gno.law

Maryland Casualty Co. v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance

California Court of Appeal · D032972, D033116 · 2000-06-06 · Published · 97 Cal. Rptr. 2d 374 · 81 Cal. App. 4th 1082 · 2000 Daily Journal DAR 6917 · 2000 Cal. App. LEXIS 511

MARYLAND CASUALTY COMPANY Et Al., Cross-Complainants and Respondents, v. NATIONWIDE MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY, Cross-Defendant and Appellant; NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY OF PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA Et Al., Cross-Complainants and Respondents, v. NATIONWIDE MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY, Cross-Defendant and Appellant

Area
civil
Panel
Judith L. Haller (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T07:21Z · confidence high

The trial court granted summary judgment to Maryland Casualty and National Union, applying the equitable subrogation doctrine to shift the entire burden of Nielsen's defense costs to Nationwide Mutual Insurance. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding that equitable contribution, not subrogation, applies because all insurers were primary as to the same insured, and remanded for an equitable allocation of costs.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Granting summary judgment to respondents based on the equitable subrogation doctrine, shifting 100% of defense costs to Nationwide.
“The court granted summary judgment in favor of Maryland and National Union, ruling that Nationwide was obligated to pay for these insurers’ unreimbursed defense costs.”
de novoerroragree with court
The appellate court correctly identified that equitable subrogation applies to shift costs between primary and excess insurers, whereas equitable contribution applies among coinsurers sharing the same level of liability. Because the policies were all primary as to Nielsen, subrogation was inapplicable.
Interpretation of the additional insured endorsement's typewritten language stating 'Any other insurance maintained by the additional insured is deemed to be excess.'
“Respondents’ interpretation would alter the purpose and nature of the additional insured endorsement by creating coverage for all of Nielsen’s direct acts and for the other subcontractors’ acts.”
de novoerroragree with court
The court applied the objective reasonable expectations standard to interpret the ambiguous policy language in context, rejecting the interpretation that would make Nationwide's limited vicarious liability coverage excess to Nielsen's own primary coverage for all claims.
Shifting the burden of proof to Nationwide to proffer evidence of a proper division of costs under equitable contribution.
“Because Maryland and National Union failed to prove the circumstances permitted application of subrogation principles, the burden did not shift to Nationwide to show the proper division of costs under the equitable contribution doctrine.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The court correctly applied Code of Civil Procedure section 437c, subd. (o)(2), noting that the moving party bears the initial burden of establishing the legal basis for summary judgment; since the subrogation theory failed, the burden did not shift to the non-moving party to prove the alternative contribution theory.

Authorities

  • relied: Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1998) 65 Cal.App.4th 1279 — Distinguishes equitable subrogation (shifting entire cost burden between primary and excess) from equitable contribution (apportioning costs among coinsurers at the same level of liability).
  • relied: Signal Companies, Inc. v. Harbor Ins. Co. (1980) 27 Cal.3d 359 — Establishes that a primary insurer is obligated to defend the insured and bear 100 percent of defense costs until primary limits are exhausted, supporting the use of subrogation for excess insurers.
  • relied: Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co. (1999) 72 Cal.App.4th 1063 — Defines primary and excess coverage and states that the test for subrogation depends on the respective equities of the parties.
  • relied: Buss v. Superior Court (1997) 16 Cal.4th 35 — Holds an insurer has a duty to defend the entire action but may seek reimbursement for costs allocable to non-covered claims; distinguished here because the issue is allocation among multiple insurers with duties to defend, not the scope of a single insurer's duty.
  • relied: Rossmoor Sanitation, Inc. v. Pylon, Inc. (1975) 13 Cal.3d 622 — Held that an owner's insurance was excess to a contractor's additional insured coverage based on specific indemnity contract terms; distinguished because the current case lacks evidence that the subcontractors agreed to bear costs for non-subcontractor work.
  • relied: Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co. (1995) 10 Cal.4th 645 — Establishes that the proper allocation of costs is within a trial court's broad discretion.
  • relied: Armstrong World Industries, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1 — Lists methods for quantifying insurers' respective risks for equitable apportionment, such as policy limits and time on the risk.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly distinguishes the legal standards for equitable subrogation versus equitable contribution and applies the objective reasonable expectations standard to interpret the ambiguous policy language in context. It properly identifies that the trial court erred by applying a doctrine meant for primary/excess relationships to a situation involving parallel primary duties.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:31Z · confidence high

On remand after a prior appeal establishing that Nationwide owed a duty to defend the general contractor Nielsen under additional insured endorsements, the trial court granted summary judgment to Nielsen's own primary insurers (Maryland and National Union) on an equitable subrogation theory, shifting all of their remaining defense costs (roughly $725,000 and $722,000) to Nationwide. The Court of Appeal reversed, holding that because all three carriers were primary insurers with parallel duties to defend the same insured, equitable contribution rather than subrogation governs, and remanded for the trial court to exercise its discretion to allocate defense costs equitably.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Grant of summary judgment to Maryland and National Union on equitable subrogation theory, shifting the entire remaining defense burden to Nationwide based on the typewritten 'primary/excess' language in the West Coast additional insured endorsement
“Under these circumstances, the court erred in granting summary judgment on respondents’ equitable subrogation claim.”
de novoerror (law misapplied)agree with court
The opinion does not expressly recite a standard, but it independently construes the policy language and decides the legal question whether subrogation or contribution applies, which is de novo review of a summary judgment and of contract interpretation. The court correctly applied Fireman's Fund's distinction: subrogation requires the paying insurer to show the other insurer was primarily liable and its own equitable position inferior, which cannot be met where all carriers are primary as to the same insured and respondents concede as much. Reading the typewritten sentence in context, the endorsement's 'primary' characterization attaches only to the limited vicarious liability coverage; it would be unreasonable to read a single trailing sentence as converting the contractor's own CGL policies into excess for all claims including Nielsen's own negligence and other subcontractors' acts. The court properly distinguished Buss (scope of a single insurer's duty, not inter-insurer allocation), Rossmoor (fact-specific, driven by the indemnity bargain, and per Reliance not a general rule), and Shell Oil (true primary/excess context).
Respondents' alternative ground for sustaining the summary judgment: that Nationwide failed to present evidence of a proper division of costs under equitable contribution
“Because Maryland and National Union failed to prove the circumstances permitted application of subrogation principles, the burden did not shift to Nationwide to show the proper division of costs under the equitable contribution doctrine.”
de novoerror (procedure)agree with court
Under Code of Civil Procedure section 437c, the moving party must first carry its initial burden before any burden shifts to the opposing party. Respondents moved solely on subrogation; having failed to establish that theory, they cannot fault Nationwide for not disproving an allocation on a theory never placed at issue in the motion. The court's reliance on section 437c, subdivision (o)(2) and Crouse v. Brobeck is apt.
Maryland's argument that Nationwide waived allocation by failing to plead defense cost allocation as an affirmative defense in its answer
“Maryland specifically alleged an equitable contribution theory in its complaint. This allegation was sufficient to raise the allocation issue.”
de novoerror (procedure)agree with court
Where the plaintiff itself pleads equitable contribution as a theory of recovery, allocation is necessarily within the issues framed by the pleadings, and the defendant need not replead the plaintiff's own theory as an affirmative defense. The court's rejection of waiver is sensible and no contrary authority is identified in the opinion.
Nationwide's request that the Court of Appeal itself fix Nationwide's equitable share of defense costs based on the summary judgment opposition evidence rather than remanding
“The proper allocation of costs is within a trial court’s broad discretion. (See Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co. (1995) 10 Cal.4th 645, 681, fn. 19 [42 Cal.Rptr.2d 324, 913 P.2d 878]; Armstrong World Industries, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1, 51-55 [52 Cal.Rptr.2d 690].)”
abuse of discretionnot reachedagree with court
The trial court never exercised its discretion on allocation because it ruled on subrogation alone. Montrose and Armstrong recognize the trial court's broad discretion in choosing among allocation methods (policy limits, time on the risk, equal shares, etc.), so remand rather than appellate fact-finding is the correct course. The court's guidance that Nielsen's settlement proposal may be a relevant but discretionary factor is appropriately restrained.

Authorities

  • relied: Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1998) 65 Cal.App.4th 1279 — Equitable subrogation and equitable contribution are entirely different doctrines; subrogation shifts the entire loss to a primarily liable insurer when the paying insurer's equities are inferior, while contribution apportions a common burden among coinsurers on the same risk at the same level.
  • relied: Maryland Casualty Co. v. Nationwide Ins. Co. (1998) 65 Cal.App.4th 21 — Prior decision in this case holding Nationwide's additional insured endorsements covered Nielsen's vicarious liability for the subcontractors' acts and imposed a corresponding duty to defend; also states insurance interpretation principles (mutual intent, objectively reasonable expectations).
  • relied: Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co. (1999) 72 Cal.App.4th 1063 — Defines primary and excess coverage; courts enforce policy terms characterizing coverage as primary or excess; subrogation depends on the parties' respective equities; Rossmoor did not establish a general rule that indemnity contract terms control insurer allocation.
  • relied: Signal Companies, Inc. v. Harbor Ins. Co. (1980) 27 Cal.3d 359 — As between primary and excess insurers, the primary insurer bears the defense until its limits are exhausted, so subrogation commonly shifts defense costs from excess to primary carrier.
  • relied: Buss v. Superior Court (1997) 16 Cal.4th 35 — An insurer must defend the entire mixed action but may seek reimbursement from the insured for costs allocable solely to non-covered claims; distinguished as addressing scope of a single insurer's duty, not allocation among insurers each owing a defense.
  • relied: Rossmoor Sanitation, Inc. v. Pylon, Inc. (1975) 13 Cal.3d 622 — Indemnitee's own coverage held excess to additional insured coverage under contractor's policy based on the particular indemnity bargain; distinguished as fact-specific and not a general rule.
  • relied: Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 715 — An excess insurer has no duty to defend until primary limits are exhausted and disparity in limits creates no equitable duty to contribute; distinguished as applying only to true primary/excess relationships.
  • relied: Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co. (1995) 10 Cal.4th 645 — Allocation of costs among insurers is committed to the trial court's broad discretion.
  • relied: Armstrong World Industries, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1 — Describes methods of apportioning loss among insurers and confirms trial court discretion in selecting an equitable method.
  • relied: Stonewall Ins. Co. v. City of Palos Verdes Estates (1996) 46 Cal.App.4th 1810 — Catalogs apportionment methods (policy limits, time on the risk, combined, equal shares) available for equitable contribution.
  • relied: Crouse v. Brobeck, Phleger & Harrison (1998) 67 Cal.App.4th 1509 — On summary judgment the burden does not shift to the opposing party until the moving party carries its initial burden.
  • relied: Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Superior Court (1994) 23 Cal.App.4th 1774 — Primary insurer must bear 100 percent of defense costs until primary limits are exhausted as against an excess insurer.
  • relied: American Continental Ins. Co. v. American Casualty Co. (1999) 73 Cal.App.4th 508 — Equitable contribution exists to equalize the common burden among coinsurers and prevent one from profiting at the others' expense.
  • relied: Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. v. Wilshire Film Ventures, Inc. (1997) 52 Cal.App.4th 553 — Equitable subrogation requires that the subrogee's equitable position be inferior to that of the insurer against whom recovery is sought.

The appellate opinion: sound — The court correctly identifies the controlling distinction between subrogation and contribution, applies settled contextual rules of policy interpretation to reject an isolated reading of the typewritten 'excess' sentence, and directly answers each authority respondents invoked (Buss, Rossmoor, Shell Oil) with accurate distinctions grounded in Reliance and Fireman's Fund. It also properly handles the procedural burden-shifting and waiver arguments and appropriately remands allocation to the trial court's discretion under Montrose and Armstrong rather than deciding it on a summary judgment record.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

Opinion — Haller

Opinion

HALLER, J.

This case involves the allocation of defense costs among insurers—two of which paid for the insured’s defense (Maryland Casualty Company and National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) and one of which did not (Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company). The court shifted the entire defense burden to Nationwide under equitable subrogation principles. We conclude the court erred because the equitable contribution doctrine, not subrogation, applies. We reverse and remand for the court to equitably allocate defense costs among these insurers.

Facts 1

Nielsen Construction Company, a general contractor, was hired to build a residential development. Nielsen retained numerous subcontractors to assist on the project, including West Coast Sheet Metal Inc. (West Coast) and R.W. Strang Mechanical, Inc. (Strang). The subcontract agreements required West Coast and Strang to name Nielsen “as an additional named insured and . . . provide[] specifically that such policies are primary and non-contributing with any other insurance carried or available to [Nielsen].”

Pursuant to these agreements, West Coast and Strang obtained liability insurance coverage from Nationwide and purchased additional insured endorsements. The endorsements stated that Nielsen was an insured under the *1087 policy “but this insurance with respect to [Nielsen] applies only to the extent that [Nielsen] is held liable for your acts or omissions arising out of and in the course of operations performed for [Nielsen] . . . .” The West Coast endorsement also contained the following typewritten language in capitalized letters; “ ‘Coverage provided to the additional insured under this endorsement is primary, but only with respect to acts or omissions of the named insured. Any other insurance maintained by the additional insured is deemed to be excess.’ ”

Nielsen was also insured under its own commercial general liability policies issued by respondents Maryland and National Union. Although those policies are not part of the appellate record, it is undisputed these policies, as purchased by Nielsen, were primary policies. 2

When the homeowners association sued Nielsen for construction defects, Nielsen tendered defense of the action to its own insurers (Maryland and National Union), and to each of the subcontractor insurers under the additional insured endorsements. Maryland and National Union ultimately paid for Nielsen’s defense in the action.

Maryland and National Union brought claims against each subcontractor insurer for recovery of the defense costs under equitable subrogation and equitable contribution theories, asserting the subcontractor insurers were primarily responsible for Nielsen’s defense under their additional insured endorsements. Although the other subcontractor insurers ultimately settled with Maryland and National Union, Nationwide denied it had a defense duty.

In Maryland Casualty Co. v. Nationwide Ins. Co., supra, 65 Cal.App.4th 21, we determined Nationwide owed a defense duty based on the additional insured endorsements, and remanded for the court to determine the amount Nationwide owed to Maryland and National Union. We reasoned that, under the particular language of the additional insured endorsements, Nationwide’s policies covered Nielsen’s vicarious liability for the acts of West Coast and Strang, and that Nationwide had a corresponding duty to defend Nielsen against claims potentially alleging this liability.

On remand, Maryland and National Union moved for summary judgment against Nationwide solely on the basis of the equitable subrogation doctrine. *1088 Maryland and National Union sought to recover all of their remaining defense costs, including amounts pertaining only to Nielsen’s own negligence. The court granted summary judgment in favor of Maryland and National Union, ruling that Nationwide was obligated to pay for these insurers’ unreimbursed defense costs. The court awarded Maryland $725,260.30 and awarded National Union $721,750. 3

Nationwide appeals, contending the trial court erred in applying the equitable subrogation doctrine to shift the entire remaining burden of Nielsen’s defense to Nationwide. Nationwide maintains Maryland and National Union were entitled only to a portion of the defense costs under an equitable contribution theory. We agree, and remand for the court to apply the equitable contribution doctrine to determine an appropriate allocation of defense costs among Maryland, National Union, and Nationwide.

Discussion

I. Equitable Subrogation Doctrine Is Not Applicable

Nationwide contends the court erred in granting summary judgment on respondents’ equitable subrogation claims.

In the insurance context, equitable subrogation and equitable contribution doctrines each pertain to the allocation of costs when there is more than one potentially responsible insurance company. But the two doctrines are “entirely different” concepts. (Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1998) 65 Cal.App.4th 1279, 1293 [77 Cal.Rptr.2d 296] (Fireman’s Fund).)

Equitable subrogation allows an insurer that paid coverage or defense costs to be placed in the insured’s position to pursue a full recovery from another insurer who was primarily responsible for the loss. (Fireman’s Fund, supra, 65 Cal.App.4th at p. 1291.) Because this doctrine shifts the entire cost burden, the moving party insurer must show the other insurer was primarily liable for the loss and that the moving party’s equitable position is inferior to that of the second insurer. (Id. at pp. 1291, 1296; see Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Wilshire Film Ventures, Inc. (1997) 52 Cal.App.4th 553, 556 [60 Cal.Rptr.2d 591].) This doctrine commonly applies to shift defense costs between primary and excess insurers. (See Signal Companies, Inc. v. Harbor *1089 Ins. Co. (1980) 27 Cal.3d 359, 367-368 [165 Cal.Rptr. 799, 612 P.2d 889, 19 A.L.R.4th 75]; Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co., supra, 72 Cal.App.4th at pp. 1080-1081.) As between those two insurers, the primary insurer is obligated to defend the insured and must bear 100 percent of the defense costs until the primary limits have been exhausted. (See Signal Companies, Inc. v. Harbor Ins. Co., supra, 27 Cal.3d at p. 368; Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Superior Court (1994) 23 Cal.App.4th 1774, 1779-1780 [29 Cal.Rptr.2d 32].) Thus, an excess insurer that pays defense costs will frequently obtain a full recovery against the primary insurer on an equitable subrogation theory.

Equitable contribution, on the other hand, applies to apportion costs among insurers that share the same level of liability on the same risk as to the same insured. (Fireman’s Fund, supra, 65 Cal.App.4th at pp. 1293-1294.) It “arises when several insurers are obligated to indemnify or defend the same loss or claim, and one insurer has paid more than its share of the loss or defended the action without any participation by the others.” (Id. at p. 1293.) “The purpose of this rule of equity is to accomplish substantial justice by equalizing the common burden shared by coinsurers, and to prevent one insurer from profiting at the expense of others.” (Ibid.; see American Continental Ins. Co. v. American Casualty Co. (1999) 73 Cal.App.4th 508, 513 [86 Cal.Rptr.2d 560].)

Respondents recognize the distinction between these contribution and subrogation theories, and concede that their policies were primary and covered the same insured (Nielsen) and the same risks as did Nationwide’s policy. They nonetheless argue they were entitled to recover all of their remaining defense costs under the equitable subrogation doctrine because the typewritten language in West Coast’s Nationwide policy converted their policies into excess policies, eliminating any defense duty on their part.

We agree that courts generally enforce the terms of insurance policies pertaining to allocation issues and the characterization of a policy as “primary” or “excess.” (See Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co., supra, 72 Cal.App.4th at p. 1075.) But respondents’ interpretation of Nationwide’s insurance policies is not reasonable. As with other types of contracts, the goal of insurance contract interpretation “is to give effect to the mutual intent of the parties. [Citation.] If contract language is clear and explicit, we ascertain this intent from the written provisions and go no further. [Citation.]” (Maryland Casualty Co. v. Nationwide Ins. Co., supra, 65 Cal.App.4th at p. 28.) But where the language is in any respect ambiguous or uncertain, the court must determine the interpretation that is most *1090 “ ‘consistent with the insured’s objectively reasonable expectations.’ ” (Id. at p. 30.) In so doing, “ ‘the court must interpret the language in context, with regard to its intended function in the policy. [Citation.] “[L]anguage in a contract must be construed in the context of that instrument as a whole, and in the circumstances of that case . . . (Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co., supra, 72 Cal.App.4th at p. 1074, italics omitted.)

The relevant policy provision added Nielsen as an insured under each subcontractor’s policy but stated “this insurance with respect to [Nielsen] applies only to the extent that [Nielsen] is held liable for your acts or omissions arising out of and in the course of operations performed for [Nielsen] . . . .” West Coast’s policy’s typewritten addition stated: “Coverage provided to the additional insured under this endorsement is primary, but only with respect to acts or omissions of the named insured. Any other insurance maintained by the additional insured is deemed to be excess.”

Reading these provisions in a consistent and reasonable manner, the basic additional insured provision created the limited vicarious liability coverage for the additional insured, and the typewritten provisions confirmed the limited nature of the coverage, and then characterized this limited coverage as primary to any other policy. (See Maryland Casualty Co. v. Nationwide Ins. Co., supra, 65 Cal.App.4th at pp. 30-34.) Under this interpretation, the equitable subrogation doctrine is inapplicable because each insurer remains primarily responsible for the defense. The typewritten language merely guides the allocation of coverage and defense costs with respect to vicarious liability claims pertaining to the named subcontractor.

Respondents urge us to apply another interpretation, asserting that the final sentence of the typewritten provision “[a]ny other insurance maintained by the additional insured is deemed to be excess” means that Nielsen’s other insurance policies—including the policies in which it is the named insured— are excess to Nationwide’s policy. While it may be possible to interpret the sentence in this manner when reading the words in isolation, it is not reasonable when viewing the sentence in context of the entire insurance policy. Respondents’ interpretation would alter the purpose and nature of the additional insured endorsement by creating coverage for all of Nielsen’s direct acts and for the other subcontractors’ acts. It would not be reasonable for the parties to so carefully delineate the limited scope of the additional insured coverage, and then in a single final sentence indirectly eliminate this limitation. While the final typewritten sentence refers to “excess” coverage, the endorsement does not state that Nationwide’s coverage supersedes other *1091 primary coverage for Nielsen’s own—as opposed to vicarious—liability as to the entire project. The endorsement is not reasonably susceptible to respondents’ interpretation.

Moreover, respondents’ position is not reasonable when viewed in the commercial context in which the policies arise. Nielsen, the general contractor, purchased its own primary coverage from Maryland and National Union and then bargained for each subcontractor to name it as an additional insured for its liability arising from each subcontractor’s acts. The homeowners association sought to recover against Nielsen based on strict liability, Nielsen’s own negligence, and the negligence of many of the subcontractors. To conclude that because Nationwide agreed to cover Nielsen’s vicarious liability for two of the many subcontractors that were sued, it should be saddled with the entire remaining cost of the defense pertaining to acts having nothing to do with its insureds merely because it initially denied a defense duty, would not be within the reasonable expectations of the parties.

“The test as to whether [a] party has the right to maintain the action for subrogation ‘involves a consideration of, and must necessarily depend upon the respective equities of the parties.’ ” (Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co., supra, 72 Cal.App.4th at p. 1081.) It would not be equitable in this case to permit the contractor’s primary insurance carriers to be relieved entirely of their defense obligations and to instead place this burden on an insurer for two of the numerous subcontractors on the project.

Maryland’s reliance on Buss v. Superior Court (1997) 16 Cal.4th 35 [65 Cal.Rptr.2d 366, 939 P.2d 766] is misplaced. Buss held an insurer has a duty to defend an entire action, but the insurer may later seek reimbursement from its insured for defense costs allocable solely to claims for which there was no potential coverage. (Id. at pp. 49-53.) Unlike Buss, the issue here is not the scope of Nationwide’s duty to defend. It is the allocation of costs among several insurers each of which had a duty to defend. Maryland maintains that because we held in our prior decision that Nationwide had a duty to defend, Nationwide was obligated under Buss to provide a “complete” defense for all claims. This assertion, however, proves nothing when determining the applicability of the equitable subrogation doctrine. The critical point is that respondents and Nationwide had parallel “complete” duties to defend. Nationwide had a duty to defend Nielsen because there was a potential Nielsen would be vicariously liable for Strang or West Coast’s alleged negligence. Likewise, Maryland and National Union had a duty to defend Nielsen because there was a potential Nielsen would be liable for its own negligence. Respondents undertook that duty, and Nationwide did not. *1092 The question now is the portion of the costs that Nationwide should equitably share for this duty. Buss does not provide an answer to this question.

Respondents’ reliance on Rossmoor Sanitation, Inc. v. Pylon, Inc. (1975) 13 Cal.3d 622 [119 Cal.Rptr. 449, 532 P.2d 97] is similarly misplaced. Rossmoor involved the rights and obligations of parties to an indemnity agreement (a general contractor/indemnitor and an owner/indemnitee), and of the parties’ respective insurers. Rossmoor upheld the lower court’s finding that the contractor was negligent and the owner was not actively negligent, requiring the contractor to indemnify the owner under the terms of the parties’ indemnity contract. (Id. at p. 633.) Rossmoor additionally held the owner’s insurance coverage provided by a direct insurer was excess over coverage provided by an additional insured provision in the contractor’s policy. (Id. at pp. 633-634.) But the court did not hold an indemnitee’s policy will always be excess. The court instead made clear it was reaching its conclusion based on the particular circumstances of the case. (Id. at p. 634.) The court said the “one factor” it found “compelling” was that the parties had specifically bargained for the contractor to bear the entire costs resulting from its negligent conduct and for the owner to be relieved of any liability where it was not actively negligent. (Ibid.)

In this case, there was no evidence showing that Nielsen and the two subcontractors had agreed the subcontractors would be responsible for costs that did not pertain to their work. Thus, the factual record does not support respondents’ position on the insurance allocation issues. Moreover, Ross-moor did not “purport to establish a general rule” that the terms of the underlying indemnity contract are necessarily controlling in determining the relative obligations of the parties’ insurance companies. (Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co., supra, 72 Cal.App.4th at p. 1081.) While the factual circumstances in Rossmoor may have created a relationship between the indemnity contract and the insurance allocation issues, there was no similar basis for the relationship in this case. 4

National Union next directs us to Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 715 [15 Cal.Rptr.2d 815], where the court stated (1) an excess insurer does not have a duty to defend until the primary insurer’s limits are exhausted; and (2) “[g]ross disparity between primary and excess liability limits does not create an equitable duty to contribute to defense *1093 costs.” (Id. at pp. 768, 769.) Because these statements were made in the context of an excess and primary policy, they are inapplicable here where we are dealing only with carriers that are primary carriers with respect to certain obligations and excess and primary as to others.

In sum, we conclude the fact that one of Nationwide’s policies imposed on Nationwide the primary obligation to pay for the additional insured’s vicarious liability coverage does not mean that Maryland and National Union are entitled to shift the entire obligation of Nielsen’s defense to Nationwide. An excess policy is one where no insurance obligation or defense duty attaches until the insurance limits for an underlying policy are exhausted. Respondents’ policies remained primary policies with respect to Nielsen’s own negligence, creating an immediate obligation to defend. While respondents had the right to obtain a partial reimbursement from other equally responsible insurers, they could do so only under the equitable contribution doctrine. Under these circumstances, the court erred in granting summary judgment on respondents’ equitable subrogation claim.

II. Equitable Contribution

Respondents alternatively contend the trial court properly granted summary judgment because Nationwide failed to proffer appropriate evidence of a proper division of costs under the equitable contribution theory. This argument is unavailing because Nationwide did not have an obligation to come forward with allocation evidence. Respondents asserted their summary judgment motions based solely on the equitable subrogation doctrine. Because Maryland and National Union failed to prove the circumstances permitted application of subrogation principles, the burden did not shift to Nationwide to show the proper division of costs under the equitable contribution doctrine. (See Code Civ. Proc., § 437c, subd. (o)(2); Crouse v. Brobeck, Phleger & Harrison (1998) 67 Cal.App.4th 1509, 1534-1535 [80 Cal.Rptr.2d 94].)

We also reject Maryland’s argument that Nationwide waived its right to seek allocation because it did not assert an affirmative defense of defense cost allocation. Maryland specifically alleged an equitable contribution theory in its complaint. This allegation was sufficient to raise the allocation issue. Nationwide did not have any additional duty to repeat the equitable contribution theory as an affirmative defense in its answer.

III. Trial Court’s Obligation on Remand

We remand the case for the trial court to allocate defense costs under the equitable contribution theory. In so doing, we reject Nationwide’s argument *1094 that we should determine its equitable share of the defense costs based on evidence presented in opposition to the summary judgment. The proper allocation of costs is within a trial court’s broad discretion. (See Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co. (1995) 10 Cal.4th 645, 681, fn. 19 [42 Cal.Rptr.2d 324, 913 P.2d 878]; Armstrong World Industries, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1, 51-55 [52 Cal.Rptr.2d 690].) The trial court did not have the opportunity to exercise this discretion.

While there is no single required method of apportionment, the ultimate goal of equitable contribution must be “to accomplish substantial justice by equalizing the common burden shared by coinsurers, and to prevent one insurer from profiting at the expense of others.” (Fireman’s Fund v. Maryland Casualty Co., supra, 65 Cal.App.4th at p. 1293.) Consistent with this objective, courts have developed several methods to quantify the insurers’ respective risks and achieve an equitable apportionment of loss, including methods based on policy limits, time on the risk, policy limits multiplied by time on the risk, equal shares, and other factors. (See Stonewall Ins. Co. v. City of Palos Verdes Estates (1996) 46 Cal.App.4th 1810, 1853-1854, fn. 14 [54 Cal.Rptr.2d 176]; Armstrong World Industries, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., supra, 45 Cal.App.4th at pp. 51-55.)

On remand, the trial court should consider all relevant factors, including the policy terms, to achieve an equitable apportionment of defense costs. We note that while Nielsen’s settlement proposal of defense cost apportionment may be a relevant factor, the trial court has the discretion to determine the admissibility and weight of this evidence.

Disposition

The judgment is reversed. On remand, the trial court shall apply the equitable contribution doctrine and reallocate the defense costs among the parties in accordance with the insurance contracts and equitable principles. Nationwide is entitled to costs on appeal.

Nares, Acting P. J., and McDonald, J., concurred.

A petition for a rehearing was denied June 27, 2000, and the petition of respondents National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania et al. for review by the Supreme Court was denied September 13, 2000.

1

Many of the relevant facts are set forth in our prior decision in this case, Maryland Casualty Co. v. Nationwide Ins. Co. (1998) 65 Cal.App.4th 21 [76 Cal.Rptr.2d 113]. For convenience, we set forth those facts again here. Additionally, we will refer jointly to Maryland Casualty Company (Maryland) and National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (National Union) as respondents. Our reference to National Union includes American International Specialty Lines Insurance Company, whose position in this action is identical to National Union’s position. We will refer to appellant Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company as Nationwide.

2

“ ‘Primary coverage is insurance coverage whereby, under the terms of the policy, liability attaches immediately upon the happening of the occurrence that gives rise to liability. . . . H] “Excess” ... is coverage whereby, under the terms of the policy, liability attaches only after a predetermined amount of primary coverage has been exhausted.’ ” (Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co. (1999) 72 Cal.App.4th 1063, 1076 [85 Cal.Rptr.2d 627].)

3

National Union presented evidence showing it had paid approximately $1.2 million in defense costs, and had recovered $564,894 from other additional insurers and/or subcontractors. Maryland presented evidence showing it had paid approximately $1.3 million in defense costs, and had recovered $613,549 from other additional insurers and/or subcontractors.

4

For similar reasons, we are unpersuaded by respondents’ focus on the subcontractors’ contractual agreement to procure insurance coverage. The issue here concerns a dispute between insurance carriers, not a dispute between the parties to the underlying contracts. The subcontractors’ compliance with their agreements to procure insurance is not at issue here.

Cites, in this corpus

Cited by