gno.law

Barczewski v. Commonwealth Land Title Insurance

California Court of Appeal · D008045 · 1989-04-18 · Published · 210 Cal. App. 3d 406 · 258 Cal. Rptr. 386 · 1989 Cal. App. LEXIS 458

SANDRA L. BARCZEWSKI, Plaintiff and Appellant, v. COMMONWEALTH LAND TITLE INSURANCE COMPANY Et Al., Defendants and Respondents

Area
civil
Panel
Howard B. Wiener (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T07:39Z · confidence high

The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of the title insurance company, ruling that the policy did not cover the plaintiff's claims regarding the priority of liens based on off-record fraudulent conduct. The Court of Appeal affirmed, holding that standard title insurance policies do not cover matters outside the public record or chain of title, and that the duty to defend does not exist when there is no potential for indemnity.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Granting of summary judgment in favor of defendants Commonwealth Land Title Insurance Company and Union Land Title Company.
“Plaintiff Sandra L. Barczewski, individually and as trustee of the Sandra L. McDowell-Barczewski Trust (collectively Sandra) appeals from the summary judgment in favor of the defendants Commonwealth Land Title Insurance Company and Union Land Title Company (collectively Commonwealth). We affirm.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The appellate court reviewed the legal question of insurance coverage de novo, determining that the trial court correctly applied the law that title insurance does not cover off-record matters. The court affirmed the judgment, finding that the plaintiff's claims relied on facts outside the public record, which are excluded from standard title insurance coverage, and thus no duty to defend existed.
Refusal to limit appellate review to the specific exclusion (9(a)) cited by the trial court, allowing review of broader legal arguments.
“While it is preferable for the trial court sitting in a law and motion department to have the benefit of every argument before reaching a decision, matters of law which will support the trial court’s ruling may be considered on appeal even when they are not presented to the trial court.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The court applied the standard that appellate courts may affirm a trial court's ruling on any legal ground supported by the record, even if not raised below. The court found that the broader issue of whether title insurance covers off-record matters was a pure question of law on undisputed facts, justifying its review beyond the specific exclusion cited by the trial court.

Authorities

  • relied: Safeco Title Ins. Co. v. Moskopoulos (1981) 116 Cal.App.3d 658 — Standard title insurance policies do not cover claims based on tortious conduct or matters outside the public record, even if the policy language is ambiguous; ambiguity is construed against the insurer but does not create coverage for off-record risks.
  • relied: Gray v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263 — Ambiguities in insurance policy language are construed against the insurer, and the duty to defend is broader than the obligation to indemnify.
  • relied: Jarchow v. Transamerica Title Ins. Co. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 917 — There is no duty to defend if there is no possibility that the insurer would be obligated to indemnify the insured on the facts alleged.
  • relied: Jaffe v. Cranford Ins. Co. (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 930 — Supports the principle that the duty to defend is contingent on the potential for indemnity.
  • relied: Snider v. Snider (1962) 200 Cal.App.2d 741 — Appellate courts may consider matters of law that support a trial court's ruling even if those arguments were not presented to the trial court.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly applies established California law regarding the scope of title insurance, specifically that standard policies do not cover off-record matters or tortious conduct unrelated to the chain of title. It properly distinguishes the duty to defend from the duty to indemnify, correctly concluding that no duty to defend exists when indemnity is impossible.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:32Z · confidence medium

The trial court granted summary judgment to Commonwealth Land Title Insurance Company and Union Land Title Company on Sandra Barczewski's claims for bad faith, Insurance Code section 790.03 violations, breach of fiduciary duty and declaratory relief, holding the title insurer had no duty to defend or indemnify her against CAC's cross-claim seeking to reverse lien priority. The Court of Appeal affirmed, holding that CAC's claims rested on off-record tortious dealings outside standard title insurance coverage, that Moskopoulos's finding of ambiguity in exclusion 9 did not create coverage, and that the trial and appellate courts could rest the judgment on legal grounds beyond the specific exclusion argued.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Grant of summary judgment: Commonwealth's standard CLTA lender's title policy afforded no coverage, and therefore no duty to indemnify or defend, against CAC's 15th cause of action seeking to subordinate or invalidate the insured trust deed based on off-record fraudulent dealings and a post-policy joint venture agreement.
“It is axiomatic that matters outside the public record are outside the chain of title which a title insurer must examine before issuing a standard California Land Title Association policy, the type of policy which was issued in this case.”
de novocorrectagree with court
CAC's priority claim arose from the September 20, 1984 agreement (after the September 14 policy date) and from the Barczewskis' own alleged fraud and diversion of funds, so it falls outside the insuring clauses and within exclusion 9(a) (matters created or agreed to by the insured) and the post-policy limitation. Moskopoulos, Jarchow and Jaffe support the conclusion that where no indemnity is possible on the facts alleged, there is no duty to defend. The court's broad statement that title insurance never reaches off-record matters is overstated (Moskopoulos itself lists covered off-record risks such as forgery or incapacity), and the court did not squarely address CAC's lack-of-consideration theory under insuring clause 5, but that defect too was created by the insured's own conduct, so the result holds.
Sandra's argument that exclusion 9 had been held ambiguous as a matter of law in Safeco Title Ins. Co. v. Moskopoulos, so the trial court could not grant summary judgment.
“In such circumstances there is no legal basis for an insured to have a reasonable expectation of coverage. Moreover, since there is no possibility Commonwealth would be obligated to indemnify Sandra on the facts as alleged in the complaint, there was no duty to provide a defense.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The court correctly read Moskopoulos: ambiguity results in construction against the insurer, not elimination of the exclusion, and Moskopoulos itself found no duty to defend claims attacking the manner in which title was acquired rather than record title. Sandra's reliance on an isolated statement about ambiguity ignored the holding of the same case.
Rejection of Sandra's attempt to confine appellate review to exclusion 9(a), the only ground argued in Commonwealth's summary judgment motion; the court held it could consider legal grounds supporting the judgment not presented below.
“matters of law which will support the trial court’s ruling may be considered on appeal even when they are not presented to the trial court.”
de novocorrectagree with court
Snider v. Snider and the general rule that a judgment correct on any legal theory will be affirmed support considering purely legal grounds on undisputed facts. The court properly distinguished factual matters, which must first be presented to the trial court. The opinion does not discuss whether Sandra had an opportunity to respond to the new theories on appeal, but the coverage question was fully briefed by both sides.
The trial court was not required to limit its summary judgment ruling to the specific argument Commonwealth presented and could rely on another valid legal ground.
“A trial court should be complimented, not criticized when it recognizes there is another valid and legal reason to support a summary judgment motion when it can do so without depriving the responding party of a fair hearing.”
unclearcorrectagree with court
The court found no unfairness in the trial court's reliance on a broader legal ground and treated the matter as within the trial court's power. The opinion does not detail what notice Sandra had of the alternative ground, so the fair-hearing conclusion rests on the court's assertion rather than a described record, but nothing in the opinion suggests prejudice.

Authorities

  • relied: Safeco Title Ins. Co. v. Moskopoulos (1981) 116 Cal.App.3d 658 — A standard title policy does not cover third-party claims attacking the insured's conduct in acquiring title rather than record title; ambiguity in exclusion 9 is construed against the insurer but does not create coverage, and the insurer had no duty to defend.
  • relied: Snider v. Snider (1962) 200 Cal.App.2d 741 — An appellate court may consider matters of law supporting the trial court's ruling even when not presented to the trial court.
  • relied: Gray v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263 — Ambiguities in a policy are construed against the insurer and the duty to defend is broader than the duty to indemnify.
  • relied: Jarchow v. Transamerica Title Ins. Co. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 917 — A title insurer has no duty to defend where there is no possibility it would be obligated to indemnify on the facts alleged.
  • relied: Jaffe v. Cranford Ins. Co. (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 930 — No duty to defend arises where the claims alleged cannot possibly fall within the policy's indemnity coverage.
  • missed: Hocking v. Title Ins. & Trust Co. (1951) 37 Cal.2d 644 — Title insurance insures the condition of record title, not the value or marketability of the land or matters outside title; binding Supreme Court authority that would have anchored the court's description of the scope of title insurance.

The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court reached a defensible result with the right authorities: CAC's priority claim arose from post-policy agreements and the insured's own alleged fraud, and Moskopoulos, Jarchow and Jaffe support finding no duty to defend where indemnity is impossible. The opinion's categorical statement that title insurance never covers off-record matters is broader than Moskopoulos (which recognizes covered off-record risks like forgery), and it did not directly analyze the lack-of-consideration invalidity theory under insuring clause 5 or cite Hocking, leaving gaps in otherwise sound reasoning.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

Opinion — Wiener

*408 Opinion

WIENER, Acting P. J.

Plaintiff Sandra L. Barczewski, individually and as trustee of the Sandra L. McDowell-Barczewski Trust (collectively Sandra) appeals from the summary judgment in favor of the defendants Commonwealth Land Title Insurance Company and Union Land Title Company (collectively Commonwealth). We affirm.

Factual and Procedural Background

This case and related litigation which we will describe revolves around the unsuccessful development of 260 acres of unimproved land in San Diego, commonly known as Rancho Del Sol.

For the purposes of our narrative Rancho Del Sol was owned at one time or another by Sandra, her husband Robert, family trusts, or wholly owned corporations. Sandra’s complaint here entitled “tortious breach of insurance contract” seeks general, special, and punitive damages against Commonwealth alleging breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, violations of Insurance Code section 790.03, subdivision (h) and breach of its fiduciary duty with respect to a cross-complaint filed by Commercial Acceptance Corporation (CAC). Sandra’s action also requests declaratory relief to establish that Commonwealth had the duty to defend and to indemnify her with respect to part of CAC’s verified cross-complaint. The court’s granting of Commonwealth’s motion for summary judgment denied Sandra all redress. To understand her claims against Commonwealth we refer to the allegations of CAC’s cross-complaint which contain the following information.

Before 1984 Rancho Del Sol was owned by the “Robert Barczewski and Sandra Barczewski 1977 Family Trust.” Robert was the trustee.

In July 1983 Robert asked CAC for a loan to develop the property. Ultimately, CAC loaned $1,321,000 to the Family Trust. The promissory note reflecting the loan was secured by a trust deed recorded July 29, 1983. In February 1984 Robert transferred title of the property to Pacific Solar Realty, a corporation wholly owned by him and his wife. Soon thereafter Pacific Solar Realty filed a bankruptcy petition seeking relief under Chapter XI. During these proceedings title was transferred to Pacific Solar Properties, Inc., a corporation wholly owned by Robert. During the summer of 1984 Robert renewed his negotiations with CAC hoping to develop the property with CAC in a joint venture. While these negotiations were underway Robert, on behalf of Pacific Solar Properties, Inc., executed a $3.2 million trust deed on August 9, 1984, naming himself as trustee and the *409 Barczewski Family Trust as beneficiary. This trust deed was recorded on September 14, 1984, and was insured by the terms of a standard title insurance policy issued by Commonwealth effective September 14, 1984, at 5 p.m.

The negotiations for the proposed joint venture progressed through September 20, 1984, when the parties signed a tentative “joint venture agreement.” The agreement, although signed, is described by us as tentative, because the parties orally agreed to make numerous later amendments. These amendments included CAC’s commitment to make an additional secured loan of $2,550,000 to Pacific Solar Properties Inc. to develop the property, to be paid in installments secured by trust deeds. These trust deeds were to be given priority over other encumbrances on the property held by Pacific Solar Properties, Inc. for the Family Trust. CAC did not know that the $3.2 million trust deed in favor of the Family Trust had been recorded.

CAC loaned the $2,550,000; the Barczewskis allegedly diverted and misappropriated the funds for their own personal use; Rancho Del Sol was not developed.

After reaching the September 20, 1984, agreement with CAC, Robert assigned his beneficial interest under the insured September 14 trust deed to Sandra which she then assigned to herself as trustee of the Sandra L. McDowell/Barczewski Trust.

The foregoing events are drawn from the allegations set out in CAC’s cross-complaint containing 15 causes of action against Pacific Solar Properties, Inc., Robert individually and as trustee of the Barczewski Family Trust, and Sandra individually and as trustee of the Sandra L. McDowell/Barczewski Trust. The first 14 causes of action seek damages on traditional tort/contract theories of fraud and misrepresentation, conversion, breach of fiduciary duty, breach of contract, and bad faith arising out of the September 20, 1984, agreement and the Barczewskis’ later conduct. CAC’s cross-complaint does not seek to quiet title nor was a lis pendens filed.

Our concern here is with CAC’s 15th cause of action for declaratory and injunctive relief alleging CAC’s $2,550,000 loan should be given priority over the earlier recorded September 14, 1984, trust deed. CAC’s claim for reversal of priorities is premised on contractual obligations of legal and equitable subordination or the invalidity of the earlier trust deed because it lacks consideration.

Sandra requested Commonwealth to defend her as to this cause of action. Commonwealth declined to do so. The trial court agreed with Commonwealth. This appeal ensued.

*410 Discussion

The relatively simple issue that emanates from the less than simple events described above, is whether Commonwealth’s title insurance policy afforded coverage to Sandra such that it had a duty to indemnify or at least to defend her.

Preliminarily we reject Sandra’s attempt to limit the scope of our review by restricting our inquiry to the applicability of a specific exclusion in the title insurance policy, exclusion 9(a), asserting this was Commonwealth’s sole basis for its summary judgment. Sandra says we cannot review Commonwealth’s additional arguments presented in this appeal which were not part of the record below.

While it is preferable for the trial court sitting in a law and motion department to have the benefit of every argument before reaching a decision, matters of law which will support the trial court’s ruling may be considered on appeal even when they are not presented to the trial court. (See e.g., Snider v. Snider (1962) 200 Cal.App.2d 741, 756 [19 Cal.Rptr. 709].) Although decisions resting on factual matters must first be addressed to the trial court, an appellate court is designed to decide matters of law resting on undisputed facts. Thus here there is no reason for us to myopically focus on exclusion 9(a) when the broader question of insurance coverage is properly before us.

Our decision to examine this case with an enhanced perspective is also prompted by our view that Sandra’s attack on the judgment is an attack on the concept of title insurance itself. Her contentions seem to hinge on a premise that a policy of title insurance covers matters outside the chain of title and which do not appear of record. We say this because her pleadings and briefs acknowledge that CAC expressly alleges the “Family Trust deed was recorded first and was hence entitled to legal priority as a matter of public record” but that these legal priorities should be reversed because of allegedly fraudulent transactions. While Sandra vigorously disputes the correctness of many of CAC’s allegations, she does not contest the fact the allegations relate to matters outside the public record. It is axiomatic that matters outside the public record are outside the chain of title which a title insurer must examine before issuing a standard California Land Title Association policy, the type of policy which was issued in this case. This type of insurance cannot include matters involving personal dealings between individuals even though those dealings may involve the development of real property when those dealings are not part of the public record. If we were to accept Sandra’s blanket assertion of coverage in this case, we would dramatically change the function and purpose of title insurance with enormous social and financial repercussions. We refuse to do so. Although our rejec *411 tion of Sandra’s basic premise may be a sufficient reason for us to affirm the judgment, we nonetheless discuss the authorities she relies upon in greater detail.

Commonwealth’s policy required it to defend and indemnify Sandra in the event claims were made against her by reason of “5. Invalidity of the lien of the insured mortgage upon said estate or interest . . . [1J] (6) Priority of any lien or encumbrance over the lien of the insured mortgage, said mortgage being shown in Schedule B in the order of its priority; or [11] (7) Invalidity of any assignment of the insured mortgage, provided such assignment is shown in Schedule B.” In denying the claim Sandra emphasizes that Commonwealth stated that “all matters in the original action were either post policy events or excluded from coverage.” Sandra points out that in spite of this general statement Commonwealth’s summary judgment motion relied solely on the applicability of the boilerplate language of exclusion 9 which provides in part: “Defects, liens, encumbrances, adverse claims, or other matters (a) created, suffered, assumed or agreed to by the insured claimant; (b) not shown by the public records and not otherwise excluded from coverage but known to the insured claimant either at Date of Policy or at the date such claimant acquired an estate or interest insured by this policy . . .”

In light of the foregoing Sandra asserts the trial court had no choice but to deny a motion for summary judgment because exclusion 9 had been judicially determined in Safeco Title Ins. Co. v. Moskopoulos (1981) 116 Cal.App.3d 658 [172 Cal.Rptr. 248, 18 A.L.R.4th 1301] to be “ambiguous” as a matter of law. Although Sandra correctly says Moskopoulos contains language relating to the ambiguity of that provision (at p. 667) she overlooks other, equally important language. Moskopoulos also states that, “the consequence flowing from a finding of ambiguity is not eradication of the ambiguous statement, but the interpretation of it against the insurer.” (Ibid., italics added.) Moskopoulos holds that notwithstanding the policy’s ambiguity the insured was not entitled to recover explaining that there is no coverage when the real property transaction between the individuals had no effect on the public record.

In Moskopoulos the insured (Moskopoulos) was a real estate broker who, after somewhat acrimonious negotiations including litigation and a settlement with his former clients, acquired their house on Mulholland Drive. Moskopoulos’s title was insured by Safeco. After the deed was recorded the irritated sellers along with an equally frustrated potential purchaser, Martin Klass, sued Moskopoulos (the Klass action) in six causes of action alleging interference with contractual relations; for a constructive trust; fraud; breach of fiduciary duty; rescission; and abuse of process, all of which were *412 based on events leading up to Moskopoulos’s purchase of the house. Moskopoulos tendered the defense of the action to Safeco. Safeco agreed to defend subject to reserving its rights and instituting a declaratory relief action to determine coverage. In that action (Moskopoulos) the court held the Klass action was outside the coverage of the policy, expressly stating the ambiguity of provision 9 did not require a different result. Moskopoulos first recited the frequently stated maxims that “ ‘any ambiguities in language of a policy are to be construed against the insurer’ ” and “the duty to defend is broader than the obligation to indemnify.” (116 Cal.App.3d at p. 664, citing Gray v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263, 269 [54 Cal.Rptr. 104, 419 P.2d 168].) Moskopoulos then applied these principles which it said compelled “the conclusion that Safeco had no duty to provide appellant’s defense.” (At p. 665.)

“The facts alleged in the Klass action pertain to the conduct of [Moskopoulos] and [his agent] in their relations with the [sellers]. The Klass action relates not to [Moskopoulos’s] title in the property, but to the manner in which he acquired title. Under [Moskopoulos’s] theory that the Klass action and lis pendens constitute a defect in the title and render the title unmarketable, a title company insuring a buyer of real property under a standard form title policy such as the Safeco policy, notwithstanding an otherwise impeccable title, would have a potential liability to defend the insured in any third party action brought against the insured seeking rescission of the sale on any ground set forth in Civil Code section 1689, subdivision (b), or seeking to impress a constructive trust on the real property for the benefit of another, unless eliminated from coverage by the exclusionary clause. No reasonable construction of the policy could yield that result, nor could the insured reasonably expect the insurer to provide a defense under those circumstances.” (116 Cal.App.3d at pp. 665-666, fns. omitted.)

Further, Moskopoulos explained: “The allegations in the Klass complaint allege intentionally tortious conduct by appellant, not a defect in his title. There is not a suggestion in the record or the briefs of any matter constituting a defect in or lien or encumbrance on the record title to the Mulholland property, except as disclosed in the policy. Nor is there any suggestion of any off-record risk in the chain of title coming within the policy coverage, such as a forged, altered or improperly delivered deed, incompetency, incapacity, marital rights, or irregularities in any probate proceeding. As to unmarketability of appellant’s title, there is nothing in the record that indicates that the title was in any way unmarketable on the effective date of the policy. Any effect the recording of the Klass lis pendens had on the marketability of the title occurred after the effective date of the policy and is outside the policy coverage. An insurance company may limit the coverage of a policy issued by it. When it has done so, the plain language of the limitation must be respected. [Citation.] Neither appellant’s conduct *413 leading up to the Klass action or the filing of the Klass action . . . can reasonably be construed within the policy coverage.” (116 Cal.App.3d at p. 666.)

Thus Moskopoulos makes clear that tortious conduct involving behavior which does not constitute matters on the public record is not within coverage afforded in the standard policy of title insurance. In such circumstances there is no legal basis for an insured to have a reasonable expectation of coverage. Moreover, since there is no possibility Commonwealth would be obligated to indemnify Sandra on the facts as alleged in the complaint, there was no duty to provide a defense. (See Jarchow v. Transamerica Title Ins. Co. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 917, 942 [122 Cal.Rptr. 470]; see also Jaffe v. Cranford Ins. Co. (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 930, 933-934 [214 Cal.Rptr. 567].)

Our decision also reflects our rejection of Sandra’s suggestion that the trial court here was required to limit its decision to an analysis of the specific argument presented. A trial court should be complimented, not criticized when it recognizes there is another valid and legal reason to support a summary judgment motion when it can do so without depriving the responding party of a fair hearing. Here the court’s action was neither unfair nor improper. The court’s prudent use of judicial resources was well within the exercise of its power.

Disposition

Judgment affirmed.

Benke, J., and Huffman, J., concurred.

Cites, in this corpus

Cited by