Mercury Casualty Co. v. Maloney
MERCURY CASUALTY COMPANY, Plaintiff and Appellant, v. SHARLA RAE MALONEY, Defendant and Respondent
- Proceeding
- appeal from a judgment
- Trial court
- Superior Court of San Diego County
- Trial judge
- William J. Howatt, Jr.
- Outcome
- reversed — Reversed and remanded with directions.
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- McINTYRE (author)
Analysis
The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of the passenger, ruling that she was not contractually obligated to reimburse the insurer because she was not a party to the insurance policy. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding that as a third-party beneficiary, she is bound by the policy's reimbursement conditions and must repay the medical expenses from her settlement proceeds.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Granting of summary judgment in favor of Maloney based on the lack of contractual privity between the passenger and the insurer.“After a hearing, the trial court granted Maloney’s motion, finding that because Maloney was not a party to the insurance policy, she was not contractually obligated to reimburse Mercury.” | de novo | error | agree with court The appellate court determined that the trial court erred by focusing solely on the absence of a direct contractual relationship (offer, acceptance, consideration) between the passenger and the insurer. The court held that under California law, a third-party beneficiary acquires rights and obligations under a contract made for their benefit, including the duty to comply with conditions such as reimbursement clauses, regardless of whether they are a signatory to the policy. |
Authorities
- relied: Johnson v. Holmes Tuttle Lincoln-Merc. (1958) 160 Cal.App.2d 290 — A third-party beneficiary may enforce a contract made for their benefit, and the relations of the parties are the same as though the promise had been made directly to the third party.
- relied: Shafer v. Berger, Kahn, Shafton, Moss, Figler, Simon & Gladstone (2003) 107 Cal.App.4th 54 — A third-party beneficiary's rights are not based on an actual contractual relationship but on the law's recognition that the acts of the contracting parties created a duty and established privity with respect to the obligation.
- relied: Van Tassel v. Superior Court (1974) 12 Cal.3d 624 — A third-party beneficiary is subject to contractual conditions, such as an arbitration clause, imposed in the underlying contract.
- relied: Skylawn v. Superior Court (1979) 88 Cal.App.3d 316 — A third-party beneficiary is subject to the statute of limitations imposed in the underlying contract.
- relied: Sanders v. American Casualty Co. (1969) 269 Cal.App.2d 306 — Similar to Van Tassel and Skylawn, supporting the principle that third-party beneficiaries are bound by contract terms.
- relied: Syufy Enterprises v. City of Oakland (2002) 104 Cal.App.4th 869 — A third-party beneficiary cannot assert greater rights under the contract than those of the actual contracting party.
- relied: Marina Tenants Assn. v. Deauville Marina Development Co. (1986) 181 Cal.App.3d 122 — A party must take the contract as they find it, without the right to select advantageous parts and reject others.
- relied: Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Zerin (1997) 53 Cal.App.4th 445 — Distinguished on the grounds that it addressed an equitable lien theory against an attorney's client funds, not the direct contractual obligation of a third-party beneficiary to reimburse under a policy clause.
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly applies the well-established California doctrine that third-party beneficiaries are bound by the terms of the contract for their benefit, citing multiple authorities (Van Tassel, Skylawn, Syufy) to support the conclusion that the reimbursement clause is enforceable against the passenger. It effectively distinguishes the potentially conflicting Zerin case by noting the different legal theories (equitable lien vs. contractual obligation) and facts involved.
On stipulated facts and cross-motions for summary judgment, the trial court granted judgment to passenger Maloney, holding that because she was not a party to driver Poppert's Mercury auto policy she had no contractual duty to reimburse Mercury's $4,411.35 in medical payments out of her $15,000 settlement with the at-fault driver. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding that Maloney, as a third party beneficiary of the policy, takes the medical-payments benefit subject to the policy's reimbursement condition, and remanded with directions to enter judgment for Mercury.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Grant of Maloney's motion for summary judgment (and denial of Mercury's cross-motion) on the ground that a non-party to the insurance policy is not bound by its reimbursement clause“After a hearing, the trial court granted Maloney’s motion, finding that because Maloney was not a party to the insurance policy, she was not contractually obligated to reimburse Mercury.” | de novo | error (law misapplied) | agree with court The opinion does not expressly state a standard of review, but the case was submitted on stipulated facts and cross-motions for summary judgment presenting a pure question of law, so review is effectively de novo. The court's core holding is well supported: Civil Code section 1559 and Johnson establish that a third party beneficiary's rights derive from the contract, and Van Tassel, Skylawn, Sanders, Syufy and Marina Tenants establish that the beneficiary takes the contract as she finds it, subject to its conditions, and cannot claim greater rights than the promisee. Maloney's offer/acceptance/consideration argument misconceives third-party-beneficiary doctrine, and Zerin was correctly distinguished as an equitable-lien case against an attorney. One gap: the opinion notes Maloney asserted her medical costs 'greatly exceed' the $15,000 recovery, yet it does not address whether the made-whole rule (Sapiano) limits a med-pay reimbursement clause that does not expressly disclaim it; the opinion does not indicate whether Maloney raised that argument, so the omission may reflect the briefing rather than oversight. |
Authorities
- relied: Johnson v. Holmes Tuttle Lincoln-Merc. (1958) 160 Cal.App.2d 290 — A third party for whose benefit a contract is made may enforce it; the law treats the promise as made to the third party and establishes privity as to the obligation sued upon.
- relied: Shafer v. Berger, Kahn, Shafton, Moss, Figler, Simon & Gladstone (2003) 107 Cal.App.4th 54 — A third party beneficiary's rights rest on the law's recognition of a duty and privity created by the contracting parties, not on a direct contractual relationship.
- relied: Van Tassel v. Superior Court (1974) 12 Cal.3d 624 — A third party beneficiary is bound by the contract's arbitration clause; beneficiary rights are subject to the contract's conditions.
- relied: Skylawn v. Superior Court (1979) 88 Cal.App.3d 316 — A third party beneficiary is subject to the contractual limitations period in the underlying contract.
- relied: Sanders v. American Casualty Co. (1969) 269 Cal.App.2d 306 — A third party beneficiary's rights under an insurance contract are subject to the conditions imposed in that contract.
- relied: Syufy Enterprises v. City of Oakland (2002) 104 Cal.App.4th 869 — A third party beneficiary cannot assert greater rights than the contracting party and must take the contract as it finds it.
- relied: Marina Tenants Assn. v. Deauville Marina Development Co. (1986) 181 Cal.App.3d 122 — A third party beneficiary must take the contract as he finds it, including its burdens and limitations.
- relied: Votaw Precision Tool Co. v. Air Canada (1976) 60 Cal.App.3d 52 — A third party beneficiary's recovery is limited by the terms and conditions of the contract on which it relies.
- relied: Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Zerin (1997) 53 Cal.App.4th 445 — Distinguished: an insurer's med-pay reimbursement clause did not create an equitable lien enforceable against the claimants' attorney; the case did not decide whether the claimant herself is bound by the clause.
- missed: Sapiano v. Williamsburg National Ins. Co. (1994) 28 Cal.App.4th 533 — An insurer's contractual reimbursement right against its insured's third-party recovery is subject to the made-whole rule unless the policy expressly provides otherwise; relevant because the opinion notes Maloney's claimed losses exceeded her $15,000 recovery but does not address the issue.
The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court correctly applies settled third-party-beneficiary doctrine (Civ. Code § 1559; Van Tassel; Skylawn; Syufy) to hold that a passenger who accepts excess med-pay benefits takes them subject to the policy's reimbursement condition, and it properly distinguishes Zerin as an equitable-lien case. It leaves a gap by reciting Maloney's assertion that her damages exceeded her settlement without addressing the made-whole rule recognized in Sapiano, which could affect whether the reimbursement clause is enforceable to the full extent of the payments.
Opinion — McIntyre
Opinion
McINTYRE, J.In this case, an automobile passenger was injured in an accident and received payment of medical bills under the medical payment provision of an automobile liability policy covering the driver of the car in which she was riding. The issue presented is whether the passenger is obligated to reimburse the insurer, as required under the policy, for the amount of such payments from proceeds she received in settling her claims against another driver legally responsible for the accident. We conclude that the passenger, as a third party beneficiary of the insurance policy, is required to comply with the conditions set forth in the insurance policy regarding medical expense benefits and thus is obligated to reimburse the insurer.
FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
Sharia Rae Maloney was a passenger in a car driven by Denise Poppert when the car was rear-ended in a multiple vehicle accident. Maloney, who did not have any medical insurance, suffered injuries as a result of the accident and within a year of the incident incurred $4,411.35 in medical bills for treatment of those injuries. Poppert’s insurer, Mercury Casualty Company (Mercury), paid Maloney’s medical bills pursuant to an insurance policy provision obligating it to pay up to $5,000 in reasonable medical expenses incurred within a year by “any . . . person who sustains bodily injury, caused by accident, resulting in a collision, while occupying ... the owned automobile, if being used by the named insured, by a relative or by any other person with the permission of the named insured. . . .” Because the medical payments coverage under the policy was “excess” coverage, the policy also included a provision requiring reimbursement of such medical expense payments, as follows:“If payment is made under this coverage, to or on behalf of any person, such person agrees to reimburse the company to the exten[t] of such payment from the proceeds of: [f] (a) any settlement or judgment that may result from the exercise of any rights of recovery of such person against any party that such person claims is responsible for bodily injury to the person for which payment under medical expense coverage has been made.”At the time it issued Poppert’s policy, Mercury also offered “primary” medical payments coverage, which would not have required reimbursement from payments received from other sources, but Poppert did not purchase that more expensive coverage.
After receiving the medical expense benefits from Mercury, Maloney settled her claims against the driver who was responsible for the accident, receiving *802 $15,000, the per-person liability limit of the driver’s automobile insurance policy. Thereafter, Mercury requested reimbursement from Maloney for the amounts it had paid under the medical payments provision of Poppert’s policy, but Maloney declined to repay Mercury.
Mercury filed this action against Maloney, asserting claims for breach of contract and common count. In the action, Maloney asserted that she requires further medical care for her injuries and that her overall medical costs resulting from the accident “greatly exceed[]” the $15,000 she received from the other driver. The parties agreed to submit the matter to the court based on stipulated facts and filed cross-motions for summary judgment. After a hearing, the trial court granted Maloney’s motion, finding that because Maloney was not a party to the insurance policy, she was not contractually obligated to reimburse Mercury. The court entered judgment in Maloney’s favor and Mercury appeals.
DISCUSSION
A person who is not a party to a contract may nonetheless have certain rights thereunder, and may sue to enforce those rights, where the contract is made expressly for her benefit. (Civ. Code, § 1559; Johnson v. Holmes Tuttle Lincoln-Merc. (1958) 160 Cal.App.2d 290, 296 [325 P.2d 193] (Johnson).) “Where one person for a valuable consideration engages with another to do some act for the benefit of a third person, and the agreement thus made has not been rescinded, the party for whose benefit the contract or promise was made, or who would enjoy the benefit of the act, may maintain an action against the promisor for the breach of his engagement. While the contract remains unrescinded, the relations of the parties are the same as though the promise had been made directly to the third party. Although the party for whose benefit the promise was made was not cognizant of it when made, it is, if adopted by him, deemed to have been made to him. He may sue on the promise. Where a promise is made to benefit a third party on the happening of a certain contingency, the third party may enforce the contract on the occurrence of that contingency. . . .” (Johnson, at pp. 296-297.)
Maloney argues that based on the absence of the elements necessary to establish a contractual relationship between her and Mercury (i.e., offer, acceptance and consideration), she has no obligation to reimburse Mercury, in accordance with the policy provisions or otherwise. However, a third party beneficiary’s rights under the contract are not based on the existence of an actual contractual relationship between the parties but on the law’s recognition that the acts of the contracting parties created a duty and established privity between the promisor and the third party beneficiary with respect to the obligation on which the action is founded. (Shafer v. Berger, *803 Kahn, Shafton, Moss, Figler, Simon & Gladstone (2003) 107 Cal.App.4th 54, 79 [131 Cal.Rptr.2d 777] [third party beneficiary’s action for breach of the contractual obligation], quoting Johnson, supra, 160 Cal.App.2d at p. 297.) Accordingly, the third party beneficiary’s rights under the contract are subject to the conditions imposed therein. (Van Tassel v. Superior Court (1974) 12 Cal.3d 624, 626 [116 Cal.Rptr. 505, 526 P.2d 969] [third party beneficiary is subject to contractual arbitration clause]; Skylawn v. Superior Court (1979) 88 Cal.App.3d 316, 319-320 [151 Cal.Rptr. 793] [third party beneficiary is subject to the statute of limitations imposed in the underlying contract]; also Sanders v. American Casualty Co. (1969) 269 Cal.App.2d 306, 310 [74 Cal.Rptr. 634] [similar]; Rest.2d Contracts, § 309, com. b, p. 459.)
The insurance company’s compliance with its contractual obligation to pay medical expense benefits, without first requiring the third party beneficiary to bring an action seeking to enforce the policy provisions, does not render the beneficiary with more rights than she would have if she had filed a suit. In either case, the requirement that the third party beneficiary takes the benefits subject to the conditions and limitations set forth in the contract is consistent with settled law holding that a third party beneficiary cannot assert greater rights under the contract than those of the actual contracting party. (Syufy Enterprises v. City of Oakland (2002) 104 Cal.App.4th 869, 888 [128 Cal. Rptr. 2d 808].) Because the contract provides the foundation of the third party beneficiary’s rights, she “must take that contract as [s]he finds it,” rather than having the right to select the parts she finds advantageous and reject those she finds not to her liking. (Ibid., quoting Marina Tenants Assn. v. Deauville Marina Development Co. (1986) 181 Cal.App.3d 122, 132 [226 Cal.Rptr. 321]; see also Votaw Precision Tool Co. v. Air Canada (1976) 60 Cal.App.3d 52, 56 [131 Cal.Rptr. 335].) In the context of an insurance policy, a contrary conclusion would create the anomalous result of providing greater benefits under the policy to the third party beneficiary, who paid nothing, than the policy provides to the insured who paid for the coverage.
Maloney relies on language in Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Zerin (1997) 53 Cal.App.4th 445 [61 Cal.Rptr.2d 707] (Zerin) in arguing that the reimbursement provision in Poppert’s policy was inapplicable to her because she was not a party to that contract. (See id. at p. 456.) Such reliance is misplaced. The issue in Zerin was whether an attorney whose clients had received third party “excess” medical payment benefits was obligated to hold amounts recovered from third party tortfeasors responsible for his clients’ injuries for the benefit of the insurer on the theory that the policy provision created an equitable lien on the funds he received on his clients’ behalf. (Id. at pp. 450-451.) The appellate court rejected the insurer’s equitable hen argument, concluding in part that the insurer had neither detrimentally relied on promises of reimbursement from a particular fund in paying the clients’ *804 medical expenses nor forgone pursuit of its rights against the clients based on express or implied promises of repayment. (Id. at pp. 455-456.)
Zerin does not address the issue presented in this case, nor does it contravene any of the authorities cited above, the implications of which are clear. It is undisputed that Mercury complied with its contractual obligation to pay Maloney $4,411.35 in reasonable medical expenses incurred as a result of her injuries from the accident and that Maloney subsequently recovered $15,000 from the responsible driver. Pursuant to the reimbursement clause of the insurance policy, Maloney is required to reimburse Mercury for the medical expense payments it made to her. Accordingly, we reverse the judgment in Maloney’s favor.
DISPOSITION
The judgment is reversed and the matter is remanded with directions for the trial court to enter a new judgment in favor of Mercury. Mercury is entitled to its costs of appeal.
Huffman, Acting P. J., and Nares, J., concurred.
Cites, in this corpus
- Shafer v. Berger, Kahn, Shafton, Moss, Figler, Simon & Gladstone B151730 · 2003-04-08
- Syufy Enterprises v. City of Oakland A097471 · 2002-12-20
- Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Zerin C021079 · 1997-02-27
- Marina Tenants Ass'n v. Deauville Marina Development Co. B009329 · 1986-05-19
- Skylawn v. Superior Court Civ. 44275 · 1979-01-16
- Votaw Precision Tool Co. v. Air Canada Civ. 47442 · 1976-07-14
- Van Tassel v. Superior Court S.F. 23114 · 1974-10-03
- Sanders v. Am. Cas. Co. of Reading Civ. 32218 · 1969-01-30
- Johnson v. Holmes Tuttle Lincoln-Mercury, Inc. Civ. 22542 · 1958-05-09
Cited by
- Arevalo v. Pinnacle Farm Labor CA2/6 B328656M · 2024-11-25
- Arevalo v. Pinnacle Farm Labor CA2/6 B328656 · 2024-10-25
- Goonewardene v. ADP B267010M · 2016-11-29
- Goonewardene v. ADP, LLC B267010 · 2016-11-04
- Tardif v. Zatikyan CA2/4 B240701M · 2013-07-30
- Tardif v. Zatikyan CA2/4 B240701 · 2013-07-03
- Ronay Family Limited Partnership v. Tweed D062195 · 2013-05-23
- 21st Century Insurance v. Superior Court No. S154790 · 2009-08-24