Malcom v. Farmers New World Life Insurance
PAMELA J. MALCOM Et Al., Plaintiffs and Appellants, v. FARMERS NEW WORLD LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant and Respondent
- Proceeding
- appeal
- Trial court
- Superior Court of San Diego County
- Trial judge
- Philip D. Sharp
- Outcome
- affirmed — The judgment is affirmed.
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- Daniel J. Kremer (author)
Analysis
The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Farmers, determining that the suicide exclusion in the life insurance policies was plain, clear, conspicuous, and unambiguous, and that Farmers owed no affirmative duty to explain the provision to the insured. The Court of Appeal affirmed the summary judgment, holding that the exclusion met the legal standards for validity and that the record contained no triable issues regarding a duty to disclose.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Determination that the suicide provision was plain, clear, conspicuous, and unambiguous as a matter of law.“We conclude as a matter of law the suicide provision barred plaintiffs’ benefit claims.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The court correctly applied the standard that insurance exclusions must be plain, clear, and conspicuous to be effective. The provision used simple language ('Suicide... will not be a risk assumed') and was positioned prominently with a bold heading, satisfying the requirements set forth in *Travelers Ins. Co. v. Lesher* and *Crane v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co.* The appellate court's independent review of the contract language supports the conclusion that no ambiguity existed to trigger the doctrine of reasonable expectations. |
Determination that Farmers did not owe an affirmative duty to advise the insured of the suicide provision's limiting effect.“The superior court properly determined there was no triable factual issue whether Farmers was under an affirmative duty to advise Lawrence specifically about the suicide provision and its effect on coverage.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The court correctly noted that the plaintiffs' complaint alleged only breach of contract, not a separate tort or duty of disclosure claim, making the *Westrick* theory procedurally improper. Furthermore, on the merits, the record showed the insured did not specifically ask about suicide coverage, and general inquiries about depression treatment did not create a specific duty to disclose the suicide clause under the *Westrick* standard, which requires knowledge that the other party is acting under a mistake about basic facts of the transaction. |
Authorities
- relied: Crane v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (1971) 5 Cal.3d 112 — Establishes the requirement that insurance exclusions must be plain, clear, and conspicuous to be effective.
- relied: Travelers Ins. Co. v. Lesher (1986) 187 Cal.App.3d 169 — Defines 'plain and clear' as precise and understandable to laypersons, and 'conspicuous' as positioned and printed to attract attention.
- relied: Westrick v. State Farm Insurance (1982) 137 Cal.App.3d 685 — Cited for the proposition that a duty to disclose arises only if the insurer knows the other party is about to enter the transaction under a mistake as to facts basic to the transaction.
- relied: Sarchett v. Blue Shield of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 1 — Supports the rule that an insured is bound by clear and conspicuous policy provisions even if they did not read or understand them.
- relied: Producers Dairy Delivery Co. v. Sentry Ins. Co. (1986) 41 Cal.3d 903 — Courts may not fabricate ambiguity through strained construction of clear language; reasonable expectation doctrine applies only to ambiguous language.
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly applies established California law regarding the conspicuousness and clarity of insurance exclusions, and it properly limits the scope of the duty to disclose based on the specific facts of the inquiry and the nature of the pleadings. The court effectively distinguishes between general inquiries about health history and specific requests for coverage of suicide, which is the correct legal distinction under *Westrick*.
The superior court granted summary judgment to Farmers New World Life Insurance on the beneficiaries' breach-of-contract claims, holding that the policies' two-year suicide exclusion was plain, clear, conspicuous and unambiguous and barred recovery for the insured's suicide within two years of issuance. The Court of Appeal affirmed, independently construing the clause as plain, clear and conspicuous, rejecting the ambiguity and reasonable-expectations arguments, and holding that no triable issue existed on any affirmative duty of Farmers to point out and explain the suicide provision.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Determination that the suicide provision's language was plain and clear (precise and understandable to lay persons).“None of those words was beyond the working vocabulary of lay persons.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Applying the Travelers v. Lesher / Ponder test, the court parsed the 27-word clause, noted the refund sentence identifies Farmers as the party not assuming the risk, and reasonably concluded the words are within ordinary vocabulary; plaintiffs had also conceded plain-and-clear below. The reasoning tracks the cited authorities. |
Determination that the suicide provision was conspicuous.“The suicide provision was located on the policy’s third page—the first operative page after the cover page and the alphabetical guide—and preceded by the bold-faced capitalized word “Suicide.”” | de novo | correct | agree with court The court applied the placement-and-form test from Lesher, described the clause's position, bold heading, short length, and separation by blank space, and distinguished the buried-exclusion cases (Schmidt, Ponder, Miller, Fields, Davis). The analysis is consistent with those authorities. |
Rejection of plaintiffs' ambiguity and reasonable-expectation-of-coverage arguments.“Courts may not fabricate an ambiguity through a strained or absurd construction of otherwise clear language.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The proposed reading (that the insured need not worry about assuming suicide risk) is strained given the refund sentence, and Producers Dairy and Hallmark correctly state that reasonable expectations apply only where language is ambiguous. The conclusion follows from the cited Supreme Court authority. |
Determination that no triable issue of material fact existed on whether Farmers owed an affirmative duty at purchase to point out and explain the suicide provision.“Thus, the superior court properly determined there was no triable factual issue whether Farmers was under an affirmative duty to advise Lawrence specifically about the suicide provision and its effect on coverage.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The court held the Westrick/Restatement § 551 theory exceeded the breach-of-contract pleading, and alternatively that the only evidence (agent Sullivan's deposition) showed only an inquiry about depression treatment's effect on the application, not a known mistaken belief about suicide coverage. Given Westrick's requirement that the insurer know of the other party's mistake, and the duty-to-read authorities, the result is defensible; the opinion does not expressly state the summary judgment standard, but its independent review of the record is consistent with de novo review. |
Authorities
- relied: Fragomeno v. Insurance Co. of the West (1989) 207 Cal.App.3d 822 — Interpretation of insurance policy language is a question of law for the appellate court's independent determination.
- relied: Crane v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (1971) 5 Cal.3d 112 — Policy exclusions must be plain and clear and conspicuous to be enforceable against the insured.
- relied: Travelers Ins. Co. v. Lesher (1986) 187 Cal.App.3d 169 — Plain and clear requires precise, understandable lay vocabulary; conspicuous requires placement and print that attract the reader's attention.
- relied: Ponder v. Blue Cross of Southern California (1983) 145 Cal.App.3d 709 — Precision alone is insufficient; an exclusion must also be understandable, and it must not be hidden.
- relied: Blumberg v. Guarantee Ins. Co. (1987) 192 Cal.App.3d 1286 — An insurer may limit coverage, and the plain language of a clear limitation must be respected.
- relied: Schmidt v. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. (1969) 268 Cal.App.2d 735 — Exclusions submerged in a sea of print or inserted incidentally among benefit provisions are not conspicuous.
- relied: Producers Dairy Delivery Co. v. Sentry Ins. Co. (1986) 41 Cal.3d 903 — Courts may not fabricate ambiguity through strained construction; reasonable expectations doctrine applies only to ambiguous language.
- relied: Hallmark Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1988) 201 Cal.App.3d 1014 — Reasonable expectation of coverage applies only where policy language is ambiguous; a reasonable person reads coverage provisions.
- relied: Westrick v. State Farm Insurance (1982) 137 Cal.App.3d 685 — Under Restatement Second of Torts § 551, a duty to disclose facts basic to the transaction arises only if the party knows the other is acting under a mistake as to them.
- relied: Hackenthal v. National Casualty Co. (1987) 189 Cal.App.3d 1102 — Receipt and acceptance of a policy without objection binds the insured, who has a duty to read the policy.
- relied: Sarchett v. Blue Shield of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 1 — An insured is bound by clear and conspicuous policy provisions even if the insured did not read or understand them.
- relied: Searle v. Allstate Life Ins. Co. (1985) 38 Cal.3d 425 — Proof of suicide requires proof of suicidal intent, not merely the act of self-destruction (parties stipulated death was a suicide under this standard).
The appellate opinion: sound — The court applied the correct plain-and-clear/conspicuousness framework from Crane, Lesher and Ponder, quoted and examined the actual clause and its placement, and correctly limited the reasonable-expectations doctrine to ambiguous language under Producers Dairy. On the disclosure-duty theory it answered the argument both on the pleadings and on the merits under Westrick, so the result is well supported, though it did not expressly articulate the summary judgment standard or address whether plaintiffs could raise the plain-and-clear argument after conceding it below.
Opinion — Kremer
Opinion
KREMER, P. J.Plaintiffs Pamela Malcom (Pamela) and Medmetric Corporation (Medmetric) appeal summary judgment favoring defendant Farmers New World Life Insurance Company (Farmers) on their first amended complaint for breach of life insurance contracts. Plaintiffs contend the court erred in determining the contracts’ suicide provision to be plain, clear, conspicuous and unambiguous as a matter of law. Plaintiffs also contend the court erred in concluding Farmers did not owe the decedent insured *299 Lawrence Malcom (Lawrence) 1 an affirmative duty at time of purchase to advise him of the suicide provision’s limiting effect. We affirm the summary judgment.
I
Facts
We state the undisputed facts in the record.
In 1982 Farmers issued and delivered two $100,000 policies on Lawrence’s life with plaintiffs as beneficiaries.
Each policy contained a clause providing: “Suicide, whether sane or insane, will not be a risk assumed during the first two policy years. In such a case we will refund the premiums paid.”
In May 1984, within two years after the policies were issued, Lawrence committed suicide. 2
In July 1984 Farmers received plaintiffs’ claims seeking each policy’s $100,000 benefit.
In December 1984 Farmers declined plaintiffs’ claims on the basis Lawrence’s death constituted a suicide occurring within the first two policy years.
II
Superior Court Proceedings
A
Plaintiffs’ Pleading
In December 1988 plaintiffs sued Farmers.
*300 Plaintiffs’ first amended complaint alleged Farmers breached the contracts by not paying plaintiffs’ claims for benefits “for covered risks which were not specifically excluded under the contracts [sic] terms.” Plaintiffs also alleged Farmers should have known Lawrence was a high suicide risk based on discussions with Lawrence and his insurance applications’ disclosure of his history of observation, care, and hospital treatment for depression.
B
Farmers’ Motion for Summary Judgment
Farmers sought summary judgment, asserting it was not obligated to pay plaintiffs benefits because the policies clearly, conspicuously and unambiguously precluded coverage for death by suicide within the first two policy years.
After hearing, the court stated the policies’ suicide provision was “conspicuous,” “bold,” “clear” and “unambiguous.” The court granted Farmers’ motion for summary judgment. Plaintiffs appeal.
Ill
Discussion
Plaintiffs seek reversal of the summary judgment, asserting the superior court erred in determining the policies’ suicide provision to be plain, clear, conspicuous and unambiguous. Plaintiffs also contend the suicide provision’s asserted ambiguity prevented the policies as a whole from meeting Lawrence’s reasonable expectation of coverage. Plaintiffs further contend circumstances at the time of purchase imposed on Farmers a legal duty— assertedly breached by Farmers—to point out the suicide provision and explain its limited effect to Lawrence. Interpretation of the meaning of Farmers’ policies’ language is a question of law for our independent determination. (Fragomeno v. Insurance Co. of the West (1989) 207 Cal.App.3d 822, 827 [255 Cal.Rptr. 111].) We conclude as a matter of law the suicide provision barred plaintiffs’ benefit claims.
A
Suicide Provision Was Plain, Clear and Conspicuous
Plaintiffs contend the suicide provision is not “plain and clear” and “conspicuous.” (Crane v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (1971) 5 Cal.3d 112, 115 [95 Cal.Rptr. 513 [485 P.2d 1129, 48 A.L.R.3d 1089].) It is.
*301 1
“To be plain and clear, the substance of the exclusion must be precise and understandable. ‘To be effective in this context, the exclusion must be couched in words which are part of the working vocabulary of average lay persons.’ [Citation.]” (Travelers Ins. Co. v. Lesher (1986) 187 Cal.App.3d 169, 184 [231 Cal.Rptr. 791].) That is, precision alone is not enough, understandability is also required. (Ponder v. Blue Cross of Southern California (1983) 145 Cal.App.3d 709, 723 [193 Cal.Rptr. 632].)
At the hearing on Farmers’ motion for summary judgment, plaintiffs’ counsel, while contesting conspicuousness, conceded the language of the suicide provision was “plain and clear.” Plaintiffs now contend the court should not have found the suicide provision to be plain and clear because its words “a risk assumed” were assertedly “words of art in the insurance industry and are not used in the normal manner in which they are used by lay persons.” Plaintiffs also assert the suicide provision was unclear in not specifying whether risks were assumed by the insured or by the insurer. Assuming plaintiffs may raise those contentions on appeal despite their concession in superior court, we conclude as a matter of law the suicide provision was plain and clear.
Farmers’ policies’ suicide provision contains only 27 words. The provision states: “Suicide, whether sane or insane, will not be a risk assumed during the first two policy years. In such a case we will refund the premiums paid.” None of those words was beyond the working vocabulary of lay persons. Further, the suicide provision’s second sentence expressly states Farmers would refund premiums for claims for suicide occurring within the policies’ first two years. Thus, the policies clearly identified Farmers as the party not assuming risk of loss for such suicides. Where, as here, an insurer has clearly limited its coverage, the limitation’s plain language must be respected. (Blumberg v. Guarantee Ins. Co. (1987) 192 Cal.App.3d 1286, 1296 [238 Cal.Rptr. 36] ,) 3
*302 2
“To be conspicuous, an exclusion must be positioned in a place and printed in a form which will attract the reader’s attention. [Citation.]” (Travelers Ins. Co. v. Lesher, supra, 187 Cal.App.3d at p. 184.)
Farmers’ policies mentioned suicide twice. On the policies’ second page, the “Alphabetic Guide to Your Policy” listed “Suicide” and the suicide provision’s location in the policy. Following the page with the alphabetic guide was the page containing the suicide provision.
Plaintiffs contend the policies’ two references to suicide were not conspicuous. Plaintiffs assert the alphabetic guide’s reference to suicide appeared in small type as the 31st of 32 items. Plaintiffs assert the suicide provision appeared as the sixth item in an eight-item list in the second column of the policies’ “General Provisions.” However, we conclude the suicide provision was in a place and form readily attracting the reader’s attention. (Travelers Ins. Co. v. Lesher, supra, 187 Cal.App.3d at p. 184.)
The suicide provision was located on the policy’s third page—the first operative page after the cover page and the alphabetical guide—and preceded by the bold-faced capitalized word “Suicide.” The suicide provision contained only 27 words and was clearly separated from its neighboring provisions by several blank lines and blank spaces. The provision was neither submerged in “a sea of print” nor “inserted incidentally in a paragraph dealing with promised benefits.” (Schmidt v. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. (1969) 268 Cal.App.2d 735, 737-740 [74 Cal.Rptr. 367].) Nor was it otherwise hidden or obscured. (Compare Miller v. Elite Ins. Co. (1980) 100 Cal.App.3d 739, 752 [161 Cal.Rptr. 322]; Ponder v. Blue Cross of Southern California, supra, 145 Cal.App.3d at pp. 722-723; Fields v. Blue Shield of California (1985) 163 Cal.App.3d 570, 579 [209 Cal.Rptr. 781]; also Davis v. United Services Auto. Assn. (1990) 223 Cal.App.3d 1322, 1332-1333 [273 Cal.Rptr. 224].)
In sum, Farmers had the right to limit its policies’ coverage. (Blumberg v. Guarantee Ins. Co., supra, 192 Cal.App.3d at p. 1296.) The suicide provision clearly and conspicuously conveyed its message in understandable language. (Ibid.)
*303 B
Farmers Had No Duty to Point Out and Explain Suicide Provision
Plaintiffs contend the summary judgment should be reversed because the record assertedly contained triable material factual issues about whether at the time Lawrence bought the policies Farmers owed him an affirmative duty to point out the suicide provision and explain its limiting effect on coverage. Citing Westrick v. State Farm Insurance (1982) 137 Cal.App.3d 685, 691, footnote 3 [187 Cal.Rptr. 214], 4 plaintiffs assert such affirmative duty of disclosure arose because there was disparity of knowledge between Farmers and Lawrence. Specifically, plaintiffs assert Lawrence’s inquiries about the effect his earlier treatments for depression might have on the policies’ scope of coverage and Lawrence’s disclosed history of mental and psychological instability demonstrated he apparently lacked knowledge—and Farmers had superior knowledge—about the policies’ coverage and limitations on coverage.
Plaintiff’s theory Farmers breached an affirmative duty of disclosure exceeds the scope of their first amended complaint. Plaintiffs pleaded only breach of contract. Plaintiffs did not allege Farmers breached any duty of disclosure under the theory of Westrick v. State Farm Insurance, supra, 137 Cal.App.3d 685. 5 Plaintiffs simply alleged Farmers should have known Lawrence was a high suicide risk based on discussions with Lawrence and his disclosure of his history of observation, care and hospital treatment for depression. Moreover, assuming the pleadings could be read as encompassing the issue of Farmers’ asserted breach of an affirmative duty of disclosure, the only evidence presented on that issue was consistent with the summary judgment.
*304 Supporting its motion for summary judgment, Farmers submitted its life claims examiner Olson’s declaration asserting she determined Lawrence’s death was not covered by Farmers’ policies and benefits were not payable due to the policies’ suicide provision. Attached to Olson’s declaration were copies of the policies. As discussed earlier, the suicide provision of those policies was as a matter of law plain, clear, conspicuous, and unambiguous and thus barred plaintiffs’ benefit claims.
Opposing Farmers’ motion for summary judgment, plaintiffs submitted their counsel’s declaration attaching portions of Farmers’ agent Sullivan’s deposition. At deposition Sullivan stated when applying for the policies Lawrence asked about any effect his treatment for depression would have on his application and Sullivan replied the decision was up to the underwriter. Sullivan did not recall discussing with Lawrence or Pamela the suicide provision, the two-year contestability provision, or any other policy term or condition.
The mere fact when applying for the policies Lawrence asked Farmers about the effect his treatment for depression might have on his application did not impose upon Farmers an affirmative duty to advise him specifically about the suicide provision and its effect on coverage. The record contained no evidence suggesting Lawrence asked Farmers for coverage for all suicide-related death or asked Farmers whether the policies would cover suicide-related death. Neither did the record contain evidence suggesting Lawrence sought clarification of the suicide provision after receiving the policies. 6 In sum, there was no evidence suggesting Farmers knew Lawrence entered the transaction under a mistaken belief the policies would cover all suicide-related death. (Westrick v. State Farm Insurance, supra, 137 Cal.App.3d at p. 691, fn. 3.) Thus, the superior court properly determined there was no triable factual issue whether Farmers was under an affirmative duty to advise Lawrence specifically about the suicide provision and its effect on coverage.
Farmers was entitled to judgment as a matter of law because this record disclosed no triable issue of material fact. The superior court properly granted summary judgment favoring Farmers.
*305 Disposition
The judgment is affirmed.
Work, J., and Froehlich, J., concurred.
Appellants’ petition for review by the Supreme Court was denied June 10, 1992.
For purposes of clarity we refer to the Malcoms by their first names.
The parties stipulated Lawrence’s death constituted a “suicide” under Searle v. Allstate Life Ins. Co. (1985) 38 Cal.3d 425, 437 [212 Cal.Rptr. 466, 696 P.2d 1308], In Searle the Supreme Court stated the burden of proving suicide “requires more than proof of the act of self-destruction, the proof must further establish that the act was committed with suicidal intent, i.e., the purposeful or intentional causing of death.” (Id. at p. 437, fn. omitted.)
We also reject plaintiffs’ similar contention the suicide clause was ambiguous because it could be read to mean that Lawrence did not have to worry about assuming any risk of suicide during the policies’ first two years. Courts may not fabricate an ambiguity through a strained or absurd construction of otherwise clear language. (Producers Dairy Delivery Co. v. Sentry Ins. Co. (1986) 41 Cal.3d 903, 912 [226 Cal.Rptr. 558, 718 P.2d 920].) The words in question here manifestly referred to suicide occurring within the policies’ first two years and made clear Farmers assumed no risk for such suicide. Since the provision is unambiguous plaintiffs’ contention coverage should be extended consistent with Lawrence’s reasonable expectations also fails. “The doctrine of reasonable expectation of coverage is applicable only where the language of the policy is ambiguous. [Citations.]” (Hallmark Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1988) *302 201 Cal.App.3d 1014, 1019 [247 Cal.Rptr. 638]; also Producers Dairy Delivery Co. v. Sentry Ins. Co., supra, 41 Cal.3d at p. 912.)
In Westrick v. State Farm Insurance, supra, 137 Cal.App.3d 685, the appellate court quoted section 551 of the Restatement Second of Torts: “ ‘ “(1) One who fails to disclose to another a fact that he knows may justifiably induce the other to act or refrain from acting in a business transaction is subject to the same liability to the other as though he had represented the nonexistence of the matter that he has failed to disclose, if, but only if, he is under a duty to the other to exercise reasonable care to disclose the matter in question. (2) One party to a business transaction is under a duty to exercise reasonable care to disclose to the other before the transaction is consummated, . . . (e) facts basic to the transaction, if he knows that the other is about to enter into it under a mistake as to them, and that the other, because of the relationship between them, the customs of the trade or other objective circumstances, would reasonably expect a disclosure of those facts." ’ (Wells v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. [(1978)] 85 Cal.App.3d [66,] at p. 72, fh. 8 [149 Cal.Rptr. 171].)” (Id. at p. 691, fn. 3.)
In Westrick v. State Farm Insurance, supra, 137 Cal.App.3d 685, the complaint alleged the insurer’s agents negligently failed to disclose that a welding truck—later involved in an accident—was not covered under plaintiff’s existing policy. The complaint sought declaratory relief to establish coverage under the policy. Alternatively, the complaint sought damages for negligent misrepresentation, negligence and estoppel. (Id. at pp. 687-688.)
“A reasonable person will read the coverage provisions of an insurance policy to ascertain the scope of what is covered. [Citation.]” (Hallmark Ins. Co. v. Superior Court, supra, 201 Cal.App.3d at p. 1019.) “ ‘ “It is a general rule that the receipt of a policy and its acceptance by the insured without an objection binds the insured as well as the insurer and he cannot thereafter complain that he did not read it or know its terms. It is a duty of the insured to read his policy.” ’ [Citations.]” (Hackenthal v. National Casualty Co. (1987) 189 Cal.App.3d 1102, 1112 [234 Cal.Rptr. 853], italics in original.) Generally the insured is “bound by clear and conspicuous provisions in the policy even if evidence suggests that the insured did not read or understand them.” (Sarchett v. Blue Shield of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 1, 15 [233 Cal.Rptr. 76, 729 P.2d 267].)
Cites, in this corpus
- Davis v. United Service Automobile Ass'n. D009954 · 1990-09-18
- Fragomeno v. Insurance Co. of the West B033011 · 1989-01-31
- Hallmark Ins. Co. v. Superior Court B033221 · 1988-06-02
- Blumberg v. Guarantee Insurance B022639 · 1987-06-24
- Hackethal v. National Casualty Co. B011223 · 1987-02-26
- Sarchett v. Blue Shield of California L.A. 31988 · 1987-01-02
- Travelers Insurance v. Lesher A019434 · 1986-11-24
- Producers Dairy Delivery Co. v. Sentry Insurance S.F. 24835 · 1986-06-09
- Searle v. Allstate Life Insurance L.A. 31703 · 1985-04-04
- Fields v. Blue Shield of California Civ. 26829 · 1985-01-11
- Ponder v. Blue Cross of Southern California Civ. 66903 · 1983-08-04
- Westrick v. State Farm Insurance Civ. 65137 · 1982-11-23
- Miller v. Elite Insurance Civ. 42394 · 1980-01-08
- Wells v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Civ. 52811 · 1978-09-25
- Crane v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. S.F. 22804 · 1971-06-17
- Schmidt v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Civ. 24560 · 1969-01-10
Cited by
- Brown v. Mid-Century Ins. B238357 · 2013-04-24
- Brown v. Mid-Century Ins. CA2/7 B238357 · 2013-04-02
- Mission Viejo Emergency Medical Associates v. Beta Healthcare Group No. G043815 · 2011-06-29
- Butcher v. Truck Insurance Exchange B121194 · 2000-02-03
- Paper Savers, Inc. v. Nacsa B097130 · 1996-12-19
- Chase v. Blue Cross of California A068199 · 1996-02-23
- Hadland v. NN Investors Life Insurance G012705 · 1994-04-13
- Harrold v. Rolling J Ranch B036168 · 1993-10-15
- Shepard v. Calfarm Life Insurance D013743 · 1992-04-27