gno.law

Dill v. Claims Administration Services, Inc.

California Court of Appeal · D001811 · 1986-03-20 · Published · 178 Cal. App. 3d 1184 · 224 Cal. Rptr. 273 · 1986 Cal. App. LEXIS 2735

PAUL DILL, Plaintiff and Appellant, v. CLAIMS ADMINISTRATION SERVICES, INC., Defendant and Respondent

Area
civil
Panel
Howard B. Wiener (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T07:44Z · confidence high

The trial court sustained the defendant's demurrer to all five causes of action, ruling that the workers' compensation system was the plaintiff's exclusive remedy. The Court of Appeal reversed the demurrer for four counts, holding the independent claims administrator was a third party subject to suit, but affirmed the demurrer for the unfair insurance practices count because self-insurance is not the 'business of insurance.'

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Sustaining demurrer to Counts 1, 2, 3, and 5 based on the exclusive remedy bar of the workers' compensation statutes.
“The trial court answered this question by sustaining CAS’s demurrer to each of Dill’s five causes of action without leave to amend. We disagree with the trial court’s rationale, but conclude that the demurrer as to one of the causes of action was properly sustained...”
de novoerroragree with court
The appellate court held that under Labor Code section 3852 and the Supreme Court's decision in Unruh v. Truck Insurance Exchange, an independent claims administrator for a self-insured employer is a 'person other than the employer' and thus not subject to the exclusive remedy bar. The court found the trial court's reliance on the exclusive remedy doctrine erroneous for these counts because CAS was not the employer or an insurer.
Sustaining demurrer to Count 4 based on Insurance Code section 790.03 (unfair insurance practices).
“We accordingly conclude the trial court properly sustained CAS’s demurrer as to the fourth cause of action.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The appellate court affirmed the trial court's ruling on this count, reasoning that Insurance Code section 790.03 applies only to entities 'engaged in the business of insurance.' Citing Richardson v. GAB Business Services, Inc., the court determined that self-insurance does not involve the contractual risk shifting essential to insurance, and thus CAS was not engaged in the business of insurance.

Authorities

  • relied: Unruh v. Truck Insurance Exchange (1972) 7 Cal.3d 616 — Established that the exclusive remedy bar does not apply to third parties other than the employer or insurer, and recognized an exception for intentional torts by insurers.
  • relied: Richardson v. GAB Business Services, Inc. (1984) 161 Cal.App.3d 519 — Held that self-insured entities and their claim administrators are not 'engaged in the business of insurance' for purposes of Insurance Code section 790.01.
  • relied: Denning v. Esis Corp. (1983) 139 Cal.App.3d 946 — Held that the superior court lacks jurisdiction over suits against independent claims administrators for self-insured employers, a holding the current court found unpersuasive.
  • relied: Santiago v. Employee Benefits Services (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 898 — Followed Denning in holding that suits against independent claims administrators are barred by the exclusive remedy doctrine, a holding the current court found unpersuasive.
  • relied: Ricard v. Pacific Indemnity Co. (1982) 132 Cal.App.3d 886 — Limited the Unruh exception to cases involving objectively identifiable and independently tortious conduct by an insurer.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly distinguishes between the exclusive remedy bar for employers/insurers and the liability of third-party administrators under Labor Code section 3852, relying on the Supreme Court's precedent in Unruh. It also correctly applies the statutory definition of 'business of insurance' to exclude self-insured entities from the unfair insurance practices statute.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:32Z · confidence medium

The trial court sustained without leave to amend the claims administrator's demurrer to all five causes of action (bad faith, breach of fiduciary duty, conversion, Insurance Code § 790.03(h), and intentional infliction of emotional distress) on the sole ground that the workers' compensation system was the employee's exclusive remedy. The Court of Appeal reversed as to four counts, holding that an independent claims administrator for a self-insured employer is a person "other than the employer" under Labor Code § 3852 and may be sued in superior court, but affirmed as to the § 790.03 count because a self-insurer's administrator is not "engaged in the business of insurance."

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Sustaining demurrer to counts 1, 2, 3 and 5 on the ground that workers' compensation is the exclusive remedy against the self-insured employer's independent claims administrator
“A literal reading of sections 3850 and 3852 does not preclude a suit in the superior court against a person or entity who is neither an employer nor an insurer.”
de novoerrorunsure
The court's textual reading of §§ 3850 and 3852 and its reliance on the Unruh passage about Truck's agents and investigator is a plausible reading of the statutes, and it candidly acknowledged and explained its disagreement with Denning and Santiago. But the Unruh passage concerned defendants accused of independently tortious conduct (which would fall within the Unruh exception anyway), and the court did not address the argument that an administrator paying benefits on the employer's behalf performs the employer's own statutory obligation and so stands in the employer's shoes. The California Supreme Court later resolved this split against Dill in Marsh & McLennan, Inc. v. Superior Court (1989) 49 Cal.3d 1, holding that claims administrators for self-insured employers share the exclusive remedy protection subject to the Unruh exception. On the opinion alone the reasoning is defensible, but given the dicta-based foundation and later disapproval I cannot say the court was right.
Sustaining demurrer to count 4 under Insurance Code § 790.03(h), affirmed on the independent ground that a self-insurer's claims administrator is not engaged in the business of insurance
“We accordingly conclude the trial court properly sustained CAS’s demurrer as to the fourth cause of action.”
de novocorrectagree with court
Insurance Code § 790.01 limits the article to persons engaged in the business of insurance; Richardson v. GAB Business Services held that self-insurance lacks the contractual shifting of risk essential to insurance, and the court reasonably noted that the subdivisions of § 790.03(h) speak of policies and insureds, concepts foreign to self-insurance. Considering a ground not raised below was proper because it presented a pure question of law (Hale v. Morgan). The result is well supported.
Treating the appeal from a nonappealable order sustaining a demurrer as an appeal from a judgment of dismissal by modifying the order
“Dill purports to appeal from the order sustaining the demurrer, which is technically not an appealable order.”
de novocorrectagree with court
Modifying an order sustaining a demurrer without leave to amend to include a dismissal and treating it as an appealable judgment under Code of Civil Procedure § 581d was the accepted practice, supported by Wilson v. Household Finance Corp. and Witkin.

Authorities

  • relied: Unruh v. Truck Insurance Exchange (1972) 7 Cal.3d 616 — An insurer is treated as the employer's alter ego under Labor Code § 3850 and generally shares exclusive remedy immunity, except for intentionally tortious conduct; agents and an independent investigator of the carrier were persons other than the employer under § 3852 subject to civil suit.
  • relied: Baugh v. Rogers (1944) 24 Cal.2d 200 — An employee's right to sue a third person is not affected by the fact that the third person has a consensual legal relationship with the employer.
  • relied: Bell v. Industrial Vangas, Inc. (1981) 30 Cal.3d 268 — A person other than the employer may be sued at law notwithstanding a contractual relationship with the employer.
  • relied: Ricard v. Pacific Indemnity Co. (1982) 132 Cal.App.3d 886 — The Unruh exception for insurers requires allegations of objectively identifiable, independently tortious conduct distinguishable from normal claims investigation.
  • relied: Denning v. Esis Corp. (1983) 139 Cal.App.3d 946 — Held exclusive remedy bars suit against a self-insured employer's independent claims administrator; the court expressly declined to follow it as unpersuasive.
  • relied: Santiago v. Employee Benefits Services (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 898 — Followed Denning in barring suit against a self-insurer's claims administrator; the court declined to follow it.
  • relied: Richardson v. GAB Business Services, Inc. (1984) 161 Cal.App.3d 519 — A self-insured entity and its claims adjusters are not engaged in the business of insurance under Insurance Code § 790.01 because self-insurance involves no contractual shifting of risk.
  • relied: Hale v. Morgan (1978) 22 Cal.3d 388 — An appellate court may consider a legal argument not raised below when it presents solely a question of law.
  • relied: Wilson v. Household Finance Corp. (1982) 131 Cal.App.3d 649 — An order sustaining a demurrer without leave to amend may be modified to include a dismissal and treated as an appealable judgment.

The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The opinion applies a literal reading of Labor Code §§ 3850 and 3852 and Insurance Code §§ 790.01 and 790.03, squarely confronts the contrary Denning and Santiago decisions, and correctly resolves the § 790.03 question under Richardson. It rests the exclusive remedy holding largely on an Unruh passage involving defendants accused of independent torts and does not address whether an administrator discharging the employer's own payment obligation should be treated as the employer, a gap that the Supreme Court later filled against this opinion's position in Marsh & McLennan (1989) 49 Cal.3d 1.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

Opinion — Wiener

Opinion

WIENER, J.

Do the exclusive remedy provisions of the workers’ compensation system preclude this action by plaintiff Paul Dill against defendant Claims Administration Services, Inc. (CAS), the independently retained claims administrator for a self-insured employer who is alleged to have intentionally failed to pay workers’ compensation benefits despite a recognition that payment of such benefits was legally mandated? The trial court answered this question by sustaining CAS’s demurrer to each of Dill’s five causes of action without leave to amend. We disagree with the trial court’s rationale, but conclude that the demurrer as to one of the causes of action was properly sustained on the independent ground that because “insurance” and “self-insurance” are not identical, a claims administrator for a self-insured entity is not “engaged in the business of insurance” for the purposes of the statute defining unfair insurance practices.

In reaching these conclusions, we defer to the literal meaning of the Labor and Insurance Codes, which we believe are the result of energetic legislative advocacy on the part of most if not all the affected interests. We apply the literal meaning of the statutory provisions on the basic assumption the Legislature said what it meant. While this judicially restrained approach yields a conclusion favoring plaintiff Dill on the exclusive remedy issue, it also supports defendant CAS’s reading of the unfair insurance practices statute. Accordingly, we affirm in part and reverse in part.

I

After Dill had worked as a disability claims clerk for Kaiser Permanente Medical Group for several years, he began to develop various medical problems including distorted vision, headaches, perception difficulties and numbness. Unable to work, Dill filed a claim for workers’ compensation benefits with Kaiser in May 1982, alleging that his medical difficulties arose out of his employment. Kaiser is self-insured. Dill’s claim was reviewed by CAS which administered Kaiser’s workers’ compensation program. In June, Kaiser filed an answer with the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board in *1187 which it admitted Dill’s headaches were a work-related injury but denied the remainder of his allegations.

After CAS refused to make any payments of any workers’ compensation benefits, Dill filed this action.

Dill’s complaint alleges violation of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing (count 1); breach of fiduciary duties (count 2); conversion of the insurance benefits to which he was entitled (count 3); breach of the statutory duties established by Insurance Code section 790.03, subdivision (h) (count 4); and intentional infliction of emotional distress (count 5). In essence, Dill says CAS’s refusal to pay was in bad faith. He claims CAS knew he was entitled to benefits but nonetheless persisted in maintaining that no benefits were due. As a result, Dill argues, “he has been hounded by his creditors and has suffered severe anxiety, worry and mental distress.”

CAS demurred on the sole ground that the complaint failed to allege sufficient facts to avoid the exclusive remedy bar of the workers’ compensation statutes. The court sustained the demurrer, concluding only that “the exclusive remedy of Plaintiff is pursuant to the applicable State Workers Compensation statutes.” Dill appeals. 1

II

Labor Code section 3601 2 states the general rule that the workers’ compensation system is “the exclusive remedy for injury or death of an employee against... the employer . . . .” Section 3852 makes clear, however, that the workers’ compensation statutes do not affect the employee’s right to bring an action for damages “against any person other than the employer.” Section 3850 then further qualifies this general qualification by providing the word “‘[Employer’ includes insurer . . . .” Thus, as the Supreme Court explained in Unruh v. Truck Insurance Exchange (1972) 7 Cal.3d 616, 625 [102 Cal.Rptr. 815, 498 P.2d 1063], “[A] literal reading of [section 3850] would negate an action at law against the insurer as a third party under section 3852. In other words, the insurer would retain immunity from lawsuit as the 'alter ego’ of the employer.” (Italics in original.)

*1188 In Unruh, the employee sued her employer’s insurance carrier and others in the superior court alleging various negligent and intentionally tortious acts in the investigation of her workers’ compensation claim. The major part of the opinion concerns Unruh’s claim against the carrier, Truck Insurance Exchange (Truck). The court determined that while allegations of an insurer’s negligence were subject to the exclusive remedy bar, an exception to the “literal reading” of section 3850 should be recognized whenever the complaint alleged that the insurer acted in an intentionally tortious manner in its investigation of an employee’s claim for benefits. (7 Cal.3d at pp. 624, 630-631.) This aspect of Unruh has been limited by later Court of Appeal decisions to cases in which the employee alleges not only that the insurer’s conduct was intentional but also specifies “objectively identifiable” and “independently tortious” conduct which is “distinguishable from the normal investigation expected of a workers’ compensation carrier.” (Ricard v. Pacific Indemnity Co. (1982) 132 Cal.App.3d 886, 893 [183 Cal.Rptr. 502]; see also, e.g., Depew v. Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. (1982) 135 Cal.App.3d 574, 577 [185 Cal.Rptr. 472]; Everfield v. State Comp. Ins. Fund (1981) 115 Cal.App.3d 15, 19 [171 Cal.Rptr. 164].)

Ricard and similar post-Unruh cases deal solely with the insurer’s ability to invoke the exclusive remedy bar. Here, CAS is not the insurer. Kaiser is self-insured and CAS performs administration and investigation services for Kaiser’s self-insurance program. A literal reading of sections 3850 and 3852 does not preclude a suit in the superior court against a person or entity who is neither an employer nor an insurer. This conclusion is confirmed by another portion of the Unruh opinion which considered whether demurrers filed by Farmers Insurance Group and Robert Wishman, agents of Truck, and William Baker, an insurance investigator employed by Truck (apparently as an independent contractor) were properly sustained: “It is convenient to note at this point that [the exclusive remedy] issue before us pertains only to defendant Truck, the sole compensation carrier of plaintiff’s employer. Defendants Farmers and Wishman, its agents, are clearly not the employer’s insurers and at least on the face of the complaint are subject to civil suit as third parties. Defendant Baker, the investigator employed by Truck, is also subject to civil suit as a third party regardless of Truck’s independent liability as principal [citations]. We, therefore, conclude that the above defendants, other than defendant Truck, are persons ‘other than the employer’ within the meaning of section 3852, against whom plaintiff was entitled to bring an action for damages, and that the trial court erred in sustaining the demurrers on the ground of lack of jurisdiction with respect to those defendants.” (7 Cal.3d at pp. 625-626, fns. omitted.) The Supreme Court’s discussion does not suggest any principled distinction between an independent investigator and an independent claims administrator. Both are third persons who have contracted with the employer (in this case) *1189 or the employer’s insurer (in Unruh) to perform certain services. As the court explained in Baugh v. Rogers (1944) 24 Cal.2d 200, 214 [148 P.2d 633, 152 A.L.R. 1043], “The employee’s right to recover against a third person is not affected by the fact that the ‘person other than the employer’ is not a stranger but has entered into a consensual legal relationship with the employer.” (See also Bell v. Industrial Vangas, Inc. (1981) 30 Cal.3d 268, 273 [637 P.2d 266].) It thus appears that the Supreme Court would consider CAS to be a person “other than the employer” against whom Dill is allowed to maintain an action in the superior court.

We are aware this conclusion is contrary to that reached in two recent Court of Appeal decisions which on similar facts have held that the superior court is without jurisdiction to consider a suit by an injured employee against the independent claims administrator for a self-insured employer. In Denning v. Esis Corp. (1983) 139 Cal.App.3d 946 [189 Cal.Rptr. 118], the court in two sentences of substantive discussion 3 relied on the line of Court of Appeal decisions which have limited Unruh (discussed ante, at pp. 1188-1189) in concluding that the suit was barred by the exclusive remedy doctrine. Denning never considered that all of the cited cases involved suits against insurance carriers rather than an independent claims administrator, nor did it discuss the relevant portions of Unruh. Denning was followed in Santiago v. Employee Benefits Services (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 898 [214 Cal.Rptr. 679]. Again, however, the portion of Unruh dealing with the independent investigator is never referred to. We therefore find Denning and Santiago unpersuasive and hold that under applicable Supreme Court precedent, CAS is a person “other than the employer” within the meaning of section 3852 and thus subject to suit in the superior court.

III

Having applied a literal reading of the Labor Code to reach a result in Dill’s favor, we use similar reasoning to affirm the trial court’s decision as to the fourth cause of action based on Insurance Code section 790.03, the unfair insurance practices statute. Dill claims CAS’s wrongful failure to pay him benefits violated the statute. CAS responds by noting that section 790.03, by terms of a related statute (see Ins. Code, § 790.01) is only *1190 applicable to entities “engaged in the business of insurance.” It cites Richardson v. GAB Business Services, Inc. (1984) 161 Cal.App.3d 519 [207 Cal.Rptr. 519] for the proposition that a self-insured entity and any persons employed by that entity for the purpose of investigating and adjusting claims for compensation are not “engaged in the business of insurance” within the meaning of Insurance Code section 790.01. 4

We need not repeat the Richardson court’s thorough analysis which concluded that “[e]ssential to insurance is the element of shifting of the risk of loss, subject to contingent or future events, by legally binding agreement.” (161 Cal.App.3d at p. 523.) Here, as in Richardson, the employer’s self-insurance scheme involves none of this contractual risk shifting.

From the standpoint of statutory interpretation, it is also worthy of note that virtually all of the subdivisions of Insurance Code section 790.03 deal with policies and contracts of insurance, and are thus inapplicable to self-insurers. Specifically, the unfair claims settlement practices which Dill alleges in his complaint are contained in subdivision (h). With one exception, the statutory language defining these unfair practices speaks either of an “insurance policy” or “policies,” or the “insured.” (But see subd. (h)(5).) Both concepts are foreign to self-insurance systems and strongly suggest that when the Legislature spoke of “the business of insurance,” they meant insurance and not self-insurance. 5

For reasons we have already expressed, we believe a literal reading of the statute is most appropriate in this context. We accordingly conclude the trial court properly sustained CAS’s demurrer as to the fourth cause of action.

Disposition

The judgment is reversed except as to the fourth cause of action where it is affirmed. Costs are awarded to appellant.

Kremer, P. J., and Kintner, J., * concurred.

1

Dill purports to appeal from the order sustaining the demurrer, which is technically not an appealable order. However, consistent with standard practice which has by now become almost an unnecessary formality, we modify the order to include a dismissal of the complaint and construe the appeal to be from the modified order, which is appealable as a judgment pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure section 581d. (See Wilson v. Household Finance Corp. (1982) 131 Cal.App.3d 649, 651-652 [182 Cal.Rptr. 590]; 9 Witkin, Cal. Procedure (3d ed. 1985) Appeal, § 59, p. 83.)

2

All statutory references are to the Labor Code unless otherwise specified.

3

Other than citing to previously decided cases, the only support for the Denning holding is found in a footnote reference to section 5814 which allows the WCAB to increase the compensation award by 10 percent where it determines that “. . . compensation has been unreasonably delayed or refiised, ...” (See 139 Cal.App.3d at p. 948, fn. 1.) Where the entity responsible for the delay is the insurer, this penalty is reasonably effective since it is the insurer who pays it. Where, however, it is alleged that some other entity has acted in bad faith to delay or refuse payment—in this case an independent claims administrator—the statutory penalty if assessed would be paid not by the offending party but by the employer, and hence would have no direct deterrent effect.

4

Although not raised in its original demurrer, we nonetheless consider CAS’s argument because it involves solely a question of law. (See Hale v. Morgan (1978) 22 Cal.3d 388, 394 [149 Cal.Rptr. 375, 584 P.2d 512].)

5

The distinction between insurance and self-insurance was recently accepted by the court in Bodenhamer v. Superior Court, ante, pages 180, 183, footnote 4 [223 Cal.Rptr. 486].

*

Assigned by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.

Cites, in this corpus

Cited by