gno.law

Stein v. International Insurance

California Court of Appeal · D008700 · 1990-01-26 · Published · 217 Cal. App. 3d 609 · 266 Cal. Rptr. 72 · 1990 Cal. App. LEXIS 61

MICHAEL D. STEIN Et Al., Plaintiffs and Appellants, v. INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE CO., Defendant and Respondent

Area
civil
Panel
Howard B. Wiener (author)

Analysis

A model's reading — qwen3.8-27b, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T07:37Z · confidence high

The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of the insurer, International Insurance Company, holding that the insureds failed to comply with the policy requirement to obtain written consent for claims expenses. The Court of Appeal affirmed the judgment, ruling that while the insurer had a duty to investigate claims even without a filed lawsuit, the insureds were not entitled to reimbursement because they never specifically requested the insurer's consent to incur the expenses they claimed.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Summary judgment in favor of International Insurance Company
“Because such a specific request was never made in this case, we hold the trial court properly granted summary judgment in favor of International.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The appellate court correctly applied the plain language of the insurance contract, which explicitly conditioned reimbursement of 'claims expenses' incurred by the insured on the 'written consent of the Company.' Because the record established that the insureds never made a specific request for such consent, the trial court's grant of summary judgment was legally sound and supported by the contractual terms.

Authorities

  • relied: Phoenix Ins. Co. v. Sukut Construction Co. (1982) 136 Cal.App.3d 673 — A claim is a demand for something as a right, and a formal lawsuit is not required before a claim is made.
  • relied: Jaffe v. Cranford Ins. Co. (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 930 — An insurer is not required to provide a criminal defense to an insured under a liability policy.
  • relied: State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Superior Court (1987) 191 Cal.App.3d 74 — An insurer is not required to provide a criminal defense to an insured under a liability policy.
  • relied: United Pacific Ins. Co. v. Hall (1988) 199 Cal.App.3d 551 — The decision to pursue preventive legal malpractice defense is a judgment call left solely to the insurer.
  • relied: Farmers Ins. Exch. v. Harmon (1974) 42 Cal.App.3d 805 — An insurance policy is fundamentally a contract, and courts must look to the language of that contract to determine obligations.
  • relied: VTN Consolidated, Inc. v. Northbrook Ins. Co. (1979) 92 Cal.App.3d 888 — An insurance policy is fundamentally a contract, and courts must look to the language of that contract to determine obligations.
  • relied: National Union Fire Ins. Co. v. Miller (1987) 192 Cal.App.3d 866 — An insurance policy is fundamentally a contract, and courts must look to the language of that contract to determine obligations.
  • relied: Williamson & Vollmer Engineering, Inc. v. Sequoia Ins. Co. (1976) 64 Cal.App.3d 261 — Distinguishes between the terms 'claim' and 'suit' in insurance policies.
  • relied: Logan v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. (1974) 41 Cal.App.3d 988 — A prominent disclaimer is necessary to counter the reasonable expectations of the insured regarding policy coverage.

The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly interprets the distinct contractual definitions of 'claim' versus 'suit' and strictly enforces the policy's explicit condition precedent requiring written consent for the insured to incur reimbursable expenses. The court effectively resolves the ambiguity by relying on the plain text of the contract and established California precedent regarding the insurer's discretion in managing claims.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

A model's reading — claude-fable-5-1, prompt v1, 2026-10-13T04:32Z · confidence medium

The trial court granted summary judgment to International Insurance Company on the insureds' claims for breach of contract, breach of the implied covenant and related causes of action seeking reimbursement for expenses incurred investigating and defending a threatened but never-filed malpractice claim. The Court of Appeal affirmed, rejecting the insurer's position that no duty arises absent a lawsuit but holding that the policy's written-consent provision required the insureds to request specific investigation or defense steps, that no such request was made, and that the only identified expense (Warner's criminal defense) was not covered.

Ruling reviewedStandardThe courtThe model
Grant of summary judgment for International on all causes of action (breach of contract, breach of implied covenant, related claims)
“Because such a specific request was never made in this case, we hold the trial court properly granted summary judgment in favor of International.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The court did not expressly state a standard of review but independently construed the policy language, which is a legal question on summary judgment. Its result rests on two defensible grounds: the only identified expense was a criminal defense not covered by a liability policy, and the policy conditions insured-incurred claims expenses on the insurer's written consent, which was never sought for any specific step. The court's gloss that the insured must make a specific request before incurring expenses is a reasonable reading of the consent clause, though not its literal text, and the court does not separately analyze the bad-faith count or address whether International's refusal to engage on the statute of limitations issue could itself be a refusal of consent.
Insurer's contention (urged in support of the judgment) that it had no duty to investigate or defend anything other than a filed suit
“A formal lawsuit is not required before a claim is made.”
de novoerroragree with court
The court correctly read the policy's repeated and distinct use of 'claim' and 'suit' and its definition of 'claims expenses' to include investigation of a 'claim' as establishing that reimbursable investigation expenses can arise before a lawsuit is filed, supported by Phoenix Ins. Co. v. Sukut and the reasonable-expectations principle from Logan. The court rejected this ground but affirmed on an alternative basis, so the rejection did not change the disposition.
Costs of Warner's criminal defense are not recoverable 'claims expenses' under the liability policy
“It is well established that an insurer is not required to provide a criminal defense to an insured under a liability policy obligating the insurer to pay “damages” for which the insured is found liable.”
de novocorrectagree with court
Jaffe v. Cranford and State Farm v. Superior Court hold a liability insurer has no duty to defend criminal proceedings, and the court sensibly refused to let the insured recharacterize the criminal defense as an integral step in defending a potential civil claim, noting the conflict of interest problems. Whether to undertake such preventive defense is left to the insurer's judgment under United Pacific v. Hall.
Absent a specific request for action or for written consent, International acted reasonably in not investigating the Stoffer claim and owes no claims expenses
“Lacking a more specific request, International acted reasonably in not taking any particular action to defend or investigate the claim.”
de novocorrectagree with court
The policy limits insured-incurred claims expenses to those incurred 'with written consent of the Company,' and the court reasonably construed this to require the insured to identify the steps it wants taken or approved so the insurer can evaluate reasonableness and retain control of costs. Plaintiffs' submissions did not identify any expense other than the criminal defense, so summary judgment was proper. The court's statement that International 'acted reasonably' is somewhat conclusory for summary judgment, but the holding does not depend on it because no consent was ever requested.

Authorities

  • relied: Phoenix Ins. Co. v. Sukut Construction Co. (1982) 136 Cal.App.3d 673 — A 'claim' is a demand for something as a right or as due; a formal lawsuit is not required before a claim is made.
  • relied: Jaffe v. Cranford Ins. Co. (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 930 — A liability insurer obligated to pay damages is not required to provide a criminal defense to its insured.
  • relied: State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Superior Court (1987) 191 Cal.App.3d 74 — No duty to defend criminal proceedings under a liability policy covering damages.
  • relied: United Pacific Ins. Co. v. Hall (1988) 199 Cal.App.3d 551 — Whether to undertake action beyond the policy's required defense is a judgment call left to the insurer.
  • relied: Logan v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. (1974) 41 Cal.App.3d 988 — A limitation contrary to the insured's reasonable expectations must be conspicuously disclaimed to be enforceable.
  • relied: Farmers Ins. Exch. v. Harmon (1974) 42 Cal.App.3d 805 — An insurance policy is a contract and the parties' obligations are determined first from its language.
  • relied: Katz Drug Co. v. Commercial Standard Ins. (1983) 647 S.W.2d 831 — Where a policy uses both 'claim' and 'suit,' the terms are not equivalent or the wording would be redundant; insurer's obligations may arise before suit is filed.
  • missed: Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263 — Duty-to-defend and policy provisions are construed according to the insured's reasonable expectations and the duty to defend is broader than the duty to indemnify; the leading binding authority on the reasonable-expectations principle the court invoked via a Court of Appeal case.

The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court correctly rejected the insurer's overbroad no-suit-no-duty argument on the policy's own language, and its alternative ground—that the written-consent clause requires the insured to request specific action or consent before incurring reimbursable expenses, and that criminal defense costs are not covered—is supported by the cited authorities and the thin record. It skips any express standard of review, does not separately address the bad-faith cause of action, relies on a Court of Appeal case rather than Gray v. Zurich for reasonable expectations, and offers a somewhat conclusory reasonableness finding on summary judgment.

How this analysis was made · dispute it

record incomplete

Opinion — Wiener

*611 Opinion

WIENER, Acting P. J.

This case involves an attempt by plaintiffs Michael D. Stein and Michael Stein, APC (collectively Stein), and James Warner to recover from their legal malpractice insurance carrier, defendant International Insurance Company, damages attributable to a malpractice suit which was never filed. Plaintiffs assert they reasonably incurred expenses investigating and defending against a potential claim notwithstanding that a lawsuit on that claim was never filed.

We reject International’s principal contention that it has no duty to reimburse an insured for expenses incurred in the investigation of a claim simply because a lawsuit has not been filed. We nonetheless conclude that the relevant insurance policy, which provides that an insured may incur reimbursable “claims expenses” with the written consent of the insurer, requires at a minimum that the insured notify the insurer what investigation and defense expenses the insured believes are reasonably necessary. Because such a specific request was never made in this case, we hold the trial court properly granted summary judgment in favor of International.

Factual and Procedural Background

Stein purchased a standard claims-made lawyer’s professional liability policy from International which insured him and his employees against claims for professional negligence. Warner, a lawyer employed by Stein, was listed as a named insured. Under the policy, International agreed to pay “all sums which the Insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages caused by acts or omissions ... of the Insured, or any person for whose acts or omissions the Insured is legally responsible . . . .” In addition, International was obligated to “defend any suit against the Insured alleging such act or omission and seeking damages which are payable under the terms of this policy . . . .” The policy also specified that International would “pay all claims expenses in addition to the applicable limits of liability.” “Claims expenses” were elsewhere defined to include “fees, costs, and expenses resulting from the investigation, adjustment, defense and appeal of a claim, suit or proceeding arising in connection therewith, if incurred by the Company, or by the Insured with written consent of the Company

A federal grand jury indicted Warner in June 1984 on charges arising from his representation of certain clients including Cecil Stoffer and Steven Giffin. Stoffer and Giffin were also indicted. Warner notified International of the indictment and requested that International provide his criminal defense. International refused, citing as grounds that a defense to criminal charges was not within the terms of the policy.

*612 Late in July, Robert Grimes, an attorney representing Cecil Stoffer, wrote to Warner advising him of Grimes’s belief “that Cecil Stoffer would never have been charged in the case were it not for communications with you, and some activities and communications which you undertook which might amount to negligence. I also believe that the advice you gave Cecil, and upon which he relied, causing him to be indicted, came well within the scope of legal advice to a client or a potential client.” Grimes requested that Warner notify his insurance carrier “to see if they will provide a legal defense to Cecil Stoffer in this case, for action and advice by you which I believe may have been negligent.” Grimes also asked whether Warner would be willing to waive a statute of limitations defense so that Stoffer would not have to prosecute a civil action against Warner at the same time they were both defending against federal criminal charges. 1

Warner notified International and forwarded a copy of Grimes’s letter. Other than to request that Warner notify them when a suit was filed and responsive pleadings were due, International took no action to defend against Stoffer’s possible “claim.” Warner allegedly spoke with an attorney for International, R. Gaylord Smith, about Grimes’s letter, but Smith refused to acknowledge any connection between the criminal action and the civil matter or offer advice to Warner concerning the statute of limitations issue. Stein claimed he was “forced to hire attorneys and investigate to prepare Warner’s defense, and protect myself and my corporation from civil liability.”

Warner was acquitted in the criminal action. No malpractice suit was ever filed against Warner or Stein. Nonetheless, plaintiffs filed this action against International alleging breach of contract, breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing and related causes of action. The court granted summary judgment in favor of International on all causes of action. Plaintiffs appeal from that judgment.

Discussion

Plaintiffs argue that Grimes’s letter on behalf of Stoffer constituted a “claim” which International was obligated to investigate and defend. Because International refused to do so, plaintiffs contend it is liable under the policy for amounts expended by plaintiffs in conducting such an investigation and defense. The policy defines “claims expenses” to include costs associated with the investigation and defense of a “claim.” Referring to the “duty to defend” clause, International asserts it has no obligation to investigate or defend anything other than a “suit against the Insured . . . .” In contrast, plaintiffs argue that because “claim” is not specifically defined, the *613 policy is at best ambiguous. Accordingly, they contend, International is required to defend and investigate “claims” which are not “suits.”

I

An insurance policy is, fundamentally, a contract between the insurer and the insured. Initially, we must look to the language of that contract to determine the obligations which the parties have assumed. (See, e.g., Farmers Ins. Exch. v. Harmon (1974) 42 Cal.App.3d 805, 809 [117 Cal.Rptr. 117]; VTN Consolidated, Inc. v. Northbrook Ins. Co. (1979) 92 Cal.App.3d 888, 892 [155 Cal.Rptr. 172]; National Union Fire Ins. Co. v. Miller (1987) 192 Cal.App.3d 866, 872 [237 Cal.Rptr. 632].)

The International policy issued to Stein refers at numerous points to both “suits” and “claims” under circumstances which imply there is a difference between the two. 2 The court in Katz Drug Co. v. Commercial Standard Ins. (Mo.App. 1983) 647 S.W.2d 831, 835 considered an insurance policy which “distinguish[ed] between a claim and a suit by using both terms.” The insurer contended that its obligations under the policy arose only with the filing of a lawsuit. The court, however, disagreed: “If the terms were equivalent, the wording would be redundant.” (Ibid.) Moreover, California courts have recognized there is a basic difference between the terms. “A claim . . . is a demand for something as a right, or as due. A formal lawsuit is not required before a claim is made.” (Phoenix Ins. Co. v. Sukut Construction Co. (1982) 136 Cal.App.3d 673, 677 [186 Cal.Rptr. 513].)

Here, the policy obligates International to pay for all reasonably incurred 3 “claims expenses,” defined to include expenses resulting from the “investigation ... of a claim, suit or proceeding arising in connection therewith . . . .” Nowhere does International disclaim the responsibility to investigate claims if no legal action has been filed against the insured. 4 *614 Because a “claim” is not limited to a “lawsuit,” and because the policy itself contemplates the investigation of “claims” and the incurring of expenses in connection with such investigation, we must reject International’s assertion that the lack of a lawsuit eliminates any obligation it may otherwise have under the policy.

II

If the policy imposes obligations with respect to the investigation and defense of “claims,” International does not appear to contend that the Grimes letter does not constitute such a claim. We therefore assume for the purposes of our discussion that it does. (Compare Williamson & Vollmer Engineering, Inc. v. Sequoia Ins. Co. (1976) 64 Cal.App.3d 261, 269-270 [134 Cal.Rptr. 427] and Phoenix Ins. Co. v. Sukut Construction Co., supra, 136 Cal.App.3d at pp. 677-678 with Hoyt v. St. Paul Fire and Marine Ins. Co. (9th Cir. 1979) 607 F.2d 864, 866-867; see also Solo Cup Co. v. Federal Ins. Co. (7th Cir. 1980) 619 F.2d 1178, 1188-1189.) Even so, we are confronted with some difficulty understanding the exact nature of plaintiffs’ argument. They failed to specify the expenses they incurred “investigating” and “defending” against Stoffer’s potential claim and, unfortunately, give us no further enlightenment in their appellate briefs. Plaintiffs do say that defense of the criminal charges against Warner was necessary to a successful defense of Stoffer’s civil “claim” and, accordingly, its cost is a covered “claim expense” within the meaning of the policy. Neither the pleadings nor the evidence submitted in opposition to the motion for summary judgment, however, inform us whether Stein did anything other than pay for Warner’s criminal defense. The opaqueness of plaintiffs’ submissions suggests a negative answer.

If Stein’s only damages were the amounts spent on a criminal defense for Warner, we readily conclude International is not responsible for the cost of such a defense. It is well established that an insurer is not required to provide a criminal defense to an insured under a liability policy obligating the insurer to pay “damages” for which the insured is found liable. (See Jaffe v. Cranford Ins. Co. (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 930, 934 [214 Cal.Rptr. 567]; State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Superior Court (1987) 191 Cal.App.3d 74, 77-78 [236 Cal.Rptr. 216].)

Plaintiffs effectively seek the same result here by asserting that defending the criminal action against Warner was an integral step in defending the potential civil action against Warner and Stein. This assertion ignores the potentially conflicting interests of a defendant in a criminal case and his liability insurance company obligated to defend a purportedly related civil claim. We think such potential conflicts are sufficiently serious and complex that International cannot be compelled to defend Warner’s criminal action. *615 While nothing would preclude International from choosing such a course of action itself—pursuing a form of preventive legal malpractice—it is a judgment call to be left solely to the insurer. (See United Pacific Ins. Co. v. Hall (1988) 199 Cal.App.3d 551, 556-557 [245 Cal.Rptr. 99].)

To the extent plaintiffs were seeking something other than the costs of Warner’s criminal defense, International apparently concluded that the expense of any such “investigation” was not warranted by the nebulous possibility of a future civil suit. Viewed with the benefit of hindsight, that judgment call appears absolutely correct. Nonetheless, an insured operates without prescience at the time he gives notice of a claim and may feel—as plaintiffs did here—that the insurer should take steps to perform an investigation.

We must therefore look to the terms of the policy to determine what an insured can do when he believes the insurer has not responded reasonably to the notice of a claim. International’s policy provides that “claims expenses” for which the insurer is responsible may be incurred either by International or by the insured with International’s written consent. The purpose of this provision is self-evident, protecting both the insurer and the insured. In order to recover for “claims expenses” incurred, the insured who disagrees with the insurer’s handling of a claim must request the insurer to either (1) undertake certain action which the insured believes is reasonably required, or (2) consent in writing to allow the insured to take such action. By requiring such notice, the insurer will have the opportunity to determine for itself the reasonableness of the insured’s request and can take proper steps to protect their mutual interests. Moreover, the insurer will retain control over the nature and costs of such investigation.

Here, plaintiffs never identified the steps they believed were necessary to defend the Stoffer “claim” other than Warner’s criminal defense. As we have already explained, the policy did not require International to provide such a defense. Lacking a more specific request, International acted reasonably in not taking any particular action to defend or investigate the claim.

Disposition

The summary judgment in favor of International is affirmed.

Work, J., and Nares, J., concurred.

A petition for a rehearing was denied February 16, 1990, and the opinion was modified to read as printed above.

1

According to Warner, he was also contacted by Charles Goldberg, an attorney for Steven Giffin, about a possible civil claim by Giffin against Warner.

2

For example, the policy defines “claims expenses” as “fees, costs, and expenses resulting from the investigation, adjustment, defense and appeal of a claim, suit or proceeding arising in connection therewith . . . .” (Italics added.) In the “Defense and Settlement” section of the policy, International reserved the right to discontinue its defense of the insured if its “limits of liability hereunder are exhausted prior to the reduction of any pending claim or suit to settlement, . . .” (Italics added.)

3

The policy limits International’s obligation to pay claims expenses to sums “incurred by the Company, or by the Insured with written consent of the Company . . . .” International does not contend it could unreasonably withhold such consent if requested by the Insured.

4

Had International intended to limit its responsibility to postlawsuit investigations, a prominent disclaimer would have been necessary to counter the reasonable expectations of the insured attorney to the contrary. (See Logan v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. (1974) 41 Cal.App.3d 988, 995 [116 Cal.Rptr. 528].) In effect, International’s argument would require an attorney confronted with a claim by a former client to tell the client to file a lawsuit since that would be the only way to trigger the insurer’s duty to defend. Such advice hardly seems consistent with a prompt resolution of the controversy and the interests of the attorney, the client or the legal system in general.

Cites, in this corpus

Cited by