Truck Insurance Exchange v. Pozzuoli
TRUCK INSURANCE EXCHANGE, Plaintiff and Respondent, v. PETER POZZUOLI Et Al., Defendants and Appellants
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- Gilbert Nares (author)
Analysis
The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of the insurer, determining that the policy's pollution exclusion applied because the 60-day gasoline leak was not 'sudden' as defined by the policy. The Court of Appeal affirmed, holding that the term 'sudden' has a clear temporal meaning and that the policy's own definition of 'sudden' as 'not continuous' precluded coverage for the long-term leakage.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Granting of summary judgment in favor of the Insurer based on the interpretation of the 'sudden and accidental' exception to the pollution exclusion.“The trial court determined the word “sudden” was not ambiguous, that it had a temporal meaning, and that a leak of at least 60 days’ duration was “clearly not sudden, under a reasonable interpretation of that term.”” | de novo | correct | agree with court agree with court |
Authorities
- relied: AIU Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1990) 51 Cal.3d 807 — Establishes that insurance policy language is interpreted according to the mutual intention of the parties, inferred from the written provisions, and that 'clear and explicit' meanings in the 'ordinary and popular sense' control judicial interpretation.
- relied: Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 715 — Holds that in the phrase 'sudden and accidental,' 'sudden' conveys the sense of an abrupt or immediate event, and that the phrase is not ambiguous if words are given their full significance.
- relied: Bank of the West v. Superior Court (1992) 2 Cal.4th 1254 — Requires courts to determine if coverage is consistent with the insured's objectively reasonable expectations by interpreting policy language in context with regard to its intended function.
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly applies the de novo standard of review to a pure question of contract interpretation and relies on binding California authority (AIU and Shell Oil) to establish that 'sudden' has a temporal meaning. It further strengthens its conclusion by noting that the specific policy at issue explicitly defined 'sudden' as 'not continuous,' removing any potential ambiguity regarding the duration of the leak.
The trial court granted summary judgment to Truck Insurance Exchange, holding that the word “sudden” in the policy's pollution-exclusion exception was unambiguous and temporal, so a gasoline leak of at least 60 days' duration was not a “sudden and accidental” discharge and the exclusion barred coverage. The Court of Appeal, reviewing de novo, affirmed, relying on AIU, Shell Oil, and Bank of the West and on the policy's own definition of “sudden” as “not continuous or repeated in nature.”
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Interpretation of the policy term “sudden” as unambiguous and having a temporal meaning, so that a continuous leak of at least 60 days was not “sudden.”“The trial court determined the word “sudden” was not ambiguous, that it had a temporal meaning, and that a leak of at least 60 days’ duration was “clearly not sudden, under a reasonable interpretation of that term.”” | de novo | correct | agree with court Interpretation of policy language is a question of law reviewed de novo. The court correctly applied AIU's rule that the ordinary, layperson meaning controls absent ambiguity, followed Shell Oil's holding that “sudden” in “sudden and accidental” carries a temporal, abrupt sense, and, decisively, pointed to the policy's own definition of “sudden” as “not continuous or repeated in nature,” which forecloses the insureds' non-temporal reading. The Bank of the West objectively-reasonable-expectations analysis was also applied in context. The court's dismissal of the Shell Oil passage about a sudden discharge continuing undetected is somewhat cursory, but the stipulated continuous 60-day leak and the policy definition make the result sound. |
Grant of summary judgment for the insurer because the “sudden and accidental” exception to the pollution exclusion did not apply.“Having determined that the exception to the pollution exclusion clause did not apply to the leakage in this case, the court entered summary judgment for Insurer.” | de novo | correct | agree with court With the leakage stipulated to have continued for at least 60 days and the only disputed issue being the legal meaning of “sudden,” there was no triable issue of material fact once the term was construed as temporal and defined by the policy as “not continuous.” Summary judgment on the coverage question therefore followed as a matter of law. The court's reliance in footnote 2 on a drafter's commentary is extrinsic and not strictly relevant to the mutual intent of these parties, but the holding rests independently on the policy text. |
Authorities
- relied: AIU Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1990) 51 Cal.3d 807 — Insurance policy interpretation is governed by the mutual intent of the parties inferred from the written provisions, given their clear and explicit meaning in the ordinary and popular sense; if the layperson meaning is unambiguous, it controls.
- relied: Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 715 — In the pollution-exclusion phrase “sudden and accidental,” “sudden” conveys an abrupt or immediate temporal sense and is not ambiguous; courts should not create ambiguity by truncating a word's meaning.
- relied: Bank of the West v. Superior Court (1992) 2 Cal.4th 1254 — When policy language is asserted to be ambiguous, the court must first determine whether coverage is consistent with the insured's objectively reasonable expectations, interpreting the language in context and with regard to its function in the policy.
The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The opinion correctly treats the question as one of law, applies the controlling Supreme Court framework from AIU and Bank of the West, follows the on-point published decision in Shell Oil, and grounds the result on the policy's express definition of “sudden” as “not continuous,” which disposes of the ambiguity argument. It is thin in two places: it brushes aside as dicta the Shell Oil observation that an abrupt discharge may continue undetected without analyzing whether the leak's inception was abrupt, and it leans in a footnote on a drafter's secondary commentary that is not evidence of the parties' mutual intent.
Opinion — Nares
Opinion
NARES, J.Peter and Adelia Pozzuoli (Insureds) appeal from a judgment in favor of Truck Insurance Exchange (Insurer). Insureds claim language in a “pollution exclusion” clause is ambiguous, and should be construed in *858 favor of Insureds. 1 The trial court found the language unambiguous, and granted summary judgment in favor of Insurer. We affirm.
Background
In December 1985, the Insureds purchased the Parkway Car Wash in Escondido, a facility that also sold gasoline. The car wash included three underground gasoline storage tanks which were connected to the gasoline pumps. Insureds purchased a comprehensive liability policy for the business which was issued by Insurer.
The policy issued to Insureds by Insurer provided for liability coverage and defense of lawsuits arising from an “occurrence” or “an event, or series of events, including injurious exposure to conditions, proximately caused by an act or omission of the insured” resulting in damages which are “neither expected nor intended” by Insureds.
The policy contained a standard “pollution exclusion” clause limiting coverage. The clause excluded coverage for property damage “arising out of the discharge, dispersal, release or escape of . . . liquids or . . . waste materials or other . . . contaminants . . . into or upon the land, ... but this exclusion does not apply if such discharge, dispersal, release or escape is sudden and accidental.”
The policy further defined “accidental” as “neither expected nor intended by the insured,” and defined “sudden" as “not continuous or repeated in nature.”
The “occurrence” here is long-term leakage of gasoline from one underground storage tank on the property purchased by Insureds in December 1985. Insureds did not discover the leakage until September 1986. While the leakage may have been going on since before Insureds purchased the property, it was stipulated below that the leakage had been going on for at least 60 days.
The trial court determined the word “sudden” was not ambiguous, that it had a temporal meaning, and that a leak of at least 60 days’ duration was “clearly not sudden, under a reasonable interpretation of that term.”
*859 Having determined that the exception to the pollution exclusion clause did not apply to the leakage in this case, the court entered summary judgment for Insurer.
Standard of Review
The appeal presents for review a decision of the trial court on a pure question of law, the interpretation of the language in an insurance policy. We thus determine the question de novo, under a nondeferential standard.
Discussion
The California Supreme Court has provided guidance for construing insurance policy language in AIU Ins. Co. v. Superior Court, supra, 51 Cal.3d at pages 821-822: “Under statutory rules of contract interpretation, the mutual intention of the parties at the time the contract is formed governs interpretation. (Civ. Code, § 1636.) Such intent is to be inferred, if possible, solely from the written provisions of the contract. (Id., § 1639.) The ‘clear and explicit’ meaning of these provisions, interpreted in their ‘ordinary and popular sense,’ unless ‘used by the parties in a technical sense or a special meaning is given to them by usage’ (id., § 1644), controls judicial interpretation. (Id., § 1638.) Thus, if the meaning a layperson would ascribe to contract language is not ambiguous, we apply that meaning.”
Here, of course, the parties clearly intended, as the policy language unambiguously states, that “discharge, dispersal, release or escape of . . . liquids or . . . waste materials or other . . . contaminants . . . into or upon the land” would be excluded from coverage. The exception to this exclusion is a case where the discharge is “sudden and accidental.” In other words, precisely the situation here involved, a leakage of extended duration, must be deemed to have been intentionally excluded from coverage by the parties. 2
The principles set forth in AIU have been followed in the recent case of Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co., supra, 12 Cal.App.4th 715. That case, involving coverage for pollution extending for over 30 years at the Rocky Mountain Arsenal in Colorado, also involved policy language setting forth a “pollution exclusion.” Some of the policies at issue “stated that the *860 ‘exclusion does not apply if such discharge, dispersal, release or escape is sudden and accidental.’ (Italics added.)” (Id. at p. 753.)
There, the insureds argued, as here, “that ‘sudden’ is ambiguous and that we should construe it to cover unexpected or unintended events without any temporal limitation.” (Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co., supra, 12 Cal.App.4th at p. 752, italics added.) The court rejected that assertion, and held instead that “in the phrase, ‘sudden and accidental,’ ‘accidental’ conveys the sense of an unexpected and unintended event, while ‘sudden’ conveys the sense of an unexpected event that is abrupt or immediate in nature. ‘Sudden and accidental’ is not ambiguous if we give the words their full significance. A court should not make a phrase ambiguous by unreasonably truncating a word’s meaning.” 3 (Id. at p. 755.)
Just as the Shell Oil court refused to create ambiguity in the phrase “sudden and accidental,” there is no need for us to create ambiguity by “unreasonably truncating” the meaning of the single word “sudden.” This is particularly true here, as distinguished from the other cases discussed in which the policy itself does not define the term used. In this case, we need not go outside the policy language, for the policy itself does define “sudden” as “not continuous.” Any continuous event, whether it be of 30 years’ or 2 months’ duration, is simply not “sudden.”
In this case, Insureds purchased an insurance policy with language expressly precluding coverage for pollution which was continuous rather than sudden. There is no issue as to the continuous nature of the pollution here. “[A] court that is faced with an argument for coverage based on assertedly ambiguous policy language must first attempt to determine whether coverage is consistent with the insured’s objectively reasonable expectations. In so doing, the court must interpret the language in context, with regard to its intended function in the policy.” (Bank of the West v. Superior Court (1992) 2 Cal.4th 1254, 1265 [10 Cal.Rptr.2d 538, 833 P.2d 545].)
Here, Insurer clearly intended to exclude all coverage for pollution except in the case of a “sudden” accident. If the underground storage tank had exploded (the “classical accident” envisaged by the drafter) causing pollution damage to surrounding property, the Insureds’ expectation of coverage would be “objectively reasonable.”
*861 In this case, however, the pollution process was both continuous and long-term, and thus Insureds could not have reasonably expected coverage for an event which was expressly excluded therefrom. The trial court’s conclusion that the word “sudden” has a temporal meaning was correct, as it coincides with “the meaning a layperson would ascribe” to the contract language in this case.
Disposition
The judgment is affirmed. Respondent to recover costs on appeal.
Kremer, P. J., and Froehlich, J., concurred.
Appellants’ petition for review by the Supreme Court was denied November 17, 1993.
This question has been frequently litigated in appellate courts across the country, and there are numerous cases on both sides of the issue. (See, e.g., the authorities reviewed in Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 715, 751-756 [15 Cal.Rptr.2d 815].) Insureds in particular cite to numerous federal district court cases “purporting to apply state law.” (AIU Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1990) 51 Cal.3d 807, 820 [274 Cal.Rptr. 820, 799 P.2d 1253].) We need not further refer to these cases, however, as we find California authority, particularly Shell Oil, adequate to resolve the issue before us.
As Id Insurer this is clearly correct, as the principal draftsman of the pollution exclusion clause has stated it was intended to wholly eliminate coverage for pollution except in the case of a “classical accident,” which he defined as a “sudden, boom-type accident” such as an explosion. (Williams, Intent of the Drafters: The Pollution Exclusion And The Insurance Commissioner Documents in Environmental and Toxic Tort Claims Insurance Coverage in 1990 and Beyond (1990) pp. 25-26. [Author is the editor.])
Insureds point to language in Shell Oil opining that “a sudden and accidental discharge of a dangerous pollutant could continue unabated for some period because of a negligent failure to discover it, technical problems or a lack of resources that delay curtailment, or some other circumstance. Liability from such an event could well be covered." (Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co., supra, 12 Cal.App.4th at p. 756.) This observation is dicta, rather than a holding, and in any event has no application to the facts of the matter before us.
Cites, in this corpus
- Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Insurance A045544 · 1993-01-21
- Bank of the West v. Superior Court S019556 · 1992-07-30
- AIU Insurance v. Superior Court S012525 · 1990-11-15
Cited by
- Brown v. Mid-Century Ins. B238357 · 2013-04-24
- Brown v. Mid-Century Ins. CA2/7 B238357 · 2013-04-02
- Venoco, Inc. v. Gulf Underwriters Insurance B206207 · 2009-07-01
- People v. Campbell D034190 · 2000-07-11
- Fraley v. Allstate Insurance Company D032817 · 2000-06-14
- A-H Plating, Inc. v. American National Fire Insurance B104163 · 1997-08-28
- Vann v. Travelers Companies A067551 · 1995-10-11
- ACL Technologies, Inc. v. Northbrook Property & Casualty Insurance G012053 · 1993-08-24