Tomaselli v. Transamerica Insurance
DOMINICK J. TOMASELLI Et Al., Plaintiffs and Respondents, v. TRANSAMERICA INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant and Appellant
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- Froehlich (author)
Analysis
The trial court found that Transamerica Insurance breached its contract and acted in bad faith, awarding compensatory and punitive damages. The Court of Appeal affirmed the liability findings but reversed the punitive damages award due to insufficient evidence of the defendant's financial condition and a lack of evidence supporting malice or oppression.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Substantial evidence supports the breach of contract finding (timeliness of suit).“We therefore must examine whether the evidence could support a jury’s determination that Tomasellis did not know, and a reasonable insured would not know, of the loss.” | substantial evidence | correct | agree with court agree with court |
Substantial evidence supports the bad faith finding.“Accordingly, a jury could find that both the handling and ultimate denial of this claim were unreasonable and in bad faith.” | substantial evidence | correct | agree with court agree with court |
Punitive damages award is defective due to failure to establish financial condition.“There is simply no evidence, substantial or otherwise, as to the financial condition of Transamerica Insurance Company.” | de novo | error | agree with court agree with court |
Punitive damages award is unsupported by evidence of malice, oppression, or despicable conduct.“There is simply no evidence supporting a punitive damage award in this case, and the award must be reversed in its entirety.” | substantial evidence | error | agree with court agree with court |
Attorney fee award is improper.“The order establishing attorney fees and costs is reversed, and this issue is remanded to the trial court for reconsideration.” | abuse of discretion | error | unsure unsure |
Authorities
- relied: Prudential-LMI Com. Insurance v. Superior Court (1990) 51 Cal.3d 674 — The one-year suit period commences upon manifestation of the loss, which is a factual matter for the trier of fact.
- relied: Adams v. Murakami (1991) 54 Cal.3d 105 — Proof of the defendant's financial condition is a prerequisite to a punitive damages award and cannot be waived by failure to object.
- relied: Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange (1978) 21 Cal.3d 910 — Punitive damages for breach of contract require a showing that the defendant acted with the intent to vex, injure, or annoy.
- relied: Patrick v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1990) 217 Cal.App.3d 1566 — Claims handling that is witless or infected with bureaucratic inertia does not add up to malice or oppression sufficient for punitive damages.
- misapplied: Downey Savings & Loan Assn. v. Ohio Casualty Ins. Co. (1987) 189 Cal.App.3d 1072 — The court distinguished this case, finding its procedural and substantive handling of the alter ego doctrine flawed and not controlling.
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion correctly applies the substantial evidence standard to affirm the liability findings, noting that the jury could reasonably find the loss was not manifested until the time of suit and that the insurer's conduct was unreasonable. It correctly reverses the punitive damages award by applying the strict requirements of Adams v. Murakami regarding financial condition and the high threshold for malice/oppression in insurance bad faith cases, distinguishing negligence from despicable conduct.
After a jury found Transamerica Insurance Company breached its homeowners policy and acted in bad faith in denying the Tomasellis' slab-crack claim, the trial court entered judgment for $260,000 in contract damages, $500,000 in emotional distress damages, $11,250,000 in punitive damages, and awarded attorney fees. The Court of Appeal affirmed the liability and compensatory awards but reversed the punitive damages entirely for lack of evidence of the defendant's own financial condition and lack of evidence of malice or oppression, and reversed and remanded the attorney fee award.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Denial of challenge to breach of contract verdict based on the one-year suit clause (manifestation of loss)“It is sufficient to state there was evidence from which a jury could have concluded a reasonable insured would not have known of the loss more than one year before this lawsuit was filed.” | substantial evidence | correct | agree with court Prudential-LMI makes manifestation a question of fact for the jury; the insureds' testimony plus Watanabe's admissions about hairline cracks supplied substantial evidence, and Abari was properly distinguished as a pleading case decided before Prudential-LMI. |
Denial of challenge to the bad faith (tortious breach of implied covenant) verdict“Accordingly, a jury could find that both the handling and ultimate denial of this claim were unreasonable and in bad faith.” | substantial evidence | correct | agree with court The court correctly applied Opsal and Betts: whether denial was unreasonable turns on competing inferences, and evidence of inadequate investigation, a misleading EUO, dissuasion of counsel, and continued reliance on an endorsement not shown to have been delivered supports the jury's finding. |
Entry of punitive damages award without evidence of the defendant's own financial condition (only parent company's consolidated annual report)“There is simply no evidence, substantial or otherwise, as to the financial condition of Transamerica Insurance Company.” | substantial evidence | error (fact finding unsupported) | agree with court Adams v. Murakami places the burden on plaintiff to introduce evidence of the defendant's financial condition; a parent's consolidated report is not evidence of the subsidiary's condition, and the court's rejection of an unlitigated alter ego theory under Associated Vendors is sound. The holding that the requirement cannot be waived by failure to object is an extension of Adams footnote 5 that is defensible but not compelled. |
Entry of punitive damages award on a finding of malice or oppression“There is simply no evidence supporting a punitive damage award in this case, and the award must be reversed in its entirety.” | substantial evidence | error (fact finding unsupported) | unsure The court correctly stated the Civil Code section 3294 standard and the clear-and-convincing requirement, but it characterized conduct the jury could have viewed as conscious disregard (misleading the insureds about the EUO's purpose, dissuading counsel, implying a recheck of the endorsement that never occurred) as mere negligence or overzealousness, which approaches reweighing. Its emphasis on a pattern of claims mishandling is drawn from Mock and Patrick dicta and sits uneasily with Egan v. Mutual of Omaha, which upheld punitive liability for a single claim. |
Award of attorney fees and costs“The order establishing attorney fees and costs is reversed, and this issue is remanded to the trial court for reconsideration.” | unclear | error (other) | unsure The reasoning is in an unpublished portion of the opinion, so the basis for reversal and the standard applied cannot be evaluated from this text. |
Evidentiary and instructional rulings and compensatory damages (sections 3-8, unpublished)“In all other respects the judgment is affirmed.” | unclear | correct | unsure These issues were resolved in unpublished portions of the opinion and the reasoning is not available in the text provided. |
Authorities
- relied: Prudential-LMI Com. Insurance v. Superior Court (1990) 51 Cal.3d 674 — The one-year suit clause runs from manifestation of loss, and when appreciable damage becomes or should become known to a reasonable insured is a question of fact for the trier of fact.
- relied: In re Marriage of Mix (1975) 14 Cal.3d 604 — Testimony of a single witness can constitute substantial evidence.
- relied: Abari v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (1988) 205 Cal.App.3d 530 — Distinguished as a pleading case where the insured alleged notice and deterioration but did not allege he was unaware of the gravity of the problem.
- relied: Opsal v. United Services Auto. Assn. (1991) 2 Cal.App.4th 1197 — Erroneous denial of a claim alone does not support tort liability; benefits must have been withheld unreasonably.
- relied: Walbrook Ins. Co. v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. (1992) 5 Cal.App.4th 1445 — An insurer must consider its insured's interests but may also give consideration to its own.
- relied: Fields v. Blue Shield of California (1985) 163 Cal.App.3d 570 — Failure to give clear, conspicuous, plain-language notice of a reduction in coverage renders the reduction ineffective.
- relied: Betts v. Allstate Ins. Co. (1984) 154 Cal.App.3d 688 — Where the evidence of bad faith can be viewed differently, the issue is for the jury.
- relied: Adams v. Murakami (1991) 54 Cal.3d 105 — Plaintiff bears the burden of introducing evidence of the defendant's financial condition as a prerequisite to a punitive damages award; the public interest in appropriate awards cannot be thwarted by a party's oversight.
- relied: Downey Savings & Loan Assn. v. Ohio Casualty Ins. Co. (1987) 189 Cal.App.3d 1072 — Declined to follow; the court rejected its use of a parent company's income to measure punitive damages on an unlitigated alter ego theory.
- relied: NEC Electronics Inc. v. Hurt (1989) 208 Cal.App.3d 772 — Even if alter ego is shown, liability cannot be imposed on an absent party that did not control the litigation.
- relied: Associated Vendors, Inc. v. Oakland Meat Co. (1962) 210 Cal.App.2d 825 — Alter ego requires unity of interest such that separate corporate personalities no longer exist and an inequitable result if separateness is respected.
- relied: Institute of Veterinary Pathology, Inc. v. California Health Laboratories, Inc. (1981) 116 Cal.App.3d 111 — Cited in accord on the limits of the alter ego doctrine.
- relied: Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange (1978) 21 Cal.3d 910 — Punitive damages for tortious breach require that the defendant acted with intent to vex, injure, or annoy, or with conscious disregard of plaintiff's rights.
- relied: Taylor v. Superior Court (1979) 24 Cal.3d 890 — Conduct warranting punitive damages has the character of outrage frequently associated with crime.
- relied: Flyer's Body Shop Profit Sharing Plan v. Ticor Title Ins. Co. (1986) 185 Cal.App.3d 1149 — Mere carelessness or ignorance does not justify punitive damages; conduct must rise to extreme indifference to plaintiff's rights.
- relied: Mock v. Michigan Millers Mutual Ins. Co. (1992) 4 Cal.App.4th 306 — Collects cases suggesting a consistent and unremedied pattern of egregious insurer practices supports punitive damages.
- relied: Patrick v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1990) 217 Cal.App.3d 1566 — Claims handling that is witless and bureaucratically inefficient does not amount to malice or oppression; appellate review asks whether substantial evidence supports a clear-and-convincing finding.
- relied: In re Angelia P. (1981) 28 Cal.3d 908 — Clear and convincing evidence requires a finding of high probability leaving no substantial doubt.
- relied: Garvey v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (1989) 48 Cal.3d 395 — Resolved the confusion in concurrent causation law that existed when the claim was being evaluated.
- missed: Egan v. Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co. (1979) 24 Cal.3d 809 — An insurer's failure to properly investigate and its mistreatment of an insured in handling a single claim can support a finding of bad faith and a punitive damages award; the court did not address this binding authority when suggesting a pattern of claims misconduct is needed.
The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court correctly applied the substantial evidence standard to the liability findings and faithfully applied Adams v. Murakami in reversing the punitive award for lack of evidence of the defendant's own financial condition, with a well-reasoned rejection of the alter ego theory. Its alternative holding that no evidence supports malice or oppression comes close to reweighing conflicting inferences the court itself found sufficient for bad faith, and it did not address Egan v. Mutual of Omaha, which upheld punitive damages for single-claim mishandling.
How this analysis was made · dispute it
record incompleteOpinion — Froehlich
Opinion
FROEHLICH, J.Dominick and Denise Tomaselli (Tomasellis) sued Transamerica Insurance Company (appellant), alleging appellant’s refusal to pay a claim on their homeowners policy was both a breach of contract and in bad faith. The jury awarded contract damages of $260,000, emotional distress damages totaling $500,000, and punitive damages of $11,250,000. Appellant’s claims fall into five basic categories: (1) that there is no substantial evidence to support the liability determinations; (2) that a series of evidentiary and instructional errors prejudiced the verdicts; (3) that the compensatory damages are excessive; (4) that the punitive damages award is unsupported by proper evidence and is excessive; and (5) that the attorney fee award is improper.
*1274 I
Factual and Procedural Background
A. The Parties and the Policies
Tomasellis purchased a three-year-old house in 1977. Between 1977 and 1982 they had homeowners insurance from Premier Insurance Company, an affiliate of appellant, and from 1982 through 1987 they purchased homeowners insurance from appellant.
The policies originally contained three relevant limitations on coverage: (1) an exclusion for earth movement; (2) a “prompt notice” requirement; and (3) a requirement that suit on any claim be filed within one year of the loss.
In 1984 appellant added a fourth relevant limitation—endorsement No. 14461 (hereafter the 14461 endorsement), which reduced coverage. Under the 14461 endorsement, losses caused by faulty or defective construction or compaction were excluded from coverage even if another covered cause had contributed to the loss. The 14461 endorsement was first listed by appellant as part of Tomasellis’ policy beginning in July 1984.
B. The Claim
In May 1987, Tomasellis discovered a large crack in the house slab and submitted a claim for damages. Appellant promptly sent out an adjuster, Mr. Watanabe, who spent an hour at the property on May 19. He questioned Mrs. Tomaselli, went around the home looking for signs of damage, and took photographs. Mrs. Tomaselli pointed out various cracks, but made no mention of a bathroom crack at this meeting. Watanabe observed other signs of distress (primarily exterior stucco cracks, as well as a crack in the garage floor) which indicated there might be other problems.
On May 20, Watanabe prepared and sent an “Advance Large Loss Notice” to his superiors, Mr. Friend and Mr. Kirk. On May 27, he prepared a “claim brief” which summarized Tomasellis’ claim. In his claim brief Watanabe indicated there were no “apparent” policy violations. At trial, Watanabe testified he had made no final determination of whether the policy provisions had been followed, which is why his brief reflected there were no “apparent” policy violations. Watanabe’s brief noted Mrs. Tomaselli stated she did not know about the cracking in the house slab, did not understand the significance of the cracking in the garage slab, and the prior owner had not disclosed any soils problems to Tomasellis. The brief reported (1) a soils *1275 engineer would undertake an investigation and (2) an “examination under oath” (hereafter EUO) might be conducted if warranted.
Also on May 27, Watanabe sent Tomasellis a “reservation of rights” letter. The letter specifically quoted the 14461 endorsement, the proof of loss clause and the “prompt notice” clause. Watanabe’s letter made no reference to the “one-year-suit” clause, which requires that any suit be filed within one year of the loss. Watanabe testified he did not cite that clause in his May 27 letter because, at that point, he had no reason to believe Tomasellis had been on notice of the problems for an extended period of time.
C. The Investigation Begins
The soils firm began its investigation in early June. By June 9, Watanabe began questioning whether Tomasellis had become aware of the damage at an earlier time, and hence Watanabe asked the engineer if he could determine when the damage first became manifest.
Also on June 9, Watanabe referred the matter to the Law Offices of Barry Zalma for analysis and advice as to coverage, and sent the firm the relevant documents. Watanabe indicated he was interested in “when” Tomasellis became aware of the damage and the issues surrounding the “concurrent cause” problems. 2 Watanabe’s letter noted that Tomasellis admitted seeing the crack in the garage slab “within the last year” but Tomasellis had “dismissed the crack since it was not inside the dwelling.” Watanabe’s letter concluded by suggesting Tomasellis were “excellent candidate[s] for an EUO.” Kirk, Watanabe’s superior, testified an EUO was the only means of determining what the insureds knew and when they acquired the knowledge, the insureds being the only sources of information about progressive damage. Tomasellis’ expert, on the other hand, testified the use of an EUO was improper and evidenced bad faith because: (1) use of an EUO is rare (absent some suggestion of fraud or lack of cooperation), and he had never heard of it being used in “concurrent cause” cases; (2) there was no reason to administer the EUO in this case; and (3) use of an EUO was a way appellant could “telegraph” to the coverage attorneys its intention to deny the claim.
D. Tomasellis’ Prior Knowledge Surfaces
The initial soils report, dated June 16, indicated that the problem was fill settlement which appeared to have been a long-term process occurring over *1276 several years; that it was an ongoing process since “patched areas inside the house [were] beginning to crack again”; and that Tomasellis “stated that the stress features [had] gradually worsened and some [had] appeared more recently than others.” Watanabe believed that the statement about damage worsening over time conflicted with Mrs. Tomaselli’s earlier report that Tomasellis were unaware of any prior damage to the home, and noted this apparent discrepancy to the attorney.
The attorney from the Zalma law office assigned to handle the matter was Cynthia Hamilton. Hamilton told Watanabe on June 19 that she had insufficient information to evaluate and advise on the issue of when the cracking occurred and when the insured knew or should have known of damage, and that further information from the soils engineer and the insureds would help answer these questions. Her subsequent request for authorization to conduct an EUO was granted. Hamilton thereafter wrote to Tomasellis, indicating they should direct all further communications to her, and required them to produce 10 categories of documents for her inspection as part of the process of investigation. She also told them that an EUO was required. With respect to possible defenses, she indicated that in addition to the reservation of rights letter, the policy required “prompt notice” and “suit within one year” after inception of the loss, and that there was some question about when the loss occurred.
Before the EUO took place, Mrs. Tomaselli discussed the procedure with Watanabe. Watanabe told her it was not necessary to have her attorney present, and that the EUO was merely a procedure to help settle the claim. He did not reiterate the advice previously given by Hamilton, to the effect that a purpose of the EUO was to investigate potential policy violations.
During the EUO, conducted in mid-August, information about Tomasellis’ knowledge of progressive damage began to surface. Tomasellis disclosed having had knowledge of the garage floor crack since 1980, which crack had been getting worse, and that they had noticed the patio separating and moving away from the house “a long, long time ago.” However, they perceived all of their problems as insignificant.
They also disclosed, for the first time, the defects in the bathroom. They stated that in 1979 Mr. Tomaselli had removed the bathroom carpet and replaced it with tile, had noticed a crack at that time, but thought nothing of it. A few years later, cracks in the tile forced them to replace it, and at that time the tile setter told them cracking would be a recurring problem because of the crack in the slab beneath the tile.
At trial, Tomasellis testified Watanabe never told them the purpose of the EUO was to explore possible policy violations. Tomasellis’ expert testified *1277 insureds should be told they might want an attorney present, and Kirk agreed it would have been improper for Watanabe to dissuade Tomasellis from having an attorney present. Tomasellis felt intimidated and badgered during the EUO. They were never asked during the EUO about the alleged discrepancy between what they told Watanabe and what they said to the soils engineer. Mrs. Tomaselli testified she never told the soils engineer she had been long aware of the problems, and in fact first learned of them from the engineer.
At trial, Tomasellis testified they first noticed bathroom cracks in 1979 when Mr. Tomaselli replaced the carpeting in the bathroom. They testified that in 1983 they decided to change the tiling because of hairline cracks in some tiles, which they attributed to their son’s dropping things on the floor, and also for aesthetic reasons. They hired Mr. Cerutti, a tile setter, to replace the tile. Cerutti testified he spotted a one-eighth-inch crack, pointed it out to the Tomasellis, and said he could not guarantee the work, warning that the crack could be very serious. Two weeks later, the crack indeed reappeared, and Cerutti came and fixed it. It later reappeared, but they then chose not to call Cerutti.
The final report of the soils engineer, dated September 15, 1987, concluded the cause of the problem was improperly compacted fill, but did not indicate when the problem would have been manifested.
E. The Claim Is Denied
Hamilton opined, based on the 14461 endorsement and the late notice of claim, that the claim should be denied. Appellant’s file revealed that the 14461 endorsement became effective in mid-1984, and hence would apply. Hamilton also advised that late notice of the claim barred coverage. In her September 15 letter she specifically concluded that Tomasellis’ EUO statements disclosed a number of items which cumulatively would likely alert a reasonable person to the existence of a problem, and that the bathroom problems alone (given the tile setter’s advice of recurrence) were enough to have placed them on notice. Hamilton ultimately recommended denial of the claim. Kirk agreed that the late notice and one-year suit provisions applied, and approved denial of the claim.
As partial support of their claim of bad faith, Tomasellis produced evidence that Watanabe knew he was obliged to investigate fully, but they neither took further photographs nor tried to tear up the bathroom tiling to examine the crack. Watanabe conceded that if Tomasellis had been told it was a shrinkage crack they would not have been required to file a claim. *1278 Kirk agreed a hairline crack under the bathroom tiles would not have been a sufficient basis for denying the claim. Watanabe never asked either Tomasellis or Cerutti, the tile setter, whether Cerutti had characterized the crack as a shrinkage crack, nor did appellant examine the crack to determine if it was a shrinkage crack.
F. Appellant Again Denies the Claim After Tomasellis Request Reconsideration
Tomasellis retained attorney Burrows after the claim was denied. Burrows wrote to Hamilton and stated that because denial was based on the concurrent cause endorsement, reconsideration was required because Burrows’s review of Tomasellis’ files indicated they had not received the 14461 endorsement or any notice thereof, rendering such endorsement inapplicable.
Hamilton told Watanabe of Tomasellis’ request and suggested that although her review of the files indicated the 14461 endorsement was effective, it might be prudent to double-check whether Tomasellis had been sent the 14461 endorsement. Hamilton told Watanabe that in light of the “incredibly late notice” after the damages became apparent, rejection of the claim was still in order.
Hamilton also wrote to Burrows, informing Burrows (1) the demand for reconsideration had been forwarded; (2) Burrows’s letter ignored the fact that denial was also based on late notice and a one-year suit; and (3) appellant was advised by its agent and records that Tomasellis were informed of all exclusions, and hence it appeared Burrows’s belief that Tomasellis had not been notified of the 14461 endorsement was inaccurate, but that appellant should further review the matter. It appears that appellant never conducted any additional investigation into whether the endorsement had been sent.
Burrows responded by again demanding reconsideration. In this letter Burrows stated that Cerutti had told Tomasellis the bathroom crack was an insignificant “shrinkage crack.” Watanabe did not believe that this “new” information warranted additional investigation, since it appeared to be inconsistent with the EUO testimony by Tomasellis that Cerutti had indicated the crack would cause recurring problems. Kirk testified he did not order any further investigation of the bathroom crack because, based on the soils report (indicating a long-term progressive deterioration of the damage) and the EUO admissions (i.e., the recurring tile problem, the moving patio, the cracks worsening over time), it was unlikely further investigation would have altered the coverage determination.
Hamilton reaffirmed denial of the claim on February 16. The lawsuit followed.
*1279 G. The Lawsuit and Judgment
Suit was filed on April 29, 1988. Appellant filed a general denial. The trial engaged two principal issues: first, did Tomasellis file their lawsuit within one year of the loss, and second, assuming the lawsuit was timely, was the rejection of the claim in bad faith? The jury answered both questions in favor of Tomasellis, and awarded contract damages of $260,000 and emotional distress damages totaling $500,000. In the bifurcated punitive damages phase, the jury awarded $11,250,000. The trial court, sitting without a jury, awarded attorney fees. This appeal followed.
II
Analysis
1. There Is Substantial Evidence to Support the Breach of Contract Finding
Appellant first challenges the judgment by arguing there is no substantial evidence to support the judgment for breach of contract, because the one-year-suit-clause requirement was not met. That clause is a valid limitation on an insured’s right to sue on the policy and has the effect of precluding an insured from suing for relief more than one year after the loss becomes “manifest.” (Prudential-LMI Com. Insurance v. Superior Court (1990) 51 Cal.3d 674, 683 [274 Cal.Rptr. 387, 798 P.2d 1230], hereafter Prudential-LMI.) Appellant argues the loss here was manifested more than one year before suit was filed because the facts admittedly known to Tomasellis (i.e., the recurring bathroom crack, the substantial garage crack, the separating patio, etc.) demonstrated that they “knew or should have known” of the loss more than one year before they filed suit.
Prudential-LMI explained that the one-year period commences on “manifestation of the loss,” which is that point when appreciable damage occurs and becomes or should become known to a reasonable insured. The court further explained that “[determining when appreciable damage occurs such that a reasonable insured would be on notice of a potentially insured loss is a factual matter for the trier of fact.” (Prudential-LMI, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 687.) We therefore must examine whether the evidence could support a jury’s determination that Tomasellis did not know, and a reasonable insured would not know, of the loss. 3
The finding that Tomasellis did not know is supported by their own testimony. (In re Marriage of Mix (1975) 14 Cal.3d 604, 614 [122 Cal.Rptr. *1280 79, 536 P.2d 479] [testimony of single witness is substantial evidence].) Tomasellis testified they did not notice or fully understand the significance of the patio separation; they did not believe the garage cracking presented any problems, since it was “separate from the house”; and they were not told the bathroom crack was “serious.” The other problems they experienced, such as stucco cracks, door problems, etc., could also be dismissed, they thought, as ordinary wear and tear.
The determination that a reasonable person would not have known of the loss, while presenting a closer question, also has evidentiary support. In addition to Tomasellis’ testimony that they did not understand the significance of the signs until they were educated by the geologist, Watanabe admitted the geologist’s report described the bathroom crack as “hairline,” and Watanabe had learned (during a seminar presented by attorney Zalma) that “hairline cracks” are so commonplace they would not be a manifestation of cognizable damage of concern to a reasonable man. Watanabe also testified average homeowners occasionally do not understand the significance of such signs of distress.
We need not catalog all of the evidence supporting Tomasellis’ position. It is sufficient to state there was evidence from which a jury could have concluded a reasonable insured would not have known of the loss more than one year before this lawsuit was filed.
2. There Is Sufficient Evidence to Support the Bad Faith Finding
Appellant next argues that even if the Tomasellis are to prevail on their contract claim, there is no substantial evidence to support the bad faith finding. It further argues that even if it erred in denying the claim, there were ample grounds for believing it should be denied, and hence denial was not unreasonable as a matter of law.
The law clearly states that erroneous denial of a claim does not alone support tort liability; instead, tort liability requires that the insurer be found to have withheld benefits unreasonably. (Opsal v. United Services Auto. Assn. (1991) 2 Cal.App.4th 1197, 1205 [10 Cal.Rptr.2d 352].) The mistaken *1281 withholding of policy benefits, if reasonable or if based on a legitimate dispute as to the insurer’s liability under California law, does not expose the insurer to bad faith liability. (Ibid.) The insurer must of course consider the interests of its insured, but it is also entitled to give its own interests consideration. (Walbrook Ins. Co. v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. (1992) 5 Cal.App.4th 1445, 1459 [7 Cal.Rptr.2d 513].)
The determination of bad faith in this case depends on an identification of inferences permissibly drawn from the facts. Appellant posits that its reliance on the one-year-suit clause was reasonable, given (1) the facts revealed in the EUO, (2) the evidence of other signs of long-standing distress, (3) the statement Mr. and Mrs. Tomaselli each allegedly made to the geologist that “the stress features have gradually worsened,” (4) the statement of each in the “proof of loss” form that “[a]ll indications are that this problem has been ongoing since 1979-1980.” We agree that an objective approach to the evidence would suggest appellant was merely negligent in denying coverage.
The inferences argued by Tomasellis, however, paint a more sinister view: a scenario of an insurer searching for ways to avoid paying the claim. Tomasellis claimed, and their expert testified, the investigation was inadequate. For example, even though Hamilton advised Watanabe that the bathroom problem might be the only basis on which to impute early notice, appellant neither examined the bathroom crack nor tried to find Cerutti to determine what he observed or what he told Tomasellis. In Tomasellis’ view, the mere conducting of an EUO evidenced bad faith: EUO’s are ordinarily administered to investigate fraudulent claims, and Watanabe ordinarily did not use EUO’s early in an investigation. However, use of the EUO was early here, and was recommended just two weeks after Watanabe had commented that he believed Tomasellis were “not previously aware of any soils-related distress.” Moreover, Watanabe misled Tomasellis about the EUO, since (1) he assured them it was a simple procedure to help settle the claim, (2) he dissuaded them from having an attorney present, and (3) he failed to inform them that the purpose of the EUO was to search for information of policy violations.
Tomasellis in addition identified other indicia of bad faith. For example, Tomasellis pointed to evidence showing appellant relied on the 14461 endorsement, even though Tomasellis told appellant it had not been sent to them. Even assuming appellant might have been justified in believing that the endorsement had been received by Tomasellis, the jury could have found that appellant’s reliance on the endorsement to deny the policy benefits was erroneous. Appellant had not enforced the endorsement as to existing policyholders, such as Tomasellis, because appellant was of the view the notification of the endorsement may not have adequately alerted policyholders to *1282 the change in coverage (following authority such as Fields v. Blue Shield of California (1985) 163 Cal.App.3d 570 [209 Cal.Rptr. 781], stating that failure to use clear, conspicuous and plain language in a notification of reduction in policy coverage renders the reduction ineffective). Further, Hamilton’s letter responding to Tomasellis’ assertion that they had never received the endorsement implicitly asserted Hamilton had rechecked with the agent and confirmed the endorsement had been sent to Tomasellis, when in fact she had not rechecked with Watanabe. No follow-up effort was made to determine whether Tomasellis had received the endorsement, yet appellant continued to rely on it.
Of course appellant denies its investigation or claims handling were in bad faith, and posits innocent explanations for each of the indicia of bad faith cited by Tomasellis. While these charges and counter-charges demonstrate that the evidence can be viewed differently, they also demonstrate that the issue was one for the jury to decide, and that either determination would find adequate evidentiary support. (Betts v. Allstate Ins. Co. (1984) 154 Cal.App.3d 688, 710 [201 Cal.Rptr. 528].) Accordingly, a jury could find that both the handling and ultimate denial of this claim were unreasonable and in bad faith.
3.-8. *
9. The Punitive Damage Award Must Be Reversed
The punitive damage award is defective on two unrelated grounds. While reversal theoretically could be founded on only one of these grounds, we deem it appropriate in this case to review both.
A. Failure to Establish Financial Condition
The first ground of reversal is the failure by plaintiff to carry the burden of proof of establishing the defendant’s financial condition, as required by Adams v. Murakami (1991) 54 Cal.3d 105, 119 [284 Cal.Rptr. 318, 813 P.2d 1348]. Our review of that recent authority convinces that this is a requirement imposed as a matter of public policy and hence not subject to waiver by the failure of an inattentive defendant to object or otherwise call attention to the inadequacy of plaintiffs proof.
The only evidence of “financial condition” introduced by the plaintiff was the 1990 Annual Report of “Transamerica Corporation.” We assume that this *1283 entity is the parent corporation for appellant. It is apparent, however, that this annual report is a consolidated financial statement for the parent company and all of its many subsidiaries. However, the annual report contains no separate information on appellant’s financial status. Instead, the annual report was for the parent company and encompassed the assets, revenues and profits from a host of businesses (such as consumer lending, commercial lending, leasing, real estate services, investment management, life insurance, etc.) which are wholly unrelated to appellant’s business. The only part of the annual report even remotely germane was a section summarizing the financial status of something described as ‘Transamerica Insurance Group.” We surmise appellant’s financial condition is encompassed within those consolidated numbers. However, the issuer of the policy and appellant here is Transamerica Insurance Company, not “Transamerica Insurance Group.” There is simply no evidence, substantial or otherwise, as to the financial condition of Transamerica Insurance Company.
Tomasellis recognize that the annual report contains no evidence of appellant’s financial condition but assert that we may nevertheless uphold the award. Their first contention is waiver: there was no objection to introduction of the annual report. 11 However, the rationale of the Adams court concerning the purpose of punitive damages leads us to conclude a private litigant’s error or omission, such as failure to object to irrelevant evidence, cannot obviate the public’s interest in meaningful judicial oversight of punitive damage awards. Adams explained that the function of punitive damages is “a purely public one ... to punish wrongdoing and thereby to protect itself from future misconduct.” (Adams v. Murakami, supra, 54 Cal.3d at p. 110, italics in original.) Requiring financial data assures this interest is served. The public may be well served by an award which punishes and deters, but not by one which cripples or destroys a defendant. Hence the courts must be able meaningfully to review awards with both considerations in mind. (Id. at p. 112.) As Adams explained: “Sound judicial policy weighs in favor of fully informed decisions, especially when a public interest is at stake. One state’s high court explained, ‘Indeed, the public policy nature of the award places in question the jurisdiction of the district court to award relief in the form of punitive damages *1284 in the absence of proof of the wealth or financial condition of the defendant.’ [Citation.]” (Ibid,., quoting Adel v. Parkhurst (Wyo. 1984) 681 P.2d 886, 892.)
The Adams court concluded: “[Because] the primary interest that must be protected is the public interest in punitive damage awards in appropriate amounts[,] [w]e cannot allow the public interest to be thwarted by a defendant’s oversight or trial tactics.” (Adams v. Murakami, supra, 54 Cal.3d at p. 115, fn. 5, italics in original.) Although the Adams comments were directed to a slightly different issue (whether appellant had preserved the “excessiveness” argument for appeal), the ruling is, we believe, applicable in our situation. Because of the public’s interest in meaningful scrutiny of punitive damage awards, a private litigant cannot by inaction waive the requirement of financial data as a prerequisite to any award.
As a second tack, Tomasellis point out the annual report does describe the financial condition of “Transamerica Insurance Group,” and contend that the award can be supported on the theory that Transamerica Insurance Group and appellant were alter egos. 12 Downey Savings & Loan Assn. v. Ohio Casualty Ins. Co. (1987) 189 Cal.App.3d 1072 [234 Cal.Rptr. 835] is cited in support of the proposition that a parent company’s assets can be the basis for a punitive damage award where alter egos are involved. Downey Savings evaluated whether an award of punitive damages was excessive by examining a parent company’s income, having concluded the evidence showed “[f]or all intents and purposes [the subsidiary and parent] companies were one and the same.” (Id. at p. 1100.) We do not, however, find this decision persuasive or controlling.
First, there is no indication the issue of “alter ego” was actually litigated and decided at trial in Downey Savings. Since it appears alter ego had not been an issue litigated or decided below, the appellate determination of this peculiarly factual issue appears to have been de novo, in apparent disregard *1285 of fundamental rules of due process (i.e., notice and opportunity to litigate the alter ego question) and in violation of the prohibition against factfinding on appeal when the parties have not waived a jury below. (Code Civ. Proc., § 909.) Moreover, the Downey Savings court reached its conclusion without mentioning whether the parent company had controlled the litigation as required by due process considerations. (See NEC Electronics Inc. v. Hurt (1989) 208 Cal.App.3d 772, 778-780 [256 Cal.Rptr. 441] [even if alter ego is shown, liability cannot be imposed against absent party unless party controlled underlying litigation].)
In addition to its procedural defects, Downey Savings is substantively flawed. The “evidence” of alter ego in Downey Savings was that the parent company owned 100 percent of the subsidiary’s stock, it shared office space and policy manuals with the subsidiary, they had some common personnel, and they had consolidated financial statements. (Downey Savings, supra, 189 Cal.App.3d at p. 1100.) This is woefully short of the showing on which alter ego normally rests. Alter ego is a limited doctrine, invoked only where recognition of the corporate form would work an injustice to a third person. (See generally, 9 Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law (9th ed. 1989) Corporations, §§ 12-23, pp. 524-537.) To prevail on a claim of “alter ego,” the third party must show (1) there is such a unity of interest that the separate personalities of the corporations no longer exist; and (2) inequitable results will follow if the corporate separateness is respected. (Associated Vendors, Inc. v. Oakland Meat Co. (1962) 210 Cal.App.2d 825, 836-837 [26 Cal.Rptr. 806].) Certainly the facts of each case vary. 13 However, in Downey Savings there was no showing of such critical facts as inadequate capitalization, commingling of assets, disregard of corporate formalities, nor any of the other facts which demonstrate the critical element: that an inequitable result would have followed if the corporate separateness had been respected. We decline to follow Downey Savings.
Here, alter ego was not litigated or decided, nor is there any significant showing of unity of interest. More importantly, there is nothing to suggest how an “injustice” would befall Tomasellis if the punitive damage award *1286 were limited to a percentage of appellant’s value rather than that of the parent company. (Accord, see Institute of Veterinary Pathology, Inc. v. California Health Laboratories, Inc. (1981) 116 Cal.App.3d 111, 120 [172 Cal.Rptr. 74].)
Accordingly, we must reverse the portion of the judgment based on the punitive damage verdict. We would order a new trial as to this issue except for our conclusion, infra, that there is an even more crucial failing in the plaintiffs punitive damage showing.
B. Inadequacy of Evidence to Support Punitive Damages
After a review of the entire record we conclude that the jury was not adequately advised, and presumably was misled, concerning the showing necessary for a finding of punitive damages. Notwithstanding accurate instructions by the court on the subject of punitive damages, the presentation to the jury in terms of evidence and argument did not adequately distinguish between the evidence necessary to support a tortious bad faith finding and that required for imposition of punitive damages. As a result, the jury was permitted to award punitive damages in a case devoid of the kind of evidence required for such finding.
Civil Code section 3294, subdivision (c)(1) provides that “conduct which is intended by the defendant to cause injury to the plaintiff’ constitutes malice, and malice is a basis for an award of punitive damages. In the ordinary ex delicto action, therefore, involving intentionally wrongful conduct, the evidence sufficient to establish the tort is usually sufficient to support punitive damages.
The conduct required to award punitive damages for the tortious breach of contract, however, is of a different dimension. It has been examined many times in appellate decisions, and we but summarize. First, simple breach of contract, no matter how willful and hence tortious, is not a ground for punitive damages. Such damages are accessible only upon a showing that the defendant “act[ed] with the intent to vex, injure, or annoy.” (Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange (1978) 21 Cal.3d 910, 922 [148 Cal.Rptr. 389, 582 P.2d 980].)
Punitive damages for failure to pay or properly administer an insurance claim are ordinarily, as in this case, based on “malice” or “oppression,” rather than on the third possible ground for the award, “fraud.” Both “malice” and “oppression” are defined in Civil Code section 3294 as involving “despicable conduct,” which in the case of malice “is carried on by the *1287 defendant with a willful and conscious disregard of the rights or safety of others,” and as to oppression is “conduct that subjects a person to cruel and unjust hardship in conscious disregard of that person’s rights.”
“Despicable conduct” is defined in BAJI No. 14.72.1 (1989 rev.) as “conduct which is so vile, base, contemptible, miserable, wretched or loathsome that it would be looked down upon and despised by ordinary decent people.” Such conduct has been described as “[having] the character of outrage frequently associated with crime.” (Taylor v. Superior Court (1979) 24 Cal.3d 890, 894 [157 Cal.Rptr. 693, 598 P.2d 854].) As well stated in Flyer’s Body Shop Profit Sharing Plan v. Ticor Title Ins. Co. (1986) 185 Cal.App.3d 1149, 1154 [230 Cal.Rptr. 276]: “[A] breach of a fiduciary duty alone without malice, fraud or oppression does not permit an award of punitive damages. [Citation.] The wrongdoer ‘ “must act with the intent to vex, injure, or annoy, or with a conscious disregard of the plaintiffs rights. [Citations.]” ’ Punitive damages are appropriate if the defendant’s acts are reprehensible, fraudulent or in blatant violation of law or policy. The mere carelessness or ignorance of the defendant does not justify the imposition of punitive damages. . . . Punitive damages are proper only when the tortious conduct rises to levels of extreme indifference to the plaintiffs rights, a level which decent citizens should not have to tolerate.”
It is notable that punitive damages have been assessed against insurance companies most commonly where a showing has been made of a continuous policy of nonpayment of claims. Cases illustrating an established practice of claims stonewalling are collected in Mock v. Michigan Millers Mutual Ins. Co. (1992) 4 Cal.App.4th 306, 329 [5 Cal.Rptr.2d 594], where the court suggested approval of an earlier inference to the effect that “ ‘a consistent and unremedied pattern of egregious insurer practices’ [is required] in order for the insurer’s ‘bad faith’ conduct to rise to the level of malicious disregard of the insured’s rights so as to warrant the imposition of punitive damages.” (Citing Patrick v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1990) 217 Cal.App.3d 1566, 1576 [267 Cal.Rptr. 24].)
Finally, it is significant that the Legislature amended Civil Code section 3294 in 1987 to add the requirement that punitive damages be proved by “clear and convincing evidence.” While this change may not have altered the standard of our review (all we are required to find is substantial evidence to support a determination by clear and convincing evidence [Patrick v. Maryland Casualty Co., supra, 217 Cal.App.3d at p. 1576]), it assuredly emphasized the greater and more convincing proof desired at the trial level. (See In re Angelia P. (1981) 28 Cal.3d 908, 919 [171 Cal.Rptr. 637, 623 P.2d 198] [“ ‘Clear and convincing’ evidence requires a finding of high probability .. . requiring that the evidence be ‘so clear as to leave no substantial *1288 doubt’; ‘sufficiently strong to command an unhesitating assent of every reasonable mind.’ ”].) 14
With this background of law and authority in mind, we review the facts of this case, construing them most favorably to the plaintiffs. First, we note there was no showing that the inadequacy of appellant’s claims administration was part of a course of conduct. No evidence was introduced as to appellant’s handling of other claims. This is not a case, therefore, in which punitive damages are warranted to punish for the maintenance of evil policies which damage the public in general.
We have reviewed the specific practices of which plaintiffs complain in an earlier portion of this opinion, in which we identified facts sufficient to support a judgment for bad faith claims administration. Nothing was revealed therein, however, which adds up to malice, oppression or despicable conduct. Surely the retention of outside legal counsel to investigate a questionable case cannot be deemed malicious—even admitting that the counsel so retained had a reputation for digging up reasons to deny coverage. The taking of the EUO is a recognized and acceptable practice in claims investigation, and if done in an inappropriate case amounts to nothing more than overzealousness. Plaintiffs complain that the appellant did not follow up its representations that it had never received the insurance endorsement on which appellant relied. Again, such conduct evidences only negligence or slipshod investigation. As noted in Patrick v. Maryland Casualty Co., supra, 217 Cal.App.3d at page 1576, claims handling that is “witless and infected with symptoms of bureaucratic inertia and inefficiency” does not add up to malice or oppression.
In summation, the actions of appellant may be found to be negligent (failing to follow up information provided by the insured), overzealous (taking an unnecessary deposition under oath of the insured), legally erroneous (relying on an endorsement which was not shown to have been delivered), and callous (failing to communicate). There was nothing done, however, which could be described as evil, criminal, recklessly indifferent to the rights of the insured, or with a vexatious intention to injure. There is simply no evidence supporting a punitive damage award in this case, and the award must be reversed in its entirety.
*1289 10. The Attorney Fee Award Must Be Retried *
III
Disposition
The award of punitive damages is reversed. The order establishing attorney fees and costs is reversed, and this issue is remanded to the trial court for reconsideration. In all other respects the judgment is affirmed. All parties shall bear their own costs on appeal.
Work, Acting P. J., and Benke, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied July 1, 1994, and respondents’ petition for review by the Supreme Court was denied September 8, 1994. Mosk, J., was of the opinion that the petition should be granted.
The evidence indicated appellant used attorneys to assist in evaluating coverage questions, particularly in the area of concurrent cause losses, due to the complexity and úncertainty in the law as it existed at the time. The definitive case, which acknowledged and resolved this confusion (i.e., Garvey v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (1989) 48 Cal.3d 395 [257 Cal.Rptr. 292, 770 P.2d 704]), was not decided until two years after Tomasellis’ claim was under consideration by the Zalma law firm.
Appellant cites Aban v. State Farm. Fire & Casualty Co. (1988) 205 Cal.App.3d 530 [252 Cal.Rptr. 565] to argue that when an insured discovers cracks, and the cracks grow over a *1280 period of years, the insured’s later suit is barred because the facts are sufficient as a matter of law to put him on notice. Abari does not compel reversal. First, Prudential-LMI established (post-Abari) that manifestation is a question of fact, not an issue of law. Second, and more importantly, Abari was a pleading case in which the insured alleged notice and deterioration over time, but declined to allege that he was not alerted to the gravity of the problem. On those allegations the Abari court concluded the damage was manifested. {Id. at p. 535.) Here, however, Tomasellis did produce evidence they believed the damage was insignificant and they were unaware the cracks were growing.
See footnote, ante, page 1269.
Tomasellis also contend appellant stipulated the report would suffice as evidence of financial condition. We find no record of such a stipulation. The claim is that we can “infer” such a stipulation from the fact they had planned to call witnesses and introduce documents on net worth but instead used the annual report. This is too slender a basis on which to infer such a stipulation. Moreover, use of the annual report also permits a different inference: Tomasellis used this document for tactical advantages—to allow them to argue for an award based on the much higher net worth of the parent company. We note Tomasellis did indeed seize upon this advantage by citing to the parent company’s net worth, revenues and incomes between 1987 and 1990, when arguing to the jury how it should decide on the appropriate punitive damage award.
Tomasellis cite as evidence of alter ego: (a) use of forms and letterhead bearing the umbrella name of “Transamerica Insurance Group”; (b) internal communications from Watanabe to Kirk and Hamilton were on forms using “Transamerica Insurance Group” and “Transamerica Insurance Services” stationery; and (c) Hamilton indicated she was representing “Transamerica Insurance Group” in her initial correspondence with Tomasellis. Tomasellis also seize on passages in the annual report as allegedly demonstrating that the various entities commingled funds, represented themselves as being a single entity, and shared some common officers and directors. However, Tomasellis misapprehend the true import of these passages. For example, the language they cite as evidence of “commingling” merely reflects that the parent company receives money from subsidiaries in the form of dividends and interest on loans, and reinvests some portion of those funds in the subsidiaries. These are precisely the kinds of transactions which would occur among entities which respect the corporate separateness among entities.
The factors which may show the “unity of interest” issue vary according to each case and are fact specific. (210 Cal.App.2d at p. 837.) Among the facts which can be considered are financial issues (e.g., was the corporation adequately capitalized?); corporate formality questions (e.g., was stock issued, are minutes kept and officers and directors elected, are corporate records segregated?); ownership issues (e.g., what is the stock ownership picture?); commingling issues (e.g., are corporate assets commingled, does the parent company merely use the corporate shell of the subsidiary to obtain goods and services for the parent company?); etc. (Id. at pp. 838-840.) If these factors show a unity of interest, and it is also shown that honoring the corporate shell would promote a fraud or injustice, the third party may be permitted to “pierce the corporate veil” and hold the parent entity liable for the corporate activities. (Id. at p. 842.)
An excellent explanation of the entitlement to punitive damages is contained in Travelers Indent. Co. v. Armstrong (Ind. 1982) 442N.E.2d 349, 362, including the following comment: “[P]unitive damages should not be allowable upon evidence that is merely consistent with the hypothesis of malice, fraud, gross negligence or oppressiveness. Rather some evidence should be required that is inconsistent with the hypothesis that the tortious conduct was the result of a mistake of law or fact, honest error of judgment, over-zealousness, mere negligence or other such noniniquitous human failing.”
See footnote, ante, page 1269.
Cites, in this corpus
- Walbrook Insurance v. Liberty Mutual Insurance A051271 · 1992-04-30
- Mock v. Michigan Millers Mutual Insurance B048249 · 1992-03-04
- Adams v. Murakami S003530 · 1991-08-15
- Opsal v. United Services Automobile Ass'n D011864 · 1991-06-13
- Prudential-LMI Commercial Insurance v. Superior Court S011415 · 1990-11-01
- Patrick v. Maryland Casualty Co. A042902 · 1990-02-20
- Garvey v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. S.F. 25060 · 1989-03-30
- NEC Electronics Inc. v. Hurt H002543 · 1989-03-08
- Abari v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. B031374 · 1988-10-03
- Downey Savings & Loan Ass'n v. Ohio Casualty Insurance B009549 · 1987-02-26
- Flyer's Body Shop Profit Sharing Plan v. Ticor Title Insurance A029160 · 1986-09-26
- Fields v. Blue Shield of California Civ. 26829 · 1985-01-11
- Betts v. Allstate Insurance Civ. 26344 · 1984-04-18
- Institute of Veterinary Pathology, Inc. v. California Health Laboratories, Inc. Civ. 18578 · 1981-02-23
- Department of Social Services v. Ronald P. S.F. 24184 · 1981-02-11
- Taylor v. Superior Court L.A. 30940 · 1979-08-21
- Neal v. Farmers Insurance Exchange L.A. 30775 · 1978-08-25
- In Re Marriage of Mix S.F. 23131 · 1975-06-23
- Associated Vendors, Inc. v. Oakland Meat Co. Civ. 20302 · 1962-12-17
Cited by
- Chowdhry v. Tissera CA4/3 G065191 · 2026-07-21
- The Colony at Cal. Oaks etc. v. Majestic Asset Management CA4/1 D085140M · 2026-06-24
- The Colony at Cal. Oaks etc. v. Majestic Asset Management CA4/1 D085140 · 2026-06-18
- C4 Distribution Co. v. Spark Enterprises CA4/3 G065228 · 2026-04-02
- Bartel v. Chicago Title Insurance Co. H052083 · 2025-05-30
- Bartel v. Chicago Title Insurance Company CA6 H052083 · 2025-05-12
- Integrity Medical Product Solutions, LLC v. Seroclinix Corporation 3:22-cv-00785 · 2024-05-01
- Arguedas v. Carson 3:20-cv-02044 · 2024-01-22
- Snyder v. Fire Insurance Exchange CA1/1 A165392 · 2023-11-27
- Jarecki v. Zitter CA4/1 D078314 · 2023-09-26
- Kazminy v. Dignity Health CA3 C091802 · 2023-02-28
- Cameron v. Las Orchidias Properties, LLC B313971 · 2022-08-22
- Quince & Co. v. The Barrel Cellar CA1/2 A160014 · 2022-07-18
- Miraskandari v. Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP B301785M · 2022-04-25
- Mireskandari v. Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP B301785 · 2022-04-08
- Mata v. Digital Recognition Network, Inc. 3:21-cv-01485 · 2022-03-25
- The Twelve Tribes of Israel v. Barnum CA2/4 B299838 · 2022-03-17
- Marriage of Lane and Crouch CA1/2 A154434M · 2022-01-25
- Marriage of Lane and Crouch CA1/2 A154434 · 2021-12-27
- Langill v. Allstate Insurance Company 3:20-cv-00176 · 2021-09-30
- De Jong v. Beach CA3 C085462 · 2021-09-13
- Airborne San Diego, LLC v. Travelers Property Casualty Company of America 3:19-cv-00899 · 2021-05-10
- Pinto v. Farmers Ins. Exchange B295742M · 2021-03-18
- Pinto v. Farmers Ins. Exchange B295742 · 2021-03-08
- Collins v. Nationwide Agribusiness Insurance Company 3:19-cv-01392 · 2020-11-17
- King v. U.S. Bank National Assn. CA3 Case Details C085276M · 2020-08-24
- King v. U.S. Bank National Assn. C085276 · 2020-07-28
- Kelly v. Starr Indemnity & Liability Company 3:15-cv-02900 · 2020-05-29
- Colucci v. T-Mobile USA, Inc. D075932 · 2020-04-29
- Mettler v. Government Employees Insurance Company 3:18-cv-02303 · 2020-04-15
- City of Escondido v. General Reinsurance Corporation 3:19-cv-00868 · 2019-12-18
- Mazik v. GEICO General Ins. Co. B281372 · 2019-05-17
- Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Superior Court C085308M · 2018-07-26
- Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Superior Court C085308 · 2018-07-02
- Santa Clarita Org. for Planning etc. v. Castaic Lake Water Agency B264284M · 2016-08-16
- Santa Clarita Organization for Planning & the Environment v. Castaic Lake Water Agency B264284 · 2016-07-28
- Modarres v. Thomas CA4/3 G048684 · 2016-04-13
- Vardanyan v. Amco Ins. Co. F069953 · 2016-01-07
- Soto v. BorgWarner Morse TEC B252995M · 2015-08-20
- Soto v. BorgWarner Morse TEC B252995 · 2015-08-05
- Soto v. Borgwarner Morse Tec Inc. CA2/4 B252995 · 2015-07-15
- Graham v. American Golf CA2/1 B240340 · 2015-05-07
- Genutec Business Solutions v. Danna CA4/3 G049010 · 2015-02-10
- Union Central Cold Storage v. RDM Warehouse CA2/7 B244944 · 2015-02-09
- Downing v. Flores CA2/1 B249498 · 2014-11-24
- Graciano v. Mercury General Corp. D061956 · 2014-11-13
- Graciano v. Mercury Gen. Corp. CA4/1 D061956 · 2014-10-17
- Smally v. Nationwide Ins. Co. CA1/4 A133533 · 2014-04-07
- Saleigh v. C.M. Meiers CA2/1 B247884 · 2014-02-06
- Kennedy v. Sadafi CA2/4 B238253 · 2013-09-25
- Dunlap v. Starz Home Entertainment CA2/7 B230069M · 2013-06-12
- Dunlap v. Starz Home Entertainment CA2/7 B230069 · 2013-06-10
- Mt. Hawley Ins. Co. v. Lopez B234082M · 2013-05-29
- Mt. Hawley Insurance v. Lopez B234082 · 2013-05-01
- Sylvester v. Yuh CA4/3 G046704 · 2013-04-25
- Lee v. Fidelity National Title Insurance A124730 · 2010-09-16
- Zoran Corp. v. Chen H034432 · 2010-06-15
- R & R Sails, Inc. v. Ins. Co. of State of Pennsylvania Case 07cv998-MMA (POR) · 2009-03-30
- Food Pro International, Inc. v. Farmers Insurance Exchange H031178 · 2008-12-30
- Wilson v. 21st Century Insurance S141790 · 2007-12-19
- Armenta Ex Rel. City of Burbank v. Mueller Co. B175530 · 2006-09-01
- Century Surety Co. v. Polisso C045334 · 2006-05-22
- Lackner v. North C047061 · 2006-01-24
- Lackner v. North No. C047061 · 2006-01-24
- Power Standards Lab, Inc. v. Federal Express Corp. A103021 · 2005-03-25
- LG Infocomm U.S.A., Inc. v. Euler American Credit Indemnity Co. 03CV0632 DMS (BLM) · 2005-01-12
- Haynes v. Farmers Insurance Exchange S104851 · 2004-05-17
- Henley v. Philip Morris Inc. A086991 · 2004-04-28
- Henley v. Philip Morris Inc. A086991 · 2003-12-23
- Freund v. Nycomed Amersham 01-56491 · 2003-10-21
- Diamond Woodworks, Inc. v. Argonaut Insurance G027949 · 2003-06-13
- Freund v. Nycomed Amersham 01-56491 · 2003-04-22
- Tran v. Farmers Group, Inc. A093437 · 2003-01-27
- Mortgage Associates, Inc. v. Fidelity & Deposit Co. of Maryland B152466 · 2002-12-23
- George F. Hillenbrand, Inc. v. Ins. Co. of North America C030059 · 2002-12-20
- George F. Hillenbrand, Inc. v. Ins. Co. of North America C030059 · 2002-10-24
- In Re the Marriage of Murray F038685 · 2002-08-26
- Hubka v. Paul Revere Life Insurance 3:01-cr-00679 · 2002-08-12
- Romo v. Ford Motor Co. F034241 · 2002-06-28
- Virtualmagic Asia, Inc. v. Fil-Cartoons, Inc. D037659 · 2002-06-10
- American Airlines, Inc. v. Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton B123313 · 2002-03-08
- CHATEAU CHAMBERAY HOA v. Associated Internat. Ins. Co. B137320 · 2001-06-29
- Chateau Chamberay Homeowners Ass'n v. Associated International Insurance No. B137320 · 2001-06-29
- Basich v. Allstate Insurance B132634 · 2001-03-16
- Lana Guebara, Cross-Appellee v. Allstate Insurance Company 98-55458, 98-55459 · 2001-01-12
- Sonora Diamond Corp. v. Superior Court F034780 · 2000-08-30
- Shade Foods, Inc. v. Innovative Products Sales & Marketing, Inc. A080316 · 2000-03-29
- Mike Davidov Company v. Issod B130661 · 2000-02-24
- Maddux v. Philadelphia Life Insurance 3:98-cr-00472 · 1999-12-01
- Dym v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance 97CV1267 JM (AJB) · 1998-06-30
- Brooklyn Navy Yard Cogeneration Partners, L.P. v. Superior Court of Orange Cty. G021381 · 1997-12-19
- Communist Party of the United States of Amerika v. 522 Valencia, Inc. A063319 · 1995-06-09