Horace Mann Insurance v. Analisa N.
HORACE MANN INSURANCE COMPANY, Plaintiff and Respondent, v. ANALISA N., Defendant and Appellant
- Proceeding
- appeal
- Trial court
- Superior Court of Imperial County
- Trial judge
- William E. Lehnhardt
- Outcome
- other — D008794. Fourth Dist., Div. One.
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- Patricia D. Benke (author)
Analysis
The trial court granted Horace Mann’s motion for summary judgment, determining that the teacher’s sexual abuse was not covered by the Educators Employment Liability Policy. The Court of Appeal affirmed, holding as a matter of law that sexual abuse is unrelated to a teacher’s employment and thus outside the policy’s coverage.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Granting of Horace Mann’s motion for summary judgment in the declaratory relief action.“We find as a matter of law sexual abuse is unrelated to a teacher’s employment and hence not within the coverage provided by the policy. Accordingly we affirm the trial court’s order granting his insurer’s motion for summary judgment.” | de novo | correct | agree with court agree with court |
Authorities
- relied: John R. v. Oakland Unified School Dist. (1989) 48 Cal.3d 438 — A school district is not vicariously liable for the sexual misconduct of its teachers because the connection between instructional authority and sexual abuse is too attenuated.
- relied: Jarchow v. Transamerica Title Ins. Co. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 917 — Insurance policies must be construed to give the insured the protection they reasonably had a right to expect, considering the reasonable expectations of the public and the insured.
- relied: Reserve Insurance Co. v. Pisciotta (1982) 30 Cal.3d 800 — Coverage clauses are interpreted broadly to afford the greatest possible protection to the insured, while exclusionary clauses are interpreted narrowly against the insurer.
- relied: Safeco Title Ins. Co. v. Moskopoulos (1981) 116 Cal.App.3d 658 — The rule resolving ambiguity against the insurer only applies when an actual or apparent ambiguity is present; otherwise, the plain language of the policy limitation must be respected.
- relied: Munyon v. Ole’s, Inc. (1982) 136 Cal.App.3d 697 — The phrase 'in the course of' in workers' compensation is broader than 'within the scope of employment' in tort law, but the goals of the two systems (rehabilitation vs. indemnification) are distinct.
- relied: Crane v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (1971) 5 Cal.3d 112 — Insurance policies must be read as a layman would read them, not as they might be analyzed by an attorney.
- relied: Delgado v. Heritage Life Ins. Co. (1984) 157 Cal.App.3d 262 — Insurance policies are to be interpreted from the perspective of a layperson.
The appellate opinion: sound — The opinion is sound because it correctly applies the standard of insurance contract interpretation by looking to the reasonable expectations of a layperson and the plain language of the policy. It effectively distinguishes the broader 'in the course of' standard used in workers' compensation from the specific 'educational employment activities' limitation in this policy, relying on the Supreme Court's recent holding in John R. to support the conclusion that sexual abuse is too personal to be covered.
The trial court granted summary judgment to Horace Mann in its declaratory relief action, ruling that a teacher's sexual abuse of a pupil was neither within the coverage of his Educators Employment Liability Policy nor, in any event, covered in light of the intentional-acts exclusion and Insurance Code section 533. The Court of Appeal affirmed solely on the coverage ground, holding as a matter of law that sexual abuse is not an activity performed pursuant to the terms of a teacher's employment and so is not an occurrence 'in the course of the insured's educational employment activities,' without reaching the exclusion or section 533.
| Ruling reviewed | Standard | The court | The model |
|---|---|---|---|
Grant of summary judgment to insurer on the ground that the teacher's sexual abuse of a student was not within the policy's insuring clause (not an occurrence 'in the course of the insured's educational employment activities')“We find as a matter of law sexual abuse is unrelated to a teacher’s employment and hence not within the coverage provided by the policy.” | de novo | correct | agree with court Policy interpretation on undisputed facts is a question of law, and the court properly applied the insured's-reasonable-expectations framework (Gray, Reserve Ins., Safeco Title) while respecting plain limiting language. The insuring clause and definitions tie coverage to activities performed pursuant to the terms of employment, and the court reasonably rejected the workers' compensation 'but for' gloss on 'in the course of' as something no lay insured would read into the policy. John R. was used appropriately as persuasive characterization of sexual abuse as a wholly personal escapade rather than as controlling on contract interpretation. The court did not separately discuss that the underlying judgment rested on negligence theories after dismissal of intentional tort counts, but Analisa's argument as described was that the abuse itself was in the course of employment, which the court answered. |
Trial court's alternative ruling that coverage is barred by the policy's intentional-acts exclusion and Insurance Code section 533“Because we find Pejsa’s conduct was not a risk covered by the terms of the policy we affirm the judgment without considering the applicability of the policy exclusion or the Insurance Code.” | unclear | not reached | agree with court Having resolved the appeal on the threshold coverage question, the court properly declined to reach the alternative exclusion and section 533 grounds; an appellate court may affirm on any ground supported by the record and need not address alternative grounds. |
Authorities
- relied: John R. v. Oakland Unified School Dist. (1989) 48 Cal.3d 438 — A school district is not vicariously liable under respondeat superior for a teacher's sexual molestation of a student; the connection between the teacher's authority and sexual misconduct is too attenuated to be a risk allocable to the employer.
- relied: Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263 — Insurance policy provisions must be construed to give the insured the protection he reasonably had a right to expect.
- relied: Jarchow v. Transamerica Title Ins. Co. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 917 — Courts determining an insurer's duties must consider the reasonable expectations of the public and the insured as to the type of coverage the insurer holds itself out as offering, not merely the policy's words.
- relied: Reserve Insurance Co. v. Pisciotta (1982) 30 Cal.3d 800 — Ambiguities in insurance policies are resolved against the insurer; coverage clauses are interpreted broadly and exclusions narrowly.
- relied: Safeco Title Ins. Co. v. Moskopoulos (1981) 116 Cal.App.3d 658 — The rule construing ambiguity against the insurer applies only when actual or apparent ambiguity exists; an insurer may limit coverage and plain limiting language must be respected.
- relied: Munyon v. Ole's, Inc. (1982) 136 Cal.App.3d 697 — In workers' compensation 'in the course of employment' is broader than respondeat superior's 'scope of employment'; workers' compensation aims at rehabilitation rather than tort indemnification, so its concepts do not transfer to liability insurance.
- relied: Crane v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (1971) 5 Cal.3d 112 — Insurance policies are read as a layperson would read them, not as an attorney might analyze them.
- relied: Delgado v. Heritage Life Ins. Co. (1984) 157 Cal.App.3d 262 — Policy language is interpreted according to the understanding of a lay insured.
The appellate opinion: sound with gaps — The court correctly framed coverage as a question of the lay insured's reasonable expectations, applied the governing Supreme Court construction rules, and persuasively rejected importing workers' compensation breadth into a liability policy whose title and definitions confine coverage to activities performed pursuant to the terms of employment. It left unaddressed, however, the significance of the underlying judgment having been rendered on negligence theories after dismissal of intentional tort claims, and did not parse the broad 'arising out of' language in the insuring clause, gaps that do not undermine the result but leave the analysis somewhat incomplete.
Opinion — Benke
Opinion
BENKE, JIntroduction
In this case a third grade teacher sexually abused one of his pupils. In an underlying proceeding a $350,000 judgment was entered against him. At the time of the abuse the teacher was covered by an “Educators Employment Liability Policy.” The policy covers events which occur in the course of activities performed by the teacher pursuant to the express or implied terms of his employment, We find as a matter of law sexual abuse is unrelated to a teacher’s employment and hence not within the coverage provided by the policy. Accordingly we affirm the trial court’s order granting his insurer’s motion for summary judgment.
Factual Summary
Between January and March 1979 Analisa N. was sexually abused by her third grade teacher Carl A. Pejsa. The abuse occurred in Pejsa’s classroom, during lunch breaks and after school. According to Analisa she was subjected to 20 separate incidents which included fondling, exhibitionism and masturbation. Prior to the molestations Analisa had been confiding in Pejsa about family problems she was experiencing. She had found him easy to talk to and she trusted him because he was her teacher.
On February 6, 1986, Analisa, by and through a guardian ad litem, filed a first amended complaint against Pejsa in which she sought damages for Pejsa’s negligence and intentional misconduct. Pejsa tendered the defense of Analisa’s claim to the Horace Mann Insurance Company (Horace Mann), which had issued him an Educators Employment Liability Policy.
Horace Mann provided Pejsa with a defense but reserved its right to contest its obligation to indemnify him. On September 25, 1987, Horace Mann filed a declaratory relief action against Analisa and Pejsa in which it sought a judgment determining it had no obligation to pay any judgment entered against Pejsa.
On October 8, 1987, Analisa dismissed all of her intentional tort claims against Pejsa with prejudice. On February 10, 1988, Analisa was awarded a $350,000 judgment against Pejsa.
*853 Thereafter Horace Mann moved for summary judgment in the declaratory relief action. The company argued Pejsa’s conduct is not within the coverage provided by the policy and that, in any event, coverage of sexual abuse is barred by a policy exclusion for intentional acts and Insurance Code section 533. 1 The trial court agreed with the company on both grounds and entered a judgment in its favor on July 6, 1988. Analisa filed a timely notice of appeal.
Issues on Appeal
As one might expect on appeal Analisa argues Pejsa’s conduct falls within the coverage provided by Horace Mann’s policy and was not, as a matter of law, intentional or wilful conduct within the meaning of the policy exclusion or Insurance Code section 533. Because we find Pejsa’s conduct was not a risk covered by the terms of the policy we affirm the judgment without considering the applicability of the policy exclusion or the Insurance Code.
Discussion
Horace Mann’s policy provided the following coverage: “The Company agrees to pay all damages which the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as a result of any claim arising out of an occurrence in the course of the insured’s educational employment activities, and caused by any acts or omissions of the insured or any other person for whose acts the insured is legally liable.” The policy defines an occurrence as “an event which results in damages to someone other than the [insured.]” Educational employment activities are defined as activities performed: “1. Pursuant to the express or implied terms of his/her employment by an [italics ours] educational unit, or
“2. At the express request or with the express approval of his/her supervisor, provided that, at the time of such request or approval, the supervisor was performing what would appear to be his/her educational employment activities within the meaning of [part 1.].” In sum, coverage in this case depends upon whether Pejsa’s acts occurred in the course of activities performed pursuant to the express or implied terms of his employment as a teacher.
In answering this question our initial response is the one our Supreme Court recently articulated in a factually similar context: “The question before us here is whether an employer (specifically, a school district) can be held liable for a sexual assault committed by an employee (here, a teacher) *854 on another person (particularly, on a student committed to that teacher’s supervision). The natural, initial reaction is ‘No! Of course not!’ A more personal escapade less related to an employer’s interests is difficult to imagine.” (John R. v. Oakland Unified School Dist. (1989) 48 Cal.3d 438, 447 [256 Cal.Rptr. 766, 769 P.2d 948], italics added.) However, as in John R., the question before us is not so easily disposed of. Like the issue of respondeat superior liability decided in John R., the question here “is closer than might appear upon first examination.” (Ibid.) Nonetheless, similar to the result reached in John R., we ultimately conclude sexual abuse was not a risk covered by Horace Mann’s policy.
First we note Analisa argues Pejsa’s conduct was “within the scope of his employment” as that phrase has been used in imposing vicarious liability on employers under the doctrine of respondeat superior. If his conduct “was within the scope” of his employment, she asserts, it was also “in the course” of his employment activities within the meaning of the policy. In light of John R„ this avenue of argumentation is no longer available to her. In John R. the Supreme Court held that a school district is not vicariously liable for the sexual misconduct of its teachers. After considering the rationale underlying the respondeat superior doctrine and the detriment which would be caused by imposing vicarious liability, the Supreme Court found: “[T]he connection between the authority conferred on teachers to carry out their instructional duties and the abuse of that authority to indulge in personal, sexual misconduct is simply too attenuated to deem a sexual assault as falling within the range of risks allocable to a teacher’s employer. It is not a cost this particular enterprise should bear, and the consequences of imposing liability are unacceptable.” (John R. v. Oakland Unified School Dist., supra, 48 Cal.3d at p. 452.)
Our inquiry, however, does not end with John R. The social costs of imposing vicarious liability on an employer, which the court considered in John R., are of little assistance in interpreting the terms of an insurance policy. Rather the rules which govern the interpretation of insurance policies call for a discrete analysis of the insured’s reasonable expectations. “In determining what benefits or duties an insurer owes his insured pursuant to a contract of . . . insurance, the court may not look to the words of the policy alone, but must also consider the reasonable expectations of the public and the insured as to the type of service which the insurance entity holds itself out as ready to offer. [Citation.] Stated in another fashion, the provisions of the policy, ‘ “must be construed so as to give the insured the protection which he reasonably had a right to expect ....’” (Original italics.) (Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co., 65 Cal.2d 263, 270, fn. 7 . . . .)” (Jarchow v. Transamerica Title Ins. Co. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 917, 941 [122 Cal.Rptr. 470].) Consequently “ ‘[a]ny amibiguity or uncertainty in an insurance policy is to be resolved against the *855 insurer and ... if semantically permissible, the contract will be given such construction as will fairly achieve its object of providing indemnity for the loss to which the insurance relates.’ [Citations.] . . . ‘Whereas coverage clauses are interpreted broadly so as to aiford the greatest possible protection to the insured . . . , exclusionary clauses are interpreted narrowly against the insurer. [Citations.]’ ” (Reserve Insurance Co. v. Pisciotta (1982) 30 Cal.3d 800, 807-808 [180 Cal.Rptr. 628, 640 P.2d 764].)
However, as generous as the rules of construction are to the insured, “The rule that any ambiguity in an insurance contract will be resolved adversely to the insurer is not without limitation. Some actual or apparent ambiguity must be present before the rule comes into play.” (Safeco Title Ins. Co. v. Moskopoulos (1981) 116 Cal.App.3d 658, 665 [172 Cal.Rptr. 248, 18 A.L.R.4th 1301].) Moreover, “An insurance company may limit the coverage of a policy issued by it. When it has done so, the plain language of the limitation must be respected.” (Id. at p. 666.)
Thus the fundamental question Analisa poses is whether a reasonable teacher could interpret the phrase “in the course of the insured’s educational employment activities” to include sex acts performed at school during and shortly after school hours. Relying on workers’ compensation cases which have interpreted the phrase “in the course of’ as being broader than the term “acting within the scope of employment” under the doctrine of respondeat superior (see, e.g., Munyon v. Ole’s, Inc. (1982) 136 Cal.App.3d 697, 703 [186 Cal.Rptr. 424]), she argues that the Horace Mann policy covered any conduct Pejsa engaged in with his students while at school. In essence she would apply a “but for” test to his conduct; coverage would exist if, but for his role as a teacher, the event would not have occurred.
We find Analisa’s workers’ compensation approach unpersuasive. First of all, we are unwilling to indulge the fiction that a reasonable insured should, or would, distinguish between a policy which covers acts “in the course of employment” and one which covers acts “within the scope of employment.” In this regard we note that insurance policies must be read as a layman would read them and not as they might be analyzed by an attorney. (Crane v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (1971) 5 Cal.3d 112, 115 [95 Cal.Rptr. 513, 485 P.2d 1129, 48 A.L.R.3d 1089]; Delgado v. Heritage Life Ins. Co. (1984) 157 Cal.App.3d 262, 271 [203 Cal.Rptr. 672].) Moreover the wide breadth of the workers’ compensation scheme is based upon factors entirely unrelated to the system of tort liability and liability insurance. “The goal of workers’ compensation laws is to rehabilitate the injured worker, not to indemnify. [Citation.] In a tort action, the objective of a damage award is indemnification—compensating the injured party for the loss and harm suffered *856 by him and proximately caused by the accident.” (Munyon v. Ole’s, Inc., supra, 136 Cal.App.3d 697, 702.)
Contrary to Analisa’s argument, in our view the plain language of the policy requires, at the very least, that an insured event occur while the teacher is engaged in an activity which is reasonably related to the goal of educating children. This conclusion is suggested not only by the language of the insuring clause and the applicable definitions, which, as we have seen, restrict coverage to activities performed pursuant to the terms of the teacher’s employment, but by the very name of the policy—“Educators Employment Liability Policy.” Given its terms and its title we do not believe a reasonable insured could expect that exclusively personal pursuits would be protected by the policy. Like the court in John R., we cannot fathom a more personal activity less related to the goal of education than Pejsa’s acts. Accordingly we must affirm the trial court’s judgment.
In reaching this result we are not insensitive to the gravity of the injuries Analisa has suffered. Our sympathy for her however does not give us the power to expand the risks Horace Mann assumed in issuing a policy to Pejsa. Indeed were we to do so we would only increase the cost and availability of insurance for those teachers who run no small risk of liability by engaging in a myriad of extracurricular activities designed to enrich our children’s lives.
Judgment affirmed.
Todd, Acting P. J., and Froehlich, J., concurred.
Insurance Code section 533 provides: “An insurer is not liable for a loss caused by the wilful act of the insured; but he is not exonerated by the negligence of the insured, or of the insured’s agents or others.”
Cites, in this corpus
- John R. v. Oakland Unified School District S003000 · 1989-03-30
- Delgado v. Heritage Life Insurance B001712 · 1984-06-18
- Munyon v. Ole's, Inc. Civ. 63837 · 1982-10-19
- Reserve Insurance Co. v. Pisciotta S.F. 24323 · 1982-02-18
- Safeco Title Insurance v. Moskopoulos Civ. 58794 · 1981-03-09
- Jarchow v. Transamerica Title Insurance Civ. 13899 · 1975-06-05
- Crane v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. S.F. 22804 · 1971-06-17
- Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. L. A. 28897 · 1966-10-25
Cited by
- Jon Davler, Inc. v. Arch Insurance Company B252830 · 2014-09-15
- Horace Mann Ins. Co. v. Barbara B. S025417 · 1993-03-11