gno.law

Interinsurance Exchange v. Campbell

California Court of Appeal · D003993 · 1986-11-24 · Published · 187 Cal. App. 3d 242 · 232 Cal. Rptr. 27 · 1986 Cal. App. LEXIS 2248

INTERINSURANCE EXCHANGE OF THE AUTOMOBILE CLUB OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA, Plaintiff and Respondent, v. ROGER CAMPBELL Et Al., Defendants and Appellants

Proceeding
appeal
Trial court
Superior Court of San Diego County
Trial judge
Arthur W. Jones
Outcome
other — D003993. Fourth Dist., Div. One.
Area
civil
Panel
Edward T. Butler (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T07:43Z · confidence high

The trial court granted summary judgment to the Automobile Club, holding that the insurance policy's exclusion of liability for injury to an insured barred the adult children's wrongful death claim for their father. The Court of Appeal affirmed the judgment, despite expressing the view that the policy did not exclude coverage, in deference to the doctrine of stare decisis and reliance on prior conflicting case law.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Grant of summary judgment to Automobile Club based on policy exclusion of liability for injury to an insured.
“The court granted Automobile Club’s motion for summary judgment brought in its action for declaratory relief on the ground the policy excluded liability to the adult children.”
unclearcorrectagree with court
The appellate court affirmed the judgment, stating that while they believed the policy did not exclude coverage, they affirmed in deference to the doctrine of stare decisis and the insurance industry's reliance on prior case law (Brown and Stratton) that barred such coverage.

Authorities

  • relied: Farmers Ins. Exch. v. Brown (1967) 252 Cal.App.2d 120 — Held that a policy exclusion for death of a named insured bars the claim of adult children for the wrongful death of that insured, as the exclusion is valid under financial responsibility law.
  • relied: Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Stratton (1983) 145 Cal.App.3d 612 — Held that a policy exclusion for death of a named insured includes wrongful death actions brought by children, thereby excluding liability to the children.
  • relied: Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Cocking (1981) 29 Cal.3d 383 — Held that Insurance Code section 11580.1, subdivision (c), authorizes automobile liability insurers to exclude coverage for an insured's bodily injury liability to any other person insured under the policy.
  • relied: Abellon v. Hartford Ins. Co. (1985) 167 Cal.App.3d 21 — Held that a spouse's claim for loss of consortium is a separate, independent injury distinct from the primary injured party's bodily injury, supporting the argument that third-party claims are distinct.
  • relied: Garcia v. State of California (1967) 247 Cal.App.2d 814 — Held that a wrongful death action is an 'original and distinct' claim of the survivors, separate from the decedent's own claims.

The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court found the trial court's application of the exclusion correct based on binding precedent (Brown and Stratton), even though the panel believed those precedents were wrongly decided. The court prioritized legal stability and industry reliance over its own interpretation of the policy language and the distinct nature of wrongful death claims.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

record incomplete

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:32Z · confidence medium

The trial court granted the Automobile Club summary judgment in its declaratory relief action, ruling that the policy's exclusion for bodily injury to an insured barred coverage of the adult children's wrongful death claim against Alberta Campbell's estate for the death of their father John, also an insured. The Court of Appeal stated that it believed the policy did not exclude the children's independent wrongful death claim and that Brown and Stratton were wrongly decided, yet it affirmed in deference to those decisions and insurance-industry reliance, inviting Supreme Court review (which was later denied).

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Trial court's construction of exclusion (f) ('bodily injury to you or a relative') as barring the non-resident adult children's wrongful death claim against the estate of insured Alberta for the death of insured John
“Thus, we believe the policy does not exclude from coverage the claim of the adult children.”
unclearerroragree with court
The opinion does not articulate a standard, though construction of an insurance policy on summary judgment is a question of law. The court's substantive analysis is persuasive: under Code of Civil Procedure section 377, Garcia, Buckley v. Chadwick and related authority, heirs' wrongful death claims are original and distinct from the decedent's claim, so an exclusion of bodily injury 'to' an insured does not plainly reach a third party's independent claim, and exclusions are construed narrowly against the insurer. The court also sensibly distinguished Cocking as merely authorizing, not compelling, such exclusions and criticized Stratton's reliance on financial responsibility law language about 'injury' including 'death.'
Entry of summary judgment for the Automobile Club (affirmed)
“While we believe those cases were wrongly decided, an ordered jurisprudence suggests the conflict should be reviewed by higher authority. For these reasons, we affirm the judgment.”
unclearcorrect (law misapplied)disagree with court
The court affirmed a judgment it expressly believed to be wrong on the ground of stare decisis and industry reliance on Brown and Stratton. Under Auto Equity Sales, Inc. v. Superior Court (1962) 57 Cal.2d 450, a Court of Appeal is bound by Supreme Court decisions but not by decisions of other Courts of Appeal; where it disagrees it is free, and indeed obliged, to decide the case according to its own view, leaving conflicts to the Supreme Court. Having concluded the exclusion did not reach the children's claim, the court should have reversed; its deference rationale misapplies the doctrine of stare decisis and left the losing parties without the relief the court itself thought they were owed.

Authorities

  • relied: Farmers Ins. Exch. v. Brown (1967) 252 Cal.App.2d 120 — Named-insured exclusion, valid under the financial responsibility law, bars adult children's wrongful death claim against an insured for the death of a named insured; followed as controlling though the court believed it wrongly decided.
  • relied: Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Stratton (1983) 145 Cal.App.3d 612 — Named-insured exclusion includes wrongful death actions brought by heirs of the named insured; followed despite the court's disagreement.
  • relied: Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Cocking (1981) 29 Cal.3d 383 — Insurance Code section 11580.1, subdivision (c), permits but does not require insurers to exclude an insured's bodily injury liability to other insureds under the policy.
  • relied: Abellon v. Hartford Ins. Co. (1985) 167 Cal.App.3d 21 — A spouse's loss of consortium is a separate, independent injury making her a second person injured in the occurrence for purposes of policy limits.
  • relied: Garcia v. State of California (1967) 247 Cal.App.2d 814 — Heirs' wrongful death cause of action is original and distinct from any claim the decedent could have maintained.
  • relied: Buckley v. Chadwick (1955) 45 Cal.2d 183 — Heirs' wrongful death damages are their own and not derivative of the decedent's pain and suffering.
  • relied: State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Hartle (1976) 59 Cal.App.3d 852 — Policy excludes coverage for damages for which one insured is liable because of bodily injury to another insured.
  • relied: Grimshaw v. Ford Motor Co. (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 757 — The decedent's death triggers the heirs' wrongful death claim for their own loss.
  • relied: Estate of D'India (1976) 63 Cal.App.3d 942 — Wrongful death damages include the value of services and support the heirs would have received had the decedent lived.
  • missed: Auto Equity Sales, Inc. v. Superior Court (1962) 57 Cal.2d 450 — Decisions of the Supreme Court bind all lower courts, but one Court of Appeal is not bound by the decisions of another; a Court of Appeal that disagrees with a sister court may decide the issue according to its own view, and the Supreme Court resolves the resulting conflict.

The appellate opinion: questionable — The court's substantive analysis of the exclusion and the independent nature of heirs' wrongful death claims is well reasoned and supported by section 377 and the cited cases, but its disposition rests on a misunderstanding of stare decisis: under Auto Equity Sales a Court of Appeal is not bound by other Court of Appeal decisions and should decide according to its own view, leaving conflicts for the Supreme Court. Affirming a judgment the court expressly believed erroneous, on the basis of assumed industry reliance, is not a recognized ground for affirmance and the Supreme Court's later denial of review left the parties without the relief the court thought due.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

unusual disposition

Opinion — Butler

Opinion

BUTLER, J.

The Automobile Club of Southern California (Automobile Club) issued a policy of automobile insurance naming John D. Campbell and his wife Alberta R. Campbell as insureds. Alberta, driving a car covered under the policy with John as a passenger, crashed into another automobile. Both were killed. Roger Campbell and Sharon Ann Partridge, John’s son and daughter by an earlier marriage (the adult children), sued Alberta’s estate for the wrongful death of their father. The court granted Automobile Club’s motion for summary judgment brought in its action for declaratory relief on the ground the policy excluded liability to the adult children. The adult children appeal. While we believe the policy does not exclude coverage for the losses sustained by the adult children, in deference to the doctrine of stare decisis and reliance of the insurance industry on case law barring such coverage, we shall reluctantly affirm and suggest the Supreme Court review and resolve the issues here presented.

I

The policy requires the Automobile Club to pay “damages for which any person insured is legally liable because of bodily injury or property damage caused by an occurrence arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of an automobile or utility trailer insured under this part.” Persons insured *244 under the policy include John and Alberta and “a relative.” A relative is any person related to John or Alberta by blood, marriage or adoption “who is a resident of the same household” in which John and Alberta reside. The adult children were not residents of the household. They are not insureds under the policy.

Alberta was an insured and legally liable, as is her estate. Bodily injury under the policy means “bodily harm, sickness or disease, including death therefrom, including consequential damage from any of these.”

Excluded from liability under the policy is “bodily injury to you or a relative” (“What Is Not Covered—Exclusions—Part I, [subd.] (f).”) “You” includes John and Alberta. The policy thus excludes from coverage any damages for which Alberta’s estate, a derivative insured, is legally liable because of the death of John, an insured. (State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Hartle (1976) 59 Cal.App.3d 852 [131 Cal.Rptr. 141].) The court concluded the claim of the children for damages arose out of the wrongful death of John, an insured; as the policy excludes coverage for damages for the death of an insured, the claim of the adult children for damages arising out of that death is excluded from coverage under subdivision (f). The adult children argue their claim for damages does not derive from John’s death as an insured under the policy but rather from the wrong, independent of John’s status, they suffered because of Alberta’s negligence. Stated differently, they contend they are third parties whose cause of action for Alberta’s negligence arises from their status as John’s surviving children; while it is true the policy excludes coverage for damages to an insured for John’s death, third party claims against an insured responsible for the death are not excluded.

II

The Automobile Club cites cases to support its position. Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Stratton (1983) 145 Cal.App.3d 612 [193 Cal.Rptr. 119] concerned a wrongful death action brought against a permissive driver by children whose mother was killed while riding as a passenger in a car driven by the unrelated permissive driver. The insurance policy excluded liability of any insured for death of a named insured. The mother was a named insured; the defendant permissive driver was an insured. Without extended discussion or analysis, the court held the policy excluded any liability to the children for the death of the named insured, the mother, as ‘“the named insured’ exclusion includes wrongful death actions.” (Id., at p. 616.)

In Farmers Ins. Exch. v. Brown (1967) 252 Cal.App.2d 120 [60 Cal.Rptr. 1], cited in Stratton, adult children sued their father for the wrongful death *245 of their mother, a passenger in the car driven by the father. The policy in Brown excluded liability for death of a named insured {id. at p. 121). The court held the exclusion was valid under the financial responsibility law and barred the claim of the adult children for the wrongful death of their mother, a named insured. 1 Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Cocking (1981) 29 Cal.3d 383 [173 Cal.Rptr. 846, 628 P.2d 1] held Insurance Code 2 section 11580.1, subdivision (c), authorizes automobile liability insurers to exclude from coverage an insured’s bodily injury liability to any other person insured under the policy.

Cocking pointed out section 11580.1, subdivision (c), permitted, but did not require, exclusion of coverage for bodily injury liability to insureds who are usually family household members. “The primary basis underlying the use of this exclusion has been well described in a recent Indiana case: ‘ [Tjhe concept of a household exclusion is a common one which has long enjoyed judicial support. Its purpose is to prevent suspect inter-family legal actions which may not be truly adversary and over which the insurer has little or no control. Such an exclusion is a natural target for the insurer’s protection from collusive assertions of liability. [H] . . . [Tjhe freedom of the parties to exclude risks from an insurance contract is well established. [Citations.]’ (United Farm Bur. Mut. Ins. Co. v. Hanley (1977) 172 Ind.App. [329] . . . fns. omitted . . . .” (Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Cocking, supra, 29 Cal.3d at p. 389.)

Ill

The adult children say Brown, cited by Stratton, is an artifact of earlier years before emergence of strict interpretation of policy exclusions; they claim Stratton is fatally flawed in its reasoning and Cocking, cited by Stratton, simply validates policy exclusions of liability for injury or death of an insured against another. The adult children rely on our decision in Abellon v. Hartford Ins. Co. (1985) 167 Cal.App.3d 21 [212 Cal.Rptr. 852], *246 to support their argument third party claims against an insured for the wrongful death of another insured are not excluded from coverage.

Carlos Abellon was injured when his car collided with a vehicle insured by Hartford Insurance Company. The policy limits were $250,000 for each person and $500,000 for each occurrence. Carlos’s damage suit against the vehicle owner for his injuries and his wife’s claim for loss of consortium was settled and judgment entered—$750,000 for Carlos and $250,000 for his wife. Hartford paid the $250,000 policy limit to Carlos and declined to pay the wife’s claim, contending the “per person” limits had been paid. The wife contended the “per occurrence” limit of $500,000 was applicable. We held the wife suffered a separate, independent injury, loss of consortium, as a result of the accident and was a second person injured in the occurrence.

Relying on Abellon, the adult children here contend they suffered a separate, distinct loss attributable to Alberta’s negligence and not derivative of John’s death.

This contention of the adult children was anticipated in the dissent in Brown: “Heirs, however, seeking damages for the wrongful death of an ancestor, do not assert the ancestor’s claims. Their cause of action is wholly separate and distinct. (Compare Code Civ. Proc., § 377 with Prob. Code, § 573; see also Fuentes v. Tucker, 31 Cal.2d 1,9. . .; Dickenson v. Southern Pac. Co., 172 Cal. 727 . . .; Garcia v. State of California, 247 Cal.App.2d 814, 816 . . .; 2 Witkin, Summary Cal. Law (1960) Torts, § 374, p. 1577.) Here, appellants assert their own claims, not those of Effie.” (Farmers Ins. Exch. v. Brown, supra, 252 Cal.App.2d 120 at p. 124.) An action brought by children for wrongful death of a parent is, of course, a new cause of action based upon their pecuniary loss and distinct from any the parent might have maintained had he or she survived. (4 Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law (8th ed. 1974) Torts, § 785(b), p. 3083; Code Civ. Proc., § 377.)

In Abellon, we held the policy there extended coverage to “‘all damages resulting from bodily injury caused by any one accident.’” (Abellon v. Hartford Ins. Co., supra, 167 Cal.App.3d 21 at p. 32.) Reasoning the provision did not specifically state that damages must result from bodily injury to one physically present at the accident scene, we held coverage extended to all persons damaged as “a result of bodily injuries sustained in the accident.” (Ibid.)

The exclusion of policy coverage for the death of an insured occasioned by an insured under the same policy does not compel the conclusion an *247 uninsured third party claim for the wrongful death of an insured is likewise excluded. The cause of action here is an “original and distinct” claim of the adult children for John’s wrongful death, maintained against Alberta’s estate. (Garcia v. State of California (1967) 247 Cal.App.2d 814, 816 [56 Cal.Rptr. 80].) John’s death simply triggered the claim (Grimshaw v. Ford Motor Co. (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 757, 831 [174 Cal.Rptr. 348]) of the adult children for the loss they suffered because of the death, including the value of the services and support they might have received had John not died (Estate of D’India (1976) 63 Cal.App.3d 942, 947 [134 Cal.Rptr. 165]). Their injuries are not derivative of John’s pain and suffering (Buckley v. Chadwick (1955) 45 Cal.2d 183, 192 [288 P.2d 12]).

We respectfully disagree with the holdings in Brown and Stratton. We conclude Code of Civil Procedure section 377 sanctions the rights of the adult children to recover for their injuries as being separate and distinct from John’s injuries. Thus, we believe the policy does not exclude from coverage the claim of the adult children.

However, our role as an intermediate Court of Appeal includes constraints on pronouncements of judgments at variance with holdings of other courts relied upon by affected industries. We assume the insurance industry in determination of policy language and rate fixing has relied on Brown, decided in 1967, as affirmed in 1983 by Stratton. While we believe those cases were wrongly decided, an ordered jurisprudence suggests the conflict should be reviewed by higher authority. For these reasons, we affirm the judgment. Each party to bear their own costs.

Wiener, Acting P. J., and Work, J., concurred.

A petition for a rehearing was denied December 12, 1986, and appellants’ petition for review by the Supreme Court was denied February 4, 1987.

1

Interestingly, Stratton picks up language used in Brown which construes the word “injury” to include “death” under the financial responsibility law. In concluding the word “injury” included death, the Stratton court reasoned any other construction would “‘permit an insurer to exclude coverage for any injury to an assured, however permanent and crippling, but would bar such exclusion if the injury resulted in death. That construction unjustifiably assumes a legislative illiberality to the maimed, in contrast to an oddly inconsistent concern for adult heirs of the dead.’” (Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Stratton, supra, 145 Cal.App.3d 612 at p. 616, quoting from Farmers Ins. Exch. v. Brown, supra, 252 Cal.App.2d 120 at p. 123.) Stratton language referring to the meaning of “injury” as used in the financial responsibility law is irrelevant to the issue of wrongful death actions as excluded from coverage under an automobile insurance policy when injury is there defined as including death.

2

All statutory references are to the Insurance Code unless otherwise specified.

Cites, in this corpus

Cited by