gno.law

Morris v. Employers Reinsurance Corp.

California Court of Appeal · D034493 · 2000-11-14 · Published · 101 Cal. Rptr. 2d 350 · 84 Cal. App. 4th 1026 · 2000 Daily Journal DAR 12123 · 2000 Cal. Daily Op. Serv. 9135 · 2000 Cal. App. LEXIS 869

RANDY MORRIS, Cross-Complainant and Appellant, v. EMPLOYERS REINSURANCE CORPORATION, Cross-Defendant and Respondent

Area
civil
Panel
McINTYRE (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T07:20Z · confidence high

The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of the insurer, ruling that a policy exclusion for property in which the insured has an ownership interest barred coverage because the agent had entered a purchase contract for the property. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding that the exclusion was ambiguous and must be construed against the insurer, as it applies to the agent's own inventory rather than property she is attempting to purchase from a client.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Summary judgment in favor of Employers Reinsurance Corporation based on Exclusion (e) of the policy.
“The trial court granted the motion, concluding that Loelkes obtained an equitable interest in the property when she entered into a contract with Shimazaki to purchase it, and thus, the exclusion applied.”
de novoerroragree with court
agree with court

Authorities

  • relied: Smith Kandal Real Estate v. Continental Casualty Co. (1998) 67 Cal.App.4th 406 — Establishes the de novo standard of review for summary judgment based on policy interpretation and the rule that exclusions are strictly construed against the insurer.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion correctly applies the standard of review and the canon of construction against the insurer. It provides a logical interpretation of the exclusion's purpose in the context of real estate professional liability, distinguishing between an agent's own inventory and property they are attempting to purchase from a client.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:31Z · confidence medium

The trial court granted summary judgment to Employers Reinsurance, holding that Exclusion (e) of Loelkes's real estate professional liability policy (property in which an insured has an ownership interest) barred coverage because Loelkes acquired an equitable interest in Shimazaki's parcel when she contracted to buy it. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding the exclusion ambiguous as applied and, construed against the insurer, inapplicable to a broker who, while representing others, attempts to purchase a principal's property rather than dealing in her own inventory.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Grant of summary judgment for insurer on the ground that policy Exclusion (e) (property controlled, managed, operated, or owned by an insured) precluded coverage because Loelkes acquired an equitable interest in the property upon signing the purchase contract
“The trial court granted the motion, concluding that Loelkes obtained an equitable interest in the property when she entered into a contract with Shimazaki to purchase it, and thus, the exclusion applied.”
de novoerror (law misapplied)agree with court
Interpretation of a policy exclusion on undisputed facts is reviewed de novo, and exclusions are strictly construed against the insurer. The exclusion's evident purpose is to carve out claims where the broker deals in her own property or that of family or controlled entities; applying it to a broker's attempt to buy a principal's listing because of an inchoate equitable interest arising from the very contract complained of is at least a second reasonable reading, so the ambiguity is properly resolved for coverage. The reasoning is brief and leans on a practice guide rather than case law construing similar exclusions, and it does not engage with the breadth of the 'arising out of or in connection with' language, but the result is consistent with settled California rules of exclusion construction.

Authorities

  • relied: Smith Kandal Real Estate v. Continental Casualty Co. (1998) 67 Cal.App.4th 406 — Summary judgment resting on interpretation of insurance policy terms on undisputed facts is reviewed de novo; exclusions must be clearly stated, are strictly construed against the insurer, and ambiguities are resolved in favor of coverage.

The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court applied the correct de novo standard and the established rule that ambiguous exclusions are construed against the insurer, and its purposive reading of the ownership exclusion as targeting a broker's own inventory is persuasive. The analysis is thin, however: it cites only one case and a treatise, assumes rather than decides the equitable-interest question, does not address the breadth of 'arising out of or in connection with,' and the closing citation misstates the Smith Kandal reporter volume (61 rather than 67 Cal.App.4th).

How this analysis was made · dispute it

Opinion — McIntyre

Opinion

McINTYRE, J.

In this insurance coverage dispute, Randy Morris, as the assignee of certain rights of Carmela Rincon Loelkes under her real estate agents and brokers professional liability policy, sued Employers Reinsurance Corporation (Employers) for breach of contract for failure to indemnify and *1028 defend Loelkes. The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Employers, concluding that Loelkes’s policy did not provide coverage, based on an exclusion in the policy relating to property owned by the broker.

Morris appeals, contending the court erred in ruling that the ownership exclusion applied to the facts in this case. We agree and reverse the judgment. We express no opinion regarding whether any other exclusions in the policy might apply to preclude coverage.

Facts and Prior Proceedings

In 1988, Loelkes represented Koichi Shimazaki, the owner of a parcel of undeveloped real property, as his listing and selling agent for the property. Loelkes also represented Morris, a prospective buyer, and on December 17, 1988, on behalf of Morris, she presented an offer to purchase Shimazaki’s property. Shimazaki, through Loelkes, responded with a counteroffer. Morris maintains he told Loelkes that he wanted to accept the counteroffer before it expired, but she informed him that Shimazaki had agreed to sell the property to an unnamed third party and it was no longer for sale. Thereafter, Loelkes entered into a real estate purchase contract with Shimazaki on the same or similar terms and conditions as were contained in Shimazaki’s counteroffer to Morris. The sale was never completed, however.

Morris sued Loelkes for breach of the duty of loyalty and good faith, breach of fiduciary duty, negligent misrepresentation, intentional misrepresentation and constructive trust. Loelkes tendered her defense to Employers, which maintained she had an ownership interest in the property and denied coverage based on “Exclusion (e)” in the policy, which states:

“This policy does not apply to: [^] . . . [^]
“(e) any claim made against the Insured arising out of or in connection with any property, entity or enterprise controlled, managed, operated, or in which there is an ownership interest by:
“1. An Insured;
“2. A member of an Insured’s immediate family . . . .”

Loelkes settled the case with Morris for the sum of $200,000. However, the settlement was structured such that except for an initial payment of $5,000, Morris agreed not to enforce the agreement “except as against the proceeds of any insurance benefits to which Loelkes, or her assignee, is *1029 entitled for indemnity against the claims alleged in the action.” In consideration, Loelkes assigned Morris all her rights and claims against Employers, except for her claims for attorney fees, damage to reputation and credit, emotional distress, and punitive damages. Loelkes then filed the underlying action against Employers, also naming Morris as the partial assignee of her rights against Employers in order to bring all parties with an interest in the subject matter of the litigation before the court. Morris then filed a cross-complaint against Employers for breach of insurance contract.

Employers settled with Loelkes and then brought a summary judgment motion against Morris, contending that Exclusion (e) of the policy precluded coverage for Morris’s claims. The trial court granted the motion, concluding that Loelkes obtained an equitable interest in the property when she entered into a contract with Shimazaki to purchase it, and thus, the exclusion applied.

Discussion

Exclusion (e) Does Not Preclude Coverage

We apply a de novo standard of review to an order granting summary judgment, when on undisputed facts, the order is based on the interpretation of the terms of the insurance policy. (Smith Kandal Real Estate v. Continental Casualty Co. (1998) 67 Cal.App.4th 406, 414 [79 Cal.Rptr.2d 52].) “An insurer may select the risks it will insure and those it will not, and a clear exclusion will be respected.” (Ibid.) “However, an exclusion or limitation on coverage must be clearly stated and will be strictly construed against the insurer. If an exclusion ambiguously lends itself to two or more reasonable constructions, the ambiguity will be resolved against the insurer and in favor of coverage.” (Ibid.)

Such ambiguity exists here. In fact, Employers’ position that Exclusion (e) applies because Loelkes acquired an equitable interest in the property when she entered into the purchase agreement with Shimazaki is a strained interpretation of the exclusion. The more reasonable construction is that Exclusion (e) applies to preclude coverage for acts and omissions by a real estate professional when she sells or rents her own property or that of an immediate family member, or property which she controls or has an existing financial interest in, and not when, in the course of representing others, she attempts to purchase property owned by one of her principals. Professional liability insurance for real estate agents and brokers is designed to cover risks involved in selling property for others', thus, such policies commonly exclude claims involving property owned by the insured or an entity in *1030 which the insured has a financial interest—i.e. where the broker or agent deals with her own inventory. (See Croskey et al., Cal. Practice Guide: Insurance Litigation (The Rutter Group 1999) ^ 7:2518.5, p. 7K-24.3.) Thus, even if we assume that Loelkes acquired an equitable interest in the property when she entered into the purchase agreement, her very act of attempting to purchase the property from Shimazaki reveals that she was not dealing with her own property and places her conduct outside of the purview of Exclusion (e). Accordingly, we reverse the judgment. (Smith Kandal Real Estate v. Continental Casualty Co., supra, 61 Cal.App.4th at p. 414.)

Disposition

The judgment is reversed. Costs are awarded to appellant.

Work, Acting P. J., and O’Rourke, J., concurred.

A petition for a rehearing was denied December 5, 2000, and respondent’s petition for review by the Supreme Court was denied March 14, 2001.

Cites, in this corpus

Cited by