gno.law

Gapusan v. Jay

California Court of Appeal · D027546 · 1998-09-09 · Published · 78 Cal. Rptr. 2d 250 · 66 Cal. App. 4th 734 · 98 D.A.R. 9771

Area
civil
Panel
Judith L. Haller (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T07:24Z · confidence high

The trial court equitably apportioned $200,000 in settlement proceeds, awarding the City of San Diego $100,000 and each plaintiff couple $50,000. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding that Labor Code section 3860(b) mandates the employer's reimbursement priority over equitable apportionment, but remanded for a new hearing to properly allocate funds for loss of consortium claims and attorney fees.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Trial court's equitable apportionment of settlement proceeds under common law principles
“We conclude the trial court violated section 3860, subdivision (b) by distributing half of the $200,000 settlement proceeds to the officers under equitable apportionment principles.”
de novoerroragree with court
The appellate court correctly applied de novo review to the statutory interpretation question. It properly held that the specific statutory scheme in Labor Code section 3860 supplants common law equitable subrogation principles, as the legislature 'minutely described the limitations and exceptions.' The court correctly identified that the employer's reimbursement right takes priority after litigation expenses, rejecting the trial court's discretionary equitable distribution.
Allocation of settlement funds for loss of consortium claims
“Nothing in section 3860, subdivision (b) indicates the Legislature intended to deprive an employee's spouse of any recovery for separate loss of consortium claims where, as here, there is an unallocated settlement with the third party tortfeasor.”
de novoerroragree with court
The appellate court correctly determined that loss of consortium claims are independent and not subject to the employer's subrogation rights because the employer has no liability for such damages. By remanding for a new evidentiary hearing to allocate these specific damages, the court ensured that the statutory priority of reimbursement applies only to the employee's share of the settlement, not the spouse's independent claim.
Determination of attorney fees and litigation expenses
“On remand, the court must also determine whether attorney fees and other litigation costs should be deducted from the settlement proceeds before City is reimbursed.”
de novoerroragree with court
The trial court failed to address the statutory requirement under Labor Code section 3860(c)-(f) to determine reasonable attorney fees and costs before applying the employer's reimbursement lien. The appellate court correctly identified this omission and provided detailed guidance on applying the common fund doctrine versus active participation standards to ensure the correct order of payment.

Authorities

  • relied: Insurance Co. of North America v. T.L.C. Lines, Inc. (1996) 50 Cal.App.4th 90 — Establishes the de novo standard of review for purely legal questions involving statutory interpretation.
  • relied: Committee of Seven Thousand v. Superior Court (1988) 45 Cal.3d 491 — Provides the primary aim of statutory construction is to determine legislative intent by looking first to the words of the statute.
  • relied: Breese v. Price (1981) 29 Cal.3d 923 — Acknowledges that Labor Code subrogation provisions are a legislative recognition of the common law doctrine of equitable subrogation, though the court ultimately held the specific statutory scheme supplants common law here.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Plescia (1997) 59 Cal.App.4th 252 — Supports the principle that when the Legislature minutely describes limitations and exceptions, it intends to supplant relevant common law.
  • relied: Board of Administration v. Glover (1983) 34 Cal.3d 906 — Supports the statutory priority of the employer's reimbursement claim after the payment of litigation expenses and attorney fees.
  • relied: Marrujo v. Hunt (1977) 71 Cal.App.3d 972 — Supports the statutory priority of the employer's reimbursement claim after the payment of litigation expenses and attorney fees.
  • relied: Abdala v. Aziz (1992) 3 Cal.App.4th 369 — States there is a clear legislative policy militating in favor of reimbursement whenever possible.
  • relied: Swan Magnetics, Inc. v. Superior Court (1997) 56 Cal.App.4th 1504 — Defines the phrase 'subject to' as meaning 'subordinate to,' supporting the interpretation that the employer's claim has priority.
  • relied: Lantis v. Condon (1979) 95 Cal.App.3d 152 — Defines loss of consortium as the wife's own physical, psychological, and emotional pain and anguish resulting from her husband's injury.
  • relied: Cole v. Fair Oaks Fire Protection Dist. (1987) 43 Cal.3d 148 — Establishes that a loss of consortium claim is separate and distinct, and not merely derivative or collateral to the spouse's cause of action.
  • relied: Rodriguez v. Bethlehem Steel Corp. (1974) 12 Cal.3d 382 — Establishes that a loss of consortium claim is separate and distinct, and not merely derivative or collateral to the spouse's cause of action.
  • relied: Sea-Land Service, Inc. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1996) 14 Cal.4th 76 — States the primary purpose of allowing an employer to obtain reimbursement is to prevent the employee's double recovery.
  • relied: O'Dell v. Freightliner Corp. (1992) 10 Cal.App.4th 645 — States the primary purpose of allowing an employer to obtain reimbursement is to prevent the employee's double recovery.
  • relied: Gillespie v. Northridge Hosp. Foundation (1971) 20 Cal.App.3d 867 — Establishes that an employer has no liability for loss of consortium damages, and thus no subrogation rights to such claims.
  • relied: Evans v. Dayton Hudson Corp. (1991) 234 Cal.App.3d 49 — Establishes that an action for loss of consortium can be maintained independently of the action by the physically injured spouse.
  • relied: Eli v. Travelers Indemnity Co. (1987) 190 Cal.App.3d 901 — Holds that an employer does not have priority over independent claims of non-dependent heirs, establishing that the employer and independent claimants enjoy equal priorities in such contexts.
  • relied: Hall v. Superior Court (1955) 45 Cal.2d 377 — Explains that an unqualified reversal remands the cause for a new trial, placing parties in the same position as if the cause had never been tried, subject to the appellate court's opinion.
  • relied: Walsh v. Woods (1986) 187 Cal.App.3d 1273 — Defines the common fund doctrine and the standard for apportioning attorney fees and costs when a party creates a fund from which others derive benefits.
  • relied: Quinn v. State of California (1975) 15 Cal.3d 168 — Establishes that if the employer receives his fair share of the recovery, he must bear his fair share of the cost of the recovery, and that attorney fees take priority when settlement is insufficient.
  • relied: Crampton v. Takegoshi (1993) 17 Cal.App.4th 308 — Supports the application of the common fund doctrine and the determination of active participation in effecting a settlement.
  • relied: Hartwig v. Zacky Farms (1992) 2 Cal.App.4th 1550 — Establishes that the question of 'active participation' is a matter of proof for the trial court and requires sufficient factual detail to establish a conscientious effort.
  • relied: Kavanaugh v. City of Sunnyvale (1991) 233 Cal.App.3d 903 — Supports the standard that nominal participation or token appearance is insufficient to defeat the common fund doctrine.
  • relied: Kindt v. Otis Elevator Co. (1995) 32 Cal.App.4th 452 — Supports the standard that evidence must show a 'conscientious attempt' to advance client's interests to constitute active participation.
  • relied: Kaplan v. Industrial Indem. Co. (1978) 79 Cal.App.3d 700 — Establishes that filing a lien or complaint is insufficient to constitute active participation to defeat the common fund doctrine.
  • relied: Scalice v. Performance Cleaning Systems (1996) 50 Cal.App.4th 221 — States that a non-negligent employer is not reimbursed solely from economic damages; rather, the reimbursement payment is deducted from the entire judgment.
  • relied: Abellon v. Hartford Ins. Co. (1985) 167 Cal.App.3d 21 — Holds that absent language to the contrary in the insurance policy, an independent loss of consortium claim is not merged with the spouse's claim for personal injuries under the 'per person' policy limit.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly applies de novo review to the statutory interpretation of Labor Code section 3860 and properly distinguishes between the employer's subrogation rights and the independent loss of consortium claims. It provides clear, detailed guidance on the remand regarding the order of payment for attorney fees and the allocation of settlement proceeds.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:31Z · confidence high

The trial court, applying common-law equitable apportionment principles, divided a $200,000 interpleaded policy-limits settlement by awarding $100,000 to the intervening employer City of San Diego for workers' compensation reimbursement and $50,000 to each injured officer and his wife. The Court of Appeal held that Labor Code section 3860, subdivision (b) gives the employer's reimbursement claim priority and forecloses equitable apportionment, but rejected City's demand for the entire fund, reversed, and remanded for an evidentiary hearing to allocate a share to the wives' independent loss of consortium claims, fix attorney fees and costs under the common fund doctrine or section 3860(e), and limit City's recovery from Gapusan to benefits actually paid for him.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Choice of standard of review: whether the trial court's apportionment is reviewed for abuse of discretion or de novo
“This case, however, involves the interpretation and application of statutes in the context of undisputed facts. We thus review the purely legal questions de novo.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The dispositive issue was whether section 3860(b) permits equitable apportionment at all, a question of statutory construction on undisputed facts; de novo review is the settled standard for such questions, and the court cited appropriate authority.
Equitable apportionment of the settlement proceeds, awarding half the fund to the officers for uncompensated losses despite City's unsatisfied reimbursement claim
“In sum, we conclude the court erred in equitably distributing a portion of the settlement proceeds to Gapusan and McGee.”
de novoerror (law misapplied)agree with court
Section 3860(b) states the entire settlement is 'subject to the employer's full claim for reimbursement,' and Glover and Marrujo confirm the employer's first priority after fees and costs. The detailed statutory scheme displaces common-law made-whole rules drawn from insurance cases, and the parallel judgment provisions in section 3856 confirm the Legislature did not contemplate equitable dilution. The court's reading of 'subject to' as 'subordinate to' is textually sound.
Allocation of settlement funds to the wives' loss of consortium claims (implicit in the $50,000 per-couple award) without any evidentiary support
“It complains, however, that they failed to present any evidence in support. This is correct, but such evidence may be submitted on remand.”
de novoerror (fact finding unsupported)agree with court
Loss of consortium is an independent cause of action (Rodriguez, Cole) for which the employer paid nothing and has no subrogation right, so the wives' share is not subject to City's lien and Eli supports proportional allocation among independent claimants. The trial court erred only in making an award with no damages evidence; remand for an evidentiary hearing under Hall v. Superior Court is the proper remedy rather than awarding City the whole fund.
Failure to determine attorney fees and litigation costs under section 3860, subdivisions (c)-(f), before reimbursing City, and City's contention that plaintiffs waived fees by not filing a costs memorandum under rule 870
“The provision is inapplicable because there was no underlying judgment here from which to make a "prevailing party" determination.”
de novoerror (procedure)agree with court
Section 3860 requires the court to set reasonable fees and expenses prior to employer reimbursement, and Quinn and Walsh establish that a passive-beneficiary employer must bear its share of the cost of creating the common fund while active participation by employer's counsel triggers subdivision (e). Rule 870 governs prevailing-party costs after judgment, not the statutory fee determination inherent in a section 3860 distribution hearing, so the waiver argument was properly rejected. The court correctly noted Summers v. Newman was under review and could not be cited.
Award to City of $50,000 reimbursement from Gapusan's $100,000 share although City paid only $42,840.98 in benefits for Gapusan
“The court, however, at plaintiffs' suggestion, awarded City $50,000 reimbursement from Gapusan. On remand, City's reimbursement is confined to workers' compensation benefits actually incurred for Gapusan.”
de novoerror (law misapplied)agree with court
The employer's subrogation right is derivative of the particular employee's claim against the tortfeasor; the settlement was a $100,000 per-person limit, so benefits paid to McGee cannot be recovered from Gapusan's separate fund. Joinder of the two officers in one action does not merge their claims for lien purposes.

Authorities

  • relied: Board of Administration v. Glover (1983) 34 Cal.3d 906 — Under the Labor Code subrogation scheme the employer's reimbursement claim takes priority over the employee's recovery from a third-party settlement after fees and costs.
  • relied: Marrujo v. Hunt (1977) 71 Cal.App.3d 972 — Employer is entitled to full reimbursement of compensation paid from a third-party settlement before the employee receives any share.
  • relied: Abdala v. Aziz (1992) 3 Cal.App.4th 369 — The Labor Code reflects a clear legislative policy favoring employer reimbursement whenever possible; describes the employer's three avenues of recovery.
  • relied: In re Marriage of Plescia (1997) 59 Cal.App.4th 252 — Where the Legislature has minutely described limitations and exceptions on a subject, courts may assume it intended to supplant the common law.
  • relied: Scalice v. Performance Cleaning Systems (1996) 50 Cal.App.4th 221 — A non-negligent employer's reimbursement is deducted from the entire judgment, not solely from economic damages.
  • relied: Rodriguez v. Bethlehem Steel Corp. (1974) 12 Cal.3d 382 — A spouse's loss of consortium claim is a separate and independent cause of action, not merely derivative of the injured spouse's claim.
  • relied: Cole v. Fair Oaks Fire Protection Dist. (1987) 43 Cal.3d 148 — Loss of consortium is a separate and distinct cause of action belonging to the spouse.
  • relied: Sea-Land Service, Inc. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1996) 14 Cal.4th 76 — The primary purpose of employer reimbursement is to prevent the employee's double recovery.
  • relied: Eli v. Travelers Indemnity Co. (1987) 190 Cal.App.3d 901 — Where a policy-limits settlement satisfies both the employer's reimbursement claim and independent claims of non-employee claimants, the employer has no priority and the fund is apportioned among them.
  • relied: Hall v. Superior Court (1955) 45 Cal.2d 377 — An unqualified reversal remands for a new trial and places the parties in the same position as if the cause had never been tried, subject to the appellate opinion.
  • relied: Quinn v. State of California (1975) 15 Cal.3d 162 — Under the common fund doctrine codified in sections 3856 and 3860, an employer receiving its share of a recovery must bear its fair share of the attorney fees and costs, which take priority over reimbursement when the fund is insufficient.
  • relied: Walsh v. Woods (1986) 187 Cal.App.3d 1273 — Common fund fee apportionment applies to a passive-beneficiary employer, but where both attorneys actively participated each party bears its own fees from its own share; mere retention of counsel or nominal participation is insufficient.
  • relied: Hartwig v. Zacky Farms (1992) 2 Cal.App.4th 1550 — An employer seeking to avoid fee apportionment must show its counsel made a conscientious effort to address the substantive issues of the case; active participation is a factual question.
  • relied: Crampton v. Takegoshi (1993) 17 Cal.App.4th 308 — Where the employer is a passive beneficiary, employee's counsel is entitled to reasonable fees from the fund even if the employee receives no net recovery.
  • relied: Breese v. Price (1981) 29 Cal.3d 923 — The Labor Code subrogation provisions are a legislative recognition of the common-law doctrine of equitable subrogation (cited by plaintiffs; court held the statute nonetheless displaces contrary common-law rules).
  • relied: Insurance Co. of North America v. T.L.C. Lines, Inc. (1996) 50 Cal.App.4th 90 — Interpretation and application of statutes on undisputed facts is reviewed de novo.

The appellate opinion: sound — The court grounded its central holding in the plain text of section 3860(b), supported by Supreme Court authority (Glover, Quinn) and consistent Court of Appeal decisions, and correctly refused to import insurance-law made-whole principles into a comprehensive statutory scheme. It also fairly addressed every subsidiary issue—loss of consortium, common fund fees, active participation, the rule 870 waiver argument, and the per-person policy limits—with apt authority and gave the trial court clear instructions for remand.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

Opinion

78 Cal.Rptr.2d 250 (1998)
66 Cal.App.4th 734

Edmimd GAPUSAN et al., Plaintiffs and Respondents,
v.
David Patrick JAY et al., Defendants;
City of San Diego, Intervenor and Appellant.

No. D027546.

Court of Appeal, Fourth District, Division One.

September 9, 1998.

*253 Casey Gwinn, City Attorney, Anita M. Noone, Assistant City Attorney, and Deborah A. Hollingsworth, Deputy City Attorney, for Intervenor and Appellant.

Dan Zeidman and James T. Biggs, El Cajon, for Plaintiffs and Respondents.

HALLER, Associate Justice.

In this personal injury action, City of San Diego (City) intervened seeking reimbursement for workers' compensation benefits it paid its employees, police officers Edmund Gapusan and Frederick McGee. (Lab.Code,[1] § 3852.) We conclude the trial court violated section 3860, subdivision (b) by distributing half of the $200,000 settlement proceeds to the officers under equitable apportionment principles. We reject, however, City's contention the error automatically entitles it to the entire settlement amount. While the court must adhere to the statutory scheme in allocating settlement proceeds subject to an employer's reimbursement rights, the employer's priority is subject to certain exceptions. Accordingly, we reverse the judgment and remand for a new evidentiary hearing and redistribution of the proceeds in conformance with the views expressed herein.

*254 FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

In 1994, Gapusan and McGee were seriously injured when a drunk driver, David Patrick Jay, caused his pick-up truck to collide with their patrol car. As a result, McGee was forced to retire and Gapusan was alternately off work and limited to light duty for more than two years.

Gapusan and McGee brought this action for personal injuries. Their wives, Victoria Gapusan and Kattie McGee[2], joined and sought damages for loss of consortium. City intervened, seeking reimbursement for workers' compensation benefits it paid Gapusan and McGee.[3] Jay had liability insurance of $100,000 per injured person and apparently no ability to pay additional damages. He filed a cross-complaint in interpleader and the carrier deposited $200,000 with the court.[4] City and plaintiffs accepted the policy limits in settlement of their respective claims against Jay, but failed to agree on any apportionment of the funds.

In a hearing to resolve the matter, City claimed entitlement to the full $200,000 because the total benefits it paid the officers exceeded that amount. City declared McGee and Gapusan received compensation of $38,254.72 and $42,840.98, respectively. Additionally, McGee was entitled to disability retirement of 50 percent of his annual salary for life, adjusted for inflation, at a cost of $268,287.79 to City.

Plaintiffs argued the court may equitably apportion settlement funds when they are insufficient to fully reimburse the employer and pay the employee for pain and suffering and other losses not covered by the workers' compensation system. Gapusan and McGee submitted medical records and attested to their injuries and disabilities, and a certified public accountant declared McGee's economic losses not covered by workers' compensation exceeded $503,546.

The court agreed with plaintiffs' view and awarded City $100,000 and each plaintiff couple $50,000. Judgment was entered accordingly and this appeal followed.

DISCUSSION

I. Standard of Review

Plaintiffs urge us to apply an abuse of discretion standard. This case, however, involves the interpretation and application of statutes in the context of undisputed facts. We thus review the purely legal questions de novo. (Insurance Co. of North America v. T.L.C. Lines, Inc. (1996) 50 Cal.App.4th 90, 94, 57 Cal.Rptr.2d 542.)

"Our primary aim in construing any law is to determine the legislative intent. [Citation.] In doing so we look first to the words of the statute, giving them their usual and ordinary meaning. [Citations.]" (Committee of Seven Thousand v. Superior Court (1988) 45 Cal.3d 491, 501, 247 Cal.Rptr. 362, 754 P.2d 708.) "Statutes must be given a fair and reasonable interpretation, with due regard to the language used and the purpose sought to be accomplished." (Home Depot, U.S.A., Inc. v. Contractors' State License Bd. (1996) 41 Cal.App.4th 1592, 1601, 49 Cal. Rptr.2d 302.)

II. The Court Erred in Equitably Apportioning the Settlement Proceeds

City contends the trial court violated the Labor Code by distributing the settlement *255 proceeds on equitable grounds. Section 3860, subdivision (b) states: "Except as provided in Section 3859 [inapplicable here], the entire amount of such settlement, with or without suit, is subject to the employer's full claim for reimbursement for compensation he has paid or [may] become obligated to pay and any special damages to which he may be entitled under Section 3852, together with expenses and attorney fees, if any, subject to the limitations in this section set forth." (Italics added.) As discussed more fully later, prior to the employer's reimbursement, the court is required to determine the parties' entitlement to reasonable attorney fees and other litigation expenses. (§ 3860, subds. (c)-(f).)

Plaintiffs counter that under common law principles of equitable subrogation, the trial court may ignore the plain language of section 3860, subdivision (b) and apportion inadequate settlement proceeds so the employee recovers something for pain and suffering or other damages not covered by workers' compensation law. They point out that the Labor Code's subrogation provisions are a legislative recognition of the common law doctrine of equitable subrogation, and therefore they should be construed in accordance therewith. (Breese v. Price (1981) 29 Cal.3d 923, 930, 176 Cal.Rptr. 791, 633 P.2d 987.) Plaintiffs rely on automobile insurance cases holding common law equity principles prohibit a carrier from recovering payments made to its insured from a third party tortfeasor, where the insured had not yet been made whole. (Sapiano v. Williamsburg Nat. Ins. Co. (1994) 28 Cal.App.4th 533, 536-537, 33 Cal. Rptr.2d 659; United Pacific-Reliance Ins. Cos. v. Kelly (1983) 140 Cal.App.3d 72, 77, 189 Cal.Rptr. 323; Security Nat. Ins. Co. v. Hand (1973) 31 Cal.App.3d 227, 231-233, 107 Cal.Rptr. 439.)

We are unpersuaded. Where the Legislature has "minutely described the limitations and exceptions dealing with a given subject matter," we may assume it intended to supplant any relevant common law. (In re Marriage of Plescia (1997) 59 Cal.App.4th 252, 261, 69 Cal.Rptr.2d 120.) The Legislature has clearly provided that where, as here, a third party settlement includes the employer's reimbursable benefits, the employer's right of reimbursement takes first and full priority after the payment of litigation expenses and attorney fees, where appropriate. (§ 3860, subds. (b)-(f); Board of Administration v. Glover (1983) 34 Cal.3d 906, 912-914, 196 Cal.Rptr. 330, 671 P.2d 834; Marrujo v. Hunt (1977) 71 Cal.App.3d 972, 978;, 138 Cal.Rptr. 220 1 Hanna, Cal. Law of Employee Injuries and Workers' Compensation (rev.2d ed. 1998) § 11.25[2], pp. 11-97, 11-98.) Any common law principles suggesting a different result have thus been abrogated. As another court has observed, there is "a clear legislative policy militating in favor of reimbursement whenever possible." (Abdala v. Aziz, supra, 3 Cal.App.4th at p. 377, 4 Cal.Rptr.2d 130.)[5]

We also reject plaintiffs' assertion the clause "subject to" in section 3860, subdivision (b) may be interpreted to give the court discretion to equitably apportion inadequate settlement funds. The phrase "subject to" means "subordinate to." (See Swan Magnetics, Inc. v. Superior Court (1997) 56 Cal.App.4th 1504, 1510, 66 Cal. Rptr.2d 541.) "Subordinate" means "inferior in order, nature, dignity, power, importance, or the like...." (Black's Law Diet. (6th ed.1990) p. 1426.) On its face, subdivision (b) of section 3860 gives the employer's reimbursement claim priority, after payment of litigation costs and attorney fees where appropriate. Plaintiffs' argument the provision is applicable only where settlement proceeds are adequate to fully compensate employer *256 and employee is similarly unavailing. The implicit purpose of section 3860 is to prioritize payments when settlement funds are insufficient to satisfy all claims.

In sum, we conclude the court erred in equitably distributing a portion of the settlement proceeds to Gapusan and McGee. We reject, however, City's request that we merely award it the entire $200,000 in settlement funds. Its reimbursement right is subject to other considerations, discussed below, requiring a new evidentiary hearing and the court's redistribution of the proceeds.[6]

III. Loss of Consortium

A wife's loss of consortium is comprised of her "own physical, psychological and emotional pain and anguish which results when her husband is negligently injured to the extent that he is no longer capable of providing the love, affection, companionship, comfort or sexual relations concomitant with a normal married life. [Citations.]" (Lantis v. Condon (1979) 95 Cal. App.3d 152, 157, 157 Cal.Rptr. 22.) While triggered by the spouse's injury, a loss of consortium claim is separate and distinct, and not merely derivative or collateral to the spouse's cause of action. (Cole v. Fair Oaks Fire Protection Dist. (1987) 43 Cal.3d 148, 162, 233 Cal.Rptr. 308, 729 P.2d 743; Rodriguez v. Bethlehem Steel Corp. (1974) 12 Cal.3d 382, 406, 115 Cal.Rptr. 765, 525 P.2d 669; Lantis v. Condon, supra, 95 Cal.App.3d at p. 157, 157 Cal.Rptr. 22.)

Nothing in section 3860, subdivision (b) indicates the Legislature intended to deprive an employee's spouse of any recovery for separate loss of consortium claims where, as here, there is an unallocated settlement with the third party tortfeasor. Further, we cannot imply such intent from the workers' compensation scheme. The primary purpose of allowing an employer to obtain reimbursement is to prevent the employee's double recovery. (Sea-Land Service, Inc. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1996) 14 Cal.4th 76, 82, 58 Cal.Rptr.2d 190, 925 P.2d 1309; O'Dell v. Freightliner Corp. (1992) 10 Cal.App.4th 645, 653, 12 Cal.Rptr.2d 774.) A spouse's retention of settlement funds for loss of consortium damages, for which an employer has no liability (Gillespie v. Northridge Hosp. Foundation (1971) 20 Cal.App.3d 867, 870-871, 98 Cal.Rptr. 134), does not violate the rule against double recovery. Put another way, an employer simply has no subrogation rights to a spouse's loss of consortium claims.

While "joinder in one action is `the preferred method for asserting a claim of loss of consortium ....' [citation], an action for loss of consortium can be maintained independently of the action by the physically injured spouse. [Citation.]" (Evans v. Dayton Hudson Corp. (1991) 234 Cal.App.3d 49, 54-55, 285 Cal.Rptr. 550.) Had Victoria and Kattie filed a separate action, City obviously could not have intervened or obtained any reimbursement from a judgment or settlement. The fact that they voluntarily joined their causes of action with those of their husbands, and agreed to a global settlement, should not change the result.

An employer is entitled to press its reimbursement claims only against a judgment or settlement in favor of its employee. Where a settlement is in satisfaction of both the employee's claims and independent claims, such as ones for loss of consortium, the court must first ascertain the damages to which each plaintiff is entitled and then apportion the settlement.[7] (See Eli v. Travelers Indemnity Co. (1987) 190 Cal.App.3d 901, 905, 235 Cal.Rptr. 704.) In Eli, the court held the employer did not have priority where a $50,000 insurance policy limit was paid in satisfaction of the independent claims of the workers' compensation carrier and the employee's parents, nondependent heirs who had wrongful death claims under Code of *257 Civil Procedure former section 377 (now section 377.60). In that instance, the employer and the heirs enjoyed equal priorities.[8] Such is the case here with City and the officers' wives.

City, in fact, essentially concedes the trial court had authority to allocate a portion of the settlement funds to Victoria and Kattie for their loss of consortium claims. It complains, however, that they failed to present any evidence in support. This is correct, but such evidence may be submitted on remand. "`[A]n unqualified reversal remands the cause for a new trial [citation], and places the parties in the trial court in the same position as if the cause had never been tried, with the exception that the opinion of the court on appeal must be followed so far as applicable.' [Citations.]" (Hall v. Superior Court (1955) 45 Cal.2d 377, 381, 289 P.2d 431.)

IV. Litigation Expenses and Attorney Fees

On remand, the court must also determine whether attorney fees and other litigation costs should be deducted from the settlement proceeds before City is reimbursed. Ordinarily, parties are responsible for their own attorney fees. (Code Civ. Proc, § 1021.) "But an established exception to this rule is the so-called `common fund doctrine.' [Citation.] That is, a party who expends attorney fees in winning a lawsuit which creates a fund from which others derive benefits may require those passive beneficiaries to bear a fair share of the litigation costs. The amount of the judgment owing to the passive beneficiary may be reduced to compensate the active litigant for his [or her] attorney fees. [Citation.]" (Walsh v. Woods (1986) 187 Cal.App.3d 1273, 1276, 232 Cal. Rptr. 629.)

Under section 3860, the trial court must set reasonable attorney fees and costs based on efforts which created a common fund.[9] Where settlement is effected solely through the efforts of the employee's attorney, the employer is a passive beneficiary and its reimbursement rights are *258 subject to reasonable fees and expenses for "services in securing and effecting settlement for the benefit of both the employer and the employee." (§ 3860, subd. (c).) "[I]f the employer receives his fair share of the recovery, he must bear his fair share of the cost of the recovery." (Quinn v. State of California, supra, 15 Cal.3d at p. 176, 124 Cal.Rptr. 1, 539 P.2d 761.) Where the settlement is insufficient to satisfy the employer's claim and compensate counsel, the attorney fees and costs take priority. (Id. at p. 175, fn. 17, 124 Cal.Rptr. 1, 539 P.2d 761.)

The same standard is applied where settlement is achieved solely through the efforts of the employer's attorney. (§ 3860, subd. (d).) "After fixing the amount of the attorney fee award, the trial court must apportion the fee award between the parties benefitted by the recovery; in doing so, the trial court must decide to what extent the passive beneficiary should contribute to the litigation expenses and fees which created the recovery fund. [Citation.]" (Walsh v. Woods, supra, 187 Cal.App.3d 1273, 1277, 232 Cal.Rptr. 629.)

The common fund doctrine, however, is inapplicable where there are no passive beneficiaries. Thus, where both parties' attorneys "actively participated" in effecting the settlement, section 3860 provides that the fee awards of each attorney are "based upon the respective services rendered in securing and effecting settlement for the benefit of the party represented." (§ 3860, subd. (e).) "Accordingly, the amount of the award to each attorney will be based on the efforts of the attorney for his own client. The doctrine of apportionment does not apply therein; each attorney fee award comes out of each party's own share of the recovery. `[W]hen each party separately employs his own attorney... the statute direct[s] the court to relinquish this duty of equitable apportionment.... [Citations.]'"[10] (Walsh v. Woods, supra, 187 Cal.App.3d at p. 1278, 232 Cal.Rptr. 629; see also, Crampton v. Takegoshi (1993) 17 Cal.App.4th 308, 318, 21 Cal. Rptr.2d 284, disapproved on other grounds in Phelps v. Stostad (1997) 16 Cal.4th 23, 34, 65 Cal.Rptr.2d 360, 939 P.2d 760; Hartwig v. Zacky Farms (1992) 2 Cal.App.4th 1550, 1554, 3 Cal.Rptr.2d 828; Kavanaugh v. City of Sunnyvale (1991) 233 Cal.App.3d 903, 914-915;, 284 Cal.Rptr. 698 1 Herlick, California Workers' Compensation Law (5th ed. 1997) § 12.13, p. 12-28.)

The question of "active participation" is a matter of proof for the trial court. (Walsh v. Woods, supra, 187 Cal. App.3d at p. 1278, 232 Cal.Rptr. 629) "[T]he mere retention of separate counsel is not enough to defeat the common fund doctrine.... Nominal participation will not suffice." (Ibid., citations omitted; see also, Kaplan v. Industrial Indem. Co. (1978) 79 Cal.App.3d 700, 709, 145 Cal.Rptr. 219 [filing a lien or complaint insufficient]; Kavanaugh v. City of Sunnyvale, supra, 233 Cal.App.3d at p. 915, 284 Cal.Rptr. 698 [token appearance insufficient]; Kindt v. Otis Elevator Co. (1995) 32 Cal.App.4th 452, 460, 38 Cal. Rptr.2d 121 [evidence did not show "`conscientious attempt'" to advance client's interests].) If the employer "desires to avoid apportionment, it must provide the trial court with sufficient factual detail to establish that its activities constituted a conscientious effort in the circumstances to address the substantive issues encompassed by the lienholder's case. [Citation.] Whether the showing ... in any one instance constitutes substantial evidence of active participation will necessarily turn upon the particular facts and events involved in the action."[11] (Hartwig v. Zacky Farms, supra, 2 Cal.App.4th at p. 1557, 3 Cal.Rptr.2d 828.)

*259 V. Summary re Calculations on Remand

On remand, the trial court must first determine whether any amount of the $100,000 settlement per couple should be allocated to the loss of consortium claims, in accordance with our earlier discussion. Only the portions of the settlement allocated to the officers are subject to City's reimbursement claims.[12] The court must then determine whether City's counsel actively participated in effecting the settlement. If not, before City's reimbursement, the court shall fix reasonable attorney fees and costs, and then determine to what extent City should contribute to plaintiffs' creation of the common fund. If City's attorney did actively participate, its right of reimbursement takes priority and the parties must shoulder their own attorney fees and costs from their respective shares of the recovery, if any.[13]

DISPOSITION

The judgment is reversed and the matter is remanded to the trial court for a new evidentiary hearing and redistribution of the $200,000 settlement proceeds in conformance with this opinion. All parties to bear their own costs.

KREMER, P.J., and WORK, J., concur.

NOTES

[1] All statutory references are to the Labor Code except where otherwise specified.

[2] To avoid confusion, we refer to the officers' wives by their first names.

[3] To prevent double recovery, an employer is subrogated to its employee's rights against third party tortfeasors. It may "recover workers' compensation benefits it has become obligated to pay and/or has paid by (1) bringing an action directly against the tortfeasor (§ 3852), (2) joining as a party plaintiff or intervening in an action brought by the employee (§ 3853), or (3) allowing the employee to prosecute the action and then applying for a first lien against the resulting judgment or settlement. (§ 3856, subd. (b).)" (Abdala v. Aziz (1992) 3 Cal.App.4th 369, 374, 4 Cal.Rptr.2d 130, fn. omitted.)

[4] In Abellon v. Hartford Ins. Co. (1985) 167 Cal. App.3d 21, 31-33, 212 Cal.Rptr. 852 we held that absent language to the contrary in the insurance policy, an independent loss of consortium claim is not merged with the spouse's claim for personal injuries under the "per person" policy limit. Rather, the higher "per occurrence" policy limit applies. Here, the record does not include a copy of the insurance policy, but we assume it specifically provided for the merger of spouses' claims.

[5] The unavailability of apportionment when a case proceeds to judgment further shows the Legislature did not intend to dilute an employer's right of reimbursement through the application of common law equity principles. A judgment, just as a settlement, may be insufficient to reimburse the employer and compensate the employee for pain and suffering or other damages not fully covered by workers' compensation. Yet, after the payment of attorney fees and other costs, the employer is entitled to reimbursement from the entire amount of the judgment. (§ 3856, subds. (a)-(c).) A non-negligent employer is not reimbursed solely from economic damages; rather, the "reimbursement payment is deducted from the entire judgment." (Scalice v. Performance Cleaning Systems (1996) 50 Cal. App.4th 221, 237, 57 Cal.Rptr.2d 711.)

[6] We invited the parties to submit supplemental letter briefs addressing the trial court's authority to apportion the settlement proceeds on other than purely equitable grounds. We have taken their responses into consideration.

[7] In order to determine the settlement percentages to which the parties are entitled, their individual damages are divided by the total damages. For instance, if the damages of an employee and independent claimant are $200,000 and $50,000, respectively, the employee is allocated 80 percent of the settlement and the other claimant is entitled to 20 percent of it.

[8] As City points out, Eli concerned section 3852's express direction to the trial court to determine the "rights of the heirs of an employee claiming under Section [377.60] of the Code of Civil Procedure and the employer claiming pursuant to [this] section...." We reject the notion the court is unauthorized to apportion a settlement in any other context.

[9] Section 3856 extends the common fund doctrine to recovery obtained by judgment, as opposed to settlement. Sections 3856 and 3860 codify identical results regarding the apportionment of attorney fees and other litigation costs. Opinions discussing 3856 are therefore applicable to the instant case. (Quinn v. State of California, supra, 15 Cal.3d at p. 176, fn. 20, 124 Cal.Rptr. 1, 539 P.2d 761; Raisola v. Flower Street Ltd. (1988) 205 Cal.App.3d 1004, 1008, fn. 1, 252 Cal.Rptr. 726.)

Section 3860 provides in relevant part:

"(c) Where settlement is effected, with or without suit, solely through the efforts of the employee's attorney, then prior to the reimbursement of the employer, as provided in subdivision (b) hereof, there shall be deducted from the amount of the settlement the reasonable expenses incurred in effecting such settlement, including costs of suit, if any, together with a reasonable attorney's fee to be paid to the employee's attorney, for his [or her] services in securing and effecting settlement for the benefit of both the employer and the employee.

"(d) Where settlement is effected, with or without suit, solely through the efforts of the employer's attorney, then, prior to the reimbursement of the employer as provided in subdivision (b) hereof, there shall be deducted from the amount of the settlement the reasonable expenses incurred in effecting such settlement, including costs of suit, if any, together with a reasonable attorney's fee to be paid to the employer's attorney, for his [or her] services in securing and effecting settlement tor the benefit of both the employer and the employee.

"(e) Where both the employer and the employee are represented by the same agreed attorney or by separate attorneys in effecting a settlement, with or without suit, prior to reimbursement of the employer, as provided in subdivision (b) hereof, there shall be deducted from the amount of the settlement the reasonable expenses incurred by both the employer and the employee or on behalf of either, including costs of suit, if any, together with reasonable attorneys' fees to be paid to the respective attorneys for the employer and the employee, based upon the respective services rendered in securing and effecting settlement for the benefit of the party represented.... "(f) The amount of expenses and attorneys' fees referred to in this section shall, on settlement of suit, or on any settlement requiring court approval, be set by the court.... Where the employer and the employee are represented by separate attorneys they may propose to the court...., for consideration and determination, the amount and division of such expenses and fees."

[10] Plaintiffs cite Summers v. Newman (1997) 53 Cal.App.4th 1513, 62 Cal.Rptr.2d 400, review granted July 9, 1997 (S061421), for the proposition that where both parties' attorneys have actively participated, their fees are deducted from the settlement before the employer's lien is satisfied. That case, however, has been accepted for review and thus provides no precedent. The other case plaintiffs cite, Griffith v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1989) 209 Cal.App.3d 1260, 1262-1263, 257 Cal.Rptr. 813, is also inapplicable because the employer there was a passive beneficiary of plaintiff's efforts.

[11] City asserts plaintiffs waived the right to attorney fees and other costs by failing to comply with California Rules of Court, rule 870, subdivision (a)(1), which provides: "A prevailing parry who claims costs shall serve and file a memorandum of costs within 15 days after the date of mailing of the notice of entry of judgment or dismissal by the clerk under Code of Civil Procedure section 664.5 or the date of service of written notice of entry of judgment or dismissal, or within 180 days after entry of judgment, whichever is first." The provision is inapplicable because there was no underlying judgment here from which to make a "prevailing party" determination. Rather, the proceeding below was limited to the court's consideration of how the settlement funds should be distributed under section 3860, which necessarily should have included a consideration of entitlement to attorney fees and costs. Obviously, no post-hearing motion for fees and costs is customarily required.

[12] We note the record shows the settlement consisted of a $100,000 policy limit per injured person or couple. City paid $42,840.98 in benefits to Gapusan, thus it was entitled to reimbursement of no more than that amount from his share of the settlement proceeds. The court, however, at plaintiffs' suggestion, awarded City $50,000 reimbursement from Gapusan. On remand, City's reimbursement is confined to workers' compensation benefits actually incurred for Gapusan. Contrary to City's view, the mere fact that the officers joined in bringing suit does not expose Gapusan's settlement funds to City's reimbursement claims for McGee.

[13] Because the benefits City paid McGee substantially exceed the settlement amount, he would receive no recovery from which his counsel's fees could be satisfied should the court determine City's attorney actively participated in the case. We also point out, however, that if the court determines City was a passive beneficiary of plaintiffs' efforts, McGee's counsel is entitled to reasonable attorney fees and litigation costs even though McGee would receive no net recovery. (Crampton v. Takegoshi, supra, 17 Cal. App.4th at pp. 318-319, 21 Cal.Rptr.2d 284.)

Cites, in this corpus

Cited by