Maryland Casualty Co. v. National American Insurance
MARYLAND CASUALTY COMPANY, Plaintiff and Respondent, v. NATIONAL AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY OF CALIFORNIA, Defendant and Appellant
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- Judith L. Haller (author)
Analysis
The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Maryland Casualty, determining that NAICC had a duty to defend Midway Homes in underlying construction defect litigation based on the potential for coverage during NAICC's policy period. The Court of Appeal affirmed, holding that Maryland had standing via equitable subrogation, the continuous injury trigger applied rather than the manifestation theory, and NAICC failed to conclusively prove concealment to defeat the duty to defend.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Standing of Maryland to enforce NAICC's duty to defend“We conclude Maryland was subrogated to Midway Homes’s right to enforce NAICC’s defense duty and therefore had standing to pursue this action.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The court correctly applied established California law that an insurer is subrogated to the insured's rights against other insurers and that the duty to defend is independent of the duty to indemnify. The reliance on *Gray v. Zurich* and *Continental Casualty* supports the conclusion that the action was not premature and Maryland had standing. |
Applicability of the manifestation of damage theory vs. continuous injury trigger“We conclude the continuing injury trigger of coverage applied in Montrose II is applicable here. Accordingly, the manifestation of property damage before the NAICC policy began did not automatically relieve NAICC of its obligation to defend its insured.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The court correctly identified that *Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co.* (Montrose II) controlled the issue for third-party liability cases involving progressive damage, disapproving the manifestation theory used in first-party cases. The application of the continuous injury trigger to the facts of ongoing construction defects was legally sound. |
Summary judgment on the duty to defend (burden of proof)“On this record, we conclude NAICC did not meet its burden of proof. While NAICC raised evidence of concealment, it did not present sufficient evidence to establish that defense as a matter of law.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The court correctly applied the standard from *Montrose I* that an insurer must produce undisputed extrinsic evidence conclusively eliminating the potential for coverage to defeat a motion for summary judgment. NAICC's evidence of potential concealment was ambiguous and did not meet the high bar required to negate the duty to defend at the summary judgment stage. |
Authorities
- relied: Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263 — The duty to defend is broader than the duty to indemnify and is determined by the potential for coverage based on the complaint and extrinsic evidence.
- relied: American Auto. Ins. Co. v. Seaboard Surety Co. (1957) 155 Cal.App.2d 192 — The reciprocal rights and duties of several insurers covering the same event arise from equitable principles, not contract, allowing one insurer to enforce another's duty.
- relied: Continental Cas. Co. v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1961) 57 Cal.2d 27 — An insurer's duty to provide defense services inures to the benefit of other obligated insurers, preventing an insurer from profiting by breaching its duty.
- relied: Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co. (1967) 249 Cal.App.2d 432 — An insurer is subrogated to the insured's right to enforce another insurer's duty to defend.
- relied: Spott Electrical Co. v. Industrial Indem. Co. (1973) 30 Cal.App.3d 797 — Where two insurers should share a loss pro rata, either can assert the rights of the insured against the other to maximize coverage.
- relied: Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co. (Montrose II) (1995) 10 Cal.4th 645 — In third-party liability cases involving continuous or progressive damage, a 'continuous injury trigger' applies, covering all policies in effect during the period of damage, disapproving the manifestation theory for such cases.
- relied: Horace Mann Ins. Co. v. Barbara B. (1993) 4 Cal.4th 1076 — The duty to defend is determined by comparing the complaint with policy terms and extrinsic evidence; any doubt is resolved in favor of the insured.
- relied: Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Superior Court (Montrose I) (1993) 6 Cal.4th 287 — In a declaratory relief action, the insured must prove a potential for coverage, while the insurer must conclusively prove the absence of any such potential to defeat summary judgment.
- relied: Olson v. Standard Marine Ins. Co. (1952) 109 Cal.App.2d 130 — An insurer cannot claim concealment to void a policy if it failed to question the insured about material facts, unless the insured knew the facts were material and concealed them for the purpose of obtaining insurance.
- misapplied: Home Ins. Co. v. Landmark Ins. Co. (1988) 205 Cal.App.3d 1388 — The court noted NAICC relied on this case for the manifestation theory, but the appellate court held it inapplicable to third-party liability cases under *Montrose II*.
- misapplied: Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (1990) 223 Cal.App.3d 1621 — The court noted NAICC relied on this case, but *Montrose II* explicitly disapproved it for third-party liability contexts involving progressive damage.
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly distinguishes between first-party and third-party liability triggers using the controlling *Montrose II* decision. It also accurately applies the strict burden of proof required for an insurer to defeat summary judgment on the duty to defend, ensuring the duty is not defeated by mere ambiguity or potential facts.
The trial court granted summary judgment declaring that NAICC, a successive liability insurer, owed a duty to defend their mutual insured Midway Homes in underlying condominium construction defect litigation, rejecting NAICC's standing, manifestation-trigger, and concealment arguments. The Court of Appeal affirmed, holding Maryland had standing by equitable subrogation, Montrose II's continuous injury trigger governs third party progressive damage claims, Maryland showed a potential for coverage, and NAICC's concealment evidence did not conclusively negate that potential.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Maryland, as a co-insurer not party to the NAICC policy, had standing to seek a declaration that NAICC owed a duty to defend the mutual insured“We conclude Maryland was subrogated to Midway Homes’s right to enforce NAICC’s defense duty and therefore had standing to pursue this action.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Standing is a legal question reviewed independently. The court correctly distinguished the defense duty (determined at the outset by potential for coverage) from indemnity, relying on Gray v. Zurich, and applied the settled rule that co-insurers' rights arise in equity and one insurer is subrogated to the insured's right to enforce another's defense duty (Continental Cas., Hartford, Spott). NAICC conceded equitable remedies were available, so its prematurity argument failed on the Gray distinction. |
Manifestation-of-damage trigger rejected; continuous injury trigger applied so prepolicy manifestation did not relieve NAICC of the defense duty“Accordingly, the manifestation of property damage before the NAICC policy began did not automatically relieve NAICC of its obligation to defend its insured.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Montrose II squarely held first party manifestation cases like Home Ins. are inapplicable in the third party context, disapproved Fireman's Fund, and adopted a continuous injury trigger for progressive property damage. NAICC's primary authorities were therefore no longer good law on the point, and the court was bound by the Supreme Court's holding. |
Maryland met its summary judgment burden by showing a potential for coverage under the NAICC policy“we conclude Maryland established prima facie evidence of the potential for coverage under NAICC’s policy. Thus Maryland met its burden.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Under Horace Mann, Gray and Montrose I the movant seeking a declaration of the defense duty need only show a potential for coverage, not an actual covered occurrence. The amended complaint alleged damage at various times across phases, two phases were completed during NAICC's period, and extrinsic evidence showed roofing, drywall, asphalt, plumbing and garage damage in 1984-1985. That is sufficient under the policy's occurrence-based property damage definition. |
NAICC's concealment evidence did not conclusively eliminate the potential for coverage and so did not defeat summary judgment on the duty to defend“While NAICC raised evidence of concealment, it did not present sufficient evidence to establish that defense as a matter of law.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Montrose I places on the insurer the burden of producing undisputed extrinsic evidence conclusively negating any potential for coverage; merely raising a triable issue is insufficient. The court correctly applied Olson's rule that absent inquiry by the insurer, nondisclosure voids the policy only on a showing of known materiality and purpose, and found NAICC's evidence (an employee with unspecified insurance involvement, an underwriter's declaration, an ambiguous loss-ratio memo) disputed and inconclusive. The court also preserved NAICC's right to litigate rescission elsewhere, which is consistent with the defense duty continuing until the insurer prevails. |
Authorities
- relied: Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263 — Duty to defend arises whenever the complaint or extrinsic facts show any potential for coverage and is broader than the duty to indemnify; insurer relieved only where no conceivable theory brings the claim within coverage
- relied: Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co. (1995) 10 Cal.4th 645 — Continuous injury trigger applies to third party liability policies for continuous or progressive property damage; first party manifestation cases are inapplicable and Fireman's Fund disapproved
- relied: Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Superior Court (1993) 6 Cal.4th 287 — In declaratory relief on the duty to defend, the insured need only show a potential for coverage while the insurer must produce undisputed extrinsic evidence conclusively eliminating any potential
- relied: Horace Mann Ins. Co. v. Barbara B. (1993) 4 Cal.4th 1076 — Duty to defend determined by comparing complaint and extrinsic facts with the policy; doubts resolved in favor of the insured
- relied: Continental Cas. Co. v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1961) 57 Cal.2d 27 — An insurer breaching its defense duty may not profit at the expense of a co-insurer that defends; defense duty inures to the benefit of other obligated insurers
- relied: Amer. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Seaboard Surety Co. (1957) 155 Cal.App.2d 192 — Rights and duties between co-insurers arise from equitable principles, not from contract
- relied: Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co. (1967) 249 Cal.App.2d 432 — A defending insurer is subrogated to the insured's right to enforce another insurer's duty to defend
- relied: Spott Electrical Co. v. Industrial Indem. Co. (1973) 30 Cal.App.3d 797 — Where two insurers should share a loss, either may assert the insured's rights against the other, with policies construed to maximize coverage
- relied: Olson v. Standard Marine Ins. Co. (1952) 109 Cal.App.2d 130 — Insurer bears the burden of proving concealment; where insurer did not inquire, nondisclosure voids the policy only if the insured knew or should have known the facts were material and withheld them to obtain insurance
- relied: Home Ins. Co. v. Landmark Ins. Co. (1988) 205 Cal.App.3d 1388 — First party manifestation trigger case, distinguished as inapplicable to third party liability coverage after Montrose II
- relied: Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (1990) 223 Cal.App.3d 1621 — Third party manifestation trigger case, disapproved by Montrose II and therefore not followed
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion answers each of NAICC's arguments with controlling Supreme Court authority (Gray, Montrose I and II, Horace Mann) and settled co-insurer subrogation cases, and correctly applies the asymmetric summary judgment burdens in duty-to-defend declaratory relief actions. It appropriately confines its holding to the defense duty while preserving NAICC's concealment and contribution claims for later litigation.
Opinion — Haller
*1826 Opinion
HALLER, J.In this declaratory relief action between successive third party liability carriers, National American Insurance Company of California (NAICC) appeals a summary judgment in favor of Maryland Casualty Company (Maryland) determining NAICC had a duty to defend its insured, developer Midway Homes, Inc., and related parties (Midway Homes), in underlying condominium construction defect litigation. NAICC contends (1) Maryland had no standing to enforce a duty owed their mutual insured and (2) the trial court erred in granting summary judgment because (a) Maryland alone was obligated to defend Midway Homes and (b) Midway Homes concealed property damages existing before NAICC’s policy period. We conclude the contentions are without merit and accordingly affirm the judgment.
Factual and Procedural Background
Midway Homes, builder of the 277-unit Lake Park Terrace condominium project, obtained third party liability insurance from Maryland between February 1977 and approximately August 1984, and from NAICC between July 21, 1984, and July 21, 1985. Coverage under the policies was triggered by an occurrence of property damages within the policy periods. 1
On October 21, 1991, the Lake Park Terrace Homeowners Association (Association) filed a complaint against Midway Homes alleging a host of construction defects, involving, among other things, roofs, site drainage, soils, concrete and foundations, asphalt and paving, waterproofing, stucco and framing. A complaint amendment alleged “[t]he damage alleged herein occurred at various times in various phases of the Project.”
Midway Homes tendered defense of the action to Maryland, which accepted under a reservation of rights. Maryland in turn tendered Midway Homes’s defense to NAICC, but NAICC refused to contribute to defense costs.
In June 1993, Maryland filed this action. In October 1993, Maryland filed a motion for summary judgment, seeking a declaration NAICC was required *1827 to defend Midway Homes in the Lake Park Terrace case because as a matter of law there were potentially covered occurrences during NAICC’s policy period. Among the evidence Maryland presented in support of the motion were recorded notices of completion for the Lake Park Terrace construction phases as follows:
Phase I May 21, 1979
Phase II September 3, 1980
Phase III December 13, 1983
Phase IV October 18, 1984
Phase V September 10, 1985
Each phase included several buildings housing a number of condominium units.
Maryland also presented evidence establishing roofing, asphalt, plumbing and garage problems in late 1984 and 1985 during NAICC’s policy period. Roof leaks required roof and drywall repairs to numerous units during the same time frame.
In opposition to Maryland’s motion, NAICC argued it had no duty to defend Midway Homes because the events triggering coverage did not occur during the NAICC policy period. NAICC urged the court to apply a “manifestation of damage” theory, under which the carrier insuring the risk when damages first became apparent is solely responsible for all resulting losses continuing into successive insurers’ policy periods. At Lake Park Terrace, asphalt problems surfaced in 1981; roof problems were first reported in 1983 and drywall repairs were made in 1983 and April 1984. Thus, NAICC argued, Maryland was solely responsible for defending Midway Homes.
Alternatively, NAICC argued Midway Homes’s concealment of prepolicy damages at Lake Park Terrace abrogated any NAICC defense duty. In support, NAICC submitted (1) deposition testimony of a Midway Homes’s employee that he had unspecified involvement with insurance coverage and was aware of prepolicy asphalt and roofing problems at Lake Park Terrace, (2) the declaration of NAICC’s underwriter who averred he would not have issued the policy had he known of preexisting property damages, and (3) a memorandum from the underwriter to Midway Homes’s insurance agent stating the NAICC policy was issued “based on the strength of your agency having insured this risk for 20 [years] with a 25% or less loss ratio over the past 3 [years]. As we discussed, we normally would decline a general contractor.”
The trial court found the potential for coverage under the NAICC policy and thus ordered NAICC to defend Midway Homes in the Lake Park Terrace *1828 action. On appeal, NAICC contends the trial court erred because (1) Maryland was not a party to the insurance contract and was thus without standing to enforce any defense duty NAICC owed Midway Homes, (2) under a manifestation of damage theory Maryland alone was obligated to defend Midway Homes since damages first appeared during its policy periods, and (3) NAICC raised triable issues of material fact regarding whether Midway Homes’s alleged concealment of preexisting damages precluded coverage.
Discussion
I. Maryland’s Standing
Preliminarily, we must determine whether there is any merit to NAICC’s contention Maryland lacked standing to pursue this action because Maryland was not a party to the insurance contract between NAICC and Midway Homes. NAICC concedes “[t]here is no doubt that Maryland, as a primary insurer of the same insured, may seek equitable remedies such as equitable subrogation, contribution or indemnification.” NAICC argues, however, an action is premature pending resolution of the underlying lawsuit, because the obligation to pay defense costs “ultimately is determined according to the insurers’ respective liabilities for indemnity,” and “if Maryland were to fail to establish actual covered damages first manifest during the NAICC policy, NAICC should not bear any portion of the defense costs.” (Original italics.)
NAICC ignores the critical distinction between an insurer’s defense and indemnity obligations. The defense duty is not contingent upon indemnity liability, but is determined at the outset of the underlying action by comparing the policy provisions with the complaint allegations and any relevant extrinsic evidence to determine if there is any potential of coverage under the policy. If there is, a defense is owed even where ultimately it is determined there was no coverage and therefore no indemnity liability. (Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263, 276 [54 Cal.Rptr. 104, 419 P.2d 168].) NAICC is thus incorrect in suggesting an insurer may avoid liability for defense costs altogether by refusing to contribute during pendency of the underlying action. Even if it is ultimately determined no coverage existed, the insurer [refusing to defend] is liable for defense costs if there was any potential of coverage under the policy during pendency of the action.
It is immaterial Maryland was not a party to NAICC’s contract with Midway Homes. “The reciprocal rights and duties of several insurers who have covered the same event do not arise out of contract, for their *1829 agreements are not with each other. [Citations.] Their respective obligations flow from equitable principles designed to accomplish ultimate justice in the bearing of a specific burden. As these principles do not stem from agreement between the insurers their application is not controlled by the language of their contracts with the respective policy holders.” (Amer. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Seaboard Surety Co. (1957) 155 Cal.App.2d 192, 195-196 [318 P.2d 84].)
An insurer’s duty to provide defense services inures to the benefit of other obligated insurers and an insurer breaching the defense duty should not be allowed to profit at the expense of an insurer faithfully discharging its obligation. (Continental Cas. Co. v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1961) 57 Cal.2d 27, 37-38 [17 Cal.Rptr. 12, 366 P.2d 455].) An insurer is thus subrogated to the insured’s right to enforce another insurer’s duty to defend. (Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co. (1967) 249 Cal.App.2d 432, 435 [57 Cal.Rptr. 492].) “[I]t is well established that where two insurers should share pro rata in a loss, either can assert the rights of the insured against the other. [Citations.] This is in keeping with the rule ... the policies should be construed in favor of maximizing coverage even where the insured’s rights are being asserted by another carrier.” (Spott Electrical Co. v. Industrial Indem. Co. (1973) 30 Cal.App.3d 797, 801-802 [106 Cal.Rptr. 710].)
We conclude Maryland was subrogated to Midway Homes’s right to enforce NAICC’s defense duty and therefore had standing to pursue this action.
II. Summary Judgment Was Proper
A. Manifestation of Damage Theory Is Inapplicable
NAICC argues it was not obligated to defend Midway Homes because property damages were first manifested during Maryland’s policy period, and therefore Maryland was required to cover the entire loss. NAICC relies primarily on Home Ins. Co. v. Landmark Ins. Co. (1988) 205 Cal.App.3d 1388 [253 Cal.Rptr. 277] and Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (1990) 223 Cal.App.3d 1621 [273 Cal.Rptr. 431], first and third party liability cases, respectively, in which this court held the insurer on the risk at the time deterioration caused by construction defects was first manifested was liable for the entire loss even though deterioration continued into successive insurers’ policy periods.
We need not engage in a lengthy discussion concerning NAICC’s argument. Our Supreme Court has addressed this issue in a factual scenario consistent with the one presented here and has resolved it adversely to *1830 NAICC. In Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co. (1995) 10 Cal.4th 645 [42 Cal.Rptr.2d 324, 897 P.2d 1] (Montrose II), the Supreme Court made clear first party progressive damage cases, such as Home Ins. Co., are inapplicable in the third party context (id. at p. 684), disapproved Fireman’s Fund (id. at p. 685), and held a “continuous injury trigger” of coverage applies to third party liability insurance cases involving continuous or progressive damage (id. at p. 689).
Under the continuous injury theory, “bodily injuries and property damage that are continuous or progressively deteriorating throughout successive policy periods are covered by all policies in effect during those periods.” (Montrose II, supra, 10 Cal.4th at p. 675.) The date of discovery of the injury or damage is not controlling. “It is only the effect—the occurrence of bodily injury or property damage during the policy period, resulting from a sudden accidental event or the ‘continuous or repeated exposure to conditions’—that triggers potential liability coverage.” (Ibid., original italics.) In other words, all carriers on the risk between the time damages begin and end potentially cover the loss.
We conclude the continuing injury trigger of coverage applied in Montrose II is applicable here. Accordingly, the manifestation of property damage before the NAICC policy began did not automatically relieve NAICC of its obligation to defend its insured.
B. Maryland Met Its Burden of Proving Potential of Coverage Under the NAICC Policy
NAICC argues the court erred in granting the motion for summary judgment because Maryland failed to prove there was a covered occurrence during NAICC’s policy period. The argument is unpersuasive. Contrary to NAICC’s assertion, Maryland was not required to prove there was an occurrence within the meaning of NAICC’s policy. Rather, Maryland was required only to establish the potential Midway Homes was covered by the NAICC policy for losses at Lake Park Terrace. The distinction is subtle but critical to analyzing the propriety of the trial court’s ruling. “It is by now a familiar principle that a liability insurer owes a broad duty to defend its insured against claims that create a potential for indemnity. [Citation.] . . . ‘the carrier must defend a suit which potentially seeks damages within the coverage of the policy.’ [Citation.] Implicit in this rule is the principle that the duty to defend is broader than the duty to indemnify; an insurer may owe a duty to defend its insured in an action in which no damages ultimately are awarded. [Citations.] HO The determination whether *1831 the insurer owes a duty to defend usually is made in the first instance by comparing the allegations of the complaint with the terms of the policy. Facts extrinsic to the complaint also give rise to a duty to defend when they reveal a possibility that the claim may be covered by the policy. [Citation.]” (Horace Mann Ins. Co. v. Barbara B. (1993) 4 Cal.4th 1076, 1081 [17 Cal.Rptr.2d 210, 846 P.2d 792], original italics.) The insurer is relieved of its duty only where “the third party complaint can by no conceivable theory raise a single issue which could bring it within the policy coverage.” (Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co., supra, 65 Cal.2d at p. 276, fn. 15, italics added.) Any doubt as to whether the insurer has a duty to defend is resolved in the insured’s favor. (Horace Mann Ins. Co. v. Barbara B., supra, 4 Cal.4th at p. 1081.)
Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Superior Court (1993) 6 Cal.4th 287 [24 Cal.Rptr.2d 467, 861 P.2d 1153] (Montrose I), explains the parties’ burdens of proof in a declaratory relief action regarding the duty to defend. “To prevail, the insured must prove the existence of a potential for coverage, while the insurer must establish the absence of any such potential. In other words, the insured need only show that the underlying claim may fall within policy coverage; the insurer must prove it cannot. Facts merely tending to show that the claim is not covered, or may not be covered, but are insufficient to eliminate the possibility that resultant damages . . . will fall within the scope of coverage, therefore add no weight to the scales. Any seeming disparity in the respective burdens merely reflects the substantive law.” (Id. at p. 300, original italics.)
Here, the Association’s amended complaint alleged a variety of construction defects caused damages to occur at “various times” in various phases of the project. Further, Maryland produced extrinsic evidence of damages associated with roofing, drywall, asphalt, plumbing and garages in 1984 and 1985 when NAICC insured Midway Homes. Applying the principles set forth above, and comparing the NAICC policy provisions with the Association’s amended complaint and Maryland’s extrinsic evidence, we conclude Maryland established prima facie evidence of the potential for coverage under NAICC’s policy. Thus Maryland met its burden.
C. NAICC Did Not Conclusively Prove No Potential for Coverage
NAICC contends even if Maryland met its burden to establish the potential of a covered occurrence, the court erred in granting the motion for summary judgment because NAICC raised triable issues of material fact regarding whether Midway Homes concealed preexisting property damages *1832 and, if so, whether that voided coverage. 2 NAICC ignores controlling authority and misunderstands its burden in opposing Maryland’s motion.
NAICC could not defeat Maryland’s motion merely by raising a triable issue of material fact. Once a prima facie showing is made that the underlying action fell within coverage provisions, an insurer may defeat a motion for summary judgment only by producing undisputed extrinsic evidence conclusively eliminating the potential for coverage under the policy. (Montrose I, supra, 6 Cal.4th at pp. 298-299.) Evidence that merely “placed in dispute whether [the insured’s] actions would eventually be determined not to constitute an occurrence or to fall within one or more of the exclusions contained in the policies” is insufficient to defeat the insured’s right to summary judgment. (Id. at p. 304.) The question is, therefore, whether NAICC produced undisputed evidence of concealment negating coverage potential as a matter of law.
NAICC’s evidence included the acknowledgment by a Midway Homes employee, with unspecified involvement in insurance matters, of some property damages at Lake Park Terrace before the NAICC policy period, the claim by NAICC’s underwriter that he would not have written the policy if he had known about the prepolicy damages and a cryptic memorandum from the underwriter to Midway Homes’s insurance agent as to NAICC writing the policy based on Midway Homes’s purported “25% or less loss ratio over the past 3 [years].” NAICC produced no evidence it had questioned Midway Homes about prepolicy property losses. “ ‘[Wjhere ... the insurer fails to question the insured, the latter cannot be said to have concealed facts so as to void the policy unless they are facts which he [or she] knows, or which a reasonable [person] should have known, to be material to the risk and unless he [or she] does so for the purpose of obtaining insurance which could not have been obtained after a disclosure of such facts.’ ” (Olson v. Standard Marine Ins. Co., supra, 109 Cal.App.2d at p. 138.) 3 The knowledge of the Midway Homes employee as to damages preexisting the NAICC policy was thus not dispositive. Further, the memorandum by *1833 NAICC’s underwriter regarding “loss ratio” was ambiguous. Maryland disputed the evidence and its import.
On this record, we conclude NAICC did not meet its burden of proof. 4 While NAICC raised evidence of concealment, it did not present sufficient evidence to establish that defense as a matter of law. If, at a later time, NAICC successfully proves up its concealment theory, this would eliminate its obligations under the policy, including its duty to defend. However, until such time the insurer prevails, its duty to defend continues. The fact the trial court found a duty to defend does not cut off NAICC’s right to litigate its concealment defense in some other forum. 5
The trial court correctly determined NAICC was required to defend Midway Homes in the Lake Park Terrace action.
Disposition
The judgment is affirmed.
Kremer, P. J., and Nares, J., concurred.
The NAICC policy stated NAICC would “pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because of [property damage]. . . to which this insurance applies caused by an occurrence, and the company shall have the right and duty to defend any suit against the insured seeking damages on account of such . . . property damage, even if any of the allegations of the suit are groundless, false or fraudulent . . . .” The policy defined “property damage” as “physical injury to or destruction of tangible property which occurs during the policy period.” It defined “occurrence” as “an accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to conditions, which results in . . . property damage neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of the insured.”
An insured’s failure to reveal certain information may void coverage. “Neglect to communicate that which a party knows, and ought to communicate, is concealment.” (Ins. Code, § 330.) “Concealment, whether intentional or unintentional, entitles the injured party to rescind insurance.” (Ins. Code, § 331.) An insurer has the burden of proving concealment, (Olson v. Standard Marine Ins. Co. (1952) 109 Cal.App.2d 130, 137-138 [240 P.2d 379].)
The cases upon which NAICC relies are inapplicable because in each it was without dispute that the insured withheld information specifically sought by the insurer. (Williamson & Vollmer Engineering, Inc. v. Sequoia Ins. Co. (1976) 64 Cal.App.3d 261, 267-268, 273 [134 Cal.Rptr. 427] [architect’s denial on insurance application of previous claims]; Old Line Life Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1991) 229 Cal.App.3d 1600, 1607 [281 Cal.Rptr. 15] [insurer’s denial on insurance application of smoking].)
Because we affirm the judgment, we are not required to consider Maryland’s argument NAICC waived its right to raise concealment as a basis for rescinding the insurance policy.
At oral argument, counsel advised that the underlying construction defect litigation has been resolved and a contribution action is pending between Maryland and NAICC.
Cites, in this corpus
- Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Insurance S026013 · 1995-07-03
- Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Superior Court S024390 · 1993-11-22
- Horace Mann Ins. Co. v. Barbara B. S025417 · 1993-03-11
- Old Line Life Insurance of America v. Superior Court A051979 · 1991-05-09
- Firemans's Fund Insurance v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. D011199 · 1990-09-25
- Home Insurance v. Landmark Insurance D006512 · 1988-11-18
- Williamson & Vollmer Engineering, Inc. v. Sequoia Insurance Civ. 37732 · 1976-10-28
- Spott Electrical Co. v. Industrial Indemnity Co. Civ. 29618 · 1973-02-26
- Hartford Accident & Indem. Co. v. Pac. Indem. Co. Civ. 30674 · 1967-03-14
- Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. L. A. 28897 · 1966-10-25
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Zurich Insurance Sac. 7199 · 1961-11-27
- American Automobile Insurance v. Seaboard Surety Co. Civ. 22294 · 1957-11-13
- Pauline v. Fitzpatrick Civ. No. 17593 · 1957-10-07
- Olson v. Standard Marine Ins. Co., Ltd. Civ. 18398 · 1952-02-07
Cited by
- Woodbridge Liquidation Trust v. Certain Underwriters etc. CA2/3 B312870 · 2023-04-19
- Erickson-Hall Constr. Co. v. Scottsdale Ins. Co. Case No.: 18-CV-2462-GPC-MSB · 2019-02-20
- McMillin Companies, LLC v. American Safety Indemnity Co. D063586 · 2015-01-22
- Federal Insurance v. MBL, Inc. H036296; H036578 · 2013-08-26
- Shelton v. Fire Ins. Exchange CA2/1 B240775 · 2013-07-25
- American States Insurance v. National Fire Insurance No. D057673 · 2011-12-14
- Safeco Ins. Co. of America v. Superior Ct. B189637 · 2006-06-22
- North American Building Maintenance Inc. v. Fireman's Fund Insurance F047029 · 2006-03-09
- Pacific Indemnity Co. v. Bellefonte Insurance D031786 · 2000-05-24
- Pardee Construction Co. v. Insurance of the West D031946 · 2000-02-23
- Fireman's Fund Insurance v. Maryland Casualty Co. No. A079345 · 1998-07-31
- Maryland Casualty Co. v. Nationwide Insurance D026693 · 1998-06-24