Federal Insurance Company v. Wong
FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY, Plaintiff, v. George WONG and L. E. McCan and Western Investment Company, Defendants
- Proceeding
- district
- Area
- civil
- Panel
- Tolin (author)
Analysis
The court reviewed a declaratory judgment action and counterclaim regarding an insurance policy for a truck destroyed by fire, finding that one co-insured committed arson while the other was innocent. The court held that the innocent co-insured could not recover because the loss was not accidental and the policy did not cover damage caused by the deliberate tortious action of a joint adventurer.
| What the court decided | The model |
|---|---|
Denied the defense that the proof of loss was filed late.“Under the facts of this case there is nothing to the point that proof of loss was not filed seasonably... the circumstances in this case were so substantial as to render that particular defense to the action on the, policy inappropriate.” | agree with court The court found that the insurer was not prejudiced by the delay because it received actual notice within one day and began an investigation immediately. Under general insurance law principles, a waiver of the strict proof of loss deadline is established when the insurer is not prejudiced by the delay, particularly when the insurer's own failure to provide the required form contributed to the delay. The court's reliance on the lack of prejudice is consistent with established law. |
Found that defendant L. E. McCan wilfully burned the property.“The evidence compels a finding that defendant and counter-claimant L. E. McCan deliberately set the fire with intent to destroy the equipment.” | unsure The court made a factual finding based on the evidence presented. While the order does not detail the specific evidence, it states the finding is compelled. As a district court finding of fact, it is presumed correct absent clear error, but without the full record, the specific evidentiary basis is not verifiable. However, the legal consequence of this finding is the focus of the next ruling. |
Found that defendant George Wong did not participate in the wilful destruction.“The Court finds that defendant and counter-claimant George Wong did not participate in the wilful destruction of the property.” | agree with court The court explicitly found that the plaintiff failed to connect George Wong to the arson, either through action, knowledge, or intent. This factual finding is central to the legal analysis of whether an innocent co-insured can recover. |
Denied recovery for both defendants under the insurance policy.“Neither defendant is entitled to recov er under the policy of insurance describ ed in the complaint.” | agree with court The court applied the rule that an innocent co-owner cannot recover if a co-owner willfully destroys the property, citing Corpus Juris Secundum and several state court cases. It further reasoned that the policy only covered 'accidental' loss, and a deliberate arson is not accidental. Therefore, the loss was not covered for either party. This application of the 'accidental loss' exclusion and the joint adventure rule is consistent with the cited authorities and general insurance principles regarding arson by a co-insured. |
The order itself: sound — The order is sound. It correctly identifies the key legal issues: the timeliness of the proof of loss and the effect of arson by a co-insured on the innocent co-insured's right to recover. The court applies the correct standard for waiver of proof of loss (lack of prejudice) and correctly applies the well-established rule that an innocent co-owner cannot recover when a co-owner willfully destroys the insured property. The court also correctly interprets the policy language requiring 'accidental' loss to exclude deliberate arson. The reasoning is concise but directly addresses the dispositive issues with appropriate authority.
Opinion — Tolin
TOLIN, District Judge.
On December 27, 1952, a Diesel Tractor and Semi-Dump Trailer which belonged to defendants were destroyed by fire. On June 8, 1958, defendants submitted a formal proof of loss to plaintiff, *233 an insurance company, which had issued its policy of automobile insurance on said equipment May 8, 1952.
The decisive issues are before the Court on plaintiff’s complaint for declaratory relief, the answer thereto, and a counter-claim wherein defendants sued for recovery on the same policy of insurance.
Plaintiff seeks to obtain a judicial declaration that it is not obligated to pay the loss because of many deviations by defendants from the terms made applicable by the policy of insurance.
The most substantial of these contentions are that defendants are barred from recovering under the policy because they wilfully burned the insured property, and that the insured failed to file proof of loss within sixty days after the occurrence of the loss. Under the facts of this case there is nothing to the point that proof of loss was not filed seasonably. Plaintiff insisted that it be filed on a form which plaintiff would provide but that form was not made available to defendants within the sixty-day period. The insured’s delay was not prejudicial to plaintiff’s rights. Plaintiff was given actual notice within one day of the fire and immediately commenced its investigation. Very slight circumstances are sufficient to establish a waiver with respect to notice of proof of loss and the circumstances in this case were so substantial as to render that particular defense to the action on the, policy inappropriate.
The charge that defendants and counter-claimants wilfully burned the insured property presents a substantial question. The evidence compels a finding that defendant and counter-claimant L. E. McCan deliberately set the fire with intent to destroy the equipment.
Plaintiff has not successfully connected defendant and counter-claimant George Wong either to causing the fire or as having knowledge of its cause, of as having had an intent to destroy or- to defraud, although all of these have been abundantly proved as to defendant and counter-claimant L. E. McCan.
The Court finds that defendant and counter-claimant George Wong did not participate in the wilful destruction of the property.
This brings us to the principal problem in the case. McCan and Wong-were joint adventurers in the ownership and use of the truck. Their interests, while unequal, were substantial as to each and the policy of insurance names both as the insured.
Corpus Juris Secundum states:
“Where the property is jointly owned, or there is a joint obligation on the part of the owners to save and preserve the property, an innocent owner cannot recover on the policy where a coowner willfully set the property on fire.”
Plaintiff has cited authorities to the same effect.
The policy of insurance binds the company to indemnify if the specific risks therein designated result in loss. The policy in this case insured against “ * * * direct and accidental loss of or damage to the automobile caused (A) by fire * * * (Emphasis supplied.)
To purposely and wilfully destroy a chattel by fire is not to-bring about an accidental loss. Defendant and counter-claimant George Wong was not insured against damage flowing from the deliberate tortious action of his joint adventurer.
*234 Neither defendant is entitled to recov er under the policy of insurance describ ed in the complaint.
Plaintiff may submit findings of fact conclusions of law and judgment.
. Martin v. Postal Union Life Ins. Co., 31 Cal.App.2d 329, 87 P.2d 897; Reed v. Pacific Indemnity Co., 10 Cal.App.2d 151, 225 P.2d 255.
. 45 C.J.S., Insurance, § 822 a, p. 871.
. Jones v. Fidelity & Guaranty Ins. Corp., Tex.Civ.App., 250 S.W.2d 281;
Bridges v. Commercial Standard Ins. Co., Tex.Civ.App., 252 S.W.2d 511; Kosior v. Continental Ins. Co., 299 Mass. 601, 13 N.E.2d 423; Bellman v. Home Ins. Co., 178 Wis. 349, 189 N.W. 1028, 27 A.L.R. 945.
Cites, in this corpus
- Reed v. Pacific Indemnity Co. Civ. 14459 · 1950-12-14
- Martin v. Postal Union Life Insurance Co. Civ. 6082 · 1939-03-03
- Southwest Sulphur Co. v. Superior Court Civ. No. 10391 · 1935-11-13