gno.law

Hartford Accid. & Indem. Co. v. Superior Court of San Diego Cty.

California Court of Appeal · Docket Nos. D020852, D020892 · 1994-10-18 · Published · 29 Cal. App. 4th 435 · 34 Cal. Rptr. 2d 520 · 29 Cal. App. 2d 435 · 94 Daily Journal DAR 14815 · 94 Cal. Daily Op. Serv. 8033 · 1994 Cal. App. LEXIS 1067

HARTFORD ACCIDENT AND INDEMNITY COMPANY Et Al. Petitioners, v. THE SUPERIOR COURT OF SAN DIEGO COUNTY, Respondent; LANDMARK INSURANCE COMPANY, Real Party in Interest

Area
civil
Panel
Froehlich (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T07:29Z · confidence high

The trial court granted Landmark's motion under Code of Civil Procedure section 877.6, ordering the dismissal of Hartford's cross-claims for contribution and indemnity based on Landmark's settlement with the insured. The Court of Appeal issued a writ of mandate ordering the trial court to vacate that order, holding that section 877.6 does not apply to contribution claims between insurers because they are not joint tortfeasors or co-obligors on a joint contract.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Trial court's order granting Landmark's motion for approval of settlement under CCP § 877.6 and dismissing Hartford's cross-claims for contribution and indemnity.
“The court granted the motion and ordered dismissal of Hartford’s cross-claims for contribution and indemnity. This order is the subject of this petition for writ of mandamus.”
abuse of discretionerror (statutory interpretation)agree with court
The appellate court held that the trial court erred as a matter of law because the statutory prerequisites for § 877.6 protection were not met. The court reasoned that Hartford and Landmark were not 'joint tortfeasors' because their liabilities were several and based on separate contracts, nor were they 'co-obligors' on a joint contract debt. Consequently, the bar on contribution claims in § 877.6, subdivision (c) was inapplicable to the equitable apportionment of insurance obligations.

Authorities

  • relied: Far West Financial Corp. v. D & S Co. (1988) 46 Cal.3d 796 — Section 877.6 is designed to encourage settlements by providing the settling party with protection against further litigation with, and exposure to, those parties alleged to be joint tortfeasors.
  • relied: Tech-Bilt, Inc. v. Woodward-Clyde & Associates (1985) 38 Cal.3d 488 — Establishes the standard for determining if a settlement is 'in the ballpark' of the settling party's potential liability.
  • relied: Continental Cas. Co. v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1961) 57 Cal.2d 27 — In cases involving multiple policies covering the same loss, courts allocate the burden of paying among insurers without reference to comparative fault, focusing instead on contractual language.
  • relied: Pacific Employers Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 318 — Courts have prorated responsibility among duplicate or overlapping insurers by focusing on contractual issues rather than 'fault' concepts.
  • relied: Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co. (1967) 249 Cal.App.2d 432 — An action by one insurer seeking contribution from a nonparticipating insurer is based on equitable apportionment of contractual undertakings, not 'fault' concepts.
  • relied: Carr v. Cove (1973) 33 Cal.App.3d 851 — Defendants are not joint tortfeasors, and contribution statutes are inapplicable, where a defendant's conduct is separate and has caused distinct, divisible injuries.
  • relied: Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1994) 21 Cal.App.4th 1586 — Primary and excess insurers are serial obligors on separate contracts, not co-obligors on a contract debt, and thus do not fit the 'co-obligor' definition in § 877.6.
  • relied: Pacific Estates, Inc. v. Superior Court (1993) 13 Cal.App.4th 1561 — Legislative history confirms the 'co-obligor' amendment to § 877.6 was intended to cover settlements in lawsuits involving a joint contract with joint obligors.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly distinguishes the statutory definition of 'joint tortfeasors' and 'co-obligors' from the several, contract-based liabilities of multiple insurers. It relies on established California insurance law principles that contribution among insurers is equitable and contractual, not fault-based, thereby logically excluding such claims from the scope of § 877.6.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

unusual disposition

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:32Z · confidence high

The trial court granted Landmark Insurance Company's motion under Code of Civil Procedure section 877.6 for a determination that its $110,000 settlement with the common insured was in good faith, and on that basis dismissed Hartford's cross-claims against Landmark for contribution and indemnity. The Court of Appeal issued a writ of mandate directing the superior court to vacate that order, holding that section 877.6 does not apply because insurers providing overlapping coverage are neither joint tortfeasors nor co-obligors on a post-1988 contract debt, and inter-insurer contribution rests on equitable apportionment of contractual undertakings rather than comparative fault.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Application of Code of Civil Procedure section 877.6 to bar Hartford's cross-claims for equitable contribution and indemnity against the settling co-insurer Landmark, and dismissal of Landmark from the action
“The court granted the motion and ordered dismissal of Hartford’s cross-claims for contribution and indemnity.”
de novoerror (statutory interpretation)agree with court
The opinion does not expressly state a standard of review, but the facts were undisputed and the question was purely one of statutory construction, so the court effectively reviewed de novo. Its textual reading of subdivision (c) — which bars only claims for comparative contribution or indemnity 'based on comparative negligence or comparative fault' — is faithful to the statute, and the cited Supreme Court and Court of Appeal insurance cases (Continental Casualty, Pacific Employers, Hartford v. Pacific Indemnity) confirm that inter-insurer contribution is apportioned by contract terms and policy limits, not fault. The further holding that co-insurers are severally, not jointly, liable, supported by Civil Code section 1431.2 and Carr v. Cove, is a reasonable application of the joint-tortfeasor concept.
Treatment of Hartford and Landmark as 'co-obligors' within the meaning of section 877.6 (Landmark's alternative theory relying on Diamond Heights)
“Bach insurer owed primary coverage responsibilities springing from its own separate contractual undertakings, and it was never co-obligated under any contract.”
de novoerror (statutory interpretation)agree with court
The court reasonably reaffirmed its earlier disagreement with Diamond Heights (expressed in Fireman's Fund v. Maryland Casualty), relying on the legislative history canvassed in Pacific Estates that the co-obligor amendment was aimed at joint obligors on a single joint contract. It also gave an independent, dispositive ground: under section 877, subdivision (d), the co-obligor bar does not reach contracts entered before 1988, and both policies predated 1988. Either ground supports the result.
Finding that the $110,000 settlement was in good faith under Tech-Bilt and that no apportionment between defense and indemnity obligations was required
“Hartford opposed the motion, arguing (1) section 877.6 did not apply to this case; (2) the settlement was not in good faith or reflective of Landmark’s potential liability; and (3) no apportionment of the $110,000 was made between defense and indemnity obligations.”
unclearnot reachedagree with court
Because the court held section 877.6 inapplicable altogether, it had no occasion to review whether the trial court abused its discretion in finding the settlement within the Tech-Bilt 'ballpark' or in declining to require apportionment. Not reaching these points was appropriate given the dispositive threshold holding.
Trial court's authority under section 877.6 to dismiss Hartford's cross-complaint rather than merely approve the settlement
“Hartford also argued that the court was procedurally limited to approving the settlement under section 877.6 and had no statutory authority to dismiss Hartford’s complaint.”
unclearnot reachedagree with court
The court noted this procedural argument only in a footnote and did not decide it, since the writ vacating the order on substantive grounds also vacated the dismissal. This was a permissible exercise of judicial economy.

Authorities

  • relied: Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1994) 21 Cal.App.4th 1586 — Raised but did not decide whether section 877.6 applies to settlements among insurers; expressed disagreement with Diamond Heights because primary and excess insurers are serial obligors on separate contracts, not co-obligors on a single contract debt.
  • relied: Far West Financial Corp. v. D & S Co. (1988) 46 Cal.3d 796 — Section 877.6 is designed to encourage settlement by protecting the settling party from further litigation with alleged joint tortfeasors.
  • relied: Tech-Bilt, Inc. v. Woodward-Clyde & Associates (1985) 38 Cal.3d 488 — Sets the 'ballpark' standard for determining whether a settlement is in good faith under section 877.6; cited as the standard Landmark invoked below, though the court did not reach the good faith question.
  • relied: Truck Ins. Exchange v. Torres (1961) 193 Cal.App.2d 483 — Contribution among insurers providing overlapping coverage for the same insured rests on equitable principles.
  • relied: Continental Cas. Co. v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1961) 57 Cal.2d 27 — A defending insurer may compel contribution from nonparticipating insurers, with the amount determined by examining contractual language to adjust responsibility equitably rather than by fault.
  • relied: Pacific Employers Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 318 — Responsibility among overlapping insurers is prorated by focusing on contractual issues rather than on fault concepts.
  • relied: Herzog v. National American Ins. Co. (1970) 2 Cal.3d 192 — Overruled Pacific Employers on other grounds; cited only to note the limited overruling.
  • relied: Government Employees Ins. Co. v. St. Paul Fire etc. Ins. Co. (1966) 243 Cal.App.2d 186 — Contribution among overlapping insurers is prorated based on the proportion each insurer's policy limits bear to total coverage.
  • relied: Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co. (1967) 249 Cal.App.2d 432 — An insurer's action for contribution from a nonparticipating insurer rests on equitable apportionment of contractual undertakings, not on fault.
  • relied: Carr v. Cove (1973) 33 Cal.App.3d 851 — Defendants whose separate conduct caused distinct, divisible injuries are not joint tortfeasors, and the contribution statutes for joint tortfeasors do not apply to them.
  • relied: Diamond Heights Homeowners Assn. v. National American Ins. Co. (1991) 227 Cal.App.3d 563 — Treated a primary and an excess insurer as co-obligors under section 877.6; the court expressly declined to follow it and held that even under its view the pre-1988 policies here would fall outside the co-obligor bar.
  • relied: Pacific Estates, Inc. v. Superior Court (1993) 13 Cal.App.4th 1561 — Legislative history shows the co-obligor amendment to section 877.6 was intended to reach settlements in disputes involving a joint contract with joint obligors.

The appellate opinion: sound — The court grounded its holding in the plain text of section 877.6, subdivision (c), which limits the bar to contribution and indemnity claims based on comparative negligence or fault, and marshaled a consistent line of Supreme Court and Court of Appeal insurance decisions showing that inter-insurer contribution is apportioned by contract terms rather than fault. It also addressed and rejected Landmark's alternative co-obligor theory on two independent grounds, including the pre-1988 contract limitation in section 877, subdivision (d), leaving no raised argument unanswered that was necessary to the result.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

Opinion — Froehlich

Opinion

FROEHLICH, J.

This writ petition arises from the effort by real party in interest Landmark Insurance Company (Landmark) to extricate itself from a “bad faith” lawsuit. Landmark’s insured had alleged that numerous insurers including Landmark had provided coverage for a claim, that they had failed to defend and indemnify in connection with that claim, and that this failure breached their contracts as well as the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing. The insured later settled with Landmark. As a condition to settling, Landmark required that it be extricated from the nonsettling insurers’ cross-claims against it for contribution. Landmark sought such exoneration through the vehicle of the “good faith settlement” statute, Code of Civil Procedure section 877.6. 1

We must now decide the question we raised but ultimately did not decide in Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1994) 21 Cal.App.4th *438 1586 [26 Cal.Rptr.2d 762]. Specifically, the issue is whether the protections afforded by section 877.6 apply when the lawsuit is brought by the insured against multiple insurers allegedly covering the same “loss,” one insurer settles with the insured, and the settling insurer seeks to use the order approving the settlement (in good faith under section 877.6) to avoid cross-claims for contribution from other insurers.

Factual Background

1. The Underlying Claim

The relevant facts are undisputed. In 1980 a lawsuit was filed by Del Coronado Santee Townhomes Association (hereafter the Association) against various defendants alleging that the Santee development had construction defects. The 1980 action settled. However, as part of that settlement D.G. & Associates (successor in interest to the Santee developer, hereafter D.G.) agreed that (1) dismissal of the soils-related claims would be without prejudice; (2) the release would not cover soils-related damages occurring thereafter; and (3) D.G. would extend the statute of limitations on any later action by the Association which seeks recovery for such nonreleased claims.

In 1989 the Association again filed suit against D.G. for damages. The 1989 complaint alleged various theories and sought recovery for, among other things, the preserved soils-related injuries.

2. The Coverage Dispute

The insured asserted that various insurers owed defense and indemnification obligations respecting the 1989 lawsuit. Among the insurers allegedly liable to defend and indemnify were Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company (Hartford), the petitioner herein, and Landmark. 2 Hartford interposed several bases for avoiding any defense for and indemnity obligations to the insured. Alternatively, however, Hartford alleged that if found liable to the insured, it was entitled to a declaration as to the liabilities of other insurers (including Landmark) who might owe similar obligations to the insured, and to contribution or indemnity from such insurers.

*439 3. The Settlement

In early 1994 Landmark agreed to settle with the insured for $110,000, contingent on an order being entered under section 877.6 barring any claims or cross-claims against it for contribution or indemnity. Landmark supported its motion with an explanation of why its potential exposure to the insured was minimal, and argued the negotiations were arm’s length, without collusion, and $110,000 was “in the ballpark” as required by Tech-Bilt, Inc. v. Woodward-Clyde & Associates (1985) 38 Cal.3d 488 [213 Cal.Rptr. 256, 698 P.2d 159].

Hartford opposed the motion, arguing (1) section 877.6 did not apply to this case; (2) the settlement was not in good faith or reflective of Landmark’s potential liability; and (3) no apportionment of the $110,000 was made between defense and indemnity obligations. 3 The court granted the motion and ordered dismissal of Hartford’s cross-claims for contribution and indemnity. This order is the subject of this petition for writ of mandamus.

The Trial Court Erred in Applying Section 877.6 to This Action Because Hartford and Landmark Were Neither Joint Tortfeasors nor Co-Obligors on a Contract Debt Entered After 1988, and Hence Section 877.6 Is Inapplicable to Hartford’s Claims

Section 877.6 is designed to encourage settlements by providing the settling party with protection against further litigation with, and exposure to, those parties alleged to be joint tortfeasors with the settling party. (Far West Financial Corp. v. D & S Co. (1988) 46 Cal.3d 796, 810-811 [251 Cal.Rptr. 202, 760 P.2d 399].) To achieve that goal, section 877.6 provides a mechanism for obtaining a court order approving the “good faith” nature of the settlement. The order would provide the following protection: “A determination by the court that the settlement was made in good faith shall bar any other joint tortfeasor or co-obligor from any further claims against the settling tortfeasor or co-obligor for equitable comparative contribution, or partial or comparative indemnity, based on comparative negligence or comparative fault.” (§ 877.6, subd. (c).)

Section 877.6 shows, on its face, that its protective cloak is limited. It bars only those claims by one joint tortfeasor against the settling tortfeasor for equitable comparative contribution based on comparative negligence or comparative fault. We therefore must decide whether Hartford’s *440 claim for contribution against Landmark is one for equitable comparative contribution or indemnity based on comparative negligence or fault, and whether Hartford and Landmark can be classified as joint tortfeasors. 4

A claim such as the instant one for contribution among insurers providing overlapping coverage for the same insured rests on equitable principles. (Truck Ins. Exchange v. Torres (1961) 193 Cal.App.2d 483, 490 [14 Cal.Rptr. 408].) However, in cases involving multiple policies covering the same loss, the courts have allocated the burden of paying among several insurers without reference to questions of the comparative fault or negligence of such insurers, because their obligation to protect the insured arises from a contract, not because the insurers were negligent or at fault. (See, e.g., Continental Cas. Co. v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1961) 57 Cal.2d 27, 34-38 [17 Cal.Rptr. 12, 366 P.2d 455] [defending insurer is entitled to compel contribution from nonparticipating insurers; amount of contribution is determined by examining contractual language to adjust responsibility in an equitable manner].) Thus, in cases involving duplicate or overlapping insurers the courts have prorated the responsibility by focusing on contractual issues rather than on “fault” concepts (see Pacific Employers Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 318, 327-329 [54 Cal.Rptr. 385, 419 P.2d 641], overruled on other grounds in Herzog v. National American Ins. Co. (1970) 2 Cal.3d 192, 198-199 [84 Cal.Rptr. 705, 465 P.2d 841]), and have ordered proration based on the proportion each insurer’s coverage bore to the total coverage provided by all policies (see, e.g., Government Employees Ins. Co. v. St. Paul Fire etc. Ins. Co. (1966) 243 Cal.App.2d 186, 191-192 [52 Cal.Rptr. 317] [St. Paul policy had $100,000 limits; GEICO policy had *441 $20,000 limits—GEICO required to share one-sixth of costs, based on $20,000/$120,000 ratio]).

Section 877.6, subdivision (c) is limited to “claims ... for equitable comparative contribution . . . based on comparative negligence or comparative fault.” Because an action by one insurer seeking contribution from a nonparticipating insurer does not depend on “fault” concepts but is based on an equitable apportionment of the contractual undertakings (see Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co. (1967) 249 Cal.App.2d 432, 436-438 [57 Cal.Rptr. 492]), the bar of section 877.6, subdivision (c) is inapplicable.

Our conclusion is reinforced by the recognition that the focus of the statutory scheme is on settlements by a plaintiff with one of several parties alleged to be jointly liable for the same tortious injury. 5 However, Hartford and Landmark are not jointly liable to their common insured. Instead, each insurer’s defense and indemnification liabilities, if any, are several and depend on the terms and conditions of the policy of each, neither being liable for the policy obligations owed by the other. (See, e.g., 8A Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice (1981) § 4908, p. 381.) Since neither Hartford nor Landmark is liable to pay the contractual obligations of the other, both are severally (rather than jointly) liable for their respective breaches of contract. Nor are they joint tortfeasors. Even if Hartford or Landmark committed the tort of breach of the implied covenant of good faith, the bad faith of either would depend solely on its own several conduct. Because their torts would be severable, and neither would be liable for the extracontractual damages (such as emotional distress) caused by the other’s bad faith (Civ. Code, § 1431.2), they are in no sense “joint tortfeasors” to which the provisions of section 877.6 might apply. (See, e.g., Carr v. Cove (1973) 33 Cal.App.3d 851, 853-856 [109 Cal.Rptr. 449] [defendants not joint tortfeasors, and statutes for contribution among joint tortfeasors inapplicable where a defendant’s conduct is separate and has caused distinct, divisible injuries].)

Disposition

Let a writ of mandate issue ordering the superior court to vacate its order of March 17, 1994, to the extent such order bars any further claims against Landmark for equitable contribution, equitable subrogation, partial or comparative indemnity based on comparative negligence or comparative fault or *442 contract and dismisses Landmark from the consolidated actions, and further ordering the court to enter a new and different order consistent with this opinion.

Work, Acting P. J., and Nares, J., concurred.

A petition for a rehearing was denied November 8, 1994, and the petition of real party in interest for review by the Supreme Court was denied February 16, 1995.

1

All statutory references are to the Code of Civil Procedure unless otherwise specified.

2

Nmnerous insurance companies in addition to Hartford allegedly provided coverage to D.G. or the insured during the relevant periods. One such insurer, Great American Insurance Company (Great American), has joined in Hartford’s petition herein. Although Great American raises some factual distinctions which purportedly improve its position vis-a-vis Landmark, Great American merely joins in the legal arguments raised by Hartford. Because Hartford’s legal arguments appear dispositive, we will refer in this opinion to “Hartford,” recognizing our disposition will also benefit Great American.

3

Hartford also argued that the court was procedurally limited to approving the settlement under section 877.6 and had no statutory authority to dismiss Hartford’s complaint.

4

We quickly dispose of the other possible application of section 877.6—that is, to “coobligors.” Although Landmark loosely refers to itself and Hartford as being “co-obligated,” and cites Diamond Heights Homeowners Assn. v. National American Ins. Co. (1991) 227 Cal.App.3d 563 [277 Cal.Rptr. 906] as supporting the notion that a primary and an excess insurer are co-obligors under the statute, we previously explained that we disagreed with Diamond Heights because “by definition a primary and an excess insurer are serial obligors on separate contracts, not co-obligors on a contract debt.” (Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co., supra, (1994) 21 Cal.App.4th at p. 1594, fn. 7.) The same reasoning applies with greater force here: Bach insurer owed primary coverage responsibilities springing from its own separate contractual undertakings, and it was never co-obligated under any contract. The legislative history surrounding the amendment to section 877.6 which added the “coobligor” language confirms that the amendment was intended to cover settlements in lawsuits where the contractual dispute involves “a joint contract” with “joint obligors” (see Pacific Estates, Inc. v. Superior Court (1993) 13 Cal.App.4th 1561, 1571-1572 [17 Cal.Rptr.2d 434]). Hartford and Landmark do not occupy that relationship. Moreover, even if we adopted the Diamond Heights view, the statute would still not apply here, because Hartford’s and Landmark’s insurance policies were issued before 1988. Contracts entered before 1988 are not within the reach of the statutory bar against contribution among co-obligors. (See § 877, subd. (d).)

5

Section 877 describes them as “tortfeasors claimed to be liable for the same tort,” while section 877.6, subdivision (a)(1) refers to them as “joint tortfeasors.” The terms convey the same meaning.

Cites, in this corpus

Cited by