Allstate Insurance v. Condon
ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY, Plaintiff and Respondent, v. HEIDI CONDON Et Al., Defendants and Appellants
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- Kathryn Todd (author)
Analysis
The trial court granted Allstate’s motion for summary judgment, determining that the insurance policy provided no coverage for the accident because the vehicle was excluded under the 'regular use' provision. The Court of Appeal affirmed the judgment, holding that while the term 'non-owned' was ambiguous and construed in favor of coverage, the exclusionary clause regarding 'a person insured' was unambiguous and validly excluded the driver from coverage.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Granting of summary judgment denying coverage based on the 'non-owned auto' exclusion clause.“The trial court, after a hearing, granted the motion concluding the Allstate policy “provide[d] no coverage regarding any possible liability arising out of the automobile accident of September 2, 1981, . . . .”” | de novo | correct | agree with court The appellate court correctly applied the standard of review for summary judgment and insurance contract interpretation. It properly identified that while 'non-owned' was ambiguous (favoring coverage), the specific exclusionary language regarding 'regular use' by 'a person insured' was clear and unambiguous under controlling precedent (Warwick) and statutory definitions (Ins. Code § 11580.1). The court correctly rejected the argument that placement outside the 'Exclusions' section created ambiguity, citing Eastman. The reasoning is legally sound and supported by the cited authorities. |
Authorities
- relied: Government Employees Ins. Co. v. Kinyon (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 213 — The term 'owner' is ambiguous and must be interpreted in the manner understood by the average person to maximize coverage.
- relied: California State Auto Assn. Inter-Ins. Bureau v. Warwick (1976) 17 Cal.3d 190 — The term 'any insured' unambiguously refers to all persons, named or unnamed, receiving coverage under the policy.
- relied: State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. v. Jacober (1973) 10 Cal.3d 193 — Distinguished from Warwick; 'the insured' refers to a specific individual, unlike 'any insured' which has a plural connotation.
- relied: Metz v. Universal Underwriters Ins. Co. (1973) 10 Cal.3d 45 — Public policy favors monetary protection for injured persons, but this does not require insurers to provide coverage at no cost where a valid exclusion exists.
- relied: Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. (1962) 58 Cal.2d 862 — Contractual provisions in insurance policies need not be perfectly drafted but must be conspicuous, plain, and clear.
- relied: Becker v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (1975) 52 Cal.App.3d 282 — Policy language that could be more explicit is not necessarily ambiguous if its meaning is clear.
- relied: State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. v. Eastman (1984) 158 Cal.App.3d 562 — Placement of an exclusionary clause outside the 'Exclusions' section exacerbates existing ambiguity but does not render an otherwise unambiguous clause ambiguous.
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly distinguishes between the ambiguous term 'non-owned' (which favors the insured) and the unambiguous exclusionary clause 'a person insured' (which favors the insurer), relying on the controlling Supreme Court precedent in Warwick and the statutory definitions in the Insurance Code. The court effectively addresses the Condons' arguments regarding drafting precision and clause placement by citing relevant case law that rejects the creation of ambiguity where none exists.
The trial court granted Allstate's motion for summary judgment on its declaratory relief complaint, concluding that Joyce Willoughby's auto policy provided no coverage for her son Brian Susberry's accident while driving a Toyota registered to her but used exclusively by him. The Court of Appeal affirmed, agreeing with the Condons that the undefined term "non-owned" was ambiguous and so construing the Toyota as nonowned as to Susberry, but holding that the regular-use limitation ("available or furnished for the regular use of a person insured") was unambiguous and barred coverage, and amending the judgment to dispose of the Condons' cross-complaint.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Grant of summary judgment declaring the Allstate policy provided no coverage for liability arising from the September 2, 1981 accident“For the reasons set forth below, we affirm the order of the trial court.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The opinion never states a standard of review, but it independently construes the policy language as a question of law, which is the correct approach to summary judgment turning on policy interpretation. The result follows from Warwick's treatment of plural-connotation terms and the long-recognized regular-use exclusion; the facts (exclusive use by the resident relative, no premium paid on the Toyota) were undisputed. |
Treatment of the Toyota as a 'non-owned auto' as to Susberry under the policy's coverage grant“Thus, construing coverage in a light most favorable to the Condons, we conclude the auto is nonowned as to Susberry.” | de novo | harmless error | agree with court The Court of Appeal sided with the Condons on this point, finding the undefined term 'owner' ambiguous under Kinyon and construing it against the insurer; to the extent the judgment rested on Allstate's ownership theory, the appellate court rejected that theory but found it did not change the outcome because the regular-use limitation applied. Kinyon supports treating 'owner' as a context-dependent term construed to maximize coverage, so the reasoning is defensible, though the court's reliance on Susberry's objected-to deposition statements (used only to 'illustrate' ambiguity) is somewhat awkward. |
Enforcement of the limitation excluding nonowned autos 'available or furnished for the regular use of a person insured' to deny coverage“There is no logical method to construe the phrase as singling out any particular insured person within the coverage of the policy.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Warwick held that 'any insured' unambiguously refers to all persons insured, distinguishing Jacober's 'the insured'; 'a person insured' is indefinite and carries the same plural connotation, so the Condons' reading that it means only the named insured is strained. The court's further step of treating Insurance Code section 11580.1, subdivision (c)(8)'s definition of 'an insured' as literally defining 'a person insured' in the policy overstates a statute that by its terms governs specified statutory paragraphs, but that is an analogy and the result stands on Warwick alone. |
Rejection of the argument that because a more precise term ('any person insured') was available, the exclusion must be construed against Allstate“A contractual provision (even in an insurance policy) need not be perfectly drafted; it must be “conspicuous, plain and clear.”” | de novo | correct | agree with court Steven and Becker establish that the test is whether the language is conspicuous, plain and clear, not whether the drafter could have been more explicit; the availability of a clearer phrase does not itself create ambiguity. |
Rejection of the argument that placement of the regular-use language in the coverage section rather than under 'Exclusions' requires construction in favor of coverage“We refuse to manufacture ambiguity where it does not exist.” | de novo | correct | agree with court The court correctly read Eastman as holding that placement outside the exclusions section aggravates an existing ambiguity rather than creating one; an unambiguous limitation placed within the definition of insured autos remains enforceable, and the opinion notes the limitation was conspicuous to the insureds. |
Failure of the trial court to dispose of the Condons' cross-complaint in the judgment“Since there was no disposition of the Condon cross-complaint in the trial court, this court hereby amends the judgment below to include an order entering judgment for the cross-defendants (Allstate) in that matter.” | unclear | error (procedure) | agree with court The judgment left the cross-complaint unresolved, which the appellate court cured by amending the judgment to enter judgment for Allstate on the cross-complaint, citing Easton and Roy Brothers Drilling. Because the coverage determination necessarily disposed of the cross-complaint's claims, the amendment is consistent with the cited authority and avoids a one-final-judgment problem. |
Authorities
- relied: Government Employees Ins. Co. v. Kinyon (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 213 — The undefined term 'owner' in an auto policy is a nomen generalissimum, ambiguous, to be read as the average person would and construed to maximize coverage consistent with fairness to the insurer.
- relied: California State Auto. Assn. Inter-Ins. Bureau v. Warwick (1976) 17 Cal.3d 190 — Exclusions must be clear and unmistakable but are enforced when unambiguous; 'any insured' unambiguously refers to all named and unnamed insureds under the policy, unlike 'the insured.'
- relied: State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Jacober (1973) 10 Cal.3d 193 — An exclusion referring to 'the insured' is ambiguous as to whether it reaches persons other than the insured against whom the claim is made; distinguished by Warwick.
- relied: Metz v. Universal Underwriters Ins. Co. (1973) 10 Cal.3d 45 — California public policy favors monetary protection for persons injured by negligent use of the highways.
- relied: Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. (1962) 58 Cal.2d 862 — Policy limitations on coverage must be conspicuous, plain and clear to be enforced.
- relied: Becker v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (1975) 52 Cal.App.3d 282 — Policy language that could be more explicit is not for that reason ambiguous.
- relied: State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Eastman (1984) 158 Cal.App.3d 562 — Doubts about ambiguous coverage-limiting language are resolved against the insurer, particularly where the limitation is not placed under the 'Exclusions' heading.
- relied: Easton v. Strassburger (1984) 152 Cal.App.3d 90 — An appellate court may amend a judgment to dispose of an unresolved cross-complaint whose claims are necessarily determined by the judgment.
- relied: Roy Brothers Drilling Co. v. Jones (1981) 123 Cal.App.3d 175 — An appellate court may modify a judgment to dispose of a pending cross-complaint so as to render it final.
The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The opinion answers each of the Condons' arguments with the governing Supreme Court authority (Warwick, Jacober, Steven) and reaches a result consistent with the long-established regular-use exclusion, and its reading of Eastman is accurate. It skips any statement of the standard of review, leans on objected-to deposition testimony to illustrate ambiguity, and stretches Insurance Code section 11580.1, subdivision (c)(8), into a definition of policy language it does not by its terms govern, though those gaps do not undermine the result.
Opinion — Todd
Opinion
TODD, J.Heidi and George Condon appeal from a summary judgment in favor of Allstate Insurance Company. 1 Allstate filed an action seeking a declaration of the rights of the respective parties concerning an auto insurance policy insuring Joyce Childs Willoughby. Willoughby’s son, Brian Keith Susberry, while driving a Toyota, struck Heidi Condon as she walked through an intersection. The Condons allege multiple errors were made when the trial court granted Allstate’s summary judgment motion, denying coverage under the policy. First, because “owner” or “non-owned” are not more precisely defined, “non-owned” is ambiguous and must be interpreted so as to afford the Condons coverage. Second, the court could not properly deny recovery based upon the special nonowned auto exclusion clause because: 1. it is ambiguous; 2. a more descriptive word could have been used to characterize the scope of exclusion; and, 3. the excluding language is not placed in a section marked “Exclusions.” For the reasons set forth below, we affirm the order of the trial court.
Facts
Joyce Willoughby owned an Allstate automobile insurance policy for the period June 27, 1981, through December 27, 1981. This policy named one covered auto—a 1976 Cadillac. While title was in Willoughby’s name, a second auto, a Toyota, was driven, maintained and repaired exclusively by her son, Brian Susberry. The Toyota was not listed as an insured vehicle in the policy.
On September 2, 1981, Susberry, while driving the Toyota, struck and severely injured Heidi Condon as she walked through a downtown intersection. The Condons filed suit against Susberry and his mother; Allstate refused to defend either party. The Condons made a settlement demand upon Allstate, alleging Susberry was insured under his mother’s policy as a relative driving a nonowned automobile. This demand was refused by Allstate. On October 13, 1983, as part of a court-ordered settlement *151 conference, Susberry stipulated to a judgment of $160,000 against him and assigned all his right and interest in the Allstate policy to the Condons. On October 14, 1983, Allstate filed a complaint for declaratory relief asking the court to conclude the Allstate policy provided no coverage for Susberry or his mother. On May 2, 1986, Allstate brought a summary judgment motion concerning its complaint for declaratory relief. The trial court, after a hearing, granted the motion concluding the Allstate policy “provide[d] no coverage regarding any possible liability arising out of the automobile accident of September 2, 1981, . . . .” This appeal ensued.
Discussion
I
The Allstate insurance policy contains this coverage provision:
“Insured Autos
“(4) A non-owned auto used with the permission of the owner. This auto must not be available or furnished for the regular use of a person insured.” The Allstate policy does not further define “owner” or “non-owned.” Allstate argues either Susberry or his mother was the owner, 2 despite the fact his mother was the registered owner. The Condons argue “owner” and “non-owned” are ambiguous terms requiring the court to interpret “non-owned” so as to favor coverage under the policy. We agree with the Condons.
In Government Employees Ins. Co. v. Kinyon (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 213, 222 [173 Cal.Rptr. 805], the court found the term “owner,” without more precise definition, ambiguous. In so holding, the court reasoned: “[T]he word ‘owner’ is a nomen generalissimum. Its meaning is to be gathered from the context in which it is used and the subject matter to which it is applied. . . . ‘Owner’ is to be interpreted in a manner in which it would be understood by the average man, . . . even though a different or technical meaning may have been intended by the insurer; and . . . should be construed to maximize coverage in a fashion consonant with the fairness to the insurer.” (Ibid.) The instant case provides a classic example of the differing relationships between a person and a “thing” which may be characterized as ownership. The mother, as the Condons suggest, is the registered owner of the Toyota; however, for all intents and purposes, Susberry exerted the *152 type of control over the Toyota an average person would consider consonant with ownership. In fact, Susberry himself apparently admitted in his deposition that he considered himself the owner of the vehicle. 3 The multiple interpretations advanced by Allstate on the question of ownership highlight the ambiguity of the term “non-owned.” Thus, construing coverage in a light most favorable to the Condons, we conclude the auto is nonowned as to Susberry. (Ibid.)
II
The above conclusion requires us to consider a second term contained in the paragraph previously interpreted. The policy excludes non-owned coverage if the nonowned auto is “available or furnished for the regular use of a person insured.” The Condons argue the term “a person insured” is ambiguous, thus the court erred when it enforced this exclusionary provision so as to deny coverage under the policy. We disagree.
A long history of California cases and Insurance Code 4 section 11580.1, subdivision (b)(3), 5 provide that an exclusionary clause in an auto insurance policy cannot be enforced unless the clause is phrased in clear and unmistakable language. (California State Auto Assn. Inter-Ins. Bureau v. Warwick (1976) 17 Cal.3d 190, 194 [130 Cal.Rptr. 520, 550 P.2d 1056].) However, if the exclusion is not ambiguous, it is to be enforced. (Id. at p. 195.) The Condons contend Susberry, as a nonowner, is provided coverage while driving his mother’s (the owner) Toyota, since that auto was not “furnished for the regular use of a person insured” here, the mother. They argue “a person insured” need not be construed to include Susberry (clearly an additional insured under the policy), 6 but rather suggest only Willoughby is that person under these circumstances. If “a person insured” *153 means only one insured, or only the named insured, this theory could be so applied. We must, therefore, determine whether the term “a person insured” is susceptible of the construction contended by the Condons.
In California State Auto. Assn. Inter-Ins. Bureau v. Warwick, supra, 17 Cal.3d 190, 195, the Supreme Court determined “any insured” unambiguously referred to all persons, named or unnamed, receiving coverage under the policy. In so holding, the court distinguished State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. v. Jacober (1973) 10 Cal.3d 193 [110 Cal.Rptr. 1, 514 P.2d 953], a case interpreting the meaning of “the insured”: “In our view, Jacober is distinguishable because its exclusion clause refers to injuries to ‘the insured,’ while the present policy refers to injuries sustained by ‘any insured.’ The term ‘any insured’ has a plural connotation, unlike ‘the insured.’ . . .
“In view of the popular and accepted meaning of the word ‘any,’ the term ‘any insured’ unmistakably refers to any person insured under the policy, whether such person is a named or unnamed insured, ...” (California State Auto Assn. Inter-Ins. Bureau v. Warwick, supra, 17 Cal.3d 190, 195, fns. omitted, original italics.)
“A person insured” in the Allstate policy has a plural connotation similar to “any insured.” “A person insured” logically refers to any one of all the persons insured under the policy. There is no logical method to construe the phrase as singling out any particular insured person within the coverage of the policy.
Section 11580.1, subdivision (c)(8), provides another analogous definition. The section reads, in pertinent part: “The term ‘the insured’ as used in paragraphs (1), (2), (3), and (4) shall mean only that insured under the policy against whom the particular claim is made or suit brought. The term ‘an insured’ as used in paragraphs (5) and (6) shall mean any insured under the policy . . . .” (Italics added.) Thus, “an insured” is defined as referring to all insureds under the policy, contrasted to one insured person when identified as “the insured.”
It is true the Allstate policy herein refers to “a person insured” (italics added). “A” and “an” are analogous modifiers; one or the other is used dependent upon whether the word it modifies begins with a consonant or a vowel sound. Words beginning with consonant sounds are properly modified by “a.” “An” is used to precede words beginning with vowel sounds. If Allstate had used the term “an person insured,” the policy provision would have been grammatically incorrect. Because proper grammar necessitated this deviation from the precise statutory language, for purposes of section 11580.1, subdivision (c), “a person insured” is the functional analog *154 of “an insured person.” The Insurance Code thus defines “a person insured” as “any person insured under the policy.”
Therefore, the construction advanced by the Condons is untenable. Susberry, because he is an insured person using a nonowned car on a regular basis with permission, is excluded from protection under the policy. Likewise, the Condons, as Susberry’s assignees, cannot recover.
Were we to conclude “a person insured” is ambiguous and therefore refuse to enforce the exclusion, an untenable situation would unfold. Susberry is the exclusive operator of the Toyota, while his mother is the registered owner. Neither maintained any insurance for the Toyota; his mother did, of course, have a policy for the Cadillac vehicle she drove. Without the exclusion, Susberry would be allowed exclusive use of a vehicle registered in his mother’s name and receive insurance protection for his use of that vehicle—without anyone ever paying a single penny in premiums on the Toyota. We realize there is a compelling public policy to provide “ ‘. . . “monetary protection to that ever changing and tragically large group of persons who while lawfully using the highways . . . suffer grave injury through the negligent use of those highways by others.” ’ ” (Metz v. Universal Underwriters Ins. Co. (1973) 10 Cal.3d 45, 53 [109 Cal.Rptr. 698, 513 P.2d 922].) However, this public policy cannot be effectuated so as to require insurance companies to provide coverage at no cost. Requiring Allstate to cover the Condons for no charge where a statutorily approved and defined exclusion exists is an unlawful fiscal burden and cannot be placed on Allstate.
III
The Condons next allege, because “any person insured” would have been a more precise term to describe an exclusion designed to cover all persons under the policy, we are required to construe the exclusionary clause in favor of the Condons. This contention is without merit. A contractual provision (even in an insurance policy) need not be perfectly drafted; it must be “conspicuous, plain and clear.” (Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. (1962) 58 Cal.2d 862, 878 [27 Cal.Rptr. 172, 377 P.2d 284].) As this court held in Becker v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (1975) 52 Cal.App.3d 282, 286 [124 Cal.Rptr. 739], “[w]hile the language of the policy . . . could be more explicit, we do not find it ambiguous.”
IV
Finally, the Condons allege, because the exclusion language was not in the section of the policy delineating exclusions to coverage, we must *155 interpret the exclusionary language so as to afford the Condons coverage. We disagree.
Where a policy provision is ambiguous, particularly where it purports to limit the insured’s coverage but is not included in the section marked exclusions, “ ‘doubts as to meaning must be resolved against the insurer,’ . . .” (State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. v. Eastman (1984) 158 Cal.App.3d 562, 568 [204 Cal.Rptr. 827].) Eastman stands for the proposition that existing ambiguity in an exclusion clause is exacerbated where that exclusionary language is placed under a policy heading other than “Exclusions.” The court in no way intimates an otherwise unambiguous exclusion clause is rendered ambiguous due to its mere placement under a heading other than “Exclusions.” We refuse to manufacture ambiguity where it does not exist. Susberry and the Condons were properly appraised of the exclusion involving regular use of a nonowned auto, although it was included in the section describing coverage.
Disposition
The order is affirmed.
Wiener, Acting P. J., and Work, J., concurred.
Since there was no disposition of the Condon cross-complaint in the trial court, this court hereby amends the judgment below to include an order entering judgment for the cross-defendants (Allstate) in that matter. (Easton v. Strassburger (1984) 152 Cal.App.3d 90, 110 [199 Cal.Rptr. 383, 46 A.L.R.4th 521]; Roy Brothers Drilling Co. v. Jones (1981) 123 Cal.App.3d 175, 180-181 [176 Cal.Rptr. 449].)
Susberry exerted exclusive control over the car’s use and care.
Acknowledging the Condons’ objection to the admittance of these statements, we use this testimony only to illustrate the ambiguity of the term “non-owner” in the policy.
All statutory references are to the Insurance Code unless otherwise specified.
Section 11580.1, subdivision (b)(3) reads as follows:
“(b) Every policy of automobile liability insurance to which subdivision (a) applies shall contain all of the following provisions:
“(3) Designation by explicit description of the purposes for which coverage for such motor vehicles is specifically excluded.”
The policy defines persons insured as follows, in part: “Persons Insured
“(1) While using your insured auto
(a) You
(b) Any resident, and
(c) Any other person using it with your permission
“(2) While using a non-owned auto
(a) You
(b) Any resident relative of your household using a four wheel private passenger, station wagon or utility auto.” (Italics added.)
Cites, in this corpus
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Eastman B002528 · 1984-07-24
- Easton v. Strassburger Civ. 53113 · 1984-02-22
- Roy Brothers Drilling Co. v. Jones Civ. 60171 · 1981-08-28
- Government Employees Insurance v. Kinyon Civ. 22494 · 1981-05-15
- California State Automobile Ass'n Inter-Insurance Bureau v. Warwick S.F. 23429 · 1976-06-21
- Becker v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Civ. 12978 · 1975-10-17
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Jacober Docket Nos. L.A. 30042, 30045. S.F. No. 22933 · 1973-10-15
- Metz v. Universal Underwriters Insurance L.A. 29857 · 1973-09-11
- Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. L. A. 26927 · 1962-12-18
Cited by
- HWA 555 Owners v. RGN-San Francisco XXIV CA1/1 A163137 · 2023-01-31
- Century-National Insurance v. Garcia S179252 · 2011-02-17
- Van Ness v. Blue Cross of California A088368, A088539 · 2001-02-27
- De May v. Interinsurance Exchange of Automobile Club G015426 · 1995-02-28
- Castro v. Allstate Insurance CV 93-1538 H (CM) · 1994-03-22
- Viking Insurance v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance C013826 · 1993-07-26
- National Union Fire Insurance v. Lynette C. C008219 · 1991-03-25
- National Auto. & Casualty Ins. Co. v. Stewart A042979 · 1990-07-26
- National Automobile & Casualty Insurance v. Stewart No. A042979 · 1990-07-26
- Bartlome v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. A041940 · 1989-03-23
- Suarez v. Life Insurance Co. of North America B030111 · 1988-12-13