de novo standard of review for summary judgment and demurrers. It accurately applies the statute of limitations and the specific requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 474 regarding the relation back of fictitious party designations, supported by the cited authorities.
How this analysis was made · dispute it
unusual dispositionThe San Diego Superior Court sustained Foremost's demurrer without leave to amend to the McCormicks' negligence and tortious breach of contract claims as time-barred, then granted summary judgment on the remaining breach of contract claim because the first amended complaint naming Foremost did not relate back under Code of Civil Procedure section 474 and, alternatively, because the landslide loss fell within the policy's earth movement exclusion. The Court of Appeal affirmed on every ground, treating the demurrer challenge as unsupported by an adequate record and independently concluding that all claims were untimely and the exclusion applied as a matter of law.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Order sustaining demurrer without leave to amend to negligence and tortious breach of contract causes of action as time-barred“Notwithstanding the McCormicks' failure to present an adequate record, the face of the FAC discloses that the negligence and tortious breach of contract claims are time-barred.” | mixed | correct | agree with court The court correctly stated the Blank v. Kirwan standard (de novo on the sufficiency of the pleading, abuse of discretion on denial of leave to amend). Because appellants omitted the demurrer papers from the record, the court was entitled to treat the point as abandoned under In re Valerie A. On the merits, the FAC alleged denial of the claim in October 2007; the original complaint was filed October 5, 2011, which is beyond both the two-year period of section 339 for non-written obligations and the three-year fraud period of section 338(d), and the denial itself put plaintiffs on inquiry notice of any alleged intent not to pay under Kline v. Turner. The opinion inconsistently gives the denial date as October 7 and October 8, 2007, but the discrepancy is immaterial to the result. |
Summary judgment on breach of contract claim on statute of limitations ground: first amended complaint naming Foremost did not relate back under Code of Civil Procedure section 474“In light of the fact that Alton McCormick was able to identify Foremost as his insurer at his deposition in 2009 in the related action against the city, the FAC did not relate back to the date of the original complaint.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Under Woo v. Superior Court, a plaintiff invoking section 474 must be genuinely ignorant of the defendant's identity when the original complaint is filed, and a plaintiff claiming to have forgotten a known name must show some effort to review readily available information. Foremost produced unrebutted deposition testimony that Alton McCormick identified Foremost by name in 2009, and the McCormicks offered only unsworn argument of counsel and unverified pleadings, not evidence, in opposition. Even under the more lenient Balon v. Drost approach, which the court acknowledged and distinguished, there was no evidentiary showing of actual ignorance, so the FAC filed November 30, 2011 was beyond the four-year period of section 337 measured from the October 2007 denial. |
Summary judgment on breach of contract claim on alternative ground that the loss fell within the policy's earth movement (landslide) exclusion“Thus, the trial court properly found that, as a matter of law, the McCormicks' losses were subject to the earth movement exclusion.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Under Roberts v. Assurance Co. of America, the insurer bears the initial burden to show the claim falls within an exclusion, after which the insured must raise a triable issue. The FAC's own allegation that the home was destroyed by a landslide is a judicial admission, corroborated by the deposition testimony, and the policy expressly lists landslide as excluded earth movement. The McCormicks submitted no evidence of any other cause, so there was nothing to trigger an efficient proximate cause analysis; the court did not discuss Garvey or Insurance Code section 530, which is a gap given the related suit against the City suggested a possible non-excluded contributing cause, but on this record the omission does not undermine the result. |
Authorities
- relied: Blank v. Kirwan (1985) 39 Cal.3d 311 — Standard of review for an order sustaining a demurrer without leave to amend; plaintiff bears the burden to show a reasonable possibility the defect can be cured.
- relied: Guz v. Bechtel National, Inc. (2000) 24 Cal.4th 317 — Summary judgment is reviewed de novo on the evidence in the moving and opposition papers.
- relied: Iverson v. Muroc Unified School Dist. (1995) 32 Cal.App.4th 218 — Appellate court independently assesses whether triable issues of material fact exist and whether the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
- relied: In re Valerie A. (2007) 152 Cal.App.4th 987 — An appellant's failure to provide an adequate record on an issue permits the reviewing court to treat the issue as abandoned.
- relied: Butcher v. Truck Ins. Exchange (2000) 77 Cal.App.4th 1442 — Two-year limitations period under Code of Civil Procedure section 339 for obligations not founded on a writing and three-year period under section 338(d) for fraud, accruing on discovery.
- relied: Kline v. Turner (2001) 87 Cal.App.4th 1369 — Discovery for fraud accrual occurs when the plaintiff suspects or should suspect wrongdoing; constructive notice is equivalent to knowledge.
- relied: Woo v. Superior Court (1999) 75 Cal.App.4th 169 — Section 474 relation back requires genuine ignorance of the defendant's identity when the original complaint is filed; a plaintiff who forgot a known name must show review of readily available information.
- relied: Balon v. Drost (1993) 20 Cal.App.4th 483 — A plaintiff who once knew and then forgot a defendant's name may invoke section 474 upon an evidentiary showing of actual ignorance at filing; distinguished because no such evidence was offered here.
- relied: Roberts v. Assurance Co. of America (2008) 163 Cal.App.4th 1398 — Insurer moving for summary judgment on an exclusion bears the burden to show the claim falls within it, after which the insured must show a triable issue.
- missed: Garvey v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (1989) 48 Cal.3d 395 — Where covered and excluded perils combine to cause a first-party property loss, coverage turns on the efficient proximate cause of the loss; the opinion did not address this doctrine despite the related action against the City suggesting a possible non-excluded contributing cause, though plaintiffs' failure to offer any evidence of another cause likely made it unnecessary.
The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court correctly stated the standards of review, applied the governing limitations statutes to dates appearing on the face of the pleadings, and faithfully followed its own section 474 precedent in Woo while candidly distinguishing the contrary Balon decision on the evidentiary record. It did not address the efficient proximate cause doctrine on the exclusion ground and contains a minor date inconsistency regarding the denial, but neither affects the outcome because the plaintiffs offered no evidence on any point.
How this analysis was made · dispute it
record incompleteOpinion
Filed 3/4/14 McCormick v. Foremost Ins. Co CA4/1 NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS California Rules of Court, rule 8.1115(a), prohibits courts and parties from citing or relying on opinions not certified for publication or ordered published, except as specified by rule 8.1115(b). This opinion has not been certified for publication or ordered published for purposes of rule 8.1115.
COURT OF APPAL, FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION ONE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA
ALTON MCCORMICK et al., D062812 Plaintiffs and Appellants, v. (Super. Ct. No. 37-2011-00098920- CU-IC-CTL) FOREMOST INSURANCE COMPANY GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN, Defendant and Respondent.
APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of San Diego County, Joan M.
Lewis, Judge. Affirmed.
Ketti McCormick for Plaintiffs and Appellants.
Greve, Clifford, Wengel & Paras, Lawrence A. Wengel and Bradley W. Kragel for Defendant and Respondent.
In this homeowners insurance coverage case, the trial court determined both that the plaintiffs' complaint was untimely and that, in any event, their underlying claim was subject to an earth movement exclusion that appeared on the face of their homeowners insurance policy. We find no error and affirm the judgment dismissing the plaintiffs' complaint.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
On May 22th, 2007, plaintiffs and appellants Alton McCormick and Erinn McCormick purchased a home in the Mount Soledad area of La Jolla. In addition to their home, the McCormicks also purchased a basic dwelling policy from defendant and respondent Foremost Insurance Company Grand Rapids, Michigan (Foremost). The Foremost policy covered both the McCormick's dwelling and their personal effects.
On October 3, 2007, the McCormicks' home was destroyed by a landslide. A house that was situated above the McCormicks' home slid into and entirely destroyed the McCormicks' home. On either the day of the landslide or the day after, October 4th, the McCormicks notified Foremost of their loss.
On October 8, 2007, Foremost denied any coverage for either the McCormicks' home itself or any of their personal possessions. Foremost relied on exclusions in its policy for damage caused by water and earth movement.
Thereafter, the McCormicks were parties to a lawsuit against the City of San Diego. (Crabbe v. City of San Diego (Super. Ct. San Diego County, 2010, No. 37-2008- 00077405-CU-EI-CTL) & related consolidated cases.) During the course of that lawsuit, on March 10, 2009, Alton McCormick gave a deposition. During the deposition, McCormick was asked if he knew the name of his homeowners insurer. McCormick 2 initially responded that the insurance carrier was a division of USAA. A few moments later, he identified the insurer as Foremost. Alton McCormick also testified that when he contacted Foremost, he told the Foremost representative his home had been destroyed by a landslide.
TRIAL COURT PROCEEDINGS
On October 5, 2011, the McCormicks filed a complaint against a number of insurance companies. At the time they filed their original complaint, the McCormicks alleged they did not know the name of their homeowners insurer and instead named their homeowners insurer as a Doe defendant. On November 30, 2011, the McCormicks filed a first amended complaint (FAC), which named Foremost as a defendant.
As against Foremost, the FAC alleged causes of action for negligence, breach of contract and tortious breach of contract. With respect to the tortious breach of contract allegation, the McCormicks alleged that Foremost was guilty of fraud because it never intended to pay any of the benefits promised under the terms of its policy. Foremost responded to the FAC by filing a demurrer in which it alleged that the McCormicks' causes of action for negligence and tortious breach of contract were time-barred. The trial court sustained the demurrer without leave to amend.
Foremost then moved for summary judgment with respect to the remaining breach of contract cause of action. Foremost asserted that, at the time the McCormicks filed the original complaint, they knew or should have known Foremost's identity as their insurer and, hence, with respect to the claims against Foremost, the FAC did not relate back to 3 the time of the original complaint and was therefore time-barred. In addition, Foremost argued that losses caused by earth movement were expressly excluded from its policy and, accordingly, the policy provided no coverage for the McCormicks' loss. In opposing Foremost's motion, the McCormicks argued they were unable to recall the name of their homeowners insurer at the time they filed their complaint. However, they did not submit any evidence with respect to their inability to recall Foremost's name.
The trial court granted Foremost's motion for summary judgment and entered a judgment in favor of Foremost. The McCormicks filed a timely notice of appeal.
DISCUSSION
I
Standards of Review "In reviewing the sufficiency of a complaint against a general demurrer, we are guided by long-settled rules. 'We treat the demurrer as admitting all material facts properly pleaded, but not contentions, deductions or conclusions of fact or law.
[Citation.] We also consider matters which may be judicially noticed.' [Citation.]
Further, we give the complaint a reasonable interpretation, reading it as a whole and its parts in their context. [Citation.] When a demurrer is sustained, we determine whether the complaint states facts sufficient to constitute a cause of action. [Citation.] And when it is sustained without leave to amend, we decide whether there is a reasonable possibility that the defect can be cured by amendment: if it can be, the trial court has abused its discretion and we reverse; if not, there has been no abuse of discretion and we affirm.
4 [Citations.] The burden of proving such reasonable possibility is squarely on the plaintiff. [Citation.]" (Blank v. Kirwan (1985) 39 Cal.3d 311, 318.)
"On appeal after a motion for summary judgment has been granted, we review the record de novo, considering all the evidence set forth in the moving and opposition papers except that to which objections have been made and sustained. [Citation.]" (Guz v. Bechtel National, Inc. (2000) 24 Cal.4th 317, 334.) We make "an independent assessment of the correctness of the trial court's ruling, applying the same legal standard as the trial court in determining whether there are any genuine issues of material fact or whether the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. [Citations.]"
(Iverson v. Muroc Unified School Dist. (1995) 32 Cal.App.4th 218, 222-223.) Thus, in reviewing the order granting summary judgment, our task is to determine, de novo, whether Foremost was able to establish its statute of limitations defense or show that one or more elements of the McCormicks' breach of contract claim could not be established.
II
With respect to Foremost's successful demurrer to the McCormicks' negligence and tortious breach of contract claims, the record on appeal only contains the trial court's minute order sustaining the demurrer without leave to amend. As Foremost points out, because the record on appeal does not contain either Foremost's moving papers or the McCormicks' response to the demurrer, the record is incomplete with respect to the McCormicks' argument that the trial court erred in sustaining the demurrer, and we may 5 treat their argument as abandoned. (See In re Valerie A. (2007) 152 Cal.App.4th 987, 1002-1003.)
Notwithstanding the McCormicks' failure to present an adequate record, the face of the FAC discloses that the negligence and tortious breach of contract claims are time- barred. "The period of limitation prescribed for '[a]n action upon a contract, obligation or liability not founded upon an instrument in writing' is two years. (Code Civ. Proc., § 339, subd. 1.) [¶] The period of limitation prescribed for '[a]n action for relief on the ground of fraud or mistake' is three years. (Code Civ. Proc., § 338, subd. (d).) 'The cause of action in that case is not to be deemed to have accrued until the discovery, by the aggrieved party, of the facts constituting the fraud or mistake.' [Citation.]" (Butcher v. Truck Ins. Exchange (2000) 77 Cal.App.4th 1442, 1468, fn. 22.)
In light of the fact the FAC alleges that Foremost denied the McCormicks' claim on October 7, 2007, the face of the record shows that neither the original complaint nor the FAC were filed within in two years of any negligence or breach of duty attributable to Foremost, as required by Code of Civil Procedure section 339, subdivision 1. Foremost's October 7, 2007 denial of the McCormicks' claim also shows both the original complaint and the FAC were filed more than three years after the McCormicks should have discovered any fraud on the part of Foremost. "The courts interpret discovery in [the]
context [of fraud] to mean not when the plaintiff became aware of the specific wrong alleged, but when the plaintiff suspected or should have suspected that an injury was caused by wrongdoing. The statute of limitations begins to run when the plaintiff has 6 information [that] would put a reasonable person on inquiry. A plaintiff need not be aware of the specific facts necessary to establish a claim since they can be developed in pretrial discovery. Wrong and wrongdoing in this context are understood in their lay and not legal senses. [Citation.] [¶] . . .'"Under this rule constructive and presumed notice or knowledge are equivalent to knowledge. So, when the plaintiff has notice or information of circumstances to put a reasonable person on inquiry, or has the opportunity to obtain knowledge from sources open to [her] investigation (such as public records or corporation books), the statute commences to run." [Citation.]'" (Kline v. Turner (2001)
87 Cal.App.4th 1369, 1374.) Plainly, in October 2007, the McCormicks were put on notice that they would not receive benefits under the policy and therefore had three years to bring a claim that Foremost had no intention of paying the benefits. (Ibid.)
In sum, the record does not permit us to disturb the trial court's ruling on Foremost's demurrer.
III
The trial court also properly found that the McCormicks' breach of contract claim was time-barred.
Under Code of Civil Procedure section 337, subdivision 1, the McCormicks had four years from the date of any breach of the written insurance policy in which to bring a contract action against Foremost. The McCormicks original October 5, 2011 complaint was brought within four years of Foremost's written denial of coverage and, if it had named Foremost, it would have been timely with respect to the breach of contract claim.
7 However, as we have indicated, Foremost was not named as a defendant until the FAC was filed on November 30, 2011, more than four years after Foremost's written denial. In light of the fact that Alton McCormick was able to identify Foremost as his insurer at his deposition in 2009 in the related action against the city, the FAC did not relate back to the date of the original complaint.
Code of Civil Procedure section 474 permits a plaintiff, who is unaware of the name of a defendant, to sue the defendant as a fictitious party and, when the party's name is discovered, amend the complaint and properly identify the defendant. For purposes of applying the statute of limitations, a defendant is treated as if it was named at the time the complaint was filed. (See Woo v. Superior Court (1999) 75 Cal.App.4th 169, 177 (Woo).) However, the relation back permitted by Code of Civil Procedure section 474 does not apply unless the plaintiff is genuinely ignorant of the defendant's identity at the time the original complaint is filed. (Ibid.) "The omission of the defendant's identity in the original complaint must be real and not merely a subterfuge for avoiding the requirements of section 474. [Citation.] Furthermore, if the identity ignorance requirement of section 474 is not met, a new defendant may not be added after the statute of limitations has expired even if the new defendant cannot establish prejudice resulting from the delay. [Citation.] However, if the plaintiff is actually ignorant of the defendant's identity, the section 474 relation-back doctrine applies even if that ignorance is the result of the plaintiff's negligence. [Citations.]" (Ibid.)
8 In Woo, we held that where the plaintiff contends that he or she forgot the name of the defendant, application of Code of Civil Procedure section 474 requires some proof the plaintiff nonetheless reviewed readily available information likely to refresh his or her memory. (Woo, supra, 75 Cal.App.4th at p. 180.) Here, the McCormicks offered no such proof.
One court has permitted a plaintiff, who knew the name of a defendant and then later forgot it, to rely on the relation back provided by Code of Civil Procedure section 474, without proof of the diligence we required in Woo. (See Balon v. Drost (1993) 20 Cal.App.4th 483, 489-490.) However, in Balon, which we criticized in Woo, the plaintiff produced a declaration in which she explained she had been given a slip of paper with the name of the driver of the car that had collided with her and later lost it. Here, of course, we have no such evidentiary explanation from the McCormicks; rather, all we have in terms of evidence is Alton McCormick's 2009 deposition testimony in which he was able to recall Foremost's name and the argument, asserted by counsel, that the McCormicks had forgotten the name of the insurer.1 Thus, even under the more liberal standard of ignorance set forth in Balon, Alton McCormick's unrebutted deposition testimony shows that the McCormicks were in fact aware of the name of the insurer at the time they filed the original complaint.
1 We also note that neither the original complaint, which alleges ignorance of the identity of the insurer, nor the FAC, which identifies Foremost as one of the fictitious defendants, was verified by either one of the McCormicks. 9 In sum, the record shows the McCormicks' breach of contract claim was made more than four years after Foremost's alleged breach and was therefore untimely.
IV
The record also demonstrates that, in any event, the McCormicks' losses were subject to an earth movement exclusion in the Foremost policy.
"An insurer may 'seek[ ] summary judgment on the ground the claim is excluded,' in which case it has 'the burden . . . to prove that the claim falls within an exclusion.
[Citation.]' [Citation.] To satisfy its burden, an insurer need not 'disprove every possible cause of the loss' and once the insurer establishes the claim is excluded, the burden shifts to the insured to show a triable issue of material fact exists. [Citation.]" (Roberts v. Assurance Co. of America (2008) 163 Cal.App.4th 1398, 1406.)
The Foremost policy expressly excludes: "3. Loss or damage resulting from earth movement, meaning:
"a. earthquake, including land shock waves or tremors before, during or after volcanic eruption;
"b. landslide;
"c. mudflow;
"d. earth sinking, rising or shifting;
"e. mine subsidence. But we will pay for direct loss by fire or explosion which results from any of these."
10 The face of the FAC alleges that the McCormicks' home was destroyed by a landslide. Moreover, at his deposition in the related case against the city, Alton McCormick stated that when he spoke to a Foremost claims representative he told the representative his home had been damaged by a landslide. As Foremost contends, the judicial admission that appears on the face of the FAC and Alton McCormick's deposition testimony are more than sufficient to establish that the McCormicks' losses were caused by a landslide and subject to the earth movement exclusion. Importantly, in opposing Foremost's motion, the McCormicks did not present any evidence that their home was damaged as the result of any circumstance or event other than the landslide.
Thus, the trial court properly found that, as a matter of law, the McCormicks' losses were subject to the earth movement exclusion. (See Roberts v. Assurance Co. of America, supra, 163 Cal.App.4th at p. 1406.)
DISPOSITION
The judgment is affirmed. Foremost to recover its costs on appeal.
BENKE, Acting P. J.
WE CONCUR:
HUFFMAN, J.
McDONALD, J.
Cites, in this corpus
- Roberts v. Assurance Co. of America G038749 · 2008-06-20
- In Re Valerie A. D049901 · 2007-06-26
- Kline v. Turner No. D035248 · 2001-03-27
- Guz v. Bechtel National, Inc. S062201 · 2000-10-05
- Butcher v. Truck Insurance Exchange B121194 · 2000-02-03
- Woo v. Superior Court D032536 · 1999-09-23
- Iverson v. Muroc Unified School District F021082 · 1995-02-06
- Balon v. Drost A060232 · 1993-11-01
- Blank v. Kirwan L.A. 32012 · 1985-08-01